Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Night Out in Dublin...

• 04-06-2017 4:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭

I have no idea why I'm posting this I'm still pissed and more upset than I've ever been. I'm no hard man by any stretch of the imagination but I'm not stranger to a punch up either.

So after a few beers I decide to go into Dublin city, where I'd lived for ten years, to have a few more beers and maybe meet up with some mates - as is Dublin on a weekend. No joy with the mates so I head on over to Isklanders to get a kebab an head home - plenty of people looking for taxis so as a 'local' decide to walk down to the quays to grab one.

Get set on by a bunch of roma - pissed so hip check myself and get dipped - **** happens. Go back and find the girl,follow here and say, look just give me the wallet back, etc. etc. Following her down the quays on to the guards and some coward, because that's what you are, you short little, half man, ends up sucker punching me, even through I said, look lads I've been dipped - on to the guards here. Let me let you know now you did it on the quays where there us plenty of CCTV. I'm going to make sure you get done for assault. So enjoy waiting for that, enjoy that there is going to be a load of jobs closed off to you for years. If you where a proper man and you were worried, you'd have waited for the guards, or called them yourself or at least once you'd hit he you'd have hung around rather than running off.

But then as I'm wandering around covered in blood I get stopped at least three times asking me if I'm alright - and fair ****ing play, If you were the lads that stopped me outside the Clarence or on the Halfpenny bridge I want to buy you a pint. thank you - after the **** I'd gone through and at 3am pissed as I was you folks had the presence of mind to ask if I was okay; you have no idea how much that meant to me right there and then.

Lastly if you have any information on the guy who sucker punched me and you willing to go to court I've €100 reward - the dipping I could live with, even being restrained when some girl is alleging some sort of misconduct I culd understand, but you hit me and ran off like a scared child, and that's what I'm gonna make sure you get done for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

F#cking scumbags.

You sure you alright Sam?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Hope you're ok today OP. Not a nice experience for anyone.

With some luck they'll have been caught on camera and you'll get some sort of justice.

Mind yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,805 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

That sounds rough! Hopefully you're not too badly hurt, and it'd be nice if you catch that scumbag too.

I thought I had a bad end to the night when I got soaked to the skin and then missed the last bus to Kildare (because of Bus Eireann: I WAS AT THE BUS STOP!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I got randomly punched once like that walking home after a night out. walking along after a decent number of pints, group of lads walking in the other direction and one of them just punches me in the mouth as I'm going past. It's not fun

The next day I was at home again and asked my mom to get me chipsticks, she got a multi pack and none of the packs had any flavouring on them... Not sure which shook me more

got 10 euro worth of vouchers for tesco and made owls from the covers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Jesus lad. You'll be alright. Fat chance of ever finding out who hit you though. Was it a Roma lad that punched you? If you wander around the area on any day you might bump into him, they tend to stay in the same areas most days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Sorry to hear that Sam. Sounds frustrating. I hope they catch the wagon who stole your wallet and the d1ck that punched you. I think we're far too tolerant of criminals like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Been there. It's ****.

I'd normally advocate the deportation of Romas but wouldn't wish them on my worst enemy.

Absolute *****!!!

Definitely follow up and look for cctv of the ****er that punched you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Going out for a few pints on a Saturday night in Ireland is a risky activity.

Might starting wearing a Go-Pro when going on nights out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

My husband is Dublin born and bred, I'm not so would probably be more wary than him. He's not the type to attract trouble at all (unless you take offence to someone who tells the cheesiest jokes ever) and still, when he's out for the night, I sit awake, unable to relax, until he gets in because I'm terrified some scummer will start something. It doesn't matter who you're with, whether you're a quiet or mouthy drunk, if someone wants to start trouble they will. It's a shame.

