Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jobstown 6 Not Guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,056 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

L1011 wrote: »
    Says the person with an opinion they can't provide support for; and who thinks political pressure isn't actually pressure when they agree with it.

If you can provide anything other than some hunch that there was political pressure of the kind you don't agree with, please provide it.

A rational person would observe that I accused nobody of anything and merely expressed that it was legitimate to suspect something and that you asserted that there was no political pressure from those in power with precisely nothing to back that up.
    Get back to me when you have something to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,655 ✭✭✭✭L1011

A rational person would observe that I accused nobody of anything and merely expressed that it was legitimate to suspect something and that you asserted that there was no political pressure from those in power with precisely nothing to back that up.
    Get back to me when you have something to say.

I said the DPP acts independently of political pressure, such as the pressure put on by the defense side.

I have no evidence that there wasn't political pressure on the other side, but neither do you despite your opinion that there was. However, as we've seen, the DPP acts independently of it anyway.

You appear to be looking for something different in my posts than what is actually written.

Jayop wrote: »
    You know you don't need evidence to have an opinion on something, don't you?

Having an opinion you can't defend in a debate is a little bit pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Having an opinion you can't defend in a debate is a little bit pointless.

Not really.

If every single post has to be backed up by evidence, especially when someone says it's their opinion then you may as well close the forum.

How would you expect a normal person to gather evidence on what they see as likely political interference? They can only view what happened, how it was already a political case by the people involved and then view trumped up charges and heavy handed Garda tactics. Even having media alerted before the arrests. That's not normal. When you see these things happening that aren't normal then it's fair to hypothesise why that's happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

it was in my view an attempt to jail people for peacefully protesting. put them on trial on baseless charges and hopefully they will be found guilty, hence discrediting the anti-water charges movement. it backfired spectacularly and most of the people are greatful. lots of support for our boy paul murphy and co from what i can see reading online anyway.

incorrect they aren't guilty of anything. the courts haven't found them guilty of anything therefore not guilty.

It was far from peaceful.

I said the DPP acts independently of political pressure, such as the pressure put on by the defense side.

I have no evidence that there wasn't political pressure on the other side, but neither do you despite your opinion that there was. However, as we've seen, the DPP acts independently of it anyway.

You appear to be looking for something different in my posts than what is actually written.

How have we seen that? If you don't know if there was pressure from the other side then how can you conclusively say that that pressure simply was stronger than what was applied by Murphy's supporters?

Without evidence isn't it pointless giving your opinion?

Sigh!

I asked you how did you know the DPP hadn't responded to direct political pressure. You didn't have anything to back up what was just a self serving opinion.
    You are entitled to your opinion, just don't present it as a fact please.
    Good luck.

How have we seen that? If you don't know if there was pressure from the other side then how can you conclusively say that that pressure simply was stronger than what was applied by Murphy's supporters?

Without evidence isn't it pointless giving your opinion?

We have evidence of significant political pressure, which was not heeded.

There is no evidence of any other political pressure.

Until that is provided, whataboutery about "it might exist" is rather pointless.

We have strong FOI legislation (both introduced and re-strengthened after gutting by the political bogeyman here) and an incredibly information leaky government - it shouldn't be hard to show if any pressure existed.

On the balance of the evidence we have, the DPP acted independently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

kylith wrote: »
    I'm pleased with the result. You can't really hold someone prisoner if they're in a vehicle that can kill you.

Tell that to the families of the British soldiers lynched in Belfast by a republican mob. Being armed didn't even help them. Driving at a mob might be an easy thing for you to do but it isn't for most people with even basic principles.

We have evidence of significant political pressure, which was not heeded.

There is no evidence of any other political pressure.

Until that is provided, whataboutery about "it might exist" is rather pointless.

We have strong FOI legislation (both introduced and re-strengthened after gutting by the political bogeyman here) and an incredibly information leaky government - it shouldn't be hard to show if any pressure existed.

On the balance of the evidence we have, the DPP acted independently.

You can't conclusively say it didn't happen so you can't conclusively say the DPP didn't bend to it.

That's not whataboutery. That's holding you to your own standards. Without evidence to back up your claims you shouldn't make them.

Deise Vu wrote: »
    Tell that to the families of the British soldiers lynched in Belfast by a republican mob. Being armed didn't even help them. Driving at a mob might be an easy thing for you to do but it isn't for most people with even basic principles.

LoL we have reached peak drama queen./:rolleyes:

You can't conclusively say it didn't happen so you can't conclusively say the DPP didn't bend to it.

That's not whataboutery. That's holding you to your own standards. Without evidence to back up your claims you shouldn't make them.

If proof ever occurs, I'll make sure to retract my statements.

Something those who made claims of a rigged jury have not. The majority of those threads are in now locked Politics subfora however. Said unfortunately, but actually I've better things to do with my time realistically, such as sort my spare change...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,253 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

My day has been ruined and Murphy walks free ....I want Justice!

LoL we have reached peak drama queen./:rolleyes:

Whereas the comment I was replying to that Joanie could have used her vehicle to kill her way out of the blockade wasn't in the the least bit dramatic.

To descend to your level. Lol.

Whereas the comment I was replying to that Joanie could have used her vehicle to kill her way out of the blockade wasn't in the the least bit dramatic.

Joan wants you for her appeal. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

According to the helicopter footage her driver could have just reversed away from the crowd.

The footage that is from a considerable period of time in to the incident?

In that case the verdict is correct. Unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,712 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

In that case the verdict is correct. Unfortunately.

What do you mean "unfortunately"? It was a stupid case that was brought against them!!!

One thing I was wondering, if there had been no helicopter footage, would they have been wrongly found guilty based on the Garda statements?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,712 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

One thing I was wondering, if there had been no helicopter footage, would they have been wrongly found guilty based on the Garda statements?

Some gardai have a lot to answer for too!!! F@&!ers!!!

Most likely. So the question is, did those guards decide by themselves independently to make those statements or was their pressure put on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Surely these lads don't recognise the courts authority to find them not guilty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

think of all the actual crimes not being investigated properly because the man power was diverted to this

ridiculous

Most likely. So the question is, did those guards decide by themselves independently to make those statements or was their pressure put on them.

Paul Murphy pretty much dismissed the notion of some conspiracy involving the Government on Newstalk, but is pointing the finger squarely at Gardai.

I think they might have been found guilty except that the Garda evidence was so transparently suspect. If this case is an example of their standards in a high profile case, what's going on in cases that are below the radar.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

I strongly dislike Murphy but can't believe that some people think that disliking him is a good enough reason for him to be locked up. That's just chilling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,271 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Is there helicopter footage of her being trapped in her car (Toyota Avenis)?
    From the photos I saw it looks fairly surrounded.

Paul Murphy pretty much dismissed the notion of some conspiracy involving the Government on Newstalk, but is pointing the finger squarely at Gardai.

Cheers. Was he saying individual guards or from on high?

He didn't really specify, just noted the fact that 3 Gardai gave evidence of a statement they claimed he made which was contradicted by the video footage, I guess the obvious inference being how did all 3 alight on the same phrase.