Terrorism - What can be carried legally but used for self defence on the streets ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Gravelly wrote: »
    If I ever need to fight him, I'll just whip out the 'oul Zippo - I'd say he'd go up like, well, like a man who's been soaked in petrol every day......

Doesn't work anyway - the petrol. Just gives you localised dermatitis. Don't ask how I discovered that as a rowdy teenager. Them hand-excerciser yokes are better. The ones you squeeze. At least then, when you break stuff, it heals faster because "vaguely fit".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

A belt is a handy thing for the Knife if there is room:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfU8BxiZ9Os

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Beyondgone wrote: »
    I've a few tough mates. The consensus among them is you can fight someone with anything, except a machete.

This is very true, tests of medieval experiments showed that the Japanese lads (SW's) kitted out, would have on average beat everyone else, Romans, Spartan, Celts, Zulus the whole lot in CQC.

The only chance against the typical Samurai lad back in 1890 is a combination of distance, projectiles, creativity and strength of numbers.

Carrying anything offensive in modern times would get you into hot water, and besides nothing competes to long sharp objects (bar an large umbrella, perhaps only as a temporary holding solution).

Thus as mentioned (on previous page) if ever in such a 0.001% rare situation, 'creative environmental improvisation and crowd consciousness' is the only real practical solution until the 10mins or so, until additional resources would arrive.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

When it comes to any type of self defense, all (sensible) leaders say the first and best option is run.

In the Paris siege a couple of years back, part of the Hebdo attack, in the cafe a chap picked up one the AKs but it jammed, he was executed.

As above, if you have no choice, you can improvise, a bar stool would be ideal (long and heavy), one of those fancy long pint glasses http://www.unilad.co.uk/viral/sas-officer-reveals-why-guy-running-from-terror-holding-his-pint-was-right-to-do-so/

This is very true, tests of medieval experiments showed that the Japanese lads (SW's) kitted out, would have on average beat everyone else, Romans, Spartan, Celts, Zulus the whole lot in CQC.

The only chance against the typical Samurai lad back in 1890 is a combination of distance, projectiles, creativity and strength of numbers.

Carrying anything offensive in modern times would get you into hot water, and besides nothing competes to long sharp objects (bar an large umbrella, perhaps only as a temporary holding solution).

Thus as mentioned (on previous page) if ever in such a 0.001% rare situation, 'creative environmental improvisation and crowd consciousness' is the only real practical solution until the 10mins or so, until additional resources would arrive.
    I think Indiana Jones also covered this.

IRL I have been "in the area affected" by terrorism 3 times. I put that down to bad luck. I always found running like Hussein Bolt/ducking too late but lucking out and then wondering wtf just happened to be the best approach. I never felt, not even the once, that having a chunky torch/some spray would be a plus, tbh. Pretty much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Getting dangerously close to deadliest warrior territory but anyway, think the Samurai are over hyped. Sure in one to one combat a good chance but in massed combat imagine they would be beaten readily enough by quite a few takers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Spray some deodorant in their eyes. Or strangle them with some piano wire or fishing line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Spray some deodorant in their eyes. Or strangle them with some piano wire or fishing line.
    Sock filled with spare change.

None of which (nor torches, hurleys, fishing rods, hairspray, golf clubs or socks of door knobs and time to count out loose change) you'd have, or should have on your person on any typical evening. A sock/torch has a very limited range anyway.

Thus 'creative environmental improvisation and crowd consciousness' is the only available reaction to those physically able and willing, others should run.

There is a story today, of a brave Spanish lad that tackled one of them with a skateboard he was using at the time (not ideal, but not the worst) to defend a lady. Not looking good according to the news, but had there been two longboard skaters, and couple of dudes with heavy laptop bags and loose shirt ties, near a lamppost a different outcome perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I'm thinking: powerslam, big boot and an atomic leg-drop for the finish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

May I introduce the brass knuckle bottle opener!! (this product contains zero brass)

http://www.bladehq.com/imgs/multi-tools/overmountain-olicheatman-blue-ti-cm-large.jpg

Weapon, or just a fancy looking bottle opener!? You decide... (well technically the Guards will decide but heyho) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I think you might as well go and watch an episode of McGuyver for ideas. I was watching it a while back and he did impressive things with a biscuit tin and possibly a toenail clipper.

To narrow it down, since this has to be an item you can legally own, it has to be either heavy, sharp, acidic, or highly flammable. It needs to be operable from a distance of..how far, again? Since you are discussing hypothetical assailants with machete.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Ball bearings, hang on just watch Home Alone - that's full of tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

against some **** with an ak 47 and a suicide vest? **** all

against some guy/guys with a knife or machete? a lot of relevant training, a decent improvised weapon, and some like minded friends. You're probably not going to come out on top but you might give others a chance

None of which (nor torches, hurleys, fishing rods, hairspray, golf clubs or socks of door knobs and time to count out loose change) you'd have, or should have on your person on any typical evening. A sock/torch has a very limited range anyway.

Thus 'creative environmental improvisation and crowd consciousness' is the only available reaction to those physically able and willing, others should run.