I've rarely seen gardai on the streets, I used to spend a fair bit of time in France and Spain and feel a lot safer going out there. The police keep a visual presence. It's also a more jovial atmosphere. People are out to eat, drink and socialise rather than out to get pissed. I know that's probably a false sense of security and a generalisation too but hearing stories like the above and from friends who've been started on in Irish towns (it's by no means confined to Dublin) just adds to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Don't go into Dublin CC on the weekends that often, but when I do you cannot help but notice those gangs of Roma wandering around. Very intimidating and obviously up to no good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭currants

I don't know why the Guards aren't around Temple Bar more at the weekend, those Roma girls are always wandering round looking for opportunities to dip, they are a total nuisance. No doubt if they were moved on some idiot would start complaining about police profiling, yet how many people have ever seen them any of them in a bar having a drink or getting something to eat etc. The only reason they are there is to prey on others. Sorry to hear about such a horrible night but at least you met some of the decent majority of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭NoeldeBournaix

Sorry to hear that OP.
    This type of behaviour absolutely sickens me. Am I correct in thinking these were two separate events? Or were they related?

To sucker punch somebody, that is just cowardly. Follow up on this if you can, for you could have been killed or spent the rest of your life needing 24 hour care. That guy needs to pay dearly for that.

If there is CCTV, he will be apprehended, if he is not known to the guards, they can show him on Crimecall if need be.

As for the girl, we all know that another theft charge won’t make a difference to her, but let’s hope she is caught as well. As another poster said, they usually patrol the same spots; hopefully the guards can take her off the streets for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Sorry to hear that OP.
    This type of behaviour absolutely sickens me. Am I correct in thinking these were two separate events? Or were they related?

To sucker punch somebody, that is just cowardly. Follow up on this if you can, for you could have been killed or spent the rest of your life needing 24 hour care. That guy needs to pay dearly for that.

If there is CCTV, he will be apprehended, if he is not known to the guards, they can show him on Crimecall if need be.

As for the girl, we all know that another theft charge won’t make a difference to her, but let’s hope she is caught as well. As another poster said, they usually patrol the same spots; hopefully the guards can take her off the streets for a while.
    Erm..may not happen. Hope Sams alright, but if it was a Roma who punched him, there's more hope of reaching world peace than him getting caught or punished. They act with complete impunity because the Guards don't want to know. More hassle than it's worth apparently. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Get set on by a bunch of roma - pissed so hip check myself and get dipped - **** happens. Go back and find the girl,follow here and say, look just give me the wallet back, etc. etc. Following her down the quays on to the guards and some coward, because that's what you are, you short little, half man, ends up sucker punching me, even through I said, look lads I've been dipped - on to the guards here. Let me let you know now you did it on the quays where there us plenty of CCTV.

what does this gibberish mean.

dip the hip and the half man set on me wait til the guards says I.

shabbidy do wah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Hi guys, just slept it all off there and have to say a massive thank you to you all for the support, means a huge amount.

What really got me wasn't getting dipped it was a couple of Irish lads that assaulted me. I've lived in Dublin a long time and realised I was dipped 2-3 minutes after it happened. I considered it more of a nuisance than anything else and wouldn't have happened if I was sober. So I just walked back, saw the girl and said look, just give me my wallet back I know it was you that lifted it. Wouldn't have even cared if it was sans the 20-40 quid that was in it.

She knew who I was and started walking away so,even saying I'll get your wallet. I called the guards and stayed on the phone with the guards. She made some sort of accusation to these two lads and I said "Lads I've just been pick pocketed, I'm on the phone to the guards now. I'm following her as she was one of them". Wham right in the kisser and they ran off. At that point I wasn't bothered about the wallet anymore it was the asshole that punched me. I lost them on the halfpenny bridge. If I was hassling the girl I could have understood them intervening, or calling the guards or whatever but this was just sucker punching me for no reason.

Two unrelated events. The guards where great although understandably a bit pissed off dealing with drunken incident #488 in temple bar that night but I have a feeling they'll follow it up I have the details of the guard at Pearse street.

