Mother - whose partner drowned last year - and five children forced to live in car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

NIMAN wrote: »
    Interested why the Indo have disabled the ability to comment on this story?

Perhaps they weren't following their agenda?

Was mentioned above people were poking holes in the rubbish story.

Its actually laughable.

If she had put up a tent or a box with plastic over it it would be more believable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,362 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Was mentioned above people were poking holes in the rubbish story.

Its actually laughable.

If she had put up a tent or a box with plastic over it it would be more believable.

I have no doubt that people now are thinking to themselves, "right what do I have to do to come across as desperate? I need a new angle to get myself housed".

As for the woman's dad, who says he is disillusioned with the political system that leaves a woman and 5 kids homeless, I am more saddened by a man who leaves his daughter and 5 grandchildren to sleep in a car at night rather than offer them at least a floor in his house for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭degsie

This is the kind of fake news that Donald Trump is lashing out at.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I have no doubt that people now are thinking to themselves, "right what do I have to do to come across as desperate? I need a new angle to get myself housed".

As for the woman's dad, who says he is disillusioned with the political system that leaves a woman and 5 kids homeless, I am more saddened by a man who leaves his daughter and 5 grandchildren to sleep in a car at night rather than offer them at least a floor in his house for the night.

He probably only has 5 bedrooms so the kids would have to share and we need the kids to all have their own rooms the way things are going where they are all turning into snow flakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Shadylou

I highly doubt anyone is sleeping in that car at night.......I know of the family and it's all lies

Shadylou wrote: »
    I highly doubt anyone is sleeping in that car at night.......I know of the family and it's all lies

Of course its lies but this sort of rubbish sells papers.

I wish they would report real problems and issues for us working people and the burglaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,953 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Credit given where credit is due. That woman is holding down a full time job, raising all those kids and paying her taxes like the rest of us....oh wait..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Division wrote: »
    This is the headline from an independent.ie article today:

"Mother - whose partner drowned last year - and five children forced to live in car outside cemetery"

Story in a nutshell:

A mother got a free house from the council in a nice area of Co. Clare for her and her 5 children.

It was a countryside area, lush green fields, farm animals, fresh air, ect. You get the picture.

She was bored. Not a lot of entertainment around this area, unless you factor in the hundred or so activities available to anyone willing to move their ass.

The children didn't fancy looking out the window at cows apparently. Most of us who grew up in the countryside can understand this boredom from time to time but it didn't do us any harm. If anything we had a healthy lifestyle.

So this 'mother' left this free house in a beautiful countryside area and went to Cork hoping to get a free house there where there was more things to do in the city and took her 5 children with her.

She wasn't given a free house immediately so she put her kids into a car, parked it outside a cemetery in Cork and had an Independent journalist (if you can even call most of them journalists anymore) take a picture of them all looking very sad and made a claim that they sleep in the car beside this cemetery.

The headline is disgraceful:
    "Mother" - that is very debatable and seems to be in name only!
    "whose partner drowned last year" - very sad but irrelevant to this story.
    "five children forced to live in car outside cemetery" nobody forced them to live in a car outside a cemetery. They had a lovely home in a very scenic area.

I don't normally post about issues like this but this one genuinely annoyed me.

To report this or any other form of child neglect this is the place: http://www.tusla.ie/services/child-protection-welfare/contact-a-social-worker

I believe this is the journalist (not confirmed) that wrote this piece of nonsense and seems to have gone for the sensational story instead of being at all concerned that the mother has neglected her children's welfare for her own selfish reasons: https://www.linkedin.com/in/olivia-kelleher-1317095a/

Finally here is a link to this article: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mother-whose-partner-drowned-last-year-and-five-children-forced-to-live-in-car-outside-cemetery-35780673.html

Comments were available on this story and they all basically attacked the mother for being an eejit and putting her children in this situation. The comments are no longer there.

PV%20010617%20%206%20Read-Only.JPG
    My heart goes out to them . poor women and her 5 children Ireland has gone backwards in time maybe Joan Burton will help this family out? our the backwards Fine Gael party? :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

That photo is hysterical.
    What part of the picture is funny?:mad:

You're having a laugh right¿

They need help alright to be taken away from that waster of a so called mother.

