Can't really get excited about this wedding and hen part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Tell them youre saving up for their divorce.

Just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭biZrb

Seve OB wrote: »
    link?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057355848

Its epic, all 88 pages of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

Buckle in for an afternoon of "no way, they didn't??!!" Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

There was no sitting in the residents' bar until 4am etc.

That was the worst thing about mine. All my friends and family had gone home and the in laws friends and family were sitting in the room having a seemingly unending sing song. I just wanted to go to bed at that stage but had to stay up. I really wanted to shout out "will you all just shut the fook up and go home!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

A big problem nowadays is every bride/groom thinks they're a celebrity, not helped by social media.

These over the top hens/stags and weddings are so ridiculous and put so much pressure on everyone.

I've seen so many people become obsessed with their wedding it just really puts me off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,565 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

biZrb wrote: »

bookmarked for later so :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

I hope so.

I would actually like to see a return to weddings 1950s/60s style. When my parents got married it was a morning ceremony, a sherry reception followed by a wedding lunch, and the whole thing was done and dusted by about 4pm.

I'd even settle for a shorter day, like finishing up at 1am, English-style. At my most recent wedding, I was ready to go around that time but my hubs wanted to stay on longer and we only had one room key (we weren't staying at the hotel). I felt dread when I heard things were moving to the resident's bar but luckily a wave of tiredness came over him once we got there. I'd like there to be as much dancing though so the band and DJ time would have to start earlier. The whole day is just do darn long. It needs to be simplified.

The increasing number of civil ceremonies is helping things though because, on average, it's a shorter day than one with a church ceremony. Civil ceremonies tend to start later in the day AND they're shorter. Plus you don't to sit through the torture that is Mass. Often too, the civil ceremony and reception are in the same venue, eliminating the trek between two places. I look forward to there being more and more of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Murrisk wrote: »
    The increasing number of civil ceremonies is helping things though because, on average, it's a shorter day than one with a church ceremonies. Civil ceremonies tend to start later in the day AND they're shorter. Plus you don't to sit through the torture that is Mass. Often too, the civil ceremony and reception are in the same venue, eliminating the trek between two places. I look forward to there being more and more of them!

Have to say I prefer there being different venues between the ceremony and reception, helps break up the day.

Any civil ceremony I've been to have been in the same location as the reception and I've found that those weddings have massively dragged. Bride and Groom go get their pictures taken and guests are left to mill around with no entertainment. These ceremonies I've been to and typically been at the same time as traditional church ceremonies and dinner is still typically served at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I'd even settle for a shorter day, like finishing up at 1am, English-style. At my most recent wedding, I was ready to go around that time but my hubs wanted to stay on longer and we only had one room key (we weren't staying at the hotel). I felt dread when I heard things were moving to the resident's bar but luckily a wave of tiredness came over him once we got there. I'd like there to be as much dancing though so the band and DJ time would have to start earlier. The whole day is just do darn long. It needs to be simplified.

The increasing number of civil ceremonies is helping things though because, on average, it's a shorter day than one with a church ceremony. Civil ceremonies tend to start later in the day AND they're shorter. Plus you don't to sit through the torture that is Mass. Often too, the civil ceremony and reception are in the same venue, eliminating the trek between two places. I look forward to there being more and more of them!

To be honest, I find all the hanging around between the ceremony and the meal, and the eardrum wrecking bands that don't allow for people who want to sit and chat instead of dance, the tortuous part. The Mass is fine and rarely goes on for more that an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

In theory weddings should work. A whole bunch of your "favourite" people, music, drink, food, dancing... but it just doesnt? Why? Is it because they are all the same? No matter how different you think your day will be, I guarantee you it will be as bog standard as the rest.

I think the format is so tired now. Champagne reception. Call to dinner bell. Ladies&gentleman please welcome Mr&Mrs Brady. Beef or salmon. Sweet Caroline. Lads take shirts off and dance with ties on their heads. Women wear flip flops cos feet hurt. Residence bar. Sing song.
    Rinse and repeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

anna080 wrote: »
    In theory weddings should work. A whole bunch of your "favourite" people, music, drink, food, dancing... but it just doesnt? Why? Is it because they are all the same? No matter how different you think your day will be, I guarantee you it will be as bog standard as the rest.

I think the format is so tired now. Champagne reception. Call to dinner bell. Ladies&gentleman please welcome Mr&Mrs Brady. Beef or salmon. Sweet Caroline. Lads take shirts off and dance with ties on their heads. Women wear flip flops cos feet hurt. Residence bar. Sing song.
    Rinse and repeat.

And all the 'innovative' touches that aren't innovative at all. Sweet carts, ice cream vans, photo booths etc. To each their own and all that. But simpler weddings, with simpler gifts required, that last a few hours and don't require overnight stays and plane tickets might result in less moaning about having to attend these things.

At the end of the day, once you've been to 5 or 6 weddings they all start to blur into each other no matter how different the couple think they're being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I've two cousins getting married within 6 weeks of each other. Similar ages, we're all quite close and were raised together, seeing each other every few weeks. We still see each other very regularly.