Had I just been left alone by this short little ****, the guards would have turned up, I'd have (or not) my wallet back and it would have been a non-issue I just can't believe there are people out there like that - it served absolutely no purpose punching me, at least the roma gang where doing what they do for a purpose.

Have to say though to anyone who is worried about going out in Dublin, this is a very rare occurrence - also as I said above the guys and a couple of gals who stopped to ask me if I was okay restored my faith in humanity a bit. Thanks to them and thanks again to you folks for the support. Dunno why I'm posting but it helped a bit so thanks again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭NoeldeBournaix

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Erm..may not happen. Hope Sams alright, but if it was a Roma who punched him, there's more hope of reaching world peace than him getting caught or punished. They act with complete impunity because the Guards don't want to know. More hassle than it's worth apparently. :(

Yes. I should have said 'If there is CCTV, theres a better chance he will be apprehended'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Make sure you follow up with the cops, OP; don't let it slide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,073 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Get a wallet on a chain. Saved me a few times including once in a subway in Buenos Aires where I reached into my pocket only to find another hand in there !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

greencap wrote: »
    Get set on by a bunch of roma - pissed so hip check myself and get dipped - **** happens. Go back and find the girl,follow here and say, look just give me the wallet back, etc. etc. Following her down the quays on to the guards and some coward, because that's what you are, you short little, half man, ends up sucker punching me, even through I said, look lads I've been dipped - on to the guards here. Let me let you know now you did it on the quays where there us plenty of CCTV.

what does this gibberish mean.

dip the hip and the half man set on me wait til the guards says I.

shabbidy do wah.

Dipping is pick pocketing
    Hip check is he checked for his wallet
    He was on the blower to the Shades bout the bousey she some napoleon white nite slapped him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Hi guys, just slept it all off there and have to say a massive thank you to you all for the support, means a huge amount.

What really got me wasn't getting dipped it was a couple of Irish lads that assaulted me.

Glad you're ok, ^ that makes what happened much clearer. :) Lousy thing for them to do. How's the face?

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Glad you're ok, ^ that makes what happened much clearer. :) Lousy thing for them to do. How's the face?

I'm beginning to understand the term 'blowjob lips' if you'll excuse me being crass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,073 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Tigger wrote: »
    Dipping is pick pocketing
    Hip check is he checked for his wallet
    He was on the blower to the Shades bout the bousey she some napoleon white nite slapped him

Dublin-cockney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I hate this kind of crap. I'm glad you're doing OK Sam. I suppose the thing to do is have a second cheap oul' wallet with nowt in it but the few leaves for beer/chips/hoors/taxi. It would give me immense pleasure to hang that little twunt up by the ankles and use him as a kickboxing bag for an hour or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

What does being dipped mean? And what's a gang of Roma, a gang of knackers? Or Roman gypsies? Kids these days. I swear.

Horrible thing to happen. Delighted you are ok, and didnt end up seriously injured ( if you know what I mean)

What a pair of cowards those lads were to do that. Dirty scumbags.

Mind yourself today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Hammer89 wrote: »
    What does being dipped mean? And what's a gang of Roma, a gang of knackers? Or Roman gypsies? Kids these days. I swear.

Pickpocketed. And Romany Gypsies, as opposed to Romanian folk.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Not to be "that" person, but you should really think about seeing a counsellor when you're feeling up to it, even for one session to have a vent about it. Don't let the grass grow under your feet.

You might feel fine for a few weeks, but it can leave a lasting impact on your confidence and your general wellbeing if let fester.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭LeBash

If the girl was walking you a certain way, you were no doubt targeted by a Roma in wait for that type of incident.

The most annoying thing is that people in the city are for the most part out to have a social drink and spend money. Tourists want to see temple bar and they are also targeted. We want more tourists to come and spend money, so why not come down with draconian justice on people who are aggressive to the point of starting fights in the city and pick pockets. Anything that ruins what is an excellent friendly and fun place for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Consider yourself lucky op. That little scumbag skank fcukhead Roma girl was probably leading you down the road where her dirtbag brothers or pimps or whatever they're called were waiting to jump you.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Consider yourself lucky op. That little scumbag skank fcukhead Roma girl was probably leading you down the road where her dirtbag brothers or pimps or whatever they're called were waiting to jump you.

