My Night Out in Dublin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,953 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Good way of looking at it dtp, thanks - a smack in the gob probably saved me a good kicking actually.

There's no way that little yoke was out there on her own. She definatley had minders to back her up in situations just like yours

Dublin is a small town, you might come across that little skank again.
    A few of the young wans hang around bachelors walk, they go up the lane there with an aul pensioner and give him a hand shandy, he gives them a few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Jake1 wrote: »
    Dublin is a small town, you might come across that little skank again.
    A few of the young wans hang around bachelors walk, they go up the lane there with an aul pensioner and give him a hand shandy, he gives them a few bob.

And you know this how?

Anyway...

We need more visible policing on our streets, and any skangers need to be particularly monitored. It's clear they are not out for a good time but only to cause hassle. Boils my blood.

It's like those b#stards who attacked that student with aspergers a few years ago. Totally destroyed his confidence. Always they attack vulnerable people and people in vulnerable states. Real cowardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

There are no Gardai on the streets because they have their feet up on the desks in the barracks eating doughnuts and watching (CC) TV.

Talk about reactive rather than proactive. And at such a vulnerable time of the night in any capital city. But it's down to the Sarge/Inspector/Commish. And they don't seem to have a great rep at the moment.

Glad you are alive OP. Be glad of that. Shouldn't happen at all though.

We are too soft, we do not complain enough.

Did you report it to the Guards?, Yes, I know how fruitless that can be, but still, the more we log this stuff the better. You'd never know.... if we don't the Gardai and the MOJ might think we are living in a crime free Nirvana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Do a John Wick on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I've reported it and I'll be following up on it. The area it happened has to be covered by CCTV. I'm actually less annoyed at the pick pockets, scumbags that they are, than I am with the person that assaulted me.

Fantastic news is that cold water and salt gets blood out of nice shirts so silver lining and all that.

I've reported it and I'll be following up on it. The area it happened has to be covered by CCTV. I'm actually less annoyed at the pick pockets, scumbags that they are, than I am with the person that assaulted me.

Fantastic news is that cold water and salt gets blood out of nice shirts so silver lining and all that.

Fantastic news. Now I'm off to put on a wash

So cards and everything are on the way. Huge thanks the woman in the NDLS office or saw me even though they were having a melt down that day (systems and demand-wise). I realised only the other day the license was in the wallet and I'm off on a driving holiday. On the mend physically although ended up in hospital over the busted lips.

Anyway... these tracker yokes? Any suggestions for any good ones. Just looking for one I could slip into the wallet and follow it for the few minutes it takes to find it and dump it. Might give the guards more time/incentive to get there. Also I'm a scatter brain anyway so it might be useful. I was hoping to get half a dozen or so for keys, bags wallets - any suggestions on any that are good?

Any issue - other than forgetting the bloody thing - with leaving your drivers license in the car? (As you now have to have it when driving) or should I just leave it at home and get a producer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

LeBash wrote: »
    so why not come down with draconian justice on people who are aggressive to the point of starting fights in the city and pick pockets.

Judges in this country want nothing to do with it and that's why this stuff is allowed to run riot.

http://www.herald.ie/news/courts/gardai-fear-vicious-thug-will-resume-campaign-of-terror-after-avoiding-jail-35805565.html

If Garda are saying things like;

"Does a man like this change?" a senior gardai source said last night.

"A huge investigation led to him being charged with these offences.

"So he was caught, charged and brought before the courts but he fled to England where he was jailed for a violent robbery.

"He is then extradited back here to face these charges as a grown man but gets all the benefit of the Children's Court."

Then what type of message is this sending out?

First and foremost I feel sorry for any victims and secondly the Garda who put in the effort and try there best to only be, let face it pissed on by the courts.

These folk wouldn't be so quick if there was a 5 year stretch or been up doing a 9-5 job like the folk there robbing at the end of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

There are no Gardai on the streets because they have their feet up on the desks in the barracks eating doughnuts and watching (CC) TV.

In fairness that's not true for the vast majority of the decent hardworking Garda and Sergeants.

You'll find, that and defiantly in DMR South/North central that the Garda you refer to with the ' feet up on the desks in the barracks eating doughnuts and watching (CC) TV', are in fact bogged down with prisoners and the paper work that goes with it.

What exactly do you think happens once a person is arrested? That the magic fairys look after them, I suppose you think these magical fairys process the paper work to get him to court also. :rolleyes:

Garda are wrapped in red tape, paperwork and prisoners back at the station, open your eyes to it, that's why there not on the street.

Guys - I don't want to backseat Mod - and God knows I'm the very first to jump in with my opinions on the Criminal Justice system, but could we keep it to a separate thread, in which I'd be delighted to comment.

I'm just having a but of a rant here and asking a few follow up questions as I've found the community here to be amazingly supportive when '**** goes down' but also that there will be people who'll give you a bit of a reality check as well. On the latter point the wife has done that (and been extremely supportive) in spades so :pac:

On the guards, they've been nothing short of fantastic. As I said on the night they had no idea what was going on really, but were perfectly professional. Since I've had the victim support unit write to me and the investigating guard call me, all extremely helpful and supportive.

TL;DR Could we move the CJS discussion to it's own thread and are those tracker things a waste of money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

TL;DR

A hip, a hop, a hippy, a hippy dippy dip dip dop a dippy, a hippy dippy bang bang punch a punchy in me nose, the fekin romas got me bloodied and beat.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    TL;DR

A hip, a hop, a hippy, a hippy dippy dip dip dop a dippy, a hippy dippy bang bang punch a punchy in me nose, the fekin romas got me bloodied and beat.

