Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,420 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

accepting the concept of 'the selfish gene' is not the same as accepting 'humans are selfish'; a gene being selfish could lead to altruistic behaviour.

though everyday definitions of altruism and selfishness can muddy the waters. you can be altruistic and at the same time act within your own interests, which raises the question regarding motives. still, i'm going to stick with the approach while out on the bike that motorists are not acting in my self interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

On a lighter note: just riding in the woods

https://www.facebook.com/FailDownhill/videos/2307991869425289

(NSFW)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,420 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

speaking at someone married to a public servant, i can tell you it's frequently 'the system' that's to blame rather than the people.
    something david simon was talking about in a recent interview i read, must find a link for it.

my biggest issue is the way they treat staff as completely homogenous interchangable units. you can be transferred from one job to another simply because you meet the required grade, with little analysis of what your actual talents are. i've heard of some choice changes of job where my wife works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Hi folks,

I'm looking for some advice on cloud based storage solutions. Can anyone advise what would be a good idea for a small business with only a few users for storage, sharing, etc?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,908 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Three or fourish things I don't need in this stressful world.

1. Mrs RS having daily near misses by cyclists bombing ped crossings.

2. People salmoning up the middle of the lane around a corner on Lincoln place.

3. Cyclists treating pedestrians as obstacles in general i.e. doing exactly the same thing that we hate cars doing.

4. Cyclists shouting at slow pedestrians to "get off the road"

4. General Mé Feinerism in everything, everywhere.
    [...]
    [/rant]

It's a minority complaint, but I don't like people on those weird short bikes that have no cargo box in the middle trying to pass me with 1cm clearance and then swinging in front of me just before they collide with the car in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,278 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    I'm looking for some advice on cloud based storage solutions. Can anyone advise what would be a good idea for a small business with only a few users for storage, sharing, etc?
    Dropbox. More reliable than Google Drive. Or Box, if you want it in the EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

I find most people (including drivers) pretty nice. Drivers can be thoughtless, usually because they're shut in a box alone with their own worries, and if you get out of their way and motion you on they don't really realise that it's a human who's kindly done this; but in general I don't find that most people are terribly selfish. Most are living within society and swimming in shoals; it's the exceptions we notice.

But getting back to the radio jocks, hell, don't just make them go to the inquest; make them go to the post mortem too, and explain what they said to the lovers and family and friends of the killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

ford2600 wrote: »
    It's a long way from pop science, but there doesn't seem to be a consensus in scientific community from what I've read.

article/game-theory-calls-cooperation-into-question1/

Good article, you'll get links to read up on both sides from it.

Richard Dawkin's "Selfish gene", is interesting if very dry. Plenty dissenting voices also.

Jesus man, you say it's far from pop science then you refer me to that gob****e

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Lumen wrote: »
    Dropbox. More reliable than Google Drive. Or Box, if you want it in the EU.

Depends to an extent on your storage requirements and applications. I've a Dropbox plus account to share and exchange big data with clients but use FTP on a hosted web-server for my main online storage as it works out far cheaper if you need > 1 terabyte. I use midphase for the FTP side which costs me ~€60 per year for unlimited storage and a dedicated IP address, and the Dropbox is another €100 per year for 1TB.

Jesus man, you say it's far from pop science then you refer me to that gob****e

I've never read The Selfish Gene, because I also dislike Richard Dawkins, or at least his public persona.

However, my understanding is that the scientific notion he was explaining in that book (and it's not a theory he originated) is not that people are selfish, but that paradoxical behaviour by individuals of a species can often be explained by thinking about how that behaviour ensures the propagation of genes carried by that individual. So certain types of altruism and heroism can be explained, as well as some less exalted behaviour. In particular (as far as I recall), close family members going out of their way to save or raise other family members, even to the point of self-sacrifice, can ensure the propagation of the genes of the altruistic actor, even if it doesn't help them to reproduce, or even brings their reproductive career to an abrupt end, because they share so many genes with the close family member they save or nurture.

I think in more technical terms the idea is that evolutionary pressure is exerted at the level of the gene, and not the individual (or at least more at the level of the gene).

I've no idea whether it's true, but The Selfish Gene as a title is very eye-catching but ultimately can be misleading, as Dawkins acknowledged more recently. Obviously, genes have no motivations or ideations, so they're not in any sense "selfish".

tomasrojo wrote: »

I've no idea whether it's true, but The Selfish Gene as a title is very eye-catching but ultimately can be misleading, as Dawkins acknowledged more recently. Obviously, genes have no motivations or ideations, so they're not in any sense "selfish".

