Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

_Brian wrote: »
    The last attack in London swung things big time against her considering she presided over the loss of something like 13k police officers.

To fight against the likes of that grass roots terrorism you need bobbies involved in communities, spending their time doing nothing else but working with communities, building relationships and identifying trouble way before it becomes trouble.

Taking away police and leaving these marginalised communities to fester is a huge mistake, same thing in France, stack em high in high density slums, no policing, no social supports, rampant crime, it breeds resentment and it's just a short hop to a home grown terrorist.

Agree
    We're we not at the same here as the government was "trying to tighten its belt"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Agree
    We're we not at the same here as the government was "trying to tighten its belt"

We have a very different social demographic here.
    We've no brutal colonial past, this is a serious problem for many of our neighbors. Many of the formor "colonies" have now British citizenship as a repayment for the brutality inflicted on them over time. However, when these citizens arrive in Britain or France there is nothing but slums and unemployment for them. Resentment grows, so on and so on. Radicals can so easily point to atrocities carried out in Syria etc by France and Britain- schools, hospitals, weddings being bombed "in error", gives these people serious ammunition to go into British or French slums and round up support from an desperately neglected neighbourhood slum. Many of the seeds for today's conflict were sown over the last few hundred years.

Almost all of the Muslim population here are here for education or economic reasons, it should be a lesson for us to deal with asilum requests quickly so individuals are either free to work or sent back.
    Racking and stacking them in internment camps like mosney for 10 years risks the same problem developing for a different reason. Deal with them swiftly - either way !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Agree with everything that Brian has said.
    Also the majority of Muslim's in Ireland are directly or indirectly involved in the health services, and are highly educated and prosperous.
    You wont have been to medical school otherwise.
    Typically its amongst second and third generation immigrants where resentment festers and is easily directed by agent-provocateurs.

The HSE practice of 6 month contracts to such doctors and surgeons is highly disruptive to families, and prevents them ever feeling secure in their employment od integrating with any community. Not unusual for a doctor to finish work on a Saturday morning in Cavan and be expected to start in Limerick or Cork at 8am on Monday. Children are bounced from one school to another and never make firm friends, and other family members likewise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Lads we have a allot of Muslims here both from the middle East and North Africa living in Direct provision. And while it's a massive improvement on where they have come from it's not exactly living the western dream either. If were headed for a scare then that's the most likely avenue it will come from IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Interesting posts here and I can't help but draw some parralels with the protestant German palatine refugees who were brought in here in the 1700's.
    I'd have a bit of that blood in me myself.

They were brought in here by the government at the time and given small farms to rent from the landlords.
    Most of them were very good farmers and brought the newest technology and farming practices at the time from Germany.

Mostly they hung out together and around here the families all went to a palatine church in Old Ross and the preacher did the service in German. This went on for generations and they still would make sure and have the farm work done early on a Sunday morning to get to Old Ross , passing by other protestant churches on the way. They were fierce loyal to the the government moreso than other protestant s for saving them from the slaughter that was going on in Europe. This would bite them in the ass when rebellion broke in 1798 and it's not surprising that the scullabogue attrocity was near Old Ross.

Anyway, gone way from todays dilemma.
    The difference in the palatines and today's Muslims in Ireland is well there's not much but the young palatine lads had plenty of farm work to do and no idol minds.
    Then I suppose it comes down to what is being preached in the palatines case church and the Muslims case mosque and wether its love thy neighbour or take up arms for the cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Interesting posts here and I can't help but draw some parralels with the protestant German palatine refugees who were brought in here in the 1700's.
    I'd have a bit of that blood in me myself.

They were brought in here by the government at the time and given small farms to rent from the landlords.
    Most of them were very good farmers and brought the newest technology and farming practices at the time from Germany.

Mostly they hung out together and around here the families all went to a palatine church in Old Ross and the preacher did the service in German. This went on for generations and they still would make sure and have the farm work done early on a Sunday morning to get to Old Ross , passing by other protestant churches on the way. They were fierce loyal to the the government moreso than other protestant s for saving them from the slaughter that was going on in Europe. This would bite them in the ass when rebellion broke in 1798 and it's not surprising that the scullabogue attrocity was near Old Ross.

Anyway, gone way from todays dilemma.
    The difference in the palatines and today's Muslims in Ireland is well there's not much but the young palatine lads had plenty of farm work to do and no idol minds.
    Then I suppose it comes down to what is being preached in the palatines case church and the Muslims case mosque and wether its love thy neighbour or take up arms for the cause.

I love the history of all those little ethnic communities .. from the Huguenot here to the polish airmen & cavalry who settled in England at the beginning of the War... so often, when they are able to keep their identity and culture, they have prospered on and on across the generations.

