Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are we hating all the men?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The women who voice opinions such as all men being rapists are confined to the realms of the internet. The only time Ive heard such ****e spouted in real life was at poetry slams and feminist rallies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

ALOT of office based jobs are gynocentric and there is subtle discrimination against men. Seen it many times. Men been discrinimated against based on sex by female bosses and mangers.Its subtle but obvious as a man in that environment Now a case in point a guy mentioning sexism against men to a woman manager by petty women.Simply isnt taken seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

No, actually, and that just shows you've entirely misinterpreted my posts.

I wasn't telling you to get off the internet. The internet is great. I work in IT ffs, I love technology. I love the internet!

I was saying that anyone who thinks that some assholes on twitter is representative of the majority of society needs to look up and look around, because it most certainly is not the case.

But I never said they were representative of the majority?? Ever! I do not think that at all, whatsoever. There are far more well informed, well rounded people out there, thankfully.

Also am I right in thinking you don't live in Ireland anymore? (Prob wrong) Ireland has gone to sh!t with this kind of thing lately. And it's not just exclusive to social media- every newspaper has a columnist spouting this crap every other week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

anna080 wrote: »
    Maybe I'm taking you up wrong- I probably am. It's just seems that "put your phone down and get out into the real world" is quite a dismissive response, tbh. And you've said it twice now :pac:
    I get it, you disagree :)

Yeah get out into the real world and speak to arseholes face to face. I don't even answer my front door not my phone unless I know who it is. Having to deal with people at work is enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,994 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

disconnect from facebook, your life will be infinitely better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Wanderer78 wrote: »

Isnt there an irony to posting this on a internet forum
    Forums= Facebook lite in essence.

Wanderer78 wrote: »

But sure then how would I know how much Sheila's young one got for his communion? :pac:

I've actually never been on Facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

But sure then how would I know how much Sheila's young one got for his communion? :pac:

I've actually never been on Facebook.

Will then, disconnect from whatever social media you keep seeing this nonsense on. It's simple. Avoid or ignore the beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

My dog just farted in his sleep. 😳

Will then, disconnect from whatever social media you keep seeing this nonsense on. It's simple. Avoid or ignore the beast.

While I do see what you're saying, and for the most part I have switched off- by ignoring it doesn't mean it's not happening, it just means I'm not seeing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

While I do see what you're saying, and for the most part I have switched off- by ignoring it doesn't mean it's not happening, it just means I'm not seeing it.

And if everybody with more than half a brain stopped using the social media involved or reading anything from those concerned, and failed to show any reaction , it would die a natural death in time.

True. I must be a glutton for punishment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Woodhenge

That would be fine if it wasn't having real world consequences. If anyone says anything or does anything that can be considered blasphemous by these new cults they do face a very serious fallout. Careers and reputations are left in ruins. Having recovered from religious meddling in education we are now seeing political ideologies impacting higher level education in ways that would have been unthinkable 20 years ago.

When people talk about 'The Illuminati' running the world people laugh or roll their eyes knowingly. When people talk about 'The Patriarchy' running the world people feel afraid to laugh or argue. Ridicule and robust debate are like a social immune system against such paranoid cults and it is worrying that that has not kicked in yet. People now live out their digital lives in echo chambers that only make their beliefs more extreme. I think it is something to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Smegmaniac17

Except that "rape culture" is actually described as a culture which normalises or trivialises sexual assault/rape. It doesn't assume that all men are rapists but aims to point out everyday actions which occur that were once passed off as playful or expected of men and aims to reclassify them since they can be sexually threatening but due to "rape culture" where actually considered normal.

I think it's very telling that you chose the words: 'it doesn't assume that all men are rapists'. One of the things that the the advocate of the 'rape culture' concept never seems to acknowledge is that the MAJORITY of men do not rape or think it is acceptable! When they say 'we're not saying that ALL men are rapists'' , they should really be saying that 'we acknowledge that MOST men are not rapists or think it's acceptable'! But to do that would be to debunk their own argument and expose their own dishonesty because we all know that the word 'culture', by definition, implies a generalisation of a group of people, their customs, attitudes and beliefs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Except that "rape culture" is actually described as a culture which normalises or trivialises sexual assault/rape. It doesn't assume that all men are rapists but aims to point out everyday actions which occur that were once passed off as playful or expected of men and aims to reclassify them since they can be sexually threatening but due to "rape culture" where actually considered normal.

No no it actually does assume all men are rapists and goes as far as reclassifying incidents after the fact as rape.

There was some fairly strong media articles and crap coming from the rape crisis centre for some time which would imply every man out there was a rapist.

Let's not forget the recent thread where a certain blogger who didn't want an uncomfortable argument so may have let herself been raped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I have incredible hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Pac1Man wrote: »
    I have incredible hair.