One hen was 2 weeks ago and the other in 3 weeks' time. Both cost 220-230 each. Both weddings are overnight affairs, requiring B&Bs/hotels.

*Sigh*

When the time comes for myself and himself I'm going to be out for sweet revenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

I've been invited to many stags abroad - haven't gone on one.

Not that I couldn't afford it, but I'd rather spend my money on a holiday in a place I want to go to with people with whom I want to spend time.

I'd happily turn down a foreign wedding unless it was a family member or a very close friend.

When someone says "we'll save a fortune" if we get married abroad, I respond with:
    100 people x €500 (min a head, excluding a gift) = €50,000... that's what your wedding is costing everyone.
    Add in gifts and that could be up to €60,000

Add on what it's costing you and your wedding is now costing €70,000... think about it....

That helps deter them.

blacklilly wrote: »
    Have to say I prefer there being different venues between the ceremony and reception, helps break up the day.

Any civil ceremony I've been to have been in the same location as the reception and I've found that those weddings have massively dragged. Bride and Groom go get their pictures taken and guests are left to mill around with no entertainment. These ceremonies I've been to and typically been at the same time as traditional church ceremonies and dinner is still typically served at the same time.

I've found with church ceremonies, the time between the Mass and meal is a good bit longer. Yeah, there's a bit of waiting around at civil ceremonies too but the times between the two things is still shorter, due to the ceremony usully being later. After Mass, there the boring bit outside the church where everyone mills around. At civil ceremonies, you're usually sitting pretty quickly after the vows are said. With church weddings, there's waiting around for photos AND a drive between locations. And I'd rather be sitting chatting to people with a drink and some canapés in my hand than driving from one destination to another.
    To be honest, I find all the hanging around between the ceremony and the meal, and the eardrum wrecking bands that don't allow for people who want to sit and chat instead of dance, the tortuous part. The Mass is fine and rarely goes on for more that an hour.

Usually there is an area you can go that is far from the band to get a breather and chat to people. I've never been at a wedding where there was no place you could and chat away from the music. NOTHING is worse than sitting through Mass, at least to me! :pac: Civil ceremonies have the best bit, the marriage vows, and none of the sermonising. Half an hour, finito.

Rinse and repeat.

Oh my god, this is brilliant. :D

I'm not sure how to change it for the better. It's weird, so many of us complain about the wedding format but then if things are jettisoned, I think people would complain too! It's hard to change things, isn't it? And I understand why couples are reluctant to change the format, they don't want people grumbling.

First things first, lose the second day event! Couples should just say "We'll be going to X pub the night after if anyone wants to drop by" and leave it at that. No pressure. That what my sister did. I think five people came to the pub and honestly, my sister and her husband were happy with that, they didn't have to entertain two nights in a row, they could just relax and chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

anna080 wrote:
    I think the format is so tired now. Champagne reception. Call to dinner bell. Ladies&gentleman please welcome Mr&Mrs Brady. Beef or salmon. Sweet Caroline. Lads take shirts off and dance with ties on their heads. Women wear flip flops cos feet hurt. Residence bar. Sing song. Rinse and repeat.

Tremendous post :-)

There's the prepared dance routine for facebook now too.

ligerdub wrote: »
    Tremendous post :-)

There's the prepared dance routine for facebook now too.

Thankfully, that seems to have died out a bit. Can you imagine how headwrecking that must be for the bridal party? It would take a lot of practice and not everyone is a natural dancer. I don't know if it ever happened that much.

Anyone here been to a wedding featuring bridal party choreography?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭mazwell

I'm getting married this year. The groomsmen and bridesmaids wanted the stag and hen abroad (separately of course) but me and my fiance said we wanted local ones so that's what's happening now. The hotel for the reception is ten minutes from our house so people can go home, and its on a saturday so most people dont have to take annual leave. We're paying for our family and bridal party to stay and some people further away have booked in too. We're going to the local pub the next evening there'll be sandwiches but we're not actually inviting people to it, it's a bank holiday Sunday so that's where they'd be anyway.
    We know ourselves that weddings are expensive enough for guests and we're not so deluded that we think our weddings going to be any different to those attending than any other one they've been at. We also know people will give us money but we've paid for it ourselves and don't need it. Your one in the op would want to get a grip on her head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Half the time I am wondering why the hell I was invited I would be more a friend of a friend or an acquaintance. Cousins I am not particularly close to. Work colleagues. Old neighbour's.
    None of them will be going to my wedding so I politely decline theirs. Pain in the hole they are. All exactly the same just people trying to outdo each other.

For last 10 years or so (I am 35) I have been invited to about 7 or 8 weddings a year. Although people are getting the message I am not getting invited to as many now even though the same type of people are getting married. Even cousins are blanking Me! That's a special bonus.

A friend of mine set up a website for us to pay for different things on his honeymoon. Hotel for a night, evening meal, day trip. The rest of us were laughing at him.