You're having a laugh right¿

They need help alright to be taken away from that waster of a so called mother.

Don't feed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,708 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

You're having a laugh right?

Gimmick poster doing their gimmick.

What part of the picture is funny?:mad:

Eh.... Its completely set up...

Please don't tell me you actually believe this rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I heard this woman being interviewed today on the radio. She said when her children come home from school everyday that they go to the cinema and go swimming. She also said that they all eat takeaway food every day. She has a car and can afford petrol tax and insurance for it. She said she doesn't want a council house and wants to rent privately.

If she's got money for all this why can't she pay her own rent. Anyone with a brain listening to her interview could tell it was all lies. People like this woman make me sick. The brass neck she has is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

My heart goes out to them . poor women and her 5 children Ireland has gone backwards in time maybe Joan Burton will help this family out? our the backwards Fine Gael party? :mad:

So she walked away from a council house in cork ,moved to the UK where she presumably had another house she walked away from​ and came back to Ireland where she was given another house which she walked away from and now wants another house in cork ,

And people are actually falling for this nonsense as deserving pity ,

Absolutely disgraceful that's this woman is allowed to repeatedly get away pulling these stunts ,

I heard this woman being interviewed today on the radio. She said when her children come home from school everyday that they go to the cinema and go swimming. She also said that they all eat takeaway food every day. She has a car and can afford petrol tax and insurance for it. She said she doesn't want a council house and wants to rent privately.

If she's got money for all this why can't she pay her own rent. Anyone with a brain listening to her interview could tell it was all lies. People like this woman make me sick. The brass neck she has is unbelievable.

Any link or what station. I'm actually off work today and for once have a bit of time to spare and could really do with a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

grahambo wrote: »
    I hope to f*ck this is wrong!!!!

That's more than I have after paying for the mortgage!

This country is F*cked with this sh*t going on!

http://www.thejournal.ie/many-would-be-better-off-on-the-dole-rather-than-working-says-esri-483574-Jun2012/

IF I remember correctly a family of 2 adults and 2 children in rented accommodation would need an income over 40k coming in to break even. The govt later stepped in and said it wasn't true and Richard Tol had to resign and go back to Holland where straight talking and facts are actually important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The problem is the property will have to have SIX bedrooms. And one for the visitors. Scratch that, ok, SEVEN bedrooms.

The day has to come when some interviewer will ask the questions already posed here.

Sleeping in a car with a family automatically to me = scam.

Any link or what station. I'm actually off work today and for once have a bit of time to spare and could really do with a laugh.

She was on 4FM with Niall Boylan around 1:15. There's probably a podcast of it. It's worth a listen:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Biggest scam going is this homeless lark.

People just pretending they have nowhere so they get bumped up the list and get a free house.

Biggest con job going, blame the goverment for everything.

Sick to death of them all. Spongers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

And with the size of kids school bags these days there'd be no room at all.

Some people were defending her on the FB threads. Primarily known SJWs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Shadylou

When she left cork she owed the council €1800 in rent arrears....they're taking that back from her €50 per week.

She was on 4FM with Niall Boylan around 1:15. There's probably a podcast of it. It's worth a listen:P

Doesn't seem to be up from today.

Could be like rte player and take 24 hours.

Some people were defending her on the FB threads. Primarily known SJWs.

Ye alrighhh Hun. Your dead rite. You're entitled to it hunnn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

From the comments here and on online news sites it appears her sneaky underhand attempt to gain sympathy backfired and people see her for the fraud she is. I hope she is now taken off the housing list and the house she was previously given in Clare given to someone more deserving. She should be made fend for herself to teach her a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

She needs to have the kids taken off her, a sit down with MABS and plonked back in the house she was given in Clare. She should be told to either live there with her children or her kids are taken away.

What a horrible horrible mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

My advice to this lady would be go back to your free house, get a job, save for a deposit and when you have enough money saved up, then look to find a home for you and your children.

Sick to the back teeth of hearing sob stories from the forever entitled. Allowing her children to be used in a photo op is also disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

My only small hope is Leo has said he is for the person getting up in the morning early.

Hopefully we finally have someone with the balls to say it like it is and stop the tax payer been milked by these leechers.

I wonder will we see this woman been paraded around by sinn fein like Erica Fleming was.

Ugh.