Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London terror attack confirmed by Met Police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.thesun.co.uk/news/3525507/sara-rowbotham-rochdale-child-grooming-sex-abuse-scandal/amp/

She is left liberal and yet she was ignored by the police (not usually the liberals)

But you look at someone like Tommy Robinson who has said about the grooming/radicalisation/terrorism for a long time but he gets called racist/bigot by all but turns out he was right all along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I can't see Jeremy Corbyn doing too well after this

I don't think the British would place too much faith in him

Yeah his track record as Home Secretary will really bite him on the arse now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Really Interested

Help!!!! wrote: »
    But you look at someone like Tommy Robinson who has said about the grooming/radicalisation/terrorism for a long time but he gets called racist/bigot by all but turns out he was right all along

And the person who was screaming about it first, was a lesbian labour member. Maybe muppets say racist like Pavlov's dog. But to claim all liberals scream racist is as bad as a person always claiming another is racist.

AllForIt wrote: »
    Yeah but it's still wasn't a sophisticated highly coordinated attack like 9/11 or 7/7 was it? It doesn't take much to buy a van or a few blades. 10 pathetic petrol bombs that didn't go off and fake suicide vests. Doesn't seem like they had much assistance from whatever network they are part off, it looks like they were a lone-wolf team who were inspired to do what they did on the back of the Westminster and Mancs attack.
    Last post here as it kind unnerves me debating this stuff.

But to address your post:

It was just as sinister as 9/11. What does it matter what type of weapon you use or how many you kill?
    It's easier for the scum to attack in this lower level manner than highjacking a plane but it doesn't mean it can't be as sophisticated or coordinated.
    It was successful in doing it's job until what they believe to be death in the name of Allah which these scumbags can be heard saying "This is for Allah" as the murder innocent adults and children.

As for this lone wolf stuff, He was known to the police. This surely means he is connected.
    Seriously, when does Lone wolf teams everywhere in multiple countrys turn to insurgency.
    Ultimately Isis claim publicly they are responsible for the attack.

One last thing I want to say on the subject and it relates to Ireland:
    There are nearly 30+ mosques in this country and there have been reports of extremist radicalisation of young muslims over two years ago by decent hard working Muslims who live here.

Then people think it won't happen here in the future when it's revealed that one of the attackers lived in Dublin.

Enda Kenny said publicly that the guards are actively monitoring certain individuals in this country.

And now we have increased armed response units in the biggest city's in the country to boot.

Some serious reality checks needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Help!!!! wrote: »
    And why is that?? Because liberals will come out & cry racism/bigotry

its actually quite funny to see that the majority of the reference to race, religion, origin etc are coming from the same people who are giving out about it! and since Saturday, "civil liberties" seems to be the new obsession for these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I can't see Jeremy Corbyn doing too well after this

I don't think the British would place too much faith in him

The impression I'm getting is that those who were going to vote for Corbyn are still going to vote for Corbyn. They tend to agree with his outlook on the issue.
    I've seen some of them on social media echoing Corbyn's post-attack speech and criticising May's cuts to the police. Corbyn's anti-authority and pro- terrorism stance (however he dresses it up) seems to perpetually exacpe them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

"This is because the west are bombing us, nothing to do with your religion"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭SkepticQuark

The impression I'm getting is that those who were going to vote for Corbyn are still going to vote for Corbyn. They tend to agree with his outlook on the issue.
    I've seen some of them on social media echoing Corbyn's post-attack speech and criticising May's cuts to the police. Corbyn's anti-authority and pro- terrorism stance (however he dresses it up) seems to perpetually exacpe them.

Calling to reverse police cuts is a pro-terrorism stance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

roddy15 wrote: »
    Calling to reverse police cuts is a pro-terrorism stance?

No-it's the only one that clearly isn't, although I wonder how much he will hamstring them-but will he even do it? Given him advisers' connections to groups with aims like dismantling MI5 (Andrew Fisher and I think Seumas Milne too) it's impossible to imagine him suddenly taking a grown up attitude to the problem.

May is in a position where she would do it if elected anyway, and has a better head on her shoulders to deal with ISIS.

One would hope that he is not truly going to rely on his planned cessation of anti ISIS airstrikes in Syria to sort this out (and that it won't just give them breathing space to regroup and overrun the place again).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Without scare mongering or thinking too far ahead Ireland would be a perfect hub for these Jihadi's, virtually no police force of note in comparison to m15 counter terrorism units, and only 30 mins flight to the UK to network and carry out attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Gamebred wrote: »
    Without scare mongering or thinking too far ahead Ireland would be a perfect hub for these Jihadi's, virtually no police force of note in comparison to m15 counter terrorism units, and only 30 mins flight to the UK to network and carry out attacks.