Same. Good hair is an asset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

I don't think it helps when you have people like louise o neill treated as serious journalists when they are really gender trolls. Making a living poking a stick at men. Every newspaper has one these days too.

red ears wrote: »
    I don't think it helps when you have people like louise o neill treated as serious journalists when they are really gender trolls. Making a living poking a stick at men. Every newspaper has one these days too.
    Indeed most papers have one which is why I find it funny when you have people trying to rewrite what it actually means.

The ongoing attacks on the men of Ireland the forced consent classes and other crap in the media. Quite insulting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The only place I've noticed this bullshit phoney-war appearing is here on boards.ie. I try not to get drawn in because I don't think it deserves oxygen.

It's not just exclusive to online. Every newspaper has a columnist spouting this crap every other week.

red ears wrote: »
    Louise O'Neill is banging someone. Every now and then, she's quite the fan of men. I console myself with this trueism. At some stage or other, she's gone "feck the image, I need some c**k". Public opinion is alright, but at the end of the day, you and me baby we ain't nothing but mammals..and even feminists do it like Discovery Channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Interesting thread

Perhaps modern femanism is one whic treats men as equals instead of mysogonistic rapists in training

Interesting thread

Perhaps modern femanism is one whic treats men as equals instead of mysogonistic rapists in training

That is classed as 2nd wave feminism, i believe third wave feminism is the latter.

Interesting thread

The decent ones, I.e the huge majority, aren't. I've quite a few male friends(oh err Vicar..not) Yet to hear one going "Rape lads- would ye be fans?".

All the lads I know are very protective/respectful to women. Ok, they might chuck in the occasional/every time(amongst other men) - "Would ye look at her! Holy sh*t she's a ride!" -but pretty much, they all worship women. I know I do. I'd rather a good looking woman than a Priest anyway. "Hail Mary - you're looking well.."

Interesting thread

This is just it. These idiots are using the ground earned my feminism to promote nonsense issues such as rape culture and have fcuk all to do with equality, and more about female advantage. Telling women that society hates them and men oppress them isn't empowering- its potential stunting. I don't have a daughter but if/when I do, I'm not going to make her feel hard done by or sold short by men. I will tell her men support her, care about her, appreciate her and have her interests at heart.
    I mean I don't think, for the most part anyway, feminists actually hate men. Most of them seem to be in loving stable relationships with men. But they have an agenda: and that is to silence and delegitimise any kind of form of protest or conflicting perspective.
    You have to be some sort of victim these days to be noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Fair play, Anna, more women do seem to be speaking out against what they see as an increasing misandric attitude towards men in western society today and it's nice to see more people waking up to it (of both genders.) Obviously Western society is extremely feminized (and has been for quite some time) and so much of our attitudes towards men are not seen as being at all inappropriate and the 'sure, what's the problem' kind of replies you're getting thus far is proof positive of that. I'm not doubting people's sincerity here, they just don't see anything wrong with how men are spoken about and portrayed today. They're oblivious to how it's mostly unwarranted and problematic.

When you can have someone go on national TV in Ireland and use the high male suicide rate as a reason for why young men all need to be feminists and get a round of applause for it, well then it's clear that in a society such as that you have your work cut out for you trying to get many within it to see the light, the truth of how warped our view of men has become. Sure, it's worse online, but it's far from something confined to online discourse.. if only. LON was mentioned just there and rightly so as she was given her own TV show on our national broadcaster and pontificated to men at one point and told them that it was us that were raping women and so therefore it was our problem, one that only we could stop... as if good men can just control bad men, get them to stop engaging in evil acts anytime we like. Didn't occur to her I guess that if men had that kind of control over other men we might have used it to get them to stop attacking other men first and given that men are far more likely to be violently attacked by a man than a woman is, you'd think we would have by now.

More and more young men are declaring themselves as male feminists (something Obama says is now expected of all young men) and this without question is just young guy, imv, wanting to feel accepted in a feminized western society. All around them they hear men being refereed to as oppressors, creeps, potential rapists etc etc, and it's the one thing they can do to signal to females that they are not like those men. Denigrate their own gender a little (You're a White Male!) and that's even more brownie points for them.

I really feel for younger generations as this bs is getting worse by the day too and to the notion that this stuff is Internet based and one just needs to get off Facebook, or Twitter or whatever, that's just baloney. Sure look at the recent documentary screening issues which Cassie Jaye's The Red Pill had Internationally. Protests at almost all early screenings. Even the other night in Sydney they tried to get the screening cancelled:

https://twitter.com/Cassie_Jaye/status/862410809795686400

Well that was unexpected from an Outlaw anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Ah that's hard core type stuff.

The only difference between that type of activist and a sumo wrestler is that the sumo wrestler shaves their legs. What's ironic about all this though is that they are really just doing women a disservice by serving only to enrage and divide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

I applaud any woman that has the integrity to say it like it is. Feminism isn't about equality.. they want the benefits of being a woman, and of being a man, with the drawbacks of neither.
    I find it's very acceptable for women to complain and everyone is expected to bend over backwards to accommodate them. If a man complains he's being a 'bitch' and is dismissed. The law protects women and discriminates against men. Anyone who says it like it is must be a misogynist.