My Night Out in Dublin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I got dipped in Paris once.

Same thing gypsy woman distracted me and some other little bollox made off with my wallet. Went to the Police and was told more or less to fcuk off back to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Not doubting the OPs story but the amount of people who claim to have been pickpocketed when drunk is unbelievable.

I myself used the same excuse with the Mrs after last years all ireland final. Threw a spanner in the works when the guards called to say they found my wallet, still full, outside Fagans where Id been standing til I could stand no more.

F*ck knows who paid for the taxi home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I got pick pocketed in Dublin just at the bottom of hardcourt street. I was actually with a group of friends and one guy comes up to me asks for a lighter. Whilst my friends walk on he takes an age lighting his cigarette. He tend proceeds to jam my lighter in my pocket. I had a tenner for the bus home in that pocket:(!.
    He took advantage of me because i was drunk. He also had the confidence to approach me when I was directly beside my friends. Anyway when I called my friends , he legged it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

Seen this numerous times around O'Connell Street, Moore Street.

Even my elderly Aunt the last time she was visiting noticed/ear wigged the auld lad arranging to meet the Roma girl later outside the lidl on Moore Street.
    Jake1 wrote: »
    Dublin is a small town, you might come across that little skank again.
    A few of the young wans hang around bachelors walk, they go up the lane there with an aul pensioner and give him a hand shandy, he gives them a few bob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

I suppose it's slightly different but I was in a similar situation that had a bad outcome.

Basic gist the same - stole wallet and then attacked from the blindside - but the guy who came in from the side didn't punch me he hit me over the head with a monkey wrench resulting in 18 stitches and then decided to kick the other side of my head while I was on the ground for another 6 stitches.

Similar to you, it was away from CCTV but the whole thing descended into farce that I probably shouldn't have stood for.

They identified the person involved and then proceeded to sit me down in a quiet room and explain to me that they didn't want to pursue charges against him as he was involved in a much bigger ongoing investigation and assured me 'he will get what's coming'.

9 years later still have daily headaches and can probably trace the root causes of anxiety and depression to this incident and nobody paid any price for it, was never offered counselling, no liason, nothing. The whole thing was super annoying. Only had a tenner in my wallet, they didn't even bother to take my phone :(

It put me off going out for years. I wish I had your attitude OP and didn't stand for how it went down. Anyway hope you get a better outcome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I got dipped in Paris once.

Will everyone stop saying dipped, it sounds like a sexual thing!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Basic gist the same - stole wallet and then attacked from the blindside - but the guy who came in from the side didn't punch me he hit me over the head with a monkey wrench resulting in 18 stitches and then decided to kick the other side of my head while I was on the ground for another 6 stitches.

Jesus that sounds like a terrible experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,809 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

gizmo81 wrote: »
    Seen this numerous times around O'Connell Street, Moore Street.

Even my elderly Aunt the last time she was visiting noticed/ear wigged the auld lad arranging to meet the Roma girl later outside the lidl on Moore Street.

The Lidl on Moore Street is a regular rendezvous.

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

Glamarama!!!
    Esel wrote: »
    The Lidl on Moore Street is a regular rendezvous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Not doubting the OPs story but the amount of people who claim to have been pickpocketed when drunk is unbelievable.

I myself used the same excuse with the Mrs after last years all ireland final. Threw a spanner in the works when the guards called to say they found my wallet, still full, outside Fagans where Id been standing til I could stand no more.

It is hardly unusual, was lucky enough one time to catch the fellow in the act. He got an education.

HaS happened before and too late.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Autochange

Pointless going to the guards over these things. Buy yourself on of those retractable batons and go back down there and get your wallet back. Bring some friends if needs be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,809 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Autochange wrote: »
    Pointless going to the guards over these things. Buy yourself on of those retractable batons and go back down there and get your wallet back. Bring some friends if needs be

I see a few snags in your plan...

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Autochange

Esel wrote: »
    I see a few snags in your plan...

Excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭TheQuietBeatle

Hate to say it but moral of story is don't get too pissed drunk and lose control of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Sorry to be that guy but if you notice one or two petite swarthy looking guys or girls hovering around your generally vicinity when you're around temple bar or the harcourt street areas at night, mind your pockets/hand bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

When you see the Roses being sold, you watch your pockets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I'd say regular Romanians get really p***ed about they way Roma are conflated with them, I bet they wish they were titled differently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

dd972 wrote: »
    I'd say regular Romanians get really p***ed about they way Roma are conflated with them, I bet they wish they were titled differently.

