Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London terror attack confirmed by Met Police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Lack of an education should not dissuade one from doing a definition search

Context is important here. When one is making an accusation of fake news, then the first definition is implied, not the second.

Stop playing games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Heard that one of the men in the "jihadi next door" documentary was involved in the london attacks on saturday night

ricero wrote: »
    Heard that one of the men in the "jihadi next door" documentary was involved in the london attacks on saturday night

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VNGRpKwIAwE
    14:53 apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,872 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Ban Halal slaughter and food, mixed religious schooling, ban further immigration from muslim countries for damage limitation down the road

Why?

Should we also ban kosher food?

Why?

Should we also ban kosher food?
    On animal welfare grounds perhaps.
    http://halalcertification.ie/halal/islamic-method-of-slaughtering/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,769 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The sad thing is it will take more 8 yo old kids to be blown up before we start to see proper action.

The only thing more dangerous then a right wing nut job is the liberal who will let him do it in the first place.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Just breaking now is that one of the terrorists had an Irish identity card and lived in Dublin for a while

On animal welfare grounds perhaps.

So kosher meat should be banned also?

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/food-and-drink/what-is-halal-meat-the-big-questions-about-religious-slaughter-answered-9331519.html

Q Are animals conscious when they are killed for halal slaughter?

For the majority, no. Between 84 and 90 per cent of animals killed for halal meat in the UK are processed by one of the large number of halal slaughterhouses which do use electric stunning beforehand.

This does, however, leave a significant minority of animals which are killed without being stunned first, at one of a reported 12 slaughterhouses in the UK which still perform the more traditional practice, endorsed by Islamic scholars, of keeping the animal conscious when its throat is cut.

Ah lads, we're not seriously debating the banning of halal slaughter as a response to a terror attack.

Let's get back to something approaching reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭wdmfapq4zs83hv

Sky news reporting that an Irish ID card found on one of the attackers ðŸ˜

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Irish ID card found on attacker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

Send them in to do what? Take out all 3.5 million Muslims? Stop and search every brown person climbing into a van or car? Station the SAS in all knife shops and take out any person wearing a hijab looking to buy a steak knife?

Brown? Many Muslims are'nt "brown" and there are millions of brown Christians. Stop trying to drag race into it.
    It boggles my mind that we don't see anything wrong with bombing "them over there", but when there's retaliation its all, "Close the borders, keep them out!" "Its one side that's doing it"

"We" aren't bombing "them" ie Syrians or Iraqis as a whole. We are bombing IS.
    Imagine if Syrians, or Yemenese bombed the UK or the US as regularly as we bombed then?

The Manchester bomber wasn'y Yemeni or Syrian. The killers of Lee Rigby were Nigerian. And so on. And Britain isn't bombing Yemen, Saudi Arabia a Muslim state is. And before that. in the sixties, a Egypt (another Muslim state) bombed them
    Its insane that people think further bombings are the solution.?

If you have another solution to destroying IS, then out with it. They are out there, in the field, with guns and bombs, holed up in cities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭ads20101

Damn - Irish connection confirmed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

ads20101 wrote: »

It was discussed on RTÉ radio about an hour ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Lived in Dublin and was unknown? That can't be right, Wonderful-life assured me it wasn't possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

ads20101 wrote: »

Big Fcuking Wake Up Call folks.
    Maybe some people here will start to pay attention to what has been said by so many over so many numerous different threads, that these people Are here, Are living amongst us, and Are prepared to do harm to innocent people.
    Time to take off the rose tinted glasses and wake up and smell the coffee.

Lived in Dublin and was unknown? That can't be right, Wonderful-life assured me it wasn't possible.

Maybe he was unknown because he wasn't involved in any jihadi crap there and only got involved when he moved to London?

I see it being claimed he was married to a Scottish woman, will we now have people screaming for her and her family to be jailed/deported because they were distantly related to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

Maybe he hadn't been radicalised until he went to the uk. That's why he never came to the attention of the guards?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Give 18-24 months before some headcase barrells down Grafton street in a rented van, then we can have our own #PrayForDublin hashtag and pretend were all rosey with immigration and integration.

Maybe he hadn't been radicalised until he went to the uk. That's why he never came to the attention of the guards?

more likely its because idiots like noirin o sullivan run the Gardai

Gamebred wrote: »
    Give 18-24 months before some headcase barrells down Grafton street in a rented van, then we can have our own #PrayForDublin hashtag and pretend were all rosey with immigration and integration.

I think it would be difficult to prevent British immigration to Ireland, what with the CTA and all that.
    Should closing that off be a stance we take in the Brexit negotiations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,499 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Muslims in Ireland are highly educated doctors and the like. Apparently anyway.

I would expect that he was radicalised before he came to Ireland, he simply didn't appear on any Irish "radar"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Muslims in Ireland are highly educated doctors and the like. Apparently anyway.

And we would all die if they were not here

M!Ck^ wrote: »

Internment again.
    Do people think that would be successful?

And temporary martial law? Really?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I would expect that he was radicalised before he came to Ireland, he simply didn't appear on any Irish "radar"!

Without starting a debate on the Garda, they cant control a fued that killed 12 people in a year their radars dont seem to be of much use never mind them finding terror suspects, good at sorting out penalty points though for mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Phoebas wrote: »
    Doesn't Gort have a big Brazilian population working in the local meat plant?
    I think they get on pretty well with the locals.

Let us see.
    Brazilians...
    known for a love of samba, carnaval, scantily clad women on gorgeous beaches and soccer.
    Given the world some of the greatest motor racing drivers.
    Given the world such wonderful things as a type of lady's bikini waxing style.

I can't ever see a bikini waxing style named after any muslim state any time soon. :D

Brazilians are over 64% Catholics with another 22% Protestant and 8% atheist.
    Brazil has enshrined constitutional rights for LGBT and has same sex marriage.
    Brazil has one of the world largest Gay Pride celebrations.

60% of Brazilians consider homosexuality as "natural." as opposed to probably the 60% of muslims who consider homosexuality as something you should die for.
    And here is a real kicker for you.
    Brazil's public health system provides free genital reconstruction surgery.

So FFS can you please tell me how one can compare Brazilians to natives of primarily muslims states in North Africa, Middle East or Asia ?

In fact why don't you apologise to all Brazilian people for equating them to a bunch of backward minded, insular, isolationists.
    There is a lot of racism and Islamophobia in this thread.

And there is also a lot of stupidity.

Do you even know the definition of racism ?
    One cannot be racist against a belief system, a religion, an ideology.

Personally I couldn't care what race, colour or background you are from, but if you are an ardent believer in islam you can feck off.
    I find a lot of the beliefs abhorrent, demeaning, discriminatory and not something I want anywhere near me nor the society in which I and my kids live.

Why the fook is islam with it's very discriminatory undertones tolerated and excused by the very people it wishes to subjugate and even worse wipe out. :confused:

It sometimes put me in mind of a black guy excusing the KKK or a Jew excusing the Nazis.

I am not allowed discuss …

Phoebas wrote: »
    Internment again.
    Do people think that would be successful?
    It has a better chance of reducing the terror attacks than leaving the known activists on the streets.