Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ignorant Passengers

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,271 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Stephen15 wrote: »
    Only the mk4s on the Dublin to Cork route and the Enterprise have a Buffet car which serves alcohol. The ICRs which are on the majority of intercity routes do not and only have a trolley.

There are some 22000 railcars with a catering carriage.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

y

If you were on the bus you wouldn't be able to have a drink, and you probably wouldn't even notice. Have you never heard of 'the greater good'?? Or are you so selfish that means nothing to you? I don't care whether or not you want a drink with your dinner (what "dinner" exactly are you having on an Iarnrod Eireann train that requires accompanying by a good burgandy?). I am also not the least bit bothered about your health, you can drink yourself to death for all it matters to me. What I think is important is that everyone else on the train (passengers and staff) can have a peaceful journey, without any boozed up gob****es ruining their 4 interminable hours across the country.
    You sound like you badly need a drink and a shag.

The two of you need to read the commuting and transport charter before posting again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

lxflyer wrote: »
    So I shouldn't be allowed have a glass of wine when eating dinner on the Enterprise or the Dublin-Cork train?

You should be allowed. Unfortunately, there are people who think that the responsible majority should be punished because of the irresponsible minority. It reminds me all too well of the impending minimum price of alcohol law. We should be tackling this problem at the root cause which is the irresponsible individual themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

You should be allowed. Unfortunately, there are people who think that the responsible majority should be punished because of the irresponsible minority. It reminds me all too well of the impending minimum price of alcohol law. We should be tackling this problem at the root cause which is the irresponsible individual themselves.

I would support a law to reduce the drinking to 15 or 16 but only in bars and not from off-licences and supermarkets and encourage parents to give their teenage children and their friends one or two beers I feel if teens weren't so restricted from alcohol and introduced to it at an earlier they might respect it a bit more. The most riddiculous suggestion in recent IMO was the whole alcohol curtain thing.

MGWR wrote: »
    This kind of lawlessness will result in chaos if left unpunished. Bad news.

True. But to bring this back on topic, it shows just how CIE companies show scant regard to their staff when it comes to legal protection or court proceedings for case that relate to their doing there jobs and duties. This is an important point that the ILDA were making during their pickets in 2000; how unwilling the firms were to cover staffs asses if it happened on duty. Cherryville is another example of same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

harr wrote: »
    I asked the lady doing the catering if she could get a member of staff down to have a word ..she said it was only her and one other member of staff on board...not acceptable on a full service surely staff should be available in case of emergency..
    You'd really need two of the heavily built polish security that you see on the LUAS, and given the ability to defend themselves with force.
    ED E wrote: »
    Veolia may have a much more compact network to love after but it really is striking the difference between Luas and IR. IR seem to only have STT lads in Conolly not roaming the network.
    Can't see the railway having the funds to have so much extra staff, though.
    n97 mini wrote: »
    Nanny state mentality.
    Yes, but laws needed for some people unfortunately.
    I think there should be wet and dry carriages. And silent ones.
    Pretty sure there are silent ones. Just no-one cares about them.
    And a smoking one at the back!
    If there was a smoking carriage, all the rowdy drinkers would be in there as well.
    There are some 22000 railcars with a catering carriage.
    I wonder how many of them are functioning?

=-=

Drinking is banned on the commuter trains. Drinking still happens, but the security staff and Gardai will make an entrance if they're rowdy, take all the drink, and continue on (with maybe a few of them into the police van).

the_syco wrote: »
    Drinking is banned on the commuter trains. Drinking still happens, but the security staff and Gardai will make an entrance if they're rowdy, take all the drink, and continue on (with maybe a few of them into the police van).

Thats really how all drinking bans are enforced. Only enforced when the people consuming the drink are rowdy. Its seems theres been an increase in security on IE services since they changed the company to that OCS crowd now. When it was Brinks or STT it was rare to ever see any security bar the permanent presence in Hueston.

I wonder how many of them are functioning?

The 10 sets (22031-22040) with diners were each reduced by one car to extend the capacity some of the 3 car sets. However, all have their diners in place and all remain in traffic. They will be restored to six car sets in due course pending a new order to Hyundai Rotem for additional intermediate cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,763 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The 10 sets (22031-22040) with diners were each reduced by one car to extend the capacity some of the 3 car sets. However, all have their diners in place and all remain in traffic. They will be restored to six car sets in due course pending a new order to Hyundai Rotem for additional intermediate cars.

Do they actually operate the diner though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,835 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

L1011 wrote: »
    Do they actually operate the diner though?

