If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jobstown 6 Not Guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,692 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Floppybits wrote: »
    Perjury is not a crime in this State. If you are lieing a judge can just dismiss you but you wont be charged.

Your main duty as a witness is to tell the truth to the court. If you knowingly make a false statement under oath, you may have committed the crime of "perjury" and you may be prosecuted.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/witnesses/rules_relating_to_your_evidence.html

While not often prosecuted you would be accusing somebody of committing a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Jayop wrote: »
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2017/06/29/reverse-logic/

From the mouths of the Guards in the air. She could have backed up and got away "ages ago" but they "seemed not to want to do that".

Can't have been that surrounded. Even the recordings of Burton inside the car afterwards make it look like she was more concerned with getting the story out to the media than she was with her well being.
    Your talking about the jeep, I'm talking about the Toyota Avensis.
    The one in this picture and this one.
    Which is where I'm guessing the charges of false imprisonment came from.
    Because the car was surrounded and the defendants were sitting down behind it.
    Unless I'm wrong and the whole case was based on a jeep that could easily reverse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

No doubt Paul Murphy will have to work hard to keep his face in the limelight now the big meal ticket is essentially over and done with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

I could never imagine treating people they way Joan was treated that day.

Go home Burton you are drunk

Your talking about the jeep, I'm talking about the Toyota Avensis.
    The one in this picture and this one.
    Which is where I'm guessing the charges of false imprisonment came from.
    Because the car was surrounded and the defendants were sitting down behind it.
    Unless I'm wrong and the whole case was based on a jeep that could easily reverse.

Not sure about the second picture, that looks like a competition, last hand off the car wins it. :D

I make it two female Tanaiste's made to look ridiculous by helicopters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,395 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Shemale wrote: »
    Go home Burton you are drunk

What are you getting your megaphone out for next Paul?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

nullzero wrote: »
    No doubt Paul Murphy will have to work hard to keep his face in the limelight now the big meal ticket is essentially over and done with.

Nope. He wants an inquiry into it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,368 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

mada999 wrote:
    She was the second most senior politician in the country at that moment....i find it difficult to believe she couldnt leave that area...just my opinion of course

Have you seen the videos on YouTube?
    I find it strange how contradictory the POV can be depending on whether it's the helicopter video or a mobile phone video. Yet same incident...

I'm no fan of Paul Murphy. I disagree with his political strategy, I disagree with his hypocrisy, and I have met him socially, and I find him to be a particularly unlikeable character, more interested in populism than any ideological political position.

Nevertheless, the emphasis and resources that the DPP has invested in this trial is difficult to comprehend. There was no egregious nor savage aspect to this non-violent accusation, and for the DPP to have poured such extravagant funding into this trial seems to me to be quite unusual.

This trial stank to the high heavens. I will never vote for Paul Murphy, but I don't believe for a moment that political interests, however indirect, weren't relevant to this trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,368 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Nevertheless, the emphasis and resources that the DPP has invested in this trial is difficult to comprehend. There was no egregious nor savage aspect to this non-violent accusation, and for the DPP to have poured such extravagant funding into this trial seems to me to be quite unusual.

It's not difficult to understand. People democratically elect representatives such as Burton.

But then a mob led by someone like Murphy decides they can circumvent democracy by mass intimidation of that representative.

Would you think that the DPP shouldn't prosecute people who would surround you in your car for a few hours threatening you just because they didn't agree with something you lawfully do?

What's next? Blockade TDs houses because you don't agree with their mandate and perhaps include their spouse and children too.

It's not difficult to understand. People democratically elect representatives such as Burton.

Would you think that the DPP shouldn't prosecute people who would surround you in your car for a few hours threatening you just because they didn't agree with something you lawfully do?
    There are plenty of things that happened that day, that I think were both violent and unjustifiable.

But no, I don't think a peaceful protest was worth the millions of euro that were spent on this trial. We were (quite rightly) barred from speaking about that until now, but now that the trial has ended, it has to be said, this trial (and its cost) cannot be justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,232 ✭✭✭golfball37

But then a mob led by someone like Murphy decides they can circumvent democracy by mass intimidation of that representative.

What's next? Blockade TDs houses because you don't agree with their mandate and perhaps include their spouse and children too.