Just pointing out again that I wasn't assaulted by a Roma but by two Irish guys who subsequently ran off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

Just pointing out again that I wasn't assaulted by a Roma but by two Irish guys who subsequently ran off.

They were prob working with her, she would not have been alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kyogger

Hi. How often does this happen?

They were prob working with her, she would not have been alone

We had that discussion further up, ironically they probably saved me from a worse beating, but I've very doubtful they were working with her as they assaulted me in an area (so I told by the guards) is extremely well covered by CCTV, both guards and the pubs in the area.

What she was doing is walking me down one of the back alleyways so I could get a smack there but they less in sight of the CCTV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

I called the guards and stayed on the phone with the guards. She made some sort of accusation to these two lads and I said "Lads I've just been pick pocketed, I'm on the phone to the guards now. I'm following her as she was one of them". Wham right in the kisser and they ran off.

It might have happened because you were on to the guards. Scummers don't like when 'yih squeal tih de bleeedin pigs'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

kyogger wrote: »

Every 10 minutes.

kyogger wrote: »

To me in Dublin in 17 years where I've walked through pissed as pissed could be I've never been dipped (pick pocketed) before and can count on one hand the amount of times there has ever been any other sort of issue, and at least 2 of those I could (and did) have at least removed myself from the situation.

Dublin is extremely safe and I'm not for one second suggesting otherwise. I've had absolute great craic with ransomers just walking up to me over the years and I would hate to think anyone reading this thread is put of going in, just maybe know your limits (booze) and don't do the stupid thing I did that was walk down the back alleys, pissed holding an armful of kebabs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Sorry this happened to you Sam, I think it's more regular than people think unfortunately.

One of my young lads lives in Dublin city and a couple of times lads have taken a swing at him for just being in the wrong spot at the wrong time, terrifies me. He thinks he's indestructible because he's so tall and fast but all it takes is one little scumbag like this to catch you unawares.

I agree with other posters too, could have been worse, she could have been leading you to a very bad beating.

daveyeh wrote: »
    It might have happened because you were on to the guards. Scummers don't like when 'yih squeal tih de bleeedin pigs'

Possibility right enough!

Anyway enough ranting I guess I'm going to go and have to watch youtube clips on these tracker yokes!

If they do catch someone on CCTV which I'm told is quite likely I'll not update for a while, but once everything is concluded I'll pop back on.

Thanks for the support.

pilly wrote: »
    Sorry this happened to you Sam, I think it's more regular than people think unfortunately.

One of my young lads lives in Dublin city and a couple of times lads have taken a swing at him for just being in the wrong spot at the wrong time, terrifies me. He thinks he's indestructible because he's so tall and fast but all it takes is one little scumbag like this to catch you unawares.

I agree with other posters too, could have been worse, she could have been leading you to a very bad beating.

Thanks Pilly that means a lot. Don't be frightened for him though, just tell him to keep his wits about him and honestly he'll have no issues at all - I didn't for years other than the odd stupid thing that happens around drunks.

He'll be much better on the pull as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Consider yourself lucky op. That little scumbag skank fcukhead Roma girl was probably leading you down the road where her dirtbag brothers or pimps or whatever they're called were waiting to jump you.
    Same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Bargain_Hound

I was 'dipped' by a roma gang a few years back too in Dublin (pissed). Only noticed a few minutes after but knew exactly where it went! It was found the next day I got it back. There was nothing to take in it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Thanks Pilly that means a lot. Don't be frightened for him though, just tell him to keep his wits about him and honestly he'll have no issues at all - I didn't for years other than the odd stupid thing that happens around drunks.

He'll be much better on the pull as well!

I'm glad you posted this though because it was only when another poster pointed out where she might have been leading you that I thought of it.

I'll be telling my sons not to follow someone so it's a precious lesson learnt.

On the driving licence, not sure if you need it when you're going out for photo id but if you don't then I'd say leave it in the car yeah.

My 3 have lost or had stolen I don't know how many passports and driving licences.

I was 'dipped' by a roma gang a few years back too in Dublin (pissed). Only noticed a few minutes after but knew exactly where it went! It was found the next day I got it back. There was nothing to take in it.

I probably should check with the guards on that one! Thanks for the heads up Bargain_Hound. €20 in my case, I assume they don't bother with anything else - if I could get my driving license back I'd be delighted as I'm hoping the new one arrives before I g away next Friday.

endacl wrote: »
    Same.

Haha funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,767 ✭✭✭nuac

STC

Sorry to hear of your experience.

As a student aeons ago I could be around central Dublin late at night - but that was in the Lugs Brannigan days.

Would now keep away from the centre of any of our towns/cities on busy nights.
    Glad you are OK. Keep at the studies and off the Quay at 3 a.m. drunk or sober.

Nowadays there aren't even good bookshops there ( apart from the winding stairs )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I go out in Dublin quite a lot at the weekends! Never had any bother, but isnt it pretty incredible that with the millions spent on a weekend in Dublin on harcourt street, temple bar etc, that permanently stationing guards half way down harcourt, grafton street, camden and georges street is so difficult :rolleyes: would stop a lot of **** from even kicking off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭boobycharlton

Happens nightly in every city in the world. Options are to avoid city centre on weekend nights or to drink less and be more aware of your surroundings to lessen chance of it happening in first place.