Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mayota

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Maybe this time

Wouldn't like to see a deep one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Maybe this time
    Yeah, just collapsed as I was climbing out of it. It wasn't as big as that one though
    Slugadore?
    The bit of gaeilge leaks out every so often:)

There's a couple after opening up this spring after all the rain. I'll have to get a trailer of earth to fill them up if I go ahead with putting down another roadway after the silage. I just hope the silage harvester doesn't meet one in a few weeks:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Fecking cattle broke up to the turf and a cow that calved yesterday, left her calf somewhere and I've the whole bog/mountain searched a thousand times. I'm 4.5 hours walking it. No luck. Cow not roaring, not looking like she's overly sucked. They all crossed a river and went to a new location and stil no stir out of her looking. If there's no live calf tomorrow, she's for the road.

And the OH is working tomorrow from 6;30am til 9:30pm so I'll have to go looking at dawn.

😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Fecking cattle broke up to the turf and a cow that calved yesterday, left her calf somewhere and I've the whole bog/mountain searched a thousand times. I'm 4.5 hours walking it. No luck. Cow not roaring, not looking like she's overly sucked. They all crossed a river and went to a new location and stil no stir out of her looking. If there's no live calf tomorrow, she's for the road.

And the OH is working tomorrow from 6;30am til 9:30pm so I'll have to go looking at dawn.

😕

If she's not roaring I would say she will have the calf tomorrow. Sometimes they just drive you daft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

Interesting farming programme on BBC4 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 795 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Yeah, just collapsed as I was climbing out of it. It wasn't as big as that one though

The bit of gaeilge leaks out every so often:)

There's a couple after opening up this spring after all the rain. I'll have to get a trailer of earth to fill them up if I go ahead with putting down another roadway after the silage. I just hope the silage harvester doesn't meet one in a few weeks:(

About 20 years ago contractor was here at silage. Old style set up tractor,harvester and trailer. Contractor looked back to see sink hole open up between the harvester and trailer. Opening was about 7/8 ft in diameter but opened up underneath like a small cave. Luckily enough trailer was only about 1/4 full so contactor sat up and made a burst on over it.
    Field bounds the head race feeding Ardnacrusha power station. Water had obviously been leaking away out of the man made canal over the years. ESB did a good bit of digging and investigating. Led to a fairly comprehensive operation of boring and backfilling with liquid concrete along the top of the canal bank.
    Be some fun around here if bank was ever breached !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

tanko wrote: »
    Interesting farming programme on BBC4 now.

Now tanko!!!

You may get rid of the limousin and get the Angus x Hereford.

Those little cattle were gas though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Now tanko!!!

You may get rid of the limousin and get the Angus x Hereford.

Those little cattle were gas though.

Funny you should say that, actually had two little AA bulls off KYA born here this week. They're not unlike the wee cattle on the programme.

tanko wrote: »
    Funny you should say that, actually had two little AA bulls off KYA born here this week. They're not unlike the wee cattle on the programme.

It would be some idea if they could bring in that taste and tenderness test in the factories when grading carcasses.

It's very difficult to cook some beef now.
    A couple of minutes cooking time can be difference between chewable and the belt on your trousers.

Calf just found. Awful wet back end on him. Must have been sitting in an open drain. The father had an awful havbit of opening drains about 300mm wide and leaving them open and now hidden. Tractor stuck in one yesterday- I fell into a fair few of them.

The rushes are the height of myself and can't be touched because of the hen harrier.

My autobiography will be called taming the west.... or attempting to.

i can go back to sleep for an hour before I've to get lunches ready:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Calf just found. Awful wet back end on him. Must have been sitting in an open drain. The father had an awful havbit of opening drains about 300mm wide and leaving them open and now hidden. Tractor stuck in one yesterday- I fell into a fair few of them.

The rushes are the height of myself and can't be touched because of the hen harrier.

Grand bright morning, had to drop sister and her family to 5am bus to airport. Normally if the cow is settled we wouldnt bother looking for the calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

whelan2 wrote: »

Grand bright morning, had to drop sister and her family to 5am bus to airport. Normally if the cow is settled we wouldnt bother looking for the calf.

Hot sure on hen Harriet rules, but can you lick/wipe?

