'Shallow' dealbreakers in a relationship?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

What's wrong with gingers ?

And actually, arbitrary hatred of gingers would be a deal breaker for me! :P

Anyone who "categorically" does anything. I believe this word became "hip" when Gerry McCann kept "categorically denying" they had anything to do with their daughter's disappearance, as it was after this that people (politicians especially) started using it. Tossers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

What's wrong with gingers ?

It's just not for me. Ginger Nuts dunked in tea that's been made without the milk going in first is very lovely though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭stuboy01

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Anyone who "categorically" does anything. I believe this word became "hip" when Gerry McCann kept "categorically denying" they had anything to do with their daughter's disappearance, as it was after this that people (politicians especially) started using it. Tossers.

yes, or uses irregardless..WTF?
    in fact, anyone with bad grammer and pronunciation
    a scouse accent
    an essex accent
    idiots
    jaysus i could get on a roll.

Myself and my wife are so cynical now we just bitch when we watch TV

a great way to figure out what shallow dealbreakers you have is to watch First Dates...they're all there

People who deliberately say "then" instead of "than".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I'm checking everyone's socks in work right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

OldNotWIse wrote: »

That's an emphatic yes from me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

baps too small

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

baps too small

I'm 6ft tall.

too much make up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Cloudio9

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'm 6ft tall.

i.e. you're 5ft 11.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It disturbs me to think that there are people who think the prospect of someone wearing white socks is an instant deal-breaker in a relationship.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

It disturbs me to think that there are people who think the prospect of someone wearing white socks is an instant deal-breaker in a relationship.

The title of the thread is kind of wrong. We're talking about before you go into a relationship.

Obviously if you're already in a relationship you just give himself a few slaps, tell him to cop the fcuk on and he changes his socks. :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Has snoring been mentioned yet? I couldn't be with someone that does it. I know it's not their fault and they can't help it but I like sleeping so if she snores then that's the end of that relationship.

I find people snoring beside me relaxing, puts me off to sleep. There's something comforting about it.

Parchment wrote: »
    Its not attractive. I dont think many women like it.....

I couldn't give two shítes about socks be they white, neon or odd :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

As shallow reasons go -
    Man sues date for texting during Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2

A man is suing his date for texting during Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2.
    Yep, the man filed a petition in small claims court in Travis County, Texas. He is asking for $17.31 – the price of the movie ticket.

According to the American-Statesman, 37-year-old Brandon Vezmar from Austin met the woman online before they went on their first date to watch the Marvel movie.

The man taking the legal action said: "It was kind of a first date from hell. This is like one of my biggest pet peeves."

In the claim, Vezmar alleged that his date "activated her phone at least 10-20 times in 15 minutes to read and send text messages".

He said he asked her to stop but she refused, so he said she could go outside to text. She apparently left the cinema and never returned.

She also reportedly left in her car, which they had driven to the cinema together, leaving Vezmar without a ride.

The man says he texted her a few days later asking for the price of a ticket, but she refused to pay it.

The woman, 35, told the American-Statesman that she didn't know about the claim against her.

"Oh my God. This is crazy," she said. "I had my phone low and I wasn't bothering anybody. It wasn't like constant texting.

The petition said: "While damages sought are modest, the principle is important as defendant's behavior is a threat to civilized society."

"I'm not a bad woman. I just went out on a date."

I loved this bit -

She also reportedly left in her car, which they had driven to the cinema together, leaving Vezmar without a ride.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

As shallow reasons go -

I loved this bit -

Is the same state where some crazy politician tried stop male masturbation ? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭oneilla

Has social justice warriorism, trigger warnings, alt-right, mens rights activism and all that stuff been mentioned? Political views are fine but obscure Internet cults manifested in real life are a no-go. If your political opinions in real life are about what someone on the Internet said then I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I've a couple...

Women who are 'always on the sesh' everything they speak about seems to revolve around ' this time they were hammered' or how they can't wait ' to party down all weekend'

Women who wear excessive make up or tan , it's just not attractive honestly less is more people.

Women who wear gym gear out when A - They really shouldn't be as it's too tight for their frame or B - Don't actually go to the gym just wear it as a fashion statement or something.

Women who are a little ' too into themselves' just comes across as a type really...selfish and usually bad mannered as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭Wossack

As shallow reasons go -

shallow!? phone use in the cinema, under my regime would be a summary execution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

I couldn't give two shítes about socks be they white, neon or odd :)

Odd socks,

There was a guy I used to work with who was so proud of the fact that he wore odd socks

Him: "I always wear odd socks, there's no point in wearing matching ones, so I wash all my socks and leave them in a tub and just pull two out at random in the morning"

Me: "What if you pull out two matching ones?"

Him: "I just throw one back and pull out another one"

Me: "That's a bit try hard"

So annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

I can't be dealing with the whole, "howya" Dublin accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Glenster wrote: »
    Odd socks,

There was a guy I used to work with who was so proud of the fact that he wore odd socks

Him: "I always wear odd socks, there's no point in wearing matching ones, so I wash all my socks and leave them in a tub and just pull two out at random in the morning"

Me: "What if you pull out two matching ones?"

Him: "I just throw one back and pull out another one"

Me: "That's a bit try hard"

So annoying.

It would irk me odd socks,doubt it would be a deal breaker mind

.....it's no effort to match them up though???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

It would irk me odd socks,doubt it would be a deal breaker mind

.....it's no effort to match them up though???

He was trying so hard though.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Glenster wrote: »
    He was trying so hard though.......

Unless he was embarassed and it was bravado to save face..''I care so little I even put the matching ones back!''..it is a bit strange alright :)

I've worn odd socks on mornings I'm in a hurry, and wear ankle socks in my boots, over my tights/stockings. Like, nobody can see them, and they make up for the slight looseness of the boots because I'm just shy of being a full size, but more than a half size smaller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

As opposed to fans of music that grows naturally in the forest.

yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Irishcrx wrote: »
    how they can't wait ' to party down all weekend'

Women who wear excessive make up or tan , it's just not attractive honestly less is more people.

Women who wear gym gear out when A - They really shouldn't be as it's too tight for their frame or B - Don't actually go to the gym just wear it as a fashion statement or something.

Women who are a little ' too into themselves' just comes across as a type really...selfish and usually bad mannered as well.

RE the bolded part, what decade are you posting from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

pilly wrote: »
    Aah, you just gave me shivers down my spine. :D

Just noticed that the lining is coming away from the corduroy.

Still love them, although I might trade up to tartan or velour next.