Yes, usually a run through with a trolley and then open it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭XPS_Zero

A friend of mine worked on the catering car on the Enterprise. One Saturday night as the train zipped by Balbriggan, he refused service to a man as the bar had closed. He received a broken jaw, eye socket and four months off work for his trouble. On this basis alone it's hard to not see why staff won't tackle a lot of passengers.

You know the one reason I try to avoid commenting or posting online is that people tend to reply to things you did not say or questions you never asked.

I never suggested catering staff should be dealing with such passengers, any more than a plumber should be planing crops on a farm, it's not their job. I don't even think the train conductor should be doing it.

My question wasn't only about the staff reaction it was as much about what goes through peoples heads doing this, do they think they are not causing others annoyance or do they just not care?

There should be security on each of the cork and belfast trains. Ideally we should have a transit police , clearly there are slots there since the private sector fills them, there is demand, and what difference if the payment goes to pay private security or transit police? we can pay the same amount, only have a police that have wider powers than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Someone posted that drinking on commuter trains was banned, but I can't find a source for this. It used to be allowed at least, was there a recent rule change?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

I had a right bad journey from Heuston to Cork on Saturday evening. I boarded in Heuston and had grabbed a quick coke in the supermacs for the journey down. I took my seat and I wasn't sitting there when some old bat with about forty handbags proceeded to spill my drink all over me as I was sat at the aisle. Trousers ruined and all wet for the next almost 3 hours. Going to the toilet afterwards was embarrassing as it looked like I had wet myself.

When it happened I immediately grabbed the stranger next to me's laptop raising it up with milliseconds to spare as the drink went all over the table and ontop of me. She was grateful and just as furious as I was but the only casualy was my trousers. Yes it was an accident but it was caused by sheer ignorance of not watching what she was doing and worse still the amouint of people who board at the first carriage and then proceed to walk the entire length of the train often with big suitcases etc. :mad:

After an hour I noticed the laptop woman rolling her eyes at me and I was wondering what the heck, I removed my headphone only to hear some other stupid person behind me playing some extremely annoying game on a a tablet and it making the most frustrating sounds imaginable. I gave it five minutes and just as I was about to say something another lad asked her very politely to turn down the volume. Which she did.

However around 15 minutes later she turned it up even louder than before and I watched my watch and after exactly 3 minutes I confronted her and told her a thing or two about etiquette and how she should turn off that awful childish nonsense or play it on silent and how alot of us have paid good money for our tickets and don't want to listen to such thrash. She went mad and cursed me out of it at the top of her voice. She was in her mid-fifties and her son intervened immediately and it went silent. Then as I walked down to my seat I got an impromptu round of applause from several other passengers who had been driven bonkers by her too.

Another time I encountered a girl curling her which filled the carriage with the smell of burning hair :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,499 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

XPS_Zero wrote: »
    There should be security on each of the cork and belfast trains. Ideally we should have a transit police , clearly there are slots there since the private sector fills them, there is demand, and what difference if the payment goes to pay private security or transit police? we can pay the same amount, only have a police that have wider powers than anything.

a full proper legitimate police force is the best option as they will have actual powers.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭cython

Someone posted that drinking on commuter trains was banned, but I can't find a source for this. It used to be allowed at least, was there a recent rule change?

I think the alcohol policy used to ban drinking on DARTs and commuter services, but that is not the case any more, there are just a handful of intercity services with bans..

There may be bylaws that apply also to commuter services specifically, but I'd expect Irish Rail to include them in that link if so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ideally we should have a transit police , clearly there are slots there since the private sector fills them, there is demand, and what difference if the payment goes to pay private security or transit police? we can pay the same amount, only have a police that have wider powers than anything.
    Cops or nothing, tbh.
    That'd be me. Commuter being the local Dublin darts/trains. It was still legal on the intercity trains last time I was on one, although it's a bit grey area I think on intercity trains that don't have a bar that sells drink.

Found this; http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-rail-alcohol-ban-dublin-waterford-932668-May2013/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Bans on trains/no bar carriage won't really work if passengers can carte blanche bring a tray of beer, bottles of spirits and wine on board no problem.

I wonder how they monitor the Waterford/Dublin/Waterford ban, yes that would be the staggers and henhouses going to and from Kilkenny I am guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

There used to be notices on the Waterford trains on every table about no alcohol, dunno if that's still the case.

Commuter trains doesn't seem to be enforced. Last train from Maynooth on Friday nights is littered with empty beer cans and vodka bottles.

Bans on trains/no bar carriage won't really work if passengers can carte blanche bring a tray of beer, bottles of spirits and wine on board no problem.

