Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

High Noon with George Hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,027 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

He has a point in fairness. You cant pick and choose which Dail rules you wish to obey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,027 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Vorenus400 wrote: »
    Yea it was stupid of her. George never mentioned the prayer last week. He kept accusing her of being against a moment of silence rather than the prayer. I dont think anyone was against the moment of silence

The moment of silence is worse than the prayer,you have to stand there for thirty seconds and stare at the ceiling or the bald head in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

George once again using this to mention dail privlege and naming tax evaders/avoiders. Wonder if he is close to Denis O' Brien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

She's well able for the blubbering old Blueshirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

painful, she's like an unruly child. You are either a democrat or you're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭4Ad

God shes painful...
    George rising her .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭kazamo

[You cant pick and choose which Dail rules you wish to obey.[/QUOTE]

But are there any rules in the Dail ?

You can wear what you want (including political messages), say what you want including discussing bank affairs of individuals........you can even pull a female TD onto your lap, and keep your job.
    If any of these things happened in a private company workplace you wouldn't do it again.

Dail Eireann is becoming more and more like a utopia for doing what you like, when you like. Not standing for a prayer seems like the next step.

4Ad wrote: »
    God shes painful...
    George rising her .....

He has been advertising this every 15 minutes. Wait till you see what texts he reads out "George you thundering fool....... George you idiot...." Then a couple of ones supporting him:D

Could he not have got someone better on to debate it but I suppose there is the possibility of her being ejected from the dail tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

George once again using this to mention dail privlege and naming tax evaders/avoiders. Wonder if he is close to Denis O' Brien

Dob was right imo. His reasonson or otherwise, protecting himself or the fact of who he is is irrelevant . What's the point of laws and courts if a td can just say what they want and put it out there. It's a very dictatorship type of occurance that people would be up in arms about otherwise. It's worse than having a monopoly on the press.

I firmly belive DoB wants to dictate what is said about him. The Sam Smyth incident isnt forgotten. I also think the Dail should be free to discuss any topic. A TD can be challenged on what they say, and should be challenged to defend what they say whether it is right or wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭kazamo

I firmly belive DoB wants to dictate what is said about him. The Sam Smyth incident isnt forgotten. I also think the Dail should be free to discuss any topic. A TD can be challenged on what they say, and should be challenged to defend what they say whether it is right or wrong

A TD can no longer be challenged in a court of law for any comments or statements made in the Dail or in Dail committees.
    The DOB and Angela Kearns judgements proved that.

The only sanction for these comments are down to the Dail sanctioning its own members. Won't be holding my breath waiting for that to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Well today George Hook solved a mystery for me!

He interviewed the former Welsh rugby player, Gareth Edwards about being vegan. I'd never heard Gareth being interviewed before but...... growing up I remember by mother frequently talking about how much she loved liked and admired him. She even wanted to call my brother after him :eek: My auld lad was having none of it though, after waiting years to have a son after a line of daughters, it was never going to happen.

Anyway, having listened to Gareth this afternoon I am relieved my (vegetarian) mother has spent the last 40 years cooking steak daily for my dad because this Gareth chap ..... well as Tommy Tiernan would say 'there isn't much craic to be knocked out of him' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Didn't hear him today, but he was one of the greatest rugby players of the pre-professional era and he scored this famous try. Sorry for the poor quality.

Thanks Del.Monte. I think for devilment I'll send your video clip and the podcast to my mother :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,329 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Did they specifically mention that it was that Gareth Edwards, cos there's a lot of rugby playing Gareth Edwards in Wales :pac:

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Did they specifically mention that it was that Gareth Edwards, cos there's a lot of rugby playing Gareth Edwards in Wales :pac:
    Oh it was him for sure, George made a brief remark about his career during the interview. Just found this clip about his famous try. My mother with have enough material for a Gareth Edwards Tribute Night. Jaysus, my auld lad is going to love me for this :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭tsue921i8wljb3

Oh it was him for sure, George made a brief remark about his career during the interview. Just found this clip about his famous try. My mother with have enough material for a Gareth Edwards Tribute Night. Jaysus, my auld lad is going to love me for this :pac:

It wasn't him. The guy today was not even Welsh. Hook mentioned that he was named after a great scrum half.

http://www.ethivegan.com/watch-edward-daniel-meets-gareth-edwards-chair-farplace-animal-rescue-vegan/

I'm weak from laughing here! Thank you very much navi for clarifying that. That's what I get for only half listening to George. In my defence, I'm feeling a little under the weather today so the brain isn't functioning at its best.

I'm sort of relieved it's the wrong man, I knew my mother would go for a man with a sense of humour and God bless your man today, he was awful dull. I'll still send oon the You Tube clips of the 'real' Gareth Edwards to her but I'll delete the podcast and forget it ever existed :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭tsue921i8wljb3

I'm weak from laughing here! Thank you very much navi for clarifying that. That's what I get for only half listening to George. In my defence, I'm feeling a little under the weather today so the brain isn't functioning at its best.

I'm sort of relieved it's the wrong man, I knew my mother would go for a man with a sense of humour and God bless your man today, he was awful dull. I'll still send oon the You Tube clips of the 'real' Gareth Edwards to her but I'll delete the podcast and forget it ever existed :o

No problem. I doubt there are many vegan international rugby players around anyway!

:D:D:D:D:D:D

Thank you for the belly laughs, you've made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Enjoyed that video but where's the hair gone? :D

Forget about his hair, I was half expecting something dodgy to appear on the TV screen behind him :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Wasn't him, I think. George just joked that they had the same name.

Edit: note to self. Remember to read the next page before replying...

George starts off today ranting about schools gearing towards kids who are in the minority rather than teaching to the majority. Cue 5 minutes later and giving out about schools teaching to the middle and not catering for people who have other needs like dyslexia.

Seems like there is no quality control on research and its just whatever is in the tabloids and then whatever is Georges new crusade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

Statistics woman seems to have his measure....cut across him quite sharply as he attempted to interrupt her again during an interesting piece about the census results.He can't help himself I'm sure...does this with Ciara Kelly when she tries to dispense health advice....hates the feeling of being upstaged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

Hearing him row back on his support of trump today was nauseating to be honest. "I just didn't want Hilary to win" he says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Horse84 wrote: »
    Hearing him row back on his support of trump today was nauseating to be honest. "I just didn't want Hilary to win" he says.

Inspite of his line before the election that he wasn't supporting Trump. George has disgraced and debased himself in his shilling for Trump.

The only question that remains is why?

Who in the Newstalk family has been pushing the decided right-wing, tabloid drive over the last year?

As a media business, granted the right to our airwaves, and the power to influence public opinion I believe they should be subject to FOI and discovery rules.

Deni needs to be exposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

Who in the Newstalk family has been pushing the decided right-wing, tabloid drive over the last year?

Makes a change from the nauseating liberal nonsense every other station is spouting out. What's wrong with a difference of opinion? Oh yeah i forgot, the liberals don't like opinions unless they agree with their sense of self righteousness.

Also, there is an off button if you didn't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Wailin wrote: »
    Makes a change from the nauseating liberal nonsense every other station is spouting out. What's wrong with a difference of opinion? Oh yeah i forgot, the liberals don't like opinions unless they agree with their sense of self righteousness.

Also, there is an off button if you didn't know.

What liberal nonsense?

Who suggested a difference of opinion was a bad thing?

Why are you so attached to being a victim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Why do these radio threads always eventually descend into "Denis O'Brien (aka Paddy Rothschild) is a fascist" vs. "Blah blah liberal agenda blah blah lefty luvvies..."?