Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I said wrote: »
    Lucky cat I mangled a few kittens over the weekend if they insist on sleeping in the engine they don't normally survive when the car starts moving poor little mites.
    PS proper disposal was adhered to.
    I hate when that happens:(

On a funnier note, I am known as Chicken fingers in my house now. I was hand feeding the cat yesterday in case she took too big a chunk and choked. Anyway, she bit into my finger to get the next piece of chicken and I left out a yelp. The eldest lat out a huge laugh and pointed at me and said Chicken fingers!

So yeah, I'm now Chicken Fingers:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

whelan2 wrote: »
    Some amount of road crashes around here this weekend, why is a bank holiday weekend different to any other?

Traffic was some mess around Drogheda yesterday after the crash on the motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

tanko wrote: »
    Traffic was some mess around Drogheda yesterday after the crash on the motorway.
    It was a disaster, another crash near Collon which meant there was diversions on both main roads to Dublin, mini marathon was on so roads were going to be busy. Massive tailbacks in Drogheda as a result. I'd say the guards were under pressure, also another crash on motorway this morning with another fatality, r.i.p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

_Brian wrote: »
    Just after dragging myself out of bed.. wrenched my back yesterday and its agony.. warning signs were there for about a week that i was overdoing it but I didnt heed.. some lessons are relearned over and over the hard way :(

That's the curse from the bone setters for calling them conmen.;)

I think rangler knows a good chiropractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

In Ennis mart today and they have changed things following the accident with the bull a few weeks back. The drovers now meet you as you unload your cattle and they will take them up to the chute. So you simple unload and drive away and park. You then have to head to the chutes via another overhead entrance and put the pen numbers on the cattle.
    Wonder how long that will last. It should get rid of the trailer queues too as cattle will be unloaded faster. Health and safety slowly creeping in everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

In Ennis mart today and they have changed things following the accident with the bull a few weeks back. The drovers now meet you as you unload your cattle and they will take them up to the chute. So you simple unload and drive away and park. You then have to head to the chutes via another overhead entrance and put the pen numbers on the cattle.
    Wonder how long that will last. It should get rid of the trailer queues too as cattle will be unloaded faster.

So it wasn't mart drovers that got hurt?

It was some private people loading/unloading their own stock.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    So it wasn't mart drovers that got hurt?

It was some private people loading/unloading their own stock.
    No it was an elderly farmer. He didn't own the bull either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,411 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    That's the curse from the bone setters for calling them conmen.;)

I think rangler knows a good chiropractor.

A curse you say !!
    More mumbo jumbo:)

Have time today and flicked on sky news.

One thing struck me was sky making a big deal out of a lad who ran round the scene of the London attack filming the devastation on his phone.

My first thought was put down the phone you piece of **** and help those poor people, even just hold someone's hand so they know another human is with them.

But no, sky news made a big deal out of this guy and I'll bet he was well paid for his footage too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Odelay

_Brian wrote: »
    Have time today and flicked on sky news.

One thing struck me was sky making a big deal out of a lad who ran round the scene of the London attack filming the devastation on his phone.

My first thought was put down the phone you piece of **** and help those poor people, even just hold someone's hand so they know another human is with them.

But no, sky news made a big deal out of this guy and I'll bet he was well paid for his footage too.

That's sickening, and sure no better than sky to milk it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I fainted off a horse today. Had a bug at the weekend but thought I was better. I'd say my blood press/sugar levels dropped like a stone cause I'd not been able to eat last few days.

Just wondering do people get their blood pressure checked regularly? Hope you're ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Wonder how long that will last. It should get rid of the trailer queues too as cattle will be unloaded faster. Health and safety slowly creeping in everywhere.

I wonder how long alright.

What way was trade/prices. I've two yearling bulls. One ok, one poor and plenty of grass, wondering to keep or sell.

I wonder how long alright.

What way was trade/prices. I've two yearling bulls. One ok, one poor and plenty of grass, wondering to keep or sell.
    Sold only the one bull. March 2016, 350kg made €960. Shapey but a bit butty. Had a few heifers too. One black lim heifer 5stars, 380kg made €1000.
    Very small mart. No cattle at all in one half of pens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Sold only the one bull. March 2016, 350kg made €960. Shapey but a bit butty. Had a few heifers too. One black lim heifer 5stars, 380kg made €1000.

