Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭rufuseric82

People on here are never happy. Kilbane is too vanilla and bland but when he expresses a controversial opinion people hammer him for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭rrs

Kilbane seemed to have a chip on his shoulder. McGuinness was brought into Celtic at the end of 2012 as a Sports Psychologist and has worked his way his way up, coaching the Youth teams. They obviously rate him.It was irrelevant from Kilbane to start mentioning Kenny and Cualfield.

McGuinness is staying his A licence in July, takes a year to complete and then the Pro Licence. At least he has the ambition to want to progress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Maybe Kilbane is still bitter over the 2012 All Ireland final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

rrs wrote: »
    McGuinness is staying his A licence in July, takes a year to complete and then the Pro Licence. At least he has the ambition to want to progress.

Is soccer not boring enough without having McGuinness managing a soccer team. He will make Stoke look like Arsenal.

rrs wrote: »

Is soccer not boring enough without having McGuinness managing a soccer team. He will make Chelsea look like Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Fair play to Jim McGuiness going through the ranks at Celtic, but I can't help feeling it's a bit hollow in terms of learning how to manage a competitve team.

I've a pair of socks that could manage Celtic to a league title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

People on here are never happy. Kilbane is too vanilla and bland but when he expresses a controversial opinion people hammer him for it.

100% agree with this! Think McGuinness is being over ambitious myself but I'll be following his progress with interest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭Danye

100% agree with this! Think McGuinness is being over ambitious myself but I'll be following his progress with interest!

What's the harm with being over ambitious? The people of Donegal and other commentators probably would of said the same when he took the helm at Donegal. Ambition is something to be encouraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

for all we know, Jimmy could be the next Jose Mourinho, feck all playing history of note, but did the slog up the levels in the background.

i doubt Jimmy is going to demand a premier league position when he gets his badges, but they do make him more available to most clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Danye wrote: »
    What's the harm with being over ambitious? The people of Donegal and other commentators probably would of said the same when he took the helm at Donegal. Ambition is something to be encouraged.

In fairness although he did an unbelievable job with Donegal it wasn't quite the rags to riches story everyone made out. Donegal have been in the top 2 divisions pretty much for the last 25 years and regularly got to AI quarter finals.They had a lot of talented players who just had a bad attitude.He had talent to work with and got them to achieve something but it wasn't like he got Leitrim or Waterford to win an All Ireland.

for all we know, Jimmy could be the next Jose Mourinho, feck all playing history of note, but did the slog up the levels in the background.

i doubt Jimmy is going to demand a premier league position when he gets his badges, but they do make him more available to most clubs.

Difference is that Mourinho played the game professionally would have played it all his life and so would have instincts for the sport. McGuinness isn't a soccer man and will probably lack the instincts of someone like Mourinho has for the game. McGuinness would be a 100% trained coach rather than someone who had a true feel for the sport which can be very important.

Ger is way too close to his pal Brolly in his "investigative reporting" of this. Ger had his mind made up before he asked any questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Ger is way too close to his pal Brolly in his "investigative reporting" of this. Ger had his mind made up before he asked any questions.

Of course but what else would you expect? For any given set of circumstances, try to imagine the most populist and politically correct view - that will be Ger's (and Joe). Both whiter than white.

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Of course but what else would you expect? For any given set of circumstances, try to imagine the most populist and politically correct view - that will be Ger's (and Joe). Both whiter than white.

I've looked at the video and there really is no way that Matt Fitzpatrick would not have been able to identify himself. However, they did seem to give him the rope to hang himself. Seems they wanted to get caught on the lie, rather than give him the opportunity to confess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Ger was ridiculous and tabloid with that interview. He won't be getting a call up to Prime Time anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Vunderground

Demand???
    Good luck with that to the man who never managed anyone!

There is this assumption in some Irish media that a lot of lads who play G.A.A. would make it in professional football. Just statistically this is nuts.
    Ireland has a similar population to Manchester and how many Mancs are playing in the Premiership. This calling James O'Donoghue, James, as in James Rodríguez. It's very silly. He works in a Bank in Killarney. His hobby is G.A.A.

And it's a totally different game. You can't use your hands lads!

I know we all have to buy into the fantasy that Dublin (for example) have fifteen 'great' footballs. Gaelic yes. Association no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Vunderground

Patww79 wrote: »

Thank you :)

He doubts???
    Feel another rant coming on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Difference is that Mourinho played the game professionally would have played it all his life and so would have instincts for the sport.

I don't think he did have professional career. Which sets him and Sacchi apart as top managers who never really played the game. Mourinho's farther was a professional footballer and coach though.

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    I don't think he did have professional career. Which sets him and Sacchi apart as top managers who never really played the game. Mourinho's farther was a professional footballer and coach though.

Mourinho played for Belenenses and Rio Ave at senior level and they are professional clubs but he retired at only 24.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Mourinho played for Belenenses and Rio Ave at senior level and they are professional clubs but he retired at only 24.

Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Don't know if it's relevant but wasn't his father the manager of the club's he played for? He rarely played but his coaching ability was recognised and encouraged there.

My gfs (Italian) brother is an Inter Milan fanatic and football encyclopedia and I recall him telling me this or something to that affect.

If that's wrong I will take delight in correcting him. :)

Also, was Benitez not an amateur player too?

I don't think it's impossible he could have some success in association football, but he would certainly be an outlier.

Fair play to him for giving it a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

Likening McGuiness and Rafa or Mourinho is pure nonsense. Neither of the latter 2 played football at the very highest level but that's where the comparison ends.

McGuiness amateur psychology schtick was an untapped market in GAA never mind Donegal. There was room for improvement of certain teams with this approach.

There's no scope at the highest level for this kind of approach as it's all been done before. You have to improve players.

A good reference for McGuiness would be Clive Woodward who also had some success and lost the run of himself thinking his influence extended beyond the sport of rugby when he went to Southampton. No matter how confident he was he was always going to hit a brick wall.

No way McGuinnes becomes a soccer manager of any repute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Niall Moyna : I watch 3 hours of CNN a night. I'd be very anti-Trump.

Joe : Good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

Did they discuss the paul kimmage article today on the paper review? I read it and wouldn't mind hearing if they had any thoughts on it.
    Your man fergus Connolly has obviously been a success but comes across as full of ****. If he just throws quotes and soundbites at teams then I don't know how he's a success!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I read the article and while it was an interesting read I'm not sure what Connolly actually does. A job title, or role description, I thought anyway was missing.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I read the article and while it was an interesting read I'm not sure what Connolly actually does. A job title, or role description, I thought anyway was missing.

Same as myself I thought it was a terribly written article (the bit of it I read at least).I read the first couple of columns and gave up after Kimmage failed to explain what he actually did.It should have been explained in the first couple of paragraphs of the piece.I'd no interest reading the rest when they didn't even bother to explain what he actually did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

I've looked at the video and there really is no way that Matt Fitzpatrick would not have been able to identify himself. However, they did seem to give him the rope to hang himself. Seems they wanted to get caught on the lie, rather than give him the opportunity to confess.

I'm a bit behind on this story, but Ger really should've grilled Brolly more (at all) on this. Your man clearly did intentionally mislead the investigation; of course he would've known it was himself in that video clip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

Patww79 wrote: »
    Exactly. You knew Keane wanted to hit Gilroy back with that exact point too and fair play to him he resisted.

It's actually a bit frustrating comparing how easy a ride Brolly got compared to the grilling Liam Keane took. Very poor stuff from OTB.