Good way of looking at it dtp, thanks - a smack in the gob probably saved me a good kicking actually.

There's no way that little yoke was out there on her own. She definatley had minders to back her up in situations just like yours

Dublin is a small town, you might come across that little skank again.
    A few of the young wans hang around bachelors walk, they go up the lane there with an aul pensioner and give him a hand shandy, he gives them a few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Jake1 wrote: »
    Dublin is a small town, you might come across that little skank again.
    A few of the young wans hang around bachelors walk, they go up the lane there with an aul pensioner and give him a hand shandy, he gives them a few bob.

And you know this how?

Anyway...

We need more visible policing on our streets, and any skangers need to be particularly monitored. It's clear they are not out for a good time but only to cause hassle. Boils my blood.

It's like those b#stards who attacked that student with aspergers a few years ago. Totally destroyed his confidence. Always they attack vulnerable people and people in vulnerable states. Real cowardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

There are no Gardai on the streets because they have their feet up on the desks in the barracks eating doughnuts and watching (CC) TV.

Talk about reactive rather than proactive. And at such a vulnerable time of the night in any capital city. But it's down to the Sarge/Inspector/Commish. And they don't seem to have a great rep at the moment.

Glad you are alive OP. Be glad of that. Shouldn't happen at all though.

We are too soft, we do not complain enough.

Did you report it to the Guards?, Yes, I know how fruitless that can be, but still, the more we log this stuff the better. You'd never know.... if we don't the Gardai and the MOJ might think we are living in a crime free Nirvana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Do a John Wick on them.

I've reported it and I'll be following up on it. The area it happened has to be covered by CCTV. I'm actually less annoyed at the pick pockets, scumbags that they are, than I am with the person that assaulted me.

Fantastic news is that cold water and salt gets blood out of nice shirts so silver lining and all that.

I've reported it and I'll be following up on it. The area it happened has to be covered by CCTV. I'm actually less annoyed at the pick pockets, scumbags that they are, than I am with the person that assaulted me.

Fantastic news is that cold water and salt gets blood out of nice shirts so silver lining and all that.

Fantastic news. Now I'm off to put on a wash

So cards and everything are on the way. Huge thanks the woman in the NDLS office or saw me even though they were having a melt down that day (systems and demand-wise). I realised only the other day the license was in the wallet and I'm off on a driving holiday. On the mend physically although ended up in hospital over the busted lips.

Anyway... these tracker yokes? Any suggestions for any good ones. Just looking for one I could slip into the wallet and follow it for the few minutes it takes to find it and dump it. Might give the guards more time/incentive to get there. Also I'm a scatter brain anyway so it might be useful. I was hoping to get half a dozen or so for keys, bags wallets - any suggestions on any that are good?

Any issue - other than forgetting the bloody thing - with leaving your drivers license in the car? (As you now have to have it when driving) or should I just leave it at home and get a producer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

LeBash wrote: »
    so why not come down with draconian justice on people who are aggressive to the point of starting fights in the city and pick pockets.

Judges in this country want nothing to do with it and that's why this stuff is allowed to run riot.

http://www.herald.ie/news/courts/gardai-fear-vicious-thug-will-resume-campaign-of-terror-after-avoiding-jail-35805565.html

If Garda are saying things like;

"Does a man like this change?" a senior gardai source said last night.

"A huge investigation led to him being charged with these offences.

"So he was caught, charged and brought before the courts but he fled to England where he was jailed for a violent robbery.

"He is then extradited back here to face these charges as a grown man but gets all the benefit of the Children's Court."

Then what type of message is this sending out?

First and foremost I feel sorry for any victims and secondly the Garda who put in the effort and try there best to only be, let face it pissed on by the courts.