I wonder how they monitor the Waterford/Dublin/Waterford ban, yes that would be the staggers and henhouses going to and from Kilkenny I am guessing.
    There used to be notices on the Waterford trains on every table about no alcohol, dunno if that's still the case.

Commuter trains doesn't seem to be enforced. Last train from Maynooth on Friday nights is littered with empty beer cans and vodka bottles.

They provide security on Sundays, while it's banned it's not a particularly strict ban provided your not pi**ing people off.

They extended the ban to Friday afternoons and security also operate on two services but it's not guaranteed like Sundays.

They also extended it to a Galway service on Sunday, one assumes they also operate on that service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

So in typical Irish fashion, it's not a ban at all then. Go quietly into train, don't draw attention to yourself whilst boarding, then drink yourself mouldy and drive everyone mad. But you did beat the ban!

Typical.

But however, just leave the rest of us quietly seething at the behaviour of some who care about no one but themselves. OK I get it.

I'm not sure from posts if security actually travel on the train or are just there at the station. I am guessing it's the latter. So free for all really unless you are causing mayhem in the station. I'd love to be wrong.

So in typical Irish fashion, it's not a ban at all then. Go quietly into train, don't draw attention to yourself whilst boarding, then drink yourself mouldy and drive everyone mad. But you did beat the ban!

Typical.

But however, just leave the rest of us quietly seething at the behaviour of some who care about no one but themselves. OK I get it.

I'm not sure from posts if security actually travel on the train or are just there at the station. I am guessing it's the latter. So free for all really unless you are causing mayhem in the station. I'd love to be wrong.

It is and it isn't, it's difficult when the guards would be required to remove them from the train and it's not really a high priority for them (easily 45-60 min) delay.

The level of disruption has dramatically reduced significantly but so has the "type" of people. Moderate drinking isn't strictly forbidden. It also depends on which security personnel are operating. I would also say there is a strong case from IE to remove them off the evening service and deploy them elsewhere.

To be clear security do travel on the Waterford trains end to end. They even have a bouncer in Kilkenny on Sundays.

It's much more relaxed on Fridays, it started off strong security traveling but now it's not every week. The Friday ban came about after an assault on a staff member.

The Sunday ban has been around for around 10 years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Cops or nothing, tbh.
    +1, security simple don't have the required powers and the trouble makers tend to be fully aware of this.

The Traffic corps need to be expanded into a full transport remit to cover this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Raven Runner

I've been on the Enterprise twice in recent weeks.

How's Jean-Luc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

That'd be me. Commuter being the local Dublin darts/trains. It was still legal on the intercity trains last time I was on one, although it's a bit grey area I think on intercity trains that don't have a bar that sells drink.

Found this; http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-rail-alcohol-ban-dublin-waterford-932668-May2013/
    Meaning it's not banned, right? Any passenger may drink alcohol on a train except presumably the services Irish Rail publicly announced were dry trains. That doesn't include any commuter service or most intercity trains. The bye-laws only reference being drunk and disorderly, from my quick glance at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,029 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Apart not liking the idea, I can imagine the number of court cases from scumbags and innocent people would be enormous.

Spain doesn't have the culture of chancerism and litigation that we have here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

No. For the greater food. Can you really not manage to eat your dinner without washing it down with alcohol? Because if so that's a bit pathetic. A blanket booze ban would be one of the easiest ways to mute the gob****e travelling public.

Gobsheens are gobsheens. Penalising the decent wont change that.

Spain doesn't have the culture of chancerism and litigation that we have here.

Franco only died in 1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭XPS_Zero

n97 mini wrote: »
    Enterprise is a long train (7 cars?) and usually not close to full. While I feel your pain I would have searched for a quieter carriage.

You misunderstand my post.

I was two cars away from them and could still hear them.
    The sliding doors separating carriages are locked in place.

While enterprise is rarely "full" in that every single seat is filled, its ALWAYS 'full' in the sense that you have 1/2 people for every 4 seater and all the decent seats are filled within 5 minutes of boarding starting.

I'm not moving to a worse seat than the one I paid extra for to suit inconsiderate tossers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,763 ✭✭✭✭L1011

cython wrote: »
    I think the alcohol policy used to ban drinking on DARTs and commuter services, but that is not the case any more, there are just a handful of intercity services with bans..

There may be bylaws that apply also to commuter services specifically, but I'd expect Irish Rail to include them in that link if so.

I have been sold drink by IR agents on commuter services. There are, or were, some services where the Railgourmet trolley op dead headed back to Connolly from Maynooth on a normal commuter service, and they tried to flog a few teas and cans (succesfully, and they absolutely should) on them.

Was more the oddity of getting a can on a commuter service rather than anything else that caused me to buy it!