People democratically elect Murphy too. People who will protest again I would venture. I would also venture they traditionally would have voted for Joan until her politics changed. Cest la vie. Lie down with the dogs you get fleas. Joan used these people herself for years and when she let them down they turned on her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

They are not there to protect you they are there to protect those inside the tent from you

And will threaten to break the law themselves in order to achieve a pay rise. Then you have people wondering why vast pockets of our society don't trust the Gardai at all. A shameful shambles of an organisation that needs fixing from the bottom to the very top but unfortunately the political will isn't there to do that.

Probably the impending fresh air tax

the same establishment who couldn't give a fcuk about them either. who cut their pay and resources to beyond the bone.

90% of people i know would give their left testicle to be a Gardai who had worked a few years in the forces for the pay, conditions and pension. Yes they have to deal with a lot of societies scum but let's not pretend they are on minimum wage barely scrapping by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

They should have been in a 4x4 to start with anyway

Can't beat a Landcruiser for ploughing through sh!t

Hopefully abolishing the TV/broadcasting licence. That's one i could see a lot getting behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

Just saw them on TV walking out of court, they remind me of the Birmingham 6, except these 6 brave men trapped 2 frightened women in a car.

I don't think the case should have gone ahead, but I don't think these brace men are heros either, in fact I think they are cowards, peaceful protest isn't hurling abuse at 2 women in a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,941 ✭✭✭20Cent

Cars have a feature for just such eventualities. The reverse gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I find it hilarious Paul Murphy actually paid his water charges from his 1 million expenses from having a seat in Europe where he has done nothing to stand up against the big evil corporation:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I'm getting bored with these faux socialists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

davo10 wrote: »
    Just saw them on TV walking out of court, they remind me of the Birmingham 6, except these 6 brave men trapped 2 frightened women in a car.

I don't think the case should have gone ahead, but I don't think these brace men are heros either, in fact I think they are cowards, peaceful protest isn't hurling abuse at 2 women in a car.

The trial was a farce.

Some of the water protests definitely attracted some lowlifes that want to pay for nothing, but this whole fiasco was ridiculous. False imprisonment? FFS. What a waste of money.

The downside to this is Paul Murphy's mug being on the news again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭robbiezero

What political interests do people think were served by bringing this to trial?
    I would have thought the political "establishment" would have preferred that the incident would have been swept under the carpet and not gone to trial. If the outcome of the case had gone the other yesterday and he and his cohort had been sent to jail, they would have been martyrs and even people who don't like him might have had some sympathy for heavy-handed justice.

I would have thought the less that whole water charges debacle is brought into peoples minds the better for the Government.

gctest50 wrote: »
    They should have been in a 4x4 to start with anyway

Can't beat a Landcruiser for ploughing through sh!t

So you'd be advocating murdering people because they are protesting? You'd do well in NK or China.

robbiezero wrote: »
    I would have thought the political "establishment" would have preferred that the incident would have been swept under the carpet and not gone to trial. If the outcome of the case had gone the other yesterday and he and his cohort had been sent to jail, they would have been martyrs and even people who don't like him might have had some sympathy for heavy-handed justice.

I would have thought the less that whole water charges debacle is brought into peoples minds the better for the Government.

It was about suppressing the will of people to protest. Using the state as a tool to threaten people and as a weapon against one of the bedrocks of democracy (the right of protest). The establishment thought they'd win and it's blown right up in their face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,232 ✭✭✭golfball37

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    It was about suppressing the will of people to protest. Using the state as a tool to threaten people and as a weapon against one of the bedrocks of democracy (the right of protest). The establishment thought they'd win and it's blown right up in their face.

Winning was only a bonus. The fact they'd go to these lengths will prove to be deterrent enough for some people

robbiezero wrote: »
    Seriously??

I don't believe there was any direct political involvement in this trial, but come on.

Having a political rival convicted of a criminal charge *obviously* undermines their cause, and doing so by a jury of their peers, in a court of law, does so in a way that is beyond defence. It would be deeply harmful to a political protest to have it so discredited in a court of law.

I say again, I don't believe there was direct political involvement in this prosecution, but it is utterly naive to deny the potential harm that a criminal conviction would have provoked.

It would clearly have had a chilling effect on opposition protesters. Surely you can see that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

BillyBobBS wrote: »

I seen missiles been hurled at Joan and the gards in the youtube videos.

Is this the protest you speak of and want protected?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

I seen missiles been hurled at Joan and the gards in the youtube videos.

Is this the protest you speak of and want protected?

And the Gardai should have moved in and arrested those hurling the missiles.