What happened to the messers in your school after the LC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

One friend left to sell clothes
    One works down by the coast
    One had two kids but lives alone
    One's brother overdosed
    One's already on his second wife
    One's just barely getting by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

I'd imagine "messers" is defined differently by everyone. The lads who were always being a smart alec and spending their days thinking about smoking but generally sound ended up spending their 20''s writing off one car after another and being in on the dole.

As for the hard men, who thought the world "local villages" revolved around them and enjoyed drugs, fighting in the local disco every Friday, thick and general scumbags....well they turned their lives around didn't they....ha no.

I think they won some county gaa thing a few years ago so I'd imagine that will be the high point in their small lives. They even posted a video of them...all the hard men in a circle in some local pub they live in doing the haka....wow bet they thought everyone thought they're the all blacks now hahaha about 30 views on YouTube. And the usual videos of some old town loser signing rebel song's everytime they win some small gaa match and losers crowding around him like he was some demi god. That's who they aspire to be. Spending their 20''s in small small dark dank pub in some small backward village with nothing in their lives except drugs and dole and gaa

Sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

A lot of the messers were the sons of business owners, nothing to lose, they just take up the family enterprise when they leave school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I think it depends if they brought-in completely or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,737 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

One sadly died in a car crash, was some laugh, poor chap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

You see us as you want to see us, in the simplest terms and the most convenient definitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I probably was one of the messers, but I think I fell into the "he's not applying himself or trying" which means you get more attention from the teachers as they seemed to care to make sure I stayed on that side of the messing line rather than the lads who'd skip class, skip school entirely and in general were just hanging out. I've done pretty well so far though, kicked myself into gear in college and flew on from there.

Even the "proper" messers in my class probably wouldn't be near the levels of messing that others will post about. They didn't care about school, but they were never really disruptive in fairness to them. There were about 7 of them in total, 2 lads are working as tradesmen (though saying that I'd never willingly hire one of them for the job), one lad does a lot of charity work, one works in IT, one is in Oz and the other works but don't know where. No idea where the last fella is though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I went to a pretty rough school, so had no end of messers - hard to believe I left it nearly 30 years ago. The choice when I left was go to college, get a trade or else get into an entry level job in one of the local factories - a lot of them ended up in dead end jobs and still do them 30 years later. Seem happy enough when I meet them, but the thoughts of working in a butchers shop, production line or labourer for the local council wouldn't appeal to me. Each to their own.

Few of the messers went back to college as mature students, so had the best of both worlds - messing around in school and into their early twenties, making a mess of the LC, then getting a qualification and a decent job from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The "messers" usually do alright. For the most part they're just kids with a little too much freedom at home and not enough focus. They all eventually cop on and fade into mediocrity like the rest of us. Getting a good leaving cert makes little odds in the long run.

It's the genuinely stupid kids who struggle. There was really only one in my year, nice enough guy, but just not all there. Got taken under the wing of a group who knocked a bit of craic out of him and looked after him, so socially he did just fine. But in his mid-30s he now delivers takeaway food for a living.

The kids who are in court a few times a year or don't even turn up for school half the time that will end up in real trouble. There was only one of these in my year, last I heard he was in and out of prison and a number of his mates had died from suicide & ODs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I'd imagine "messers" is defined differently by everyone. The lads who were always being a smart alec and spending their days thinking about smoking but generally sound ended up spending their 20''s writing off one car after another and being in on the dole.

As for the hard men, who thought the world "local villages" revolved around them and enjoyed drugs, fighting in the local disco every Friday, thick and general scumbags....well they turned their lives around didn't they....ha no.

I think they won some county gaa thing a few years ago so I'd imagine that will be the high point in their small lives. They even posted a video of them...all the hard men in a circle in some local pub they live in doing the haka....wow bet they thought everyone thought they're the all blacks now hahaha about 30 views on YouTube. And the usual videos of some old town loser signing rebel song's everytime they win some small gaa match and losers crowding around him like he was some demi god. That's who they aspire to be. Spending their 20''s in small small dark dank pub in some small backward village with nothing in their lives except drugs and dole and gaa

Sad

What an outrageous post.