Yeah, he acknowledges after making a fortune from the sales. If he were principled in any form, as the seeker of "truth" as he likes to put it, he would have recognised the misleading nature of the title. It's attention grabbing, he's a shill and another player in the current group "Cult of Personality" intelligentsia, whether they want to be a member or not (thinking others like Chomsky and Zizek) whom the "unthinking left" like to follow without questions. Easier to take their comments onboard and claim them to be gospel than read the original philosophical/scientific works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Yeah, he acknowledges after making a fortune from the sales. If he were principled in any form, as the seeker of "truth" as he likes to put it, he would have recognised the misleading nature of the title. It's attention grabbing, he's a shill ...

WTF are you lads smoking? You sound like you're writing copy for a conspiracy website.

The book was published in 1976. It was groundbreaking at the time, and still is an amazing introduction to the topic. The man's done more than his fair share for science and research. You seriously reckon he should have put out a publisher's note with it saying, 'I wish, with precocious foresight, to blunt the elegance of the central conceit of this book by explaining in a deadening way that I don't mean that humanity is inherently selfish or should be guided by selfishness'?

A more recent quote: "What we need is an anti-Darwinian society. Anti-Darwinian in the sense that we don't wish to live in a society where the weakest go to the wall, where the strong suppress the weak."

oflahero wrote: »
    WTF are you lads smoking? You sound like you're writing copy for a conspiracy website.

Not sure whether that's directed at me, but I didn't actually criticise the work itself (I haven't read it). I just said I don't like his public persona, which is neatly satirised here.

It's scarcely even an exaggeration.

You seriously reckon he should have put out a publisher's note with it saying, 'I wish, with precocious foresight, to blunt the elegance of the central conceit of this book by explaining in a deadening way that I don't mean that humanity is inherently selfish or should be guided by selfishness'?

If fact, to be fair to him, the latest introduction to the book (which I have read) pretty much does that.

WTF are you lads smoking?

Clearly something with less potency than you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    Hi folks,

Thanks!

Cloud services for process and workflow might be a good idea - Zoho and Asana are free options for small number of users. I'm nearly sure Autotask offer free subscriptions for up to 10 users with a cap on file storage.

You could use those free resources in conjunction with Dropbox - great for a small company starting out. Or up, in modern parlance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Clearly something with less potency than you are.

'Shill'. Lolzers!

"The man's done more than his fair share for science and research." Lolzers! In Zoology, yes, 30-40 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

How come we don't have boards mini league for the tour de suisse . I'm flipping 30th overall !

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Can't believe Leo has left Shane Ross as Minister for Transport.

We'll never get anywhere now........

I guess the alternative was call an election and risk becoming the shortest-serving Taoiseach of all time.

call a snap election? sure what could go wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Moflojo

Ross has succeeded in getting Stepaside Garda Station reopened, something that will help to secure his seat if he goes for re-election.

With that in mind, perhaps he can now focus on his brief as Minister for Transport and actually get something done. We have to keep the pressure on him regarding cycling though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭manafana

Moflojo wrote: »
    Ross has succeeded in getting Stepaside Garda Station reopened, something that will help to secure his seat if he goes for re-election.

With that in mind, perhaps he can now focus on his brief as Minister for Transport and actually get something done. We have to keep the pressure on him regarding cycling though.

stepside reopening was needed, and local politics will always take over im afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,547 ✭✭✭VW 1

Give or take, how much would you be expecting to pay for a schwalbe tyre in an LBS on a road bike? Was quoted 70 for the lesser quality and 90 for the better quality more kevlar reinforcement tyre. Is this out of the ordinary?

I read that wheels with lighter rims take a lot of the weight off a heavy old bike. How much, and what are these wheels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

VW 1 wrote: »
    Give or take, how much would you be expecting to pay for a schwalbe tyre in an LBS on a road bike? Was quoted 70 for the lesser quality and 90 for the better quality more kevlar reinforcement tyre. Is this out of the ordinary?

Sounds a lot, this is just for 1 right? do you know the model, marathon plus by any chance.

I found the cheapest place for schwalbe tyres was from german sites.

I got 2 for €52 including delivery which was €10, these are big yokes too €29.50 each on CRC and that is 59% off

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/schwalbe-super-moto-x-mtb-tyre-greenguard/rp-prod128889

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

Chuchote wrote: »
    How much, and what are these wheels?
    Standard 700c aluminium clinchers:
    https://www.extralite.com/Products/HyperClinch%20SP.html

Though they have put on 100g in weight in 5 years.

Idleater wrote: »
    Standard 700c aluminium clinchers:
    https://www.extralite.com/Products/HyperClinch%20SP.html

Though they have put on 100g in weight in 5 years.

Thanks, Idleater. Iggerant as I am, what is the difference in weight between these and my clunky old wheels from the 1990s or so? (And I can't see a price?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,547 ✭✭✭VW 1

My apologies, that is the price for two tyres.

Doesn't sound too far off then considering the mark up for buying local and that the need was urgent. Just wanted to be sure it wasn't way over the odds.

Not certain on what exact model it is of the new tyre though!