There's a comment on the Primetime video of the Clonskeagh Mosque on YouTube from 10 months ago that warned of the same thing. We can only hope it is scaremongering but what we now know about the latest attack, it's a little worrying to think that he could possibly have been radicalised here.

"I have tried to warn people of the silent but growing Islamist footprint in Ireland, & how Ireland is being turned into what Belgium is to France, the command & operation center to plan attacks in the UK. But the naivety is rampant & stupidity quite appalling. Naivety in the sense that Irish people through no fault of their own are still not familiar with what Islam exactly is & stupidy in the sense that some would defend it despite being ignorant of its true nature. I have lived among muslims, have relatives who are muslims, have dated muslims, have studied the religion yet i'm told i'm an islamophobe & bigot by people who have probably not even met a ****ing muslim in their life. Everytime I go to sandyford & look at that mosque/islamic centre it is obvious to me that gulf money was involved in its establishment. My ex was a saudi who always had a weird expression whenever i mentioned that mosque. Also the guys preaching near the GPO r not ordinary muslims, i can identify a "normal" muslim & one who is shady, & those guys are of the latter category, no doubt about that! My Ireland is being infiltrated slowly with a filth that would be impossible to get rid of once it starts taking firm roots, but one ****ing listens! I know they aint gonna attack Ireland now coz they thrive here unhindered, they can do whatever they want freely without being bothered by any agency(the closest thing we have to an MI5 here is a useless branch of the gardai!)& they have massive support from the ignorants. But make no mistake, just like belgium, we will in the future face problems...problems we won't be able to solve due to the high penetration & concentration of this cancer!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I suspect that British security forces are well informed of the jihadis in Ireland. We are keeping a lid on this, but each country knows well who to watch.

Hopefully.

I would be a tad concerned about Clonskeagh mosque and that fella and his family Halawa.

But I am sure the police here have it all under control. Whew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I suspect that British security forces are well informed of the jihadis in Ireland. We are keeping a lid on this, but each country knows well who to watch.

Hopefully.

I would be a tad concerned about Clonskeagh mosque and that fella and his family Halawa.

But I am sure the police here have it all under control. Whew.

I would be completely shocked if our force have anything under control. I have the image in my head of them just sitting around with their heads buried in the sand hoping an attack doesn't happen here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I would be very surprised if the Gardai aren't actually fairly well on top of it all. I don't say they'll manage to stop a lone wolf attack because they are by their nature extremely hard to stop. But the Gardai do have a history with another terrorist group with similar tactics (albeit the ISIS tactics are even more decentralised and harder to stop) and have information conduits and intelligence connections with other countries from those days that have gradually morphed into focus on ISIS and their ilk.

I don't say that they'll succeed in stopping the first attack that's launched (and I think we'll probably get attacked sooner or later too), but I think they've got as good a shot as any other country that's not directly had one yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Midnight Sundance

It's the breakaway mosques that they should be looking at. The one in Blackpitts is made up of the more extreme and radicalised members and it's obviously getting a larger number of members as it's bought new premises and is building on a huge new mosque, coffee shop and museum in the next few years. Obviously expecting a lot more members in the years to come. Hopefully this is being monitored by gardai and the extreme members deported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Yesterday Clint Watts tweeted an Independent article from 11/2016.
    https://www.google.ie/amp/www.independent.co.uk/news/world/middle-east/sas-special-forces-hit-list-iraq-syria-isis-terrorist-attacks-drones-a7400756.html%3Famp

Basically it describes how the authorities have provided UK special forces with a kill list of UK citizens now fighting abroad with IS that they do not want returning to the UK
    A little bit of digging in that paper brings up a further article dated end of May describing a similar French policy.
    I wonder how easily the intelligence service is able to keep track of these fighters and recruiters and what their plans are if these people manage to return to Europe.

Call me Al wrote: »
    Yesterday Clint Watts tweeted an Independent article from 11/2016.
    https://www.google.ie/amp/www.independent.co.uk/news/world/middle-east/sas-special-forces-hit-list-iraq-syria-isis-terrorist-attacks-drones-a7400756.html%3Famp

Basically it describes how the authorities have provided UK special forces with a kill list of UK citizens now fighting abroad with IS that they do not want returning to the UK
    A little bit of digging in that paper brings up a further article dated end of May describing a similar French policy.
    I wonder how easily the intelligence service is able to keep track of these fighters and recruiters and what their plans are if these people manage to return to Europe.

US-Australia had meetings the other day and the headlines that followed were:
    Australian foreign fighters will have no escape from Islamic State heartland, US vows

http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/australian-foreign-fighters-will-have-no-escape-from-islamic-state-heartland-us-vows-20170605-gwkrm5.html
    THE Federal Government wants the 100 Australians fighting for Islamic extremists killed on the battlefield — adding to the 76 already eliminated by coalition forces.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/queensland/federal-government-harden-language-about-killing-australian-foreign-fighters/news-story/d75342a1090ce04d9f63902418de65a8

There is something very chilling about those statements.

