Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Delighted he got sent off due to that needless and sly hit on Flynn after he scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Galway doing enough to beat a poor team. It's like watching a challenge match in comparison to last Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Awful from Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Jaysus the westmeath goalkeeper won't want to be watching the replays of this!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭4Ad

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Jaysus the westmeath goalkeeper won't want to be watching the replays of this!

He fair messed up (twice) for the final goal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

4Ad wrote: »
    He fair messed up (twice) for the final goal..

Also gave away a needless penalty. Pity as it cost them big time.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,483 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

What way do the qualifiers work? Four losing QF teams (Tipp, Westmeath, Laois & Dublin) in one pot with the four losing SF teams in the other and no rematches - e.g. if Wexford lose to KK, they can't play Laois?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭enoughtaken

[font=Verdana, Arial]Taken from a tipp gaa website 23/5 [/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]Qualifiers Overall Format[/font]
    [font=Verdana, Arial]
    A total of nine teams enter the qualifiers – five of the seven teams eliminated in Leinster before the final, all three teams knocked-out in Munster before the final and the winners of 2017's Christy Ring Cup.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    The fixtures are decided by draws which are detailed in the sections below. All qualifier matches are knock-out and eventually result in two teams who progress to the All-Ireland quarter-finals.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    Qualifiers Preliminary Round Format[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    The GAA congress held in February 2017 voted to allow the winners of the 2017 Christy Ring cup to enter the 2017 qualifiers in a new preliminary round. The Christy Ring cup winners play the losers of one of the the three Leinster quarter finals on 24th June.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    Qualifiers Round 1 Format[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    After the qualifiers preliminary round, the eight remaining qualifier teams play in four matches on 1st July. First team drawn has home advantage. A draw is made that ensures there are three matches between Leinster and Munster teams. Teams who have previously played each other in the Leinster Championship cannot meet again.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    Qualifiers Round 2 Format[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    The four winners of round 1 play in two matches on 8th July in neutral venues. Teams who have already met in the Leinster or Munster championships cannot be drawn to meet again.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    All-Ireland Quarter-Finals[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    The beaten finalists from the Leinster and Munster championships play the winners of round 2 of the qualifiers in the two quarter-finals on 23rd July. These games cannot be played in Croke Park because of U2 concert on Saturday, 22nd July.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    All-Ireland Semi-Finals[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    The Leinster and Munster champions play the winners of the two quarter-finals.[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    6th August – Leinster Champions v Quarter Final Winner
    13th August – Munster Champions v Quarter Final Winner[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    All Ireland Final[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    3rd September, 2017[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]As far as I know Tipperary are the only county definitely in the qualifiers at this stage.  For the first round proper, the draw will look something like this (I am guessing that the Leinster results will send these teams through the qualifiers with Kilkenny and Galway progressing to the Leinster Final, but you never know.  The Leinster team in Pot 1 is subject to an open draw among the Leinster qualifiers as far as I know)[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]Pot 1  [/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]Tipperary[/font]
    [font=Verdana, Arial]Cork/Waterford[/font]
    [font=Verdana, Arial]Limerick/Clare[/font]
    [font=Verdana, Arial]Westmeath[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]Pot 2[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]Laois[/font]
    [font=Verdana, Arial]Dublin[/font]
    [font=Verdana, Arial]Offaly[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]Wexford[/font]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Patww79 wrote: »

I struggled to stay awake watching the games yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Was at the Wexford Laois match yesterday. Wexford weren't tested but you can only beat who's in front of you. Good crowd at the game too, majority of people from Wexford.

Really looking forward to the Kilkenny match. No doubt Wexford Park will be jammed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I thought Special Branchman Brennan was needlessly nasty about Dublin on Sunday Game. And not for the first time.

Let's hope we can put smile on other side of his face tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,603 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    Qualifiers Preliminary Round Format[/font]

[font=Verdana, Arial]
    The GAA congress held in February 2017 voted to allow the winners of the 2017 Christy Ring cup to enter the 2017 qualifiers in a new preliminary round. The Christy Ring cup winners play the losers of one of the the three Leinster quarter finals on 24th June.[/font]

So the winners of Carlow/Antrim will play either Dublin/Westmeath/Laois.

