Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

1. Colm Callanan
    2. Adrian Touhy
    3. Daithi Burke
    4. Paul Killeen
    5. Padraig Mannion
    6. Gearoid McInerney
    7. Aidan Harte
    8. Johnny Coen
    9. David Burke
    10. Jason Flynn
    11. Joe Canning
    12. Joseph Cooney
    13. Conor Whelan
    14. Cathal Mannion
    15. Conor Cooney

That fullback line won't get a day at the office as easy as Tipp in the League final ever again. Dublin won't bomb easy ball into McInerney like Tipp.

That said, bar Joseph Cooney this season (so far), there's huge damage to be caused by the forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭O.A.P

I would take a 1 point win right now. I suppose we all would.
    Galway never wear the favorite's tag well and Dublin would love to knock the league champions off their perch but no one expects them to so all the pressure is on Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

GAA GO not working after I've paid for it f**k sake, any ideas? cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 EireGrif

1. Colm Callanan
    2. Adrian Touhy
    3. Daithi Burke
    4. Paul Killeen
    5. Padraig Mannion
    6. Gearoid McInerney
    7. Aidan Harte
    8. Johnny Coen
    9. David Burke
    10. Jason Flynn
    11. Joe Canning
    12. Joseph Cooney
    13. Conor Whelan
    14. Cathal Mannion
    15. Conor Cooney

That fullback line won't get a day at the office as easy as Tipp in the League final ever again. Dublin won't bomb easy ball into McInerney like Tipp.

That said, bar Joseph Cooney this season (so far), there's huge damage to be caused by the forwards.

Is John Hanley, last year full back, among on the subs ?

Killeen looks like his summer is over.

Leg buckled in the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

The back who ran into Flynn after the goal is lucky he didn't get booked there.

EDIT: Nevermind, they just said on commentary he got booked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Hopefully not but it doesn't look good at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Commentators saying he was clipped, but it looked like it just gave way on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

Stoner wrote: »
    Commentators saying he was clipped, but it looked like it just gave way on him

Looked in awful pain, hopefully it's like the Cathal Barrett one last week and not as bad as initially feared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Radiant Cool Crazy Nightmare

2-28 is a serious score to put up. Happy with that performance today. Some very sharp play amongst the forwards and thought the backs hassled well and then hit some decent ball into the forwards. Dublin were wasteful in front of goal and the sending off did them no favours. I have to say I was wary enough before the game for the readon that Dublin were being written off by all sides, but thankfully we did the job and look forward to a semi final against Offaly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Paul Killeen looked in agony alright. Hanbury did well for him.

Eanna Burke did very well when he came on, couple of great joe canning esque passes.

Took us a while to get going but in the end was a very comfortable victory. Obviously the sending off ruined the game as a contest but Dublin never really looked like they'd do enough to trouble us in terms of winning the match.

However, there were some concerning features in the first half in particular in terms of the half forward line struggling to win ball and the back line becoming a bit disjointed at times. Dublin probably have one of the weaker forward lines in the country and still gave us significant problems. If their decision making was better we might have been in a bit of trouble at half time.

Again Cathal Mannion and Jason Flynn need to up their game significantly. Niall Burke did well when he came on at the end. Conor Cooney is really starting to impose himself and hit some great scores when the game was there to be won.

Feel very sorry for Paul Killeen. He's worked hard to get his place on the team and has had a few good months but that looks like it's his summer as good as done unfortunately.

Not much learned today but still plenty for Galway to work away on ahead of the next day. Dublin have lost some quality players and some huge leaders in their team and are obviously in utter disarray. Physically the Dublin team of a few years ago could hold their own against anyone but today Galway dominated them physically. Dublin may have been entitled to a few more decisions than they got to be fair but ultimately they hadn't the forwards to do any real damage and overall to me they're back where they were before Anthony Daly came in, probably rated 9th overall.

We move on to Offaly. They'll make life difficult for a while undoubtedly but that's hopefully a game we can win well and move on with confidence to the Leinster final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Best of luck for the rest. Hope Kileen is okay. Wasn't a dirty blow. "Disarray" is under statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭The White Feather

I said wrote: »
    Hopefully not but it doesn't look good at all
    Rasputin11 wrote: »
    Looked in awful pain, hopefully it's like the Cathal Barrett one last week and not as bad as initially feared.
    Paul Killeen looked in agony alright. Hanbury did well for him.

Sorry to see the bad news on the Galway twitter feed.It is a cruciate injury and he will be out for the rest of the season :(

https://twitter.com/Galway_GAA/status/869251309966327809

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Horrible injury. The very best of luck to him for a full recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Sean morrissey should be in line for a call up, I was at mellows' opening two matches he has been outstanding.

While hanbury has experience there's very little in terms of back up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

jr86 wrote: »
    Sean morrissey should be in line for a call up, I was at mellows' opening two matches he has been outstanding.

While hanbury has experience there's very little in terms of back up

Don't get to see many of the county games as I don't live in the county, but heard Mellows have a good team of young hurlers. Same with Kilnadeema-Leitrim.

