Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London terror attack confirmed by Met Police

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

Help!!!! wrote: »
    If someone is known to have downloaded/distributed radical propaganda
    If someone has just come back from fighting for ISIS
    If someone is known to have been to a jihadi training camp
    What more do you want to know before locking them up until you can 100% know they will not kill someone in the name of Islam

There's a price to pay for locking people up without judicial oversight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭pangbang

Wow who knew the tide would turn with Vogue Williams?!

Seriously though, big enough deal (on the micro scale of things!) for someone with a relatively goodytwo shoes public personality to risk saying something "politically controversial" like that. She wont be the last to change face and get on the proper side of things.

Fair play to her for saying out loud, against the grain, what loads and loads of people are thinking about and talking about in private. The browbeating of the pop-media is having less of an effect day by day (it only takes people getting murdered constantly to force a bit of change, wow)

This hugs n' kisses, impotent approach to potential murderers will turn yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Bigger price for doing nothing & letting them roam the streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭TallyRand

Like what? A suicide terrorist attack nearly every week! We already seem on course for those.

I'm not one for concerns on "human rights" when it comes to this obviously growing Islamic extremism that is gripping Western Europe. How bad does it need to get for people like you to change opinion.

More worried about the human rights (arbitrary definition from upon high) and the inner glow of your virtue signalling than you are by the pieces of skin and bone of innocent people on London Bridge yet again.

Yeah, try and sell that one to the parents of the children killed in Manchester who, potentially, would otherwise still be alive. If youre worried about repercussions, that's all the more reason not to half-arse anything.

Impotency in this situation is going to end, and the longer action is delayed, the more severe it will be when it can no longer be held back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

One terrorist tried to go to Syria, was stopped by Italian authorities but was allowed in the UK after being flagged on as watchlist.

One terrorist was a failed asylum seeker in the UK but was not deported. He was allowed into Ireland, had a sham marriage and entered back into the UK.

The Manchester terrorist, again on a watchlist, went to a warzone in Libya (and possibly Syria) before committing the atrocity.

These acts ARE preventable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

pangbang wrote: »
    Wow who knew the tide would turn with Vogue Williams?!

Seriously though, big enough deal (on the micro scale of things!) for someone with a relatively goodytwo shoes public personality to risk saying something "politically controversial" like that. She wont be the last to change face and get on the proper side of things.

Fair play to her for saying out loud, against the grain, what loads and loads of people are thinking about and talking about in private. The browbeating of the pop-media is having less of an effect day by day (it only takes people getting murdered constantly to force a bit of change, wow)

This hugs n' kisses, impotent approach to potential murderers will turn yet.

I don't agree with internment, but you're right about the good in people speaking out at last. Get the discussion going, shove the people who can do something into doing something !

She would have known, she would have been a Muslim convert

I read a rag this evening (Mirror, or some such, came up on my Facebook) that had her commenting. She said she stayed with the guy a year and a bit, but she got sick of his homophobic, racist rants, and his trying to convert her. She said she just reached a point where she couldn't agree with his nonsense anymore. They have a baby girl, he wouldn't hear of dance classes, and wouldn't let her watch TV in case it'd "turn her gay" (dixit).
    She refused to convert, they separated.

I read a rag this evening (Mirror, or some such, came up on my Facebook) that had her commenting. She said she stayed with the guy a year and a bit, but she got sick of his homophobic, racist rants, and his trying to convert her. She said she just reached a point where she couldn't agree with his nonsense anymore. They have a baby girl, he wouldn't hear of dance classes, and wouldn't let her watch TV in case it'd "turn her gay" (dixit).

Just HOW did that relationship get started?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

pangbang wrote: »
    Just HOW did that relationship get started?!

What's the old saying... "Love is Blind. Marriage is the Eye Opener"

oh here, I found it. http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/my-husband-killer-jihadi-wife-10570872

There seems to be another one (Mirror editor: "right lads, that interview with your one, I want 5 articles over the next 5 days, and we shuffle it all and do another 2 next week") about the guy beating her, haven't read it yet. http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/world-news/london-bridge-terrorist-rachid-redouane-10574196

edit : they were together longer than I thought, I tend to skim these articles rahter than read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I mis-read his name as Rasher Redouane and thought, what an inappropriate nickname :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,932 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

One terrorist tried to go to Syria, was stopped by Italian authorities but was allowed in the UK after being flagged on as watchlist.

One terrorist was a failed asylum seeker in the UK but was not deported. He was allowed into Ireland, had a sham marriage and entered back into the UK.

The Manchester terrorist, again on a watchlist, went to a warzone in Libya (and possibly Syria) before committing the atrocity.

You're forgetting the guy who had a documentary made about him, where he more or less admitted he was a Jihadi.

He was able to go out and kill afterwards. If they can't catch a guy who may as well have a "Look at me, I'm a Jihadi" sign on his back, what hope is there?

Also, nearly all those involved seem to be 'known to authorities'. Imagine if ISIS get clever and start to use people the security folk don't know about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,932 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Difficult question, skillfully avoided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,760 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Plus the London attacker displayed ISIS flag in a Public Park.

But hey that should not alarm anyone like. Would never have guessed they would attack.

EVENFLOW

NIMAN wrote: »
    Difficult question, skillfully avoided.

That's the question people should keep asking him. Hammer him until he caves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Politifact have covered Trump's comment about Sadiq Khan and found it to be untrue.

http://www.politifact.com/truth-o-meter/statements/2017/jun/04/donald-trump/donald-trumps-tweet-misleads-about-london-mayors-r/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Can anyone tell me why many of the potential victims are down as missing and unaccounted for.

