What two things would you change in Ireland with 1 billion euro?

• 04-06-2017 03:28AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭

I've always had strong opinions about this, If I had €1 billion euro there are two very important things I would change:

1.) Architecture of Dublin - Dublin looks like a fecking kip as many have reiterated. It's an embarrassment for a capital city seeing as small towns in Western Europe look better on their worst day (e.g Nice during July attacks) than Dublin will ever look on a warm clear sky sunny day in June/July. It's very difficult to be one of the happiest countries in the world when we live in gray buildings overlooking a virtual sewer.

I would demolish the buildings that couldn't be remodeled.

2.) Creating liberal schools - Hopefully this would get rid of the harsh accents in North Dublin and across some parts of the country. I also think we Irish (along with the English) are quite conservative compared to our European counterparts when it comes to parenting, schooling, etc. It's probably due to our long history of Catholicism and poverty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

more magnets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

I'd build a wall to keep the Mexicans out.

Then, I'd make Mexico pay for it, so I'd still have a billion. Which I would keep for myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Buy a "laser"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭AnGaelach

Buy everything I can get my hands on in Galway City and turn it into a Gaelic-speaking city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Dublin is a beautiful city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Probably give it to Apple.

For the craic like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

I would give myself 20 million. Yeah ..I would do that...I deserve it. Deal..

I would invest in educate together schools. I would give to the rape crisis center. I would invest council activities such as cleaning streets etc. I would invest millions in building affordable housing. I would start a theme park and give all my employees free health insurance.

I would give grants out for people to go to college. I would sponsor ICMEC (they help find missing kids)

I would start a program similar to the imagination library that dolly parton has. I would give to arts education. I would give free concerts and free ice cream three times a year.

I would try and sponsor health care for children.

I would start a program to give iphones and ipads to people who can't afford them.

I would give make overs and therapy to the homeless.

Then I would drive around town in an open top convertible .........

Jaysus have ye any money left:D

gitzy16v wrote: »
    Jaysus have ye any money left:D
    Well I gave myself 20 mill.at the start...and I make no apologies for it :p

There is a thousand million in one billion. So after my 20 mill ..i would invest in philanthropy :) Esp ice creams!

Prez higgins gave out free ice cream the other day it's obv a good idea!

Well I gave myself 20 mill.at the start...and I make no apologies for it :p

There is a thousand million in one billion. So after my 20 mill ..i would invest in philanthropy :) Esp ice creams!

Schoolboy error:o...the 20mil at the start.
    Invest in philanthrophy?
    Buy the convertible first lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

gitzy16v wrote: »
    Schoolboy error:o...the 20mil at the start.
    Invest in philanthrophy?
    Buy the convertible first lol
    It's what the Guinness family did. Dolly Parton did it. Richard Branson did . IT WORKS!

Obv private philanthropy cannot do everything public taxation is meant to. It's just if you had it. :) It would be nice to do.

Obv it's not a substitute for public services. It's just nice to do. :)

I would still pay the tax on my billion ...also giving to charity is a tax break YAY ! See I am AVOIDING TAX ..not EVADING tax.. :D

I would give myself 20 million. Yeah ..I would do that...I deserve it. Deal..

I would invest in educate together schools. I would give to the rape crisis center. I would invest council activities such as cleaning streets etc. I would invest millions in building affordable housing. I would start a theme park and give all my employees free health insurance.

I would give grants out for people to go to college. I would sponsor ICMEC (they help find missing kids)

I would start a program similar to the imagination library that dolly parton has. I would give to arts education. I would give free concerts and free ice cream three times a year.

I would try and sponsor health care for children.

two things :p

Would still keep my 20 mill though..hey how much is the euro mill next week?

prob 15m, think that is the min, sure it'd do. :)

Two things.

Give to education all levels. And give health insurance to people who can't afford it.

Jesus Wept wrote: »
    prob 15m, think that is the min, sure it'd do. :)
    It was 150 mill ...last draw. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

At least, I'd improve a few 'knackerish' buildings in the town centre. Honestly, it's mad how we claim to be a great tourist destination when a lot of areas in our capital city looks like a modified version of an African city.

jeanjolie wrote: »
    At least, I'd improve a few 'knackerish' buildings in the town centre. Honestly, it's mad how we claim to be a great tourist destination when a lot of areas in our capital city looks like a modified version of an African city.

We should go with something like this, lovely colours.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/9d/37/98/9d3798da1b021b374211dc6ac747ce60.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Where i live and what i drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'd buy the Iveagh Gardens park and close it to the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

I've always had strong opinions about this, If I had €1 billion euro there are two very important things I would change:

1.) Architecture of Dublin - Dublin looks like a fecking kip as many have reiterated. It's an embarrassment for a capital city seeing as small towns in Western Europe look better on their worst day (e.g Nice during July attacks) than Dublin will ever look on a warm clear sky sunny day in June/July. It's very difficult to be one of the happiest countries in the world when we live in gray buildings overlooking a virtual sewer.

2.) Creating liberal schools - Hopefully this would get rid of the harsh accents in North Dublin and across some parts of the country. I also think we Irish (along with the English) are quite conservative compared to our European counterparts when it comes to parenting, schooling, etc. It's probably due to our long history of Catholicism and poverty.

You should change the title. I foolishly thought that Ireland consisted of more than just Dublin.

I'd buy the Iveagh Gardens park and close it to the public.
    Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I've always had strong opinions about this, If I had ?1 billion euro there are two very important things I would change:

What's wrong with a Dublin accent?