If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jobstown 6 Not Guilty

Jayop wrote: »
    Being suspicious of something and calling for an investigation isn't presuming guilt. The facts that we do know look suspicious. The guards giving what appears to be false statements that they collided on. The media alerted before the arrests. The trumped up charges.

There's enough smoke to be suspicious of something untoward having happened and I'd like to know what. Unfortunately we live in a country even if someone is found guilty of wrong doing, if they have enough powerful friends they'll face no long term issues.

Bodycams for guards when on duty. Its coming to the point where you simply can't trust a considerable number of them anymore IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Bodycams for guards when on duty. Its coming to the point where you simply can't trust a considerable number of them anymore IMO.

Can't see how they wouldn't want that anyway if they're decent hard working guards. Would protect them from false accusations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

railer201 wrote: »
    If you're talking about imprisonment, would you consider a comparative prison sentence of two hours to be rational then ?

No

VinLieger wrote: »
    No theres was reporting of the facts of the case day to day, once the trial started there was no commenting or opinion pieces in the media.

You can try argue this all you want but they themselves admitted they broke the law

Paul Murphy had to be told to stop live tweeting during the Judges summing up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,734 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I was on many water protests, all peaceful.
    From what I saw on the t.v. the day of the Jobstown protest I just cannot figure how these thugs got off. Burton, who I don't like, was clearly restrained and couldn't leave the area because of a mob banging her car and sitting in front and behind it screaming abuse at her and the garda.
    I didn't attend any protests after seeing that. It was just thuggery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,734 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Can't see how they wouldn't want that anyway if they're decent hard working guards. Would protect them from false accusations.
    Saw on another thread that the garda have been requesting that for years.
    Saw this article in the newspaper too -
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardai-buying-body-cameras-395377.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Water balloon at Burton and a few scumbags threw rocks at Gardai that had nothing to do with the official protest. But you already know this ;)

Part of a ballot box and water balloon strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

VinLieger wrote: »
    Id say Murphy is disappointed, there goes his dream of martyrdom and his plan to write his great socialist call to arms from behind bars

"My Long Squawk to Freedom"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,743 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

It's not difficult to understand. People democratically elect representatives such as Burton.

But then a mob led by someone like Murphy decides they can circumvent democracy by mass intimidation of that representative.

Would you think that the DPP shouldn't prosecute people who would surround you in your car for a few hours threatening you just because they didn't agree with something you lawfully do?

What's next? Blockade TDs houses because you don't agree with their mandate and perhaps include their spouse and children too.

there was no circumventing democracy by paul murphy and co.
    there was an attempt to circumvent democracy by having a show trial however, which thankfully failed/backfired spectacularly.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

there was an attempt to circumvent democracy by having a show trial however, which thankfully failed/backfired spectacularly.

Most right minded people call that days actions for what they were. The actions of mindless thugs. How anyone can condone such behaviour in a civilised society beggars belief.
    BTW, I agree with the verdict. The wrong charges were brought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

It's beyond me how these thugs got away with it.

Love or loath Joan Burton, trapping a woman in her car, preventing her from leaving the area, banging on and shaking the car, screaming abuse are not the acts of peaceful protesters.

Anger and frustration does afford you the right to circumvent the law and act like animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I'm not all that hot on history, but is there not one tad significant difference between that trial and a show trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I was on many water protests, all peaceful.
    From what I saw on the t.v. the day of the Jobstown protest I just cannot figure how these thugs got off. Burton, who I don't like, was clearly restrained and couldn't leave the area because of a mob banging her car and sitting in front and behind it screaming abuse at her and the garda.
    I didn't attend any protests after seeing that. It was just thuggery.

Yeah, I didn't like that much either. It would have been a very alarming situation and it was pure mob-mentality thuggery. I didn't think they'd get off for it, and I'm not particularly celebrating that they did. Also felt for the other people trapped in the car too - the driver and a young assistant who, I think from reports at the time, had a panic attack, which isn't exactly unsurprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,092 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I am delighted that they were found not guilty & didn't "get away with it". The idea that a Labour politician would oppose protest is ridiculous. I heard that the Jury asked is the videos could be shown again. They wanted to establish if the cars could of reversed away. I guess that the answer was yes, so it can't be imprisonment.