You sound like you're bitter due to your own inadequacies when it comes to athletic prowess.

I've unfortunately been the subject of begrudgery of this exact kind by people who want to drag me down to their level. I always treat it with what it deserves, pity rather than contempt.

In school I always excelled academically. I was no stranger to a bit of messing though. I used to have a laugh off some of the thicker students. Imitating their terrible pronunciation or doing impressions of the stutterers trying to read.

I also managed to balance my academic performance with a strong ability in sport. I was an avid hurler and was known throughout East Galway for my fantastic burst of pace and sublime ground, ball-handling and evasion skills. Myself and the lads on the hurling team used to get up to a good bit of messing too. I remember teasing one of the less athletic lads to join in our training and then "scoring a point" by smashing his pokemon Gameboy over ther bar!

I was also the guy who came up with the most cutting of nicknames. We called one thicko Chernobyl because he was such a disaster in school. He left before even finishing junior cert I think. I also came up with the name Batman for one of the kids who found out he was actually adopted at age 14!

Anyway, suffice to say, despite being a messer, and being a typical "sports jock" I managed to do excellently in the LC. I've also continued to go from strength to strength and now work on the very cutting edge of European finance and am doing very well for myself indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pingi

I've just turned 30

Biggest messer in my primary school died tragically in his early 20s. Very sad I'm not even sure he got accepted into secondary school. I actually think about him ocasionally and how he was treated by the teahcers as a problem student and how different/better he would have been catered for now days

Biggest messers in secondary school mostly left after the junior very because there were lots of trades going at the time (2002) They made decent money when very young. Some continued in the builing trade but lots ended up on the dole or working in retail after the crash

Me and my pals were not academicly good in school but also not loud messers Leaving cert points being 270 (x2) 160 and 50 all ended up with hons degrees (though not graduating until age 24-30) and have jobs we enjoy/pay well. 3 of us have fully time pensionable jobs with good benefits, health care etc. The other is freelance works for himself with loads going on.

I was the biggest messer in my year but ended up turning that around fairly fast. To be fair I know one is a doctor another became town mayor, a few solicitors, teachers etc and most are married and very well off. It was a strict convent school with a very high level of achievement so many did well for themselves. The ones who didn't go on to further education might have moved away and that. I know some have drug problems now but they are still pretty respectable and functioning in society. Out of us that caused the most trouble we did alright for ourselves afterwards. It was just banter.

This is indicative that lots of kids think they are messers etc when in reality they are essentially good kids who give the teacher a bit of a sarcy comment twice a week and smoke a few cigarettes.............. think they are full time mad bastads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 sqwertypoo1934

^ mad yokes all together, didn't they tell you how MAD they were like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

I went to a fancy school so everyone basically did fine.

Theres no distinction between the 'messers' (Who I'd define as lads who disrupted class with a few jokes about the planet Uranus) and any other normal kids.

The dirtbags (who'd start fights and wouldn't go to class) they all are fine too, but they are mostly salesmen or work in a bar or whatever.

What an outrageous post.

You sound like you're bitter due to your own inadequacies when it comes to athletic prowess.

I've unfortunately been the subject of begrudgery of this exact kind by people who want to drag me down to their level. I always treat it with what it deserves, pity rather than contempt.

In school I always excelled academically. I was no stranger to a bit of messing though. I used to have a laugh off some of the thicker students. Imitating their terrible pronunciation or doing impressions of the stutterers trying to read.

I also managed to balance my academic performance with a strong ability in sport. I was an avid hurler and was known throughout East Galway for my fantastic burst of pace and sublime ground, ball-handling and evasion skills. Myself and the lads on the hurling team used to get up to a good bit of messing too. I remember teasing one of the less athletic lads to join in our training and then "scoring a point" by smashing his pokemon Gameboy over ther bar!

