Mother - whose partner drowned last year - and five children forced to live in car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,737 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

My only small hope is Leo has said he is for the person getting up in the morning early.

Hopefully we finally have someone with the balls to say it like it is and stop the tax payer been milked by these leechers.

I wonder will we see this woman been paraded around by sinn fein like Erica Fleming was.

Ugh.

what, leo is gonna do something about 'rent seeking'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

redshoes15 wrote: »
    My advice to this lady would be go back to your free house, get a job, save for a deposit and when you have enough money saved up, then look to find a home for you and your children.

Sick to the back teeth of hearing sob stories from the forever entitled. Allowing her children to be used in a photo op is also disgusting.

I think we all know that will never happen, she's going to get her way I bet. Why work for it?? I mean she could afford to live somewhere with rent allowance, why isn't she doing that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Genuine question: Why aren't there strict rules in place about turning places down or moving out of them? Since I'm living here, I've heard so many of these cases but I do not understand why people are not put back of the list once they turn the second or third house down? Help me, I'd love to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

PandaPoo wrote: »
    She needs to have the kids taken off her, a sit down with MABS and plonked back in the house she was given in Clare. She should be told to either live there with her children or her kids are taken away.

What a horrible horrible mother.

She won't have the kids taken from her for making them live in a car, due to the fact that they aren't actually living in a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Those eyebrows look very suspicious…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

If you put them all together it would be a little like..,.. No yes no yes pat mustard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,953 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

mad muffin wrote: »
    Those eyebrows look very suspicious…

Probably cost a fortune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

She owes 1800?
    Council should go to court and get the sheriff to seize her car. Give her a one-way lift back to the free house in Clare and take the kids off her (or have relatives foster them) until she is able to: first look after herself and then look after the rest of them.
    That'll learn her fairly lively.
    Does the car have a yellow reg I wonder? Probably not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

LirW wrote: »
    Genuine question: Why aren't there strict rules in place about turning places down or moving out of them? Since I'm living here, I've heard so many of these cases but I do not understand why people are not put back of the list once they turn the second or third house down? Help me, I'd love to know.
    Why aren't there strict rules in place about so called 'journalists' writing bull**** ****-stirring articles? I'm genuinely curious about who was the driving force behind the article. Strongly suspect it was the click bait merchant. Looking to make a target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

LirW wrote: »
    Why aren't there strict rules in place about so called 'journalists' writing bull**** ****-stirring articles? I'm genuinely curious about who was the driving force behind the article. Strongly suspect it was the click bait merchant. Looking to make a target

She owes 1800?
    Council should go to court and get the sheriff to seize her car. Give her a one-way lift back to the free house in Clare and take the kids off her (or have relatives foster them) until she is able to: first look after herself and then look after the rest of them.
    That'll learn her fairly lively.
    Does the car have a yellow reg I wonder? Probably not

High Donald...

Its fake news their all fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭degsie

High Donald...

Its fake news their all fake.

Surprised the Commander in Chief hasn't tweefefe'd on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

Regarding the pic in the OP, I'd say the daughter who called shotgun is absolutely delighted with herself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

It must have been awful being near the sea and open country side and animals and no school waiting lists and easy to get gp care and lovely forestry walks and beaches and no traffic jams , I feel like going for a walk now , Clare is a grand spot in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Do these people not realise that any taxpayer (squeezed middle) reading this will just snort with derision?

But I suppose the "hunns" on Facebook will appeal to the never work, get everything for free, and get everyone else to pay for it Party, and egg them on.

No one is prepared to call the scammers out on this.

Most people are looked after very well in this country. No need for cr@p like sleeping in a car for publicity anymore. No more. (was it ever needed anyway?).

Leo of the Right Wing, get over here and save us from all these Left Wing ne'er do wells.

(sarky). LOL. Time to stand up against this liberal lefty SJW carp now.

The times they are a changing. Even if it's just for six months or so.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

I'd say this well timed yarn cost Simon Coveny the top job.

Are the journalist and the media not at fault for a lot of there cases, either they allow themselves to be use regardless of the truth, or they don't care about the truth, or they are lazy and do no research about what they are covering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

mariaalice wrote: »
    Are the journalist and the media not at fault for a lot of there cases, either they allow themselves to be use regardless of the truth, or they don't care about the truth, or they are lazy and do no research about what they are covering.

That so called journalist knew damn well what it was doing.

Well if the journalist knew the full story then he was using the woman and her children as a sort of click bate, that make him a slim ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭SimpleDimples

The entitlement culture is getting so bloody sickening.

I suspect that the majority of genuine cases never feature in the media. This is not one of them.

We need to start referring to people who decide a house is not good enough for them as 'voluntarily homeless' and that if you don't take the free house you are offered, you don't get another opportunity to play the system.

Really beginning to think those who work in this country are the real fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

she's setting some example for her kids...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,207 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

DanMurphy wrote: »

how exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,679 ✭✭✭✭listermint

DanMurphy wrote: »

Oh Christ on a bike.

A large one .

Perhaps a penny farthing.

lawred2 wrote: »
    how exactly?

Well the other lad got out of health as it would have ruined him but then again with his status and him putting himself on the camera to talk about anything but the department he was maybe he would have been the 1st health minister to actually survive.

Covney done bad with all the crap the last while with housing etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Surprised the government don't start outing these chancers seems it's always bad press for them and they never get a chance to defend themselves.

It's becoming clear now they aren't to blame for many of these "homeless" stories.

Leo seems to be fighting back which is good to see.

For too long the honest people are been taking for mugs by a horrible group of moochers that are a stain on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,953 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

mariaalice wrote: »
    Well if the journalist knew the full story then he was using the woman and her children as a sort of click bate, that make him a slim ball.

Journalist and slimball in the same sentence. There's a first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

This story grinded my gears when I read it too . Would sicken your s#*t having to pay a mortgage every month and the likes of her expecting a house for free again .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭cml387

I know this poor woman probably has issues, and probably will regret the attention she's getting now.
    As previously said, this is more an example of how journalism has sunk.
    It's probably some underpaid graduate who is paid per click, get's a lead and writes it up for maximum effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

So many "newspaper" articles say "forced" when what they really mean is "choose to"

Are they going to change the business studies curriculum? No point teaching budgeting and calculating tax on payroll figures. Just teach maximisation of social welfare entitlements

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Just like Erica Fleming and her twitter status.

"Forced to live in a hotel through fg/labour austerity measures"

Sigh. I worry I really worry about this generation.

The pure stupidity and self entitlement.