After July 1st I think. I can top them too but 50% of them in a mosaic pattern.
    I bought a topper last year. Dad didn't believe in them but I couldn't afford to replace the disc mower. So am working away at the rushes but have about 45acres of them. Where I managed to top and lick, another year of it will clear a lot of them and then just keep going that way.

Impossible to drain that place. I'd have 100k spent for 14cows.
    So plan is to reduce them a bit and then try manage them.

I'd be the same normally. But the cow is a Saler cross and she wouldn't stand still when the calf was sucking because I was around and then she was about half a mile away from the calf by the end. And with the hidden open drains everywhere, I was worried. The mother had come up in the car to look at the new calf and when she knew he was mising, I knew she wouldn't sleep for the night either. She was calling me at 4;50 because she saw the van lights.

418656.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

When are you finished school for the summer?

Friday officially but I came in a few days to help with some unsavoury characters so I'm not timetabled Thursday and Friday. I'll try get my marking done and the room closed off those days to be totally finished until august.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Greetings from Holland

I'd be the same normally. But the cow is a Saler cross and she wouldn't stand still when the calf was sucking because I was around and then she was about half a mile away from the calf by the end. And with the hidden open drains everywhere, I was worried. The mother had come up in the car to look at the new calf and when she knew he was mising, I knew she wouldn't sleep for the night either. She was calling me at 4;50 because she saw the van lights.

418656.JPG
    Nice outfit, good luck to them
    From what you say about your farm, what breed / cross do you find suits best?

That lady is a saler off gqz. She is a bit wild when out but grad indoors.Not a pick on her but a good bag of milk this year.
    Everything is limousin based with a limo bull. Most are close to 70%limo.

Best cow I have performance wise is a limo off some form of Friesan from the dairy herd.
    Next is a limo but her grand father was a brown swiss. I'll throw up a photo of her calf that's a month old off stock bull. Problem is the colouring of the heifer calves are brown swiss so I dunno how they would fair in the mart.

I have one speckle park who's is a hardy handy cow. And coming through I have one AA off zll and limo cow. And I've three calves this year off ZLL that I may keep.

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Greetings from Holland

The random posts that do be on f & f chit chat.
    :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

He's just letting us know, he isn't doing any harm around Tipp.

Water John wrote: »

Good job it's raining here this week.:p

That lady is a saler off gqz. She is a bit wild when out but grad indoors.Not a pick on her but a good bag of milk this year.
    Everything is limousin based with a limo bull. Most are close to 70%limo.

Best cow I have performance wise is a limo off some form of Friesan from the dairy herd.
    Next is a limo but her grand father was a brown swiss. I'll throw up a photo of her calf that's a month old off stock bull. Problem is the colouring of the heifer calves are brown swiss so I dunno how they would fair in the mart.

I have one speckle park who's is a hardy handy cow. And coming through I have one AA off zll and limo cow. And I've three calves this year off ZLL that I may keep.
    Saw the pics, was wondering if you had Aurbac or part in the breeding
    Know what you mean about the heifer's colour, say a LM cross again would be fine, wouldn't keep her?

Saw the pics, was wondering if you had Aurbac or part in the breeding
    Know what you mean about the heifer's colour, say a LM cross again would be fine, wouldn't keep her?

I'm def keeping her. Her mother is a great mother so I'm hoping to clone her. And she is 5 star for the Bgdp scheme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Buckmickley

I think dairy farmers should gather together and charge the dairies a €100 collection fee every time the lorries in

Fed up of lads charging €100 call out fee's when they're also calling to others in the same area and getting another €100 an hour for labour :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Water John wrote: »

I decided to bring my mischief to Holland. Currently in Rabo bank HQ with the ASA. If any of ye are on snapchat you can follow me using their handle asaireland

I think dairy farmers should gather together and charge the dairies a €100 collection fee every time the lorries in

Fed up of lads charging €100 call out fee's when they're also calling to others in the same area and getting another €100 an hour for labour :rolleyes:

They must charge you a "special " rate.

The most I've ever been charged on a call out is e40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Who charges €100 call out ,I Taught the vets were bad at €50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Can anyone name this week birdie? Found in a shed under a crows nest but not sure if it's a crow.

ndYdZLi.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Looks like a Jack Daw squab to me.

(Or are only pigeons called squabs?)