It's a good reward for the Christy Ring Cup winners to get a chance in the qualifiers. Carlow/Antrim won't fear Westmeath or Laois.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    I thought Special Branchman Brennan was needlessly nasty about Dublin on Sunday Game. And not for the first time.

Let's hope we can put smile on other side of his face tomorrow night.

Ah I see that your love affair with Eddie continues to blossom :rolleyes:

I liked him as a player but his default zone like Babs, as a pundit, seems to be sneering.

Let's hope his management career moves on from the disaster it has been to date :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is Eddie really a branch man?

Wouldn't have thought he was ignorant enough for that gig :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Thought eddie spoke the truth on the sunday game.many dubs fans agree with his comments.as for tomorrow night really fancy kk in this years 21s

Bambi wrote: »
    Is Eddie really a branch man?

Wouldn't have thought he was ignorant enough for that gig :D

He is a "manufactured Branch man." :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He is a "manufactured Branch man." :)

Was he not wrishty enough for the Public Order Unit? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I liked him as a player but his default zone like Babs, as a pundit, seems to be sneering.

Let's hope his management career moves on from the disaster it has been to date :)
    What did he say that you disagree with?

It's not so much what he says, but the way he says it. More or less laughing at fellas after being beaten. Do you do that?

He didn't take too kindly to criticism of himself after youse were beaten by Westmeath last year.

It's not so much what he says, but the way he says it. More or less laughing at fellas after being beaten. Do you do that?

He didn't take too kindly to criticism of himself after youse were beaten by Westmeath last year.

So you agreed with him?

Would be hard to say it was a good day out!

That was not my point. You know yourself you can be critical of lads, especially mostly a bunch of young lads thrown in the deep end - as indeed he ought to know himself from last year's 21s! - without mocking them.

Would you not agree?

Loughane was at similar crack. You never hear Shefflin or Sheedy or Farrell belittling players. And not just going on about our fellas. I've heard Brennan laughing at Wexford and other teams in the past.

Jaysus, getting a hiding is bad enough without being ridiculed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

Loughnane wasnt too far wrong but should not have singled out past players. There is a notion circulating that if only Dublin had their players back they would be winning titles. I think Loughnanne was referring to this as Circumstantial evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,783 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The winners of 2morrows Clare and Limerick Munster semi final and the other 3 provincial semi finals will be guranteed at least an All Ireland Quarter final place

The draw for the Preliminary round takes place on Tuesday. It will take place on Sat 24th June in a neutral venue and involve the Christy Ring Cup champions (Carlow or Antrim) vs Laois or Westmeath. Winner progresses to Round 1 and losers season ends. Not sure what section the preliminary round winner goes into for the round 1 draw but putting them in the munster section would make the most sense.

Round 1

Munster
    Tipperary

Leinster
    Dublin
    Laois or Westmeath

Jesus I'm looking at the fixtures for upcoming matches and you have to wonder sometimes why on earth they drag the arse out of the championship so much. Makes it very hard to get some momentum going, build some excitement, and while the players wait weeks and months between matches the club player does nothing. There has to be a better way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Jesus I'm looking at the fixtures for upcoming matches and you have to wonder sometimes why on earth they drag the arse out of the championship so much. Makes it very hard to get some momentum going, build some excitement, and while the players wait weeks and months between matches the club player does nothing. There has to be a better way.

Absolute joke the way championship is dragged out. Only one hurling match this weekend, it's hard to believe!!!

Yeah completely agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

+1000

Was it 2013 when the Dublin hurlers played 4 weekends in a row and then had 2 matches in 2 months after that?

A complete farce, but that's part and parcel of the GAA overall.

You could easily start the Championship on this weekend every year and have it wrapped up on the August Bank Holiday weekend. Or first weekend in July to September or whatever

As bad and all as this is the club All Ireland is worse. Play a Provincial final in November/December and then two matches in 3/4 months!!!