Were there many buyers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Just wondering do people get their blood pressure checked regularly? Hope you're ok

Am hooked up to a 24 hour monitor at the moment. Three years since I had to go to a doc, and even then it was only because i had gotblood poisoning in a finger after cutting it cleaning a guttering.

Were there many buyers?
    More buyers than cattle. Never a shortage of buyers in Ennis.
    Saw dairy cows selling there from Ballyhaunis in Mayo.

Yep, regular and if I don't go on the doc rings me and asks me to go in. 24hour monitor each year. Have blood pressure Monitor at home, to keep an eye on it if I'm feeling it go up.

Medication for it and cholesterol too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

4 times a year, bloods and BP checked. Eye scan every year due to the start of cataracts on the lens and some abnormal blood vessels in the back of both eyes that haven't changed since I first got them checked over 20 years ago.

Like Brian, on meds for cholestrol and BP and a few other bits and pieces.

I don't think I can be buried when I die, there will be so many chemicals in my body I will have to be sealed for eternity:rolleyes:

Started on bp tablets a few weeks ago. Hadnt had bp taken since youngest was born 9years ago. Got my bp done in a chemist in spain while on holidays and they insisted I went to the doctor. I ws just getting it done out of curiosity. Got bloods done last week too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

More buyers than cattle. Never a shortage of buyers in Ennis.
    Saw dairy cows selling there from Ballyhaunis in Mayo.

that guy from mayo is a dealer, usually has good stock,

on a side note for a modern mart ennis has the greatest fuk up of a calf intake unloading area I've seen, they could have a simple drive through system there instead of trying to reverse in over your blind shoulder with the sheep queue passing outside you.

the sheep is much the same with passage ways different widths and the gates opening the wrong way

they had to cut out the penning in the collecting area to scales after 6 months there and rearrange it,

who ever designed the layout of that mart knew sfa about moving/handling stock

Started on bp tablets a few weeks ago. Hadnt had bp taken since youngest was born 9years ago. Got my bp done in a chemist in spain while on holidays and they insisted I went to the doctor. I ws just getting it done out of curiosity. Got bloods done last week too.

Few years ago I had an awful headache and tightness in my head.
    Doctor took my BP, made me lie down in the surgery for 30mims before letting me go home, said I was heading to stroke territory. Sometimes get wound up tight and I know the feeling now.

Doc said it's the lucky ones that feel it going up, if you've no symptoms you could get a stroke before you know it.

Bad family history here of strokes and heart attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

orm0nd wrote: »
    that guy from mayo is a dealer, usually has good stock,

on a side note for a modern mart ennis has the greatest fuk up of a calf intake unloading area I've seen, they could have a simple drive through system there instead of trying to reverse in over your blind shoulder with the sheep queue passing outside you.

the sheep is much the same with passage ways different widths and the gates opening the wrong way

they had to cut out the penning in the collecting area to scales after 6 months there and rearrange it,

who ever designed the layout of that mart knew sfa about moving/handling stock

Carrigallen mart is as bad for calves and sheep. Poor layout and small pens with nothing allowing stock to "flow" , to-ing and fro-ing and shouting and man handling sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Carrigallen mart is as bad for calves and sheep. Poor layout and small pens with nothing allowing stock to "flow" , to-ing and fro-ing and shouting and man handling sheep.

Think allot of marts could do with a revamp, aisles too small, people checking out stock in drivers way.
    Even weighing stock as they arrive & a display somewhere, would leave things easier if you're looking for particular stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Seldom got my blood pressure checked only when visiting the doctor. I get check regularly now when I started donating blood a couple of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Was in for a look earlier, didn't think the heifers were a great trade unless they were very good quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Jeez, both the milk price thread and the dairy thread are locked..... them dairy lads must be mad in the head. Start a fight in a phone box.

Ye. Us dairy ladies wouldn't carry on like that

Imagine the fighting there'd be if they were making as little money as the beef lads ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

And the main offender is banned....again