I was also the guy who came up with the most cutting of nicknames. We called one thicko Chernobyl because he was such a disaster in school. He left before even finishing junior cert I think. I also came up with the name Batman for one of the kids who found out he was actually adopted at age 14!

Anyway, suffice to say, despite being a messer, and being a typical "sports jock" I managed to do excellently in the LC. I've also continued to go from strength to strength and now work on the very cutting edge of European finance and am doing very well for myself indeed.

I really hope you're trolling when you're boasting about what a great teenage bully you were.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

dead most of them

I really hope you're trolling when you're boasting about what a great teenage bully you were.

I'm just sharing a few anecdotes from my teenage years. You can hardly equate the behaviour of a teenager with a man in his thirties today. It's not as if I'd go around smashing colleagues electronic devices off in to the sky with a hurl. For one thing, it would be much harder with the golf clubs in my office! :p

Anyway, everyone knew all that messing was just boys being boys. As it so happens Chernobyl now works as an attendant at the local petrol station. I always call down to see him and get him to wash my BMW (even though it's a rental car and there is no need). I always tip him generously and it has yet to fail to put a big smile on his little face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I killed them with my bare hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

I honestly haven't a clue what happened 95% of my classmates from primary/secondary.

Im still friends with one of them but dont keep track on the rest.
    Occasionally bump into some of them when im back in the town, generally pushing around prams etc. but i go little further than just saying hi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

He's doing fine although I think he's lonely, which probably isn't unusual complaint for young farmers.He runs his family farm which was probably the plan all along. He was just marking time at school so he probably thought he might as well entertain himself. At secondary school he was mildly amusing, as an adult he comes across as a bit lost.

Teachers should really ignore the disruptive ones if they can't reign them in quickly, rather than spending most of the class allowing themselves to be distracted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

jeanjolie wrote:
    Know lads about to do the Leaving Cert and a few of the popular messers says that they have barely started studying.

I knew you were a kid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,804 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

What an outrageous post.

I'm just sharing a few anecdotes from my teenage years. You can hardly equate the behaviour of a teenager with a man in his thirties today. It's not as if I'd go around smashing colleagues electronic devices off in to the sky with a hurl. For one thing, it would be much harder with the golf clubs in my office! :p

Anyway, everyone knew all that messing was just boys being boys. As it so happens Chernobyl now works as an attendant at the local petrol station. I always call down to see him and get him to wash my BMW (even though it's a rental car and there is no need). I always tip him generously and it has yet to fail to put a big smile on his little face.

I'd say you love the sound of your own voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

pilly wrote: »
    I knew you were a kid!

212 posts and 60 of those are new threads.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Augeo wrote: »
    This is indicative that lots of kids think they are messers etc when in reality they are essentially good kids who give the teacher a bit of a sarcy comment twice a week and smoke a few cigarettes.............. think they are full time mad bastads.

You know nothing. Don't presume you had a clue what went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

This parody rubbish is about as funny as Chernobyl itself tbh!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I've taken to watching out for'em in the papers. One was murdered recently enough. A few others done for moving drugs around. The rest just seemed to vanish except for one that seems to do bar management at events every now and then.

kfallon wrote: »
    212 posts and 60 of those are new threads.......

On school holidays.

kfallon wrote: »
    This parody rubbish is about as funny as Chernobyl itself tbh!

Perhaps you should put me on ignore if my posts upset you so much. Good lad.

So you stayed a dick then, fair play. At least you're consistent.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I taught for almost thirty years in the inner city of Dublin. Last count, just short of 100 young men I taught (born from about 1968 onwards) were dead. Most from drug-related things, some from alcoholism, many from crime, some murdered, many from suicide, just one from what most would see as a normal young man's death - a road accident.

I guess that's what happens some of the 'messers'.
    For comparison, 2 girls I was at school with are dead.