I haven't heard of this before.

Can someone elaborate on this? If someone is classified as "missing" or "unaccounted for" does that mean they are not classified as "dead or injured"? :confused:

Or in other words, is the actual casualty list higher and this is just a way the figures get slightly "massaged"? Or am I totally wrong in my take on that? It just seems odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,760 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

A few of the 40+ injured are very bad by all accounts and many will bare the scares till they die.

It's awfully sad for people who die, but people forget some end up like vegetable after it.

We seem forget people who have care and suffer this way too

EVENFLOW

OK hadnt heard that, good on her then.
    Maybe I'm being sceptical but why did she marry him though? Did she get paid for it?

oh here, I found it. http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/my-husband-killer-jihadi-wife-10570872

There seems to be another one (Mirror editor: "right lads, that interview with your one, I want 5 articles over the next 5 days, and we shuffle it all and do another 2 next week") about the guy beating her, haven't read it yet. http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/world-news/london-bridge-terrorist-rachid-redouane-10574196

edit : they were together longer than I thought, I tend to skim these articles rahter than read.

After reading that I'm still a bit sceptical, what was he like before he went to Morocco for 17months? Was he not asking to wear a burka before he went?

Phoebas wrote: »

Back in 2016 he said

Sadiq Khan has said he believes the threat of terror attacks are “part and parcel of living in a big city” and encouraged Londoners to be vigilant to combat dangers.

Dont think Boris Johnson would have said such a thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

Back in 2016 he said

Sadiq Khan has said he believes the threat of terror attacks are “part and parcel of living in a big city” and encouraged Londoners to be vigilant to combat dangers.

Dont think Boris Johnson would have said such a thing

Not actually a defense of what Trump said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,018 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

OK hadnt heard that, good on her then.
    Maybe I'm being sceptical but why did she marry him though? Did she get paid for it?

If they have a baby together by definition it wasn't a sham marriage was it. So presumably no she didn't get paid.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

Christy42 wrote: »
    Not actually a defense of what Trump said.

No but Khan is dodgy, hes not going to protect the people of London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

No but Khan is dodgy, hes not going to protect the people of London

Not sure. When people need to mislead with their opening statements I figure the rest of the argument is scrambling. Why is Trump incapable of putting forth a legitimate argument about this?

I would also say there is little Khan can do. It is more on May and the government with regards to funding/laws.

Heck even not having the POTUS and supposed ally intentionally mislead about what your elected representatives said would be something given the gravitas the position of president of the US has/had.

Khan has conducted himself well during this incident and has generally looked calm and in control which is what you want at this point. Trump...

A few of the 40+ injured are very bad by all accounts and many will bare the scares till they die.

It's awfully sad for people who die, but people forget some end up like vegetable after it.

We seem forget people who have care and suffer this way too

Exactly, people scared for life. Physically or emotionally it doesn't matter.

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/girl-8-injured-manchester-arena-13146955

I thought the above news story was heartwarming, some small bit of nice news in between all the horror being created from these scumbags.
    Small efforts like this can help.

The child may not have any concept of what happened to her until later in life and who knows how it could effect her in the future but guys like this WWE star visiting her as she recovers could make all the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,848 ✭✭✭take everything

Just watching something like this on YouTube and it just strikes me as off.

The guy on the right shaking his head vigorously disagreeing that the Muslim community need to do anything in response to these attacks.
    I know if I was the same religion as people killing others in the name of my religion I'd at least be embarrassed. He seems bullish and proud.

Very little about the plight of the victims and their families. All about how it might impact the Muslim community. A bit insensitive.

Your one on the left basically saying something about love fights hate or something similarly college-campus platitudinous (a weird combination of femininity, Islam and leftism).

And plonked (self-consciously and defiantly so) in the middle a comically* dressed burkha-clad woman (presumably a woman, given it's a burkha) with trendy glasses.

And she's got love (with what seems to be a grenade for the "o") emblazoned on her front.

Taqiya (or whatever it's called) how are ya.
    I dunno, if I didn't know better I'd say they were having a laugh.

*i'm risking admitting finding humour in a burkha clad woman may be a "hate crime!". **** it I lolled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Just watching something like this on YouTube and it just strikes me as off.

The guy on the right shaking his head vigorously disagreeing that the Muslim community need to do anything in response to these attacks.
    I know if I was the same religion as people killing others in the name of my religion I'd at least be embarrassed. He seems bullish and proud.

Very little about the plight of the victims and their families. All about how it might impact the Muslim community. A bit insensitive.

Your one on the left basically saying something about love fights love (a weird combination of femininity, Islam and leftism).

And plonked (self-consciously and defiantly so) in the middle a comically* dressed burkha-clad woman (presumably a woman, given it's a burkha) with trendy glasses.

And she's got love (with what seems to be a grenade for the "o") emblazoned on her front.

Taqiya (or whatever it's called) how are ya.
    I dunno, if I didn't know better I'd say they were having a laugh.

*i'm risking admitting finding humour in a burkha clad woman may be a "hate crime!". **** it I lolled.

I can't play it but the description you've given reminds me of that Muslim comedian who started by laughing at the way he was asked to basically be the eyes and ears in his 'community'' because he's sort of cool and approachable, then he denied there could possibly be potential Jihadists among them, and then launched into an extremely condescending lecture about how Muslims have feelings too and feel just as awful as the parents of the Manchester victims do, when their children are killed in anti ISIS air strikes, and laid it on thick about how the attacks on Britain are ''blowback.''

Now, I'm starting to see more and more Muslims come out and say they want to do what they can to tackle the poison in their midst. I have no respect for the former attitude and a lot for the latter.