I certainly don't support the far left but I do believe that the prosecution was instigated at a high level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,205 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Most right minded people call that days actions for what they were. The actions of mindless thugs. How anyone can condone such behaviour in a civilised society beggars belief.
    BTW, I agree with the verdict. The wrong charges were brought.

Most right minded people would call out those who help themselves to vast salaries and pensions while leaving the poor to die on trolleys in hospital corridors.

Sadly, few on here seem bothered by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

robbiezero wrote: »
    I'm not all that hot on history, but is there not one tad significant difference between that trial and a show trial.

The only "show" in this trial was the irrelevantly political questions asked by the defence barristers and allowed by a very (to my mind) weak judge.

Love or loath Joan Burton, trapping a woman in her car, preventing her from leaving the area, banging on and shaking the car, screaming abuse are not the acts of peaceful protesters.

Anger and frustration does afford you the right to circumvent the law and act like animals.

None of that was illegal though so regardless of whether you think it was in poor taste or the acts of scumbags they didn't 'get away' with anything.

The only "show" in this trial was the irrelevantly political questions asked by the defence barristers and allowed by a very (to my mind) weak judge.

Ah there we go. The true trumpism when something didn't go your way. Boo boo. #sad

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Most right minded people would call out those who help themselves to vast salaries and pensions while leaving the poor to die on trolleys in hospital corridors.

Have you a link to that?

Zebra3 wrote: »

Id respect Paul Murphy etc (vast salary + large pension) more if he tried to work with the government occasionally.

Its easy for PBP/AAA to shout and scream from the back benches about what the minister needs to do with the HSE and quite another to actually achieve that change.

Paul gets a great wage from us but has no intention of going anywhere near a ministerial type of position where you actually need to take the difficult decisions.
    (and also can REALLY look after your constituency)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

The Birmingham 6 were found guilty.

The jobstown 6 weren't.

Why are they trying to compare themselves?

It's embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

None of that was illegal though so regardless of whether you think it was in poor taste or the acts of scumbags they didn't 'get away' with anything.

The law needs changing then.

This was thuggery pure and simple. They should be punished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

The Birmingham 6 were found guilty.

The jobstown 6 weren't.

Why are they trying to compare themselves?

It's embarrassing.

They are not the brightest crew. This is a very far left group trying to take as much publicity as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Free Paul Murphy. In every pack of Corn Flakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,692 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Id respect Paul Murphy etc (vast salary + large pension) more if he tried to work with the government occasionally.

Its easy for PBP/AAA to shout and scream from the back benches about what the minister needs to do with the HSE and quite another to actually achieve that change.

Paul gets a great wage from us but has no intention of going anywhere near a ministerial type of position where you actually need to take the difficult decisions.
    (and also can REALLY look after your constituency)

Why this stance ^ keeps appearing I don't know.
    Why would a left leaning politician take a ministerial position in a right leaning government? A right that has the more powerful position. It almost never works out well for the minor party.

I am sure the goal is to control the government and then take a ministerial role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Bishopsback

Why would a left leaning politician take a ministerial position in a right leaning government? A right that has the more powerful position. It almost never works out well for the minor party.

I am sure the goal is to control the government and then take a ministerial role.

I'm sure!
    The goal is to keep whinging. Left leaning govt doesent really work on its own, they would have to compromise their principles to govern anyway.
    They know fine well that while the ideal is good, the practice is nigh on impossible.
    But to keep a balance and center govt on a hard footing, you need the threat of these left whinging party's threatening to make breakthroughs and exposing the shady side of political dealings. They do much good work behind the scenes, but overall governing is not really their main concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

I'm absolutely delighted justice was served, locking the lads up for false imprisonment would have been an outrageous miscarriage of justice.

The law needs changing then.

This was thuggery pure and simple. They should be punished.

Campaign to your td then.

What exactly would you say should have been illegal and what should have been the punishment?

Should blocking a car in be punishable by jail? If so a lot of people who park badly would be locked up.

He careful of unintended consequence

They will NEVER control the government and they dont even want to.

Going in with another party is a necessary compromise, i cant understand the willingness on the left to do nothing and wait (wait for years! while real people have real problems) for this fantasy left wing government to miraculously appear.

If Paul had a brain he would do a Healy-Rae / Gregory style deal on it and demand services and projects for his community.

He has a comfortable family background, private education, third level degree and plays at his socialist politics while campaigning loudly and delivering little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,782 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Ah the old 'you can only care about inequality if you're poor yourself' nonsense.