To be fair, the Sikhs, West Indians, and for the most part Pakistanis have done the same in the UK for many generations now - what we are seeing now I think is a more complex streak concealing itself within and around communities. There's no question though that the history, or a distorted version of it, plays a part when someone is determined to foment trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

See the balancing payments for the 2016 bps are up on financial services on agfood, payment date of 12th of June :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

The days of using a sledge and driving stakes and wire may be coming to an end. Virtual fencing, just click on a map the area you want cattle to graze in.

http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/country/332623/farming-without-fences-with-new-technology

I'm not sure sheep will listen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

The days of using a sledge and driving stakes and wire may be coming to an end. Virtual fencing, just click on a map the area you want cattle to graze in.

http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/country/332623/farming-without-fences-with-new-technology

I'm not sure sheep will listen though.

I saw gallagher had invested in a company doing something like that.

The principle is the same as the invisible fence for dogs. We had it at one point in the UK but gave up on it because (a) kind hearted walkers on a bordering footpath used to take the dogs collars off for them, so they could get out for a run and (b) every so often if a big bold dog did break through it, like all electric fences it was just as good at keeping them out as keeping them in!

The other thing is that individual animals appear to have different intelligence levels when it comes to the fence... some dogs would "remember" where the fence was when they did't have a collar on (even if you were driving over it in a jeep) and others would be happy to walk anywhere if their collar was off or as long as they couldn't hear the buzz before the shock. I could see that being difficult for dairy cows which move as often as they do - you might find some of them didn't want to move at all with confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Have a silage field not to be cut for another week/two. Only put manure out on 30hh of April. All was grand. Went checking it today and the whole thing has sprung up with seeding docks. I had a contractor called to spray them ages ago but didn't show and I forgot. The field looks like a cannabis plantation. Should I go in and clip the docks with a clippers and take them out in bags? Or just wait until cutting and take a hit that way? What do other people do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Have a small page field not to be cut for another week/two. Only put manure out on 30hh of April. All was grand. Went checking it today and the whole thing has sprung up with seeding docks. I had a contractor called to spray them ages ago but didn't show and I forgot. The field looks like a cannabis plantation. Should I go in and clip the docks with a clippers and take them out in bags? Or just wait until cutting and take a hit that way? What do other people do?

I think if you can wait another 2 weeks you should get them sprayed. They will only grow back if you cut them and you'll have to spray them anyways

Another fun fact on the Palatines.:D

They were colloquially called "the Scallion eaters" around here.
    While they did bring in and grow many new vegetables that were never grown in the area before I think it may have come from the first generation at least, eating and making sauerkraut and the smell on their breath and thus "scallion eaters".:pac:

Reggie. wrote: »
    I think if you can wait another 2 weeks you should get them sprayed. They will only grow back if you cut them and you'll have to spray them anyways

Will the spray work on docks turning to seed?

You've answered your own question.

If you let them seed you'll have the same problem next year.

Spray doesn't really work as well on mature docks and I can imagine they're like small trees at this stage.

Some finish to the England Scotland game

UP WEXFORD! :D:D

You've answered your own question.

If you let them seed you'll have the same problem next year.

Spray doesn't really work as well on mature docks and I can imagine they're like small trees at this stage.

They look exactly like that. Am wondering what to do.

Am off to Dromorland Castle for dinner today. Had to do fair looking for a shirt and tie, look a pillock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Am off to Dromorland Castle for dinner today. Had to do fair looking for a shirt and tie, look a pillock.

At least it's not another trip to IKEA for you !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Are most lads against wearing a shirt and tie?

I don't have to wear one for work, so I pose there is a bit of a novelty to it... but I'd be happy out putting me on...

I think you can't get smarter looking that a good shirt and tie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Another fun fact on the Palatines.:D

They were colloquially called "the Scallion eaters" around here.
    While they did bring in and grow many new vegetables that were never grown in the area before I think it may have come from the first generation at least, eating and making sauerkraut and the smell on their breath and thus "scallion eaters".:pac:

The Carlow footballers were always called the Scallion Eaters.
    There's a Palatine in Carlow. There must be a link!

The Carlow footballers were always called the Scallion Eaters.
    There's a Palatine in Carlow. There must be a link!

Palatine is just across the bridge in Carlow town.

Going to be a nervous 2nd half in wexford park.
    Kilkenny will have the wind at their backs.

Could do with Moses or someone to change the wind direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

was at a wedding there lately . great grub. enjoy !

Going to be a nervous 2nd half in wexford park.
    Kilkenny will have the wind at their backs.

Could do with Moses or someone to change the wind direction.
    Come on the yellow bellies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Odelay

Drove out there when I was 18 for a drink one night with a buddy as a cutie from school I was interested in worked there... We couldn't sit in the lounge as we didn't have evening jackets on..
    It's some place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Odelay wrote: »
    Drove out there when I was 18 for a drink one night with a buddy as a cutie from school I was interested in worked there... We couldn't sit in the lounge as we didn't have evening jackets on..
    It's some place.

Not my kinda spot so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 795 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Bord Bia Audit passed this evening.

Do you not wear a shirt and tie for teaching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Bord Bia Audit passed this evening.

I wouldn't have thought they worked Saturdays but fair play it would suit alot of part time farmers