Mulqueen has come in for mellows and drafted in a host of last year's under 21 team. Conor kavanagh has joined from kinvara and Johnny Lee is in the best shape he's been for years.

Looking superb so far but probably peaking too early. I can't see them beating gort portumna or Thomas's later in year when it's real do or die

Kilnadeema are going well too but are probably too reliant on Brian molloy. Still a step off senior A standard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Allocated section A, Row E for the Mayo match. I would imagine its a fairly poor seat. I guess its the first section as you walk in and then 5th row from the bottom. At the Roscommon match last year, I was in row B and had to go to the terrace because I couldn't see with people walking in front of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

What was score in Craughwell/Mellows game lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

Craughwell won by 2-12 to 0-14. Slight surprise I would have thought, Mellows going well enough this year. (Had them wagered a little too :-( ) Turlough', who I said here before to keep an eye on, caused also a slight upset by coming from behind to beat Portumna earlier. (James Horan must have got it on early to make Portlaoise). Real group of death that one with they, Sarsfields, Gort and St. Thomas' all capable of beating each other. Ahascragh, inspired by the Mannions, beat Abbey who really are very light and young this year. Abbey may be lucky that Carnmore are really terrible and may save them from going down.

The real story of the weekend is the absolutely massive low ebb Athenry and Loughrea now find themselves in

Athenry for a massive area with a ginormous pick are in particular disarray. They're closer to Intermediate standard now than Senior A. This is - quite remarkably - only 20 years on from when their second team won the County Intermediate Title!!! When it was only 16 teams in Senior

The Championship is the most wide open it's ever been. Mullagh of all teams are the only undefeated side. It's a a completely different championship in September though when it restarts after the County. Just ask the last three Champions who all really struggled early on

MfMan wrote: »
    Craughwell won by 2-12 to 0-14. Slight surprise I would have thought, Mellows going well enough this year. (Had them wagered a little too :-( ) Turlough', who I said here before to keep an eye on, caused also a slight upset by coming from behind to beat Portumna earlier. (James Horan must have got it on early to make Portlaoise). Real group of death that one with they, Sarsfields, Gort and St. Thomas' all capable of beating each other. Ahascragh, inspired by the Mannions, beat Abbey who really are very light and young this year. Abbey may be lucky that Carnmore are really terrible and may save them from going down.

Can't see it, they were miles off the pace v Gort last round. Portumna are completely finished now, should have lost to Pearses too.

Turlough just don't have the forwards to be serious contenders imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

I know there's other forums for football followers but jaysus not a sausage on this about the mayo match!
    Looking forward to this big time. The forecasted wind is going to ruin the game I think, as it always does in salthill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

jam83 wrote: »
    I know there's other forums for football followers but jaysus not a sausage on this about the mayo match!
    Looking forward to this big time. The forecasted wind is going to ruin the game I think, as it always does in salthill.

Astonished myself,far more Galway contributors to the Mayo GAA discussion thread which is always welcome.

Totally agree with the bolded text,TBH I can't warm to Salthill as a venue,it's inaccessibilty parking wise and the dreaded traffic chaos afterwards.

Having said all that that I'm really looking forward to the contest.Sounds like there'll be rain and showers lingering on the west coast come throw in on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Lavelle
    Silke
    Kyne
    Sweeney
    Bradshaw
    GOD
    Wynne
    FOC
    Flynn
    Heaney
    Conroy
    Shane Walsh
    Daly
    Comer
    Armstrong

No Brannigan, Sice or Cummins. So I presume Heaney goes HB and Wynne is in FB-line so we have a sweeper.

Lavelle
    Silke
    Kyne
    Sweeney
    Bradshaw
    GOD
    Wynne
    FOC
    Flynn
    Heaney
    Conroy
    Shane Walsh
    Daly
    Comer
    Armstrong

No Brannigan, Sice or Cummins. So I presume Heaney goes HB and Wynne is in FB-line so we have a sweeper.

My guess is backs line up as selected.

Conroy to midfield
    Half forward line of Flynn, walsh, Daly.
    Full forward line of comer / Armstrong

Heaney plays free role / sweeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Think putting Army in over Cummins is wrong myself. Hope it doesn't backfire on big Kevin. Cummins stayed loyal to the team and was standout last year, picking up an all star nomination. Bringing Army out of retirement is a brave call. Sends out the wrong signal to me.... we shall see.

RobbieRuns wrote: »
    Think putting Army in over Cummins is wrong myself. Hope it doesn't backfire on big Kevin. Cummins stayed loyal to the team and was standout last year, picking up an all star nomination. Bringing Army out of retirement is a brave call. Sends out the wrong signal to me.... we shall see.

Cummins was struggling with injury throughout the league, so maybe that influenced his thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭mjp

Think Cummins will have more of an influence coming off the bench in 2nd half when game opens up. Will be chomping at the bit coming on aswell as has had poor shot selections too often in the past. Anyone have the bench named? Should have plenty of options in forward line. Would worry about our fullback line if Aidan o Shea starts which I expect him to do