Can people not just have shotgun weddings or elope anymore? And don't get me started on foreign weddings. Or thursday/Friday weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Thankfully, that seems to have died out a bit. Can you imagine how headwrecking that must be for the bridal party? It would take a lot of practice and not everyone is a natural dancer. I don't know if it ever happened that much.

Oh, the attempts at "going viral" at weddings are going to make the brides and grooms involved cringe so hard in a few years when the fashion for oversharing on social media has passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Rinse and repeat.

Yep, that was my day. I hate it looking back, having been to some awesome weddings since.

The last one I was at was great - civil reception in city hall on Dame Street, then a nice stroll around to the Stag's Head where we had drinks outside in the lane (in summer). Then walked around to a French restaurant for dinner and casual enough speeches. Reception then in a private venue with a bar and music. Great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Oh, the attempts at "going viral" at weddings are going to make the brides and grooms involved cringe so hard in a few years when the fashion for oversharing on social media has passed.

They always look a fright. The groom usually fancies himself as John Travolta or someone, but can't dance for sh!te and the bride is usually flooded with ten feet of taffeta fabric that doing the hokey pokey would be a challenge never mind trying to emulate the dirty dancing lift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I'm coming under pressure to go to a weekend hen party in the west of Ireland that involves two nights in a hotel, some expensive Spa treatments and a meal in an upmarket restaurant. I'm also expected to attend the wedding which will be in Spain this Autumn and consists of a pre wedding party, the wedding itself, and a barbecue the day after. They're then going on their honeymoon to the Caymen Islands and are, apparently, setting up a honeymoon fund for guests to contribute to in lieu of presents

I'll come to the hen party but book a bnb and miss the meal and spa day out.

You'd want to have some neck but if the objective is as much fun for as little cost, instead of a sense of duty to go, you're laughing.

€50 to the honeymoon fund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Was at the wedding of a celebrity a few years ago.

She had us practise a dance the night before the wedding that she wanted us to do the day after in a very public square.

No way was I going to dance in a piaza in Italy for some viral boloxology.

Luckily on the day it lashed rain so no flash Mob was done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

100-200 plus guests at a wedding to me is nothing but showing off, me personally id only really want about 30 people max,from me,similar from herself, and absolutely i will not be feeding someone i dislike,familly or otherwise,having those that i want there at the event for the memories is the only gift id be ok with accepting.

couldnt care less about a hen/stag or engagement party look at me nonsense

its all so fake and superficial,people do be so stressed out hoping its 'perfect' in every aspect that they cant wait for the day to end.

fcuk all the formalities i say,say some vows,sign some papers,have a fantastic laugh, nothing better than people having a great laugh together,its always looked back on fondly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Oh my god, this is brilliant. :D

I'm not sure how to change it for the better. It's weird, so many of us complain about the wedding format but then if things are jettisoned, I think people would complain too! It's hard to change things, isn't it? And I understand why couples are reluctant to change the format, they don't want people grumbling.

It's quite common in the US for couples to have the formal wedding pictures taken BEFORE the ceremony. Make up is fresh, so are the dresses, and then the Bride, Groom and the bridal party can all enjoy the champagne reception. It makes a lot of sense, really - it seems kind of rude for the couple to desert the wedding for a couple of hours to take pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I would find being constant centre of attention without a break from the crowd and an opportunity for a quiet moment exhausting. I don't smoke except at weddings. It gives you an opportunity to spend some time in smaller company in the smoking area. Actually quite a lot of time because I usually don't dance either. Anyway I really don't blame bride and groom disappearing for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

There is a lot of patting on the back here about how normal al of your weddings were...but did none of ye ever think that we would like to go on a foreign stag, or go to a hotel that's not up the road or see a bit of razzmatazz....the way this thread is going, ye think everyone would love the most boring wedding ever with a sandwich back in the gaff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It's quite common in the US for couples to have the formal wedding pictures taken BEFORE the ceremony. Make up is fresh, so are the dresses, and then the Bride, Groom and the bridal party can all enjoy the champagne reception. It makes a lot of sense, really - it seems kind of rude for the couple to desert the wedding for a couple of hours to take pictures.

Ah here..... the Bride an Groom are not supposed to even see each other before the ceremony here.

But I am sure some do and don't care about all that mullarkey.

I don't think that trend will happen here very soon, sensible and all as it is.

So the guests must STARVE and get pished whilst waiting for Mr. and Mrs to come back from the lakeside forest 10 miles away where artful pictures are produced for two hours minumum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

Myself and the (ex)wife had a small affair, about 40 guests .We found a lovely country house that did amazing food. Immediate family and friends only.

My mothers side of the family is huge, there was no way we could afford to have the once seen every 5 years "Aunt Mary and Uncle John" x 20 along.

Paid for family to stay overnight (limited rooms) and paid for coaches to get everyone else home.

And in fairness the "Aunt Mary and Uncle John" x 20, everyone of them gave a very generous present.

I would be be mortified to make any kind of stipulation on an invite, especially involving cash. Its so crude !. We had friends and family from around Europe and the US come and that was present enough.