I have several Romanian pals - salt of the earth types. This ^ boils their pee.

I never much notice this side of life because I am large and look quite cranky. Being large and cranky looking has some advantages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Hate to say it but moral of story is don't get too pissed drunk and lose control of yourself.

Moral of the story is if you see Roma and you're after a few pints late at night, move at speed in any direction away from them.

I've seen Roma attempt to rob fellas before. They come in numbers, a gang of tiny women with funny clothes and headscarves, with roses and smiles. They surround their victim all the while smiling at him. The guy may be smiling back sheepishly, even though he is probably aware that he is going to be robbed. In any case, there's a gang of them and one of him and he gets robbed anyway. They isolate one guy and rob him.

If you go out of your way to avoid them, they understand that you are going to be harder to rob, so they move on to somebody else.

Avoid them at all costs, especially at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Im finding this really difficult to understand, are you addressing the roma man who punched you in the post? Or are you quoting what you said to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

What ya get in the kebab ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

I think I know the gang to see, you would likely find him just hanging around the same spot, they dip people - usually tourists - about once an hour there.

The lads, weird one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

They identified the person involved and then proceeded to sit me down in a quiet room and explain to me that they didn't want to pursue charges against him as he was involved in a much bigger ongoing investigation and assured me 'he will get what's coming'.

Maybe he was a paid Garda informant, with immunity from prosecution: it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

Sorry to hear this happen to you and hope they catch the scummer.

Don't get the disgusting mentality of "ah happy days gonna go out and rob some fool blind tonight"..

I had something similar happen to me a while ago (someone tried to punch me, not pickpocket me) while I was sober.

Instant karma for the dope though, been boxing since I was in nappies so I just moved out of the way and he fell flat on his face while his mate ran away. I'm 99% positive he knocked himself out trying to knock me out, didn't bother to check just laughed and kept walking. F*ck 'em.

Don't let it dent your confidence or make you hesitant to go back out though and as someone else stated, do speak to someone about it and air out the anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Get set on by a bunch of roma - pissed so hip check myself and get dipped - **** happens.

What the actual?

Pure gibberish. If you were fronting up to me, hammered, on the quays at 3am, spouting this sort of nonsense, I probably wouldn't punch you but I can totally understand if someone did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

Sorry to here this happened to you dude. A number of years ago a roma girl took my iPhone outta of my hand as she ran past me (I was rather drunk standing at Central Bank and she obviously saw the opportunity), I sobered up quickly and took off after her toward Trinity College. I saw a few Garda near the Centra and they saw me running after her as did a squad car and they pullled up, she threw my phone and a Garda caught it as it bounced (no idea how it didn't smash). Anyway, she got arrested and taken off, I a gave statement and went the whole way to to court etc and she never showed... waste of time :( Nothing ever heard about it again after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,587 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

The same guy must have got me that night too. Left me with my phone and enough cash in my wallet to keep drinking all night and get a taxi home but robbed my glasses from my face without me noticing. Strange!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Glenster wrote: »
    What the actual?

Pure gibberish. If you were fronting up to me, hammered, on the quays at 3am, spouting this sort of nonsense, I probably wouldn't punch you but I can totally understand if someone did.

Objectively the majority of the people on the thread understand what happened, despite my mixture of slang and 'stream of consciousness' I tend the descend into when writing. For anyone who is still confused the robbery was in the exact way Pat Mustard described them happening.

I'm not entirely sure what it is you think happened, neither am I particularly interested in explaining it again. However the fact that you think someone, whose only crime was not knowing which one - was one too many in Templebar on a weekend night, and then being stupid enough to follow the girl that robbed him while phoning the guards deserves to be punched tells us all we need to know about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Delighted to hear from the guards while I was away on holiday. No 'useable' CCTV of the robbery, they can just about make out me and a group of girls, but the two Irish lads on the Quays are on CCTV as clear as a bell apparently. Obviously no one knows who they are but I've been told the pictures have been circulated and just to see if anything comes of it.

I have to say the guard I've been dealing with has been A1 since the beginning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Delighted to hear from the guards while I was away on holiday. No 'useable' CCTV of the robbery, they can just about make out me and a group of girls, but the two Irish lads on the Quays are on CCTV as clear as a bell apparently. Obviously no one knows who they are but I've been told the pictures have been circulated and just to see if anything comes of it.

I have to say the guard I've been dealing with has been A1 since the beginning.

Where do they get circulated Sam?