I mean, I don't disagree with them, and I can quite see why. Also, these people are, even under the most restrictive (USA) categorisation, traitors to their countries. They are actively fighting their countries with their country's enemies. And agreeing that if a citizen betrays their country, their country can repudiate them.

Still though, it's a bit chilling to hear Australia and America agreeing that the Australian fighters with ISIS are specific targets to be eliminated on the battlefield/ UK & British citizens same.

Samaris wrote: »
    I would be very surprised if the Gardai aren't actually fairly well on top of it all.

Seriously?

You realise Noirin O Sullivan is in charge of the Gardai, right?:pac::pac::pac:

There is something very chilling about those statements.

I mean, I don't disagree with them, and I can quite see why. Also, these people are, even under the most restrictive (USA) categorisation, traitors to their countries. They are actively fighting their countries with their country's enemies. And agreeing that if a citizen betrays their country, their country can repudiate them.

Still though, it's a bit chilling to hear Australia and America agreeing that the Australian fighters with ISIS are specific targets to be eliminated on the battlefield/ UK & British citizens same.

Agree with your sentiment, looking at it coldly it is probably the best course of action. Ireland should probably be making up a hit list and essentially putting out a contract if we cant do it ourselves. Nuts isnt it? But this is where we are now

https://twitter.com/SofieHagen/status/871277559526379520

So its MEN that are to blame !! God Darn it !!! Guess im partly to blame so !!!

Even when it was the bears I knew it was them!! :pac::D

Agree with your sentiment, looking at it coldly it is probably the best course of action. Ireland should probably be making up a hit list and essentially putting out a contract if we cant do it ourselves. Nuts isnt it? But this is where we are now

It does seem crazy and unthinkable not all that long ago, but yeah, that is where we are now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Jesus - never knew Sadiq Khan was so dodgy, I mean even Ian McKellen was bowing down to him when he won mayor - he must be a "liberal" right ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Jesus - never knew Sadiq Khan was so dodgy, I mean even Ian McKellen was bowing down to him when he won mayor - he must be a "liberal" right ??
    The Tories running a fairly crap candidate didn't help things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,063 ✭✭✭conorhal

I would be very surprised if the Gardai aren't actually fairly well on top of it all. I don't say they'll manage to stop a lone wolf attack because they are by their nature extremely hard to stop. But the Gardai do have a history with another terrorist group with similar tactics (albeit the ISIS tactics are even more decentralised and harder to stop) and have information conduits and intelligence connections with other countries from those days that have gradually morphed into focus on ISIS and their ilk.

I don't say that they'll succeed in stopping the first attack that's launched (and I think we'll probably get attacked sooner or later too), but I think they've got as good a shot as any other country that's not directly had one yet.

I'd be a lot less optimistic. We do not have a GCHQ style blanket of surveillance capacity to monitor these people and several of the latest arrests have been dependent on the Brits or Yanks passsing on info.

As for the guards prior experience with terrorism, I don't know how much that counts for with a threat you can't monitor in the digital age, can't infiltrate and are not 'known to you'.
    Another important factor to consider is that when PS pension and pay reforms were introduced during the crash, a hell of a lot of experienced guards took early retirement to retain pension benefits or avail of generous cost cutting early retirement packages and as a result there has been a very real and considerable 'brain drain' of experienced guards who left the force and took all that knowledge with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/london-terror-attack-bridge-borough-latest-firearms-officer-government-wrong-police-cuts-theresa-may-a7772506.html

Firearms officer says intelligence is affected by police cuts.

Having said that i don't think I'd trust Corbyns mob to get it right either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/london-terror-attack-bridge-borough-latest-firearms-officer-government-wrong-police-cuts-theresa-may-a7772506.html

Firearms officer says intelligence is affected by police cuts.

Having said that i don't think I'd trust Corbyns mob to get it right either

Corbyn has indicated in the past that he would shut down the Intelligence services. They opened a file on him back in the day because of his groupie like grovelling to the IRA, Hamas, Hezbollah, and anyone else who was intent on using terrorism. Basically, anyone who blew up British citizens or Westerners was a friend of Jezza's.

A very, very dangerous and deluded individual. And we are one vote away from this man gaining power. I suspect there would be a Military coup if this were to occur, and I'm not being one bit hysterical there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,018 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Why, what did he say?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭mikeybrennan

volchitsa wrote: »
    Why, what did he say?

I'm still wondering myself

I don't think defending terrorists as a lawyer should be held against him

Is there anything else on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,949 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

On the plus side it seems like the SDF's attack on Raqqa has commenced.