There is a story today, of a brave Spanish lad that tackled one of them with a skateboard he was using at the time (not ideal, but not the worst) to defend a lady. Not looking good according to the news, but had there been two longboard skaters, and couple of dudes with heavy laptop bags and loose shirt ties, near a lamppost a different outcome perhaps.

Have you ever looked inside a woman's handbag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

A bacon wrapped sausage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

I also like the idea, i saw it in a movie, of a petrol filled waterpistol and a lighter..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭biggebruv

a tub of sh''t open it and throw at them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I've a few tough mates. The consensus among them is you can fight someone with anything, except a machete. If he has a machete, you run. You're not winning against a machete. Unless you have a gun or a baseball bat. And I can tell you from first hand experience, the Authorities frown on people having baseball bats. Even in the boot of your car. Especially in the boot of your car. So either get a Glock or a baseball bat. Or run. Seeing as the first two are frowned on, running seems to be the only option left. Waggling yer torch will get your hand cut off. Pretty much.

I'm a keen gardener and use my machete for trimming the roses. I keep it under my bed to stop it from rusting as the shed is too damp and corrodes the edge. I slip it in between the mattress and the base, with the handle just at the right spot to fall to hand if I drop my arm from a normal sleeping position. Just in case I need to go prune the roses in the dark. You can never know when them roses might need a quick trim.

I have a friends who trains martial arts. He always said it doesn't matter how good you are, if you go up against someone with a knife you'll get cut. So my standard weapon is common sense and a fast set of legs. :)

My Dad used to keep a machete under the bed or on a nightstand. But he was bat**** crazy.

Personally though I'm intrigued by the idea of a bag of cats that someone mentioned on page one.

Editing to add: I just realised I have a few swords under my bed. I don't actually like swords. Someone gave one to me as a present. Then someone saw the one I owned and was impressed and bought me another. Then my mum bought me one because she saw them when I was moving house. So now I have three swords under my bed. I'm not a fan of sharp items and it's a very low bed so I keep them there to make sure I never step on them or have them fall on anyone.
    So weirdly I'm saying my dad was weird for doing the same things I do.

Have you ever looked inside a woman's handbag?

Yes. I gave up looking for the book I was trying to find after 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

a thermos full of mcdonalds coffee

or a freshly microwaved maccy d apple pie if im feeling particularly sadistic

Grayson wrote: »
    I have a friends who trains martial arts. He always said it doesn't matter how good you are, if you go up against someone with a knife you'll get cut. So my standard weapon is common sense and a fast set of legs. :)

My Dad used to keep a machete under the bed or on a nightstand. But he was bat**** crazy.

Personally though I'm intrigued by the idea of a bag of cats that someone mentioned on page one.

I thought this was bs as a youngster. They did a very good job of sewing my thumb back on. Turns out it wasn't bs.

And that's why I dislike sharp object :)

Ouch. It sounds nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Ok so I've done a bit more zombie planning.
    Outbreak starts, person next to me is getting attack -> good lucks to ya I say.
    Car keys are always kept close by and I generally keep a full tank so I'm legging it to the car.
    Stick on uptown girl as I rev that diesel engine passed the undead.
    As for weapons I'll use the bonnet, 1.5 tonnes of German shteal should do the trick.
    Find myself a nice remote cottage overlooking the valley below, delphi out in mayo?
    Happy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Discodog wrote: »

This is my contingency if I am ever on a highjacked plane. A lighter and a mini can of deodorant.

Grayson wrote: »

Think from memory when doing Kung Fu, the Sifu mentioned either forearms wrapped with jackets/jumper as block, immediately followed by side step and spinning elbow to cranium, or a very fast low leg sweep kick and run. Both with no guarantees of success.

The way things are going can see old irrelevant sports such as fencing, javelin and archery being replaced (more by necessity) by the urban cycle and bicycle throw or wheely bin carry, lift and drop at opponent upon bridge.

Think from memory when doing Kung Fu, the Sifu mentioned either forearms wrapped with jackets/jumper as block, immediately followed by side step and spinning elbow to cranium, or a very fast low leg sweep kick and run. Both with no guarantees of success.

The way things are going can see old irrelevant sports such as fencing, javelin and archery being replaced (more by necessity) by the urban cycle and bicycle throw or wheely bin carry, lift and drop at opponent upon bridge.

Strangely enough I'm ok at fencing :). In a bind I could possibly keep someone at bay if I had a meter long stick. I'd have to be either stupid or desperate to try though.

Although in these kind of discussions about terrorism I generally say everyone's taking it a bit too seriously this isn't a bad discussion. Knife crime isn't just terrorists and it really could happen to anyone in the world.

Plus some of the suggestions have been hilarious :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

TBH Most Martial arts instructors are spastics when it comes to weapons, just like your poor old Sifu

https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/809648/manchester-bombing-how-to-stay-safe-terrorism-attack-threat-UK-critical/amp

It's not about what to do if you're face to face, but it contains some interesting suggestions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Can of WD40. Stuff sprays like pepper spray with a strong stream, comes in a mini can. Would buy you valuable seconds.