These folk wouldn't be so quick if there was a 5 year stretch or been up doing a 9-5 job like the folk there robbing at the end of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

There are no Gardai on the streets because they have their feet up on the desks in the barracks eating doughnuts and watching (CC) TV.

In fairness that's not true for the vast majority of the decent hardworking Garda and Sergeants.

You'll find, that and defiantly in DMR South/North central that the Garda you refer to with the ' feet up on the desks in the barracks eating doughnuts and watching (CC) TV', are in fact bogged down with prisoners and the paper work that goes with it.

What exactly do you think happens once a person is arrested? That the magic fairys look after them, I suppose you think these magical fairys process the paper work to get him to court also. :rolleyes:

Garda are wrapped in red tape, paperwork and prisoners back at the station, open your eyes to it, that's why there not on the street.

Guys - I don't want to backseat Mod - and God knows I'm the very first to jump in with my opinions on the Criminal Justice system, but could we keep it to a separate thread, in which I'd be delighted to comment.

I'm just having a but of a rant here and asking a few follow up questions as I've found the community here to be amazingly supportive when '**** goes down' but also that there will be people who'll give you a bit of a reality check as well. On the latter point the wife has done that (and been extremely supportive) in spades so :pac:

On the guards, they've been nothing short of fantastic. As I said on the night they had no idea what was going on really, but were perfectly professional. Since I've had the victim support unit write to me and the investigating guard call me, all extremely helpful and supportive.

TL;DR Could we move the CJS discussion to it's own thread and are those tracker things a waste of money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

TL;DR

A hip, a hop, a hippy, a hippy dippy dip dip dop a dippy, a hippy dippy bang bang punch a punchy in me nose, the fekin romas got me bloodied and beat.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    TL;DR

A hip, a hop, a hippy, a hippy dippy dip dip dop a dippy, a hippy dippy bang bang punch a punchy in me nose, the fekin romas got me bloodied and beat.

Just pointing out again that I wasn't assaulted by a Roma but by two Irish guys who subsequently ran off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

Just pointing out again that I wasn't assaulted by a Roma but by two Irish guys who subsequently ran off.

They were prob working with her, she would not have been alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kyogger

Hi. How often does this happen?

They were prob working with her, she would not have been alone

We had that discussion further up, ironically they probably saved me from a worse beating, but I've very doubtful they were working with her as they assaulted me in an area (so I told by the guards) is extremely well covered by CCTV, both guards and the pubs in the area.

What she was doing is walking me down one of the back alleyways so I could get a smack there but they less in sight of the CCTV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

I called the guards and stayed on the phone with the guards. She made some sort of accusation to these two lads and I said "Lads I've just been pick pocketed, I'm on the phone to the guards now. I'm following her as she was one of them". Wham right in the kisser and they ran off.

It might have happened because you were on to the guards. Scummers don't like when 'yih squeal tih de bleeedin pigs'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

kyogger wrote: »

Every 10 minutes.

kyogger wrote: »

To me in Dublin in 17 years where I've walked through pissed as pissed could be I've never been dipped (pick pocketed) before and can count on one hand the amount of times there has ever been any other sort of issue, and at least 2 of those I could (and did) have at least removed myself from the situation.

Dublin is extremely safe and I'm not for one second suggesting otherwise. I've had absolute great craic with ransomers just walking up to me over the years and I would hate to think anyone reading this thread is put of going in, just maybe know your limits (booze) and don't do the stupid thing I did that was walk down the back alleys, pissed holding an armful of kebabs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Sorry this happened to you Sam, I think it's more regular than people think unfortunately.

One of my young lads lives in Dublin city and a couple of times lads have taken a swing at him for just being in the wrong spot at the wrong time, terrifies me. He thinks he's indestructible because he's so tall and fast but all it takes is one little scumbag like this to catch you unawares.

I agree with other posters too, could have been worse, she could have been leading you to a very bad beating.