Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Parchment wrote: »
    I just wonder - if i ring Traffic Watch everytime something happens, they will get used to hearing complaints from me and they will lose their "weight" if that makes sense.

I don't know. Perhaps if enough are reported it will flag as a big issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Got taken out on the way home this evening :( Just scratches on me but the front wheel went under the back wheels of a left turning van, buckled, crushed, and about half the spokes snapped. Very "lucky" all things considered.

The spidey-sense I mentioned earlier in the thread completely failed me. Driver indicated just as I drew level with the back of the van and just as he turned. He was slowing, but there was slow moving traffic ahead so I assumed it was for that, and he was turning into a lane way across a path rather than at a larger junction.

Most annoying part was his attitude. Got out, asked was I ok and when I said I'd need his details, he said "Why? Sure you cycled into me." So called the gardai, waited about 20 mins and he started getting twitchy and offering cash. Even when I showed him the footage he couldn't see the problem. Gardai said they couldn't do much, it's a civil matter, didn't seem too bothered by the driving or his attitude that he'd done nothing wrong.

I stupidly just wanted to get home so took cash for the damage, again when I told him how much it would be, he started the sob story that he has 5 kids, etc, etc. Gardai gave me a lift to LBS with the bike, thankfully my estimate was about right.

Even after just 2 hours, I'm already kicking myself for not getting an estimate first and insurance details, should have done it properly. But in the situation I got some fright and just wanted to sort it and get home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Danbo! wrote: »
    Got taken out on the way home this evening :( Just scratches on me but the front wheel went under the back wheels of a left turning van, buckled, crushed, and about half the spokes snapped. Very "lucky" all things considered.

The spidey-sense I mentioned earlier in the thread completely failed me. Driver indicated just as I drew level with the back of the van and just as he turned. He was slowing, but there was slow moving traffic ahead so I assumed it was for that, and he was turning into a lane way across a path rather than at a larger junction.

Most annoying part was his attitude. Got out, asked was I ok and when I said I'd need his details, he said "Why? Sure you cycled into me." So called the gardai, waited about 20 mins and he started getting twitchy and offering cash. Even when I showed him the footage he couldn't see the problem. Gardai said they couldn't do much, it's a civil matter, didn't seem too bothered by the driving or his attitude that he'd done nothing wrong.

I stupidly just wanted to get home so took cash for the damage, again when I told him how much it would be, he started the sob story that he has 5 kids, etc, etc. Gardai gave me a lift to LBS with the bike, thankfully my estimate was about right.

Even after just 2 hours, I'm already kicking myself for not getting an estimate first and insurance details, should have done it properly. But in the situation I got some fright and just wanted to sort it and get home.

That's ****.

It's hard to do it right with the adrenaline pumping after something like that.

Did the guards not ask him to present his details within 10 days? Thought that was standard practice for RTCs.

Similar, though not as bad, happened to me once. Car turned left into an entrance way, I managed to go with him but ended up in a flowerpot. Thankfully no damage done.

Hope you and bike are ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,655 ✭✭✭secman

You would imagine that with the recent fatalities involving cyclists that the Gardai would take these type of incidents more seriously.

amcalester wrote: »
    Did the guards not ask him to present his details within 10 days? Thought that was standard practice for RTCs.

Yeah he has to, but the money he gave me covers a new mavic askium wheel and bar tape. Thankfully there was nothing else wrong according to LBS that I didn't notice at the time. It was more his attitude afterwards.

Rewatching the video, I can just see his indicator come on as it goes out of frame. It's a wide angle lens, I certainly didn't see it in my peripheral vision and it was so late coming on there was little I could do. He does veer towards the cycle lane too tho, should have spotted that :( If it had of been dry I probably would have been going at a faster pace. Worryingly too I can see he keeps going in the lane way, so glad it wasn't my leg under his wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

That was an indicate as you turn job. I'm glad you're not seriously hurt, as that could have ended quite differently!

That was nasty.

He had already started his turn before he indicated and obviously didn't check his mirror.

Would you consider sending it to traffic watch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

ouch danbo, you did well to come out of that with only scratches. it's ridiculous driving, can't believe the guard didn't see a problem with it.

fair play to the car that pulled up straight away to assist.

amcalester wrote: »
    That was nasty.

He had already started his turn before he indicated and obviously didn't check his mirror.

Would you consider sending it to traffic watch?

Said that to the Garda afterwards, he just said "sure they'll just send it on to us". Maybe their hands are tied, but it seemed that I wasn't injured to the point an ambulance was required, so no big deal. Ugh.

fair play to the car that pulled up straight away to assist.

She was a legend! She was the one beeping to warn him. She hopped out and got really excited when she saw he camera - "oh wow do you have it all on camera, brilliant!!"

Said that to the Garda afterwards, he just said "sure they'll just send it on to us". Maybe their hands are tied, but it seemed that I wasn't injured to the point an ambulance was required, so no big deal. Ugh.

Or because you didn't make a fuss and the guard was a bit lazy he just ignored it.

I'd make a complaint and see how it pans out.

Sorry to read this. The main thing is you were not seriously injured. Being mindful and a mind reader is nigh on impossible all the time. Sometimes your luck or skill deserts you. Wrong time -wrong place. One of the worlds greatest mountaineers was killed two weeks ago in Nepal...survival is not a perfect science.

He sounds like a dcik. Do you not have the reg on film? You can request his insurance details from Dublin County Council (if you say it relates to an accident) or ask the Garda if they can help, saying you have medical bills? If you say you are hurt, they have to follow it up.

I see you have video up. You were very lucky. Had you been a second or two earlier you were potentially under the reare wheels. Totally careless and driving without due care and attention. Definitely report that to Terenure Garda. An ambulance does not have to be called to the scene for you to claim injury. You could wake tomorrow with a sore back, neck , leg. Get yourself checked out and get yourself to the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,762 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Don't give up. Whenever I wear my Stayin Alive gilet the difference it makes is absolutely extraordinary-which is ironically irritating as it means when people know they're being recorded they drive properly. I've never, ever had a close call while wearing it.

The difference between the jersey and the gilet is that the back of the gilet tells others I'm recording my journey while the jersey doesn't (IIRC)
    Got a picture please?
    Chuchote wrote: »
    Probably the best safety message on a T-shirt is a giant pair of eyes - humans are coded to notice staring eyes.

If this was on the back, not the front, and if the eyes were staring towards drivers, it would be ideal.

despicable_me_minions_with_big_eyes_logo_t_shirt_tee-2.jpg

I'd love to get a jacket or hi-vis vest with an A3 plastic wallet on the back, so I could swap in / out A3 size sheets with appropriate messages, like 'Put The Fu****g Phone Down' or similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

Yeah he has to, but the money he gave me covers a new mavic askium wheel and bar tape. Thankfully there was nothing else wrong according to LBS that I didn't notice at the time. It was more his attitude afterwards.

Rewatching the video, I can just see his indicator come on as it goes out of frame. It's a wide angle lens, I certainly didn't see it in my peripheral vision and it was so late coming on there was little I could do. He does veer towards the cycle lane too tho, should have spotted that :( If it had of been dry I probably would have been going at a faster pace. Worryingly too I can see he keeps going in the lane way, so glad it wasn't my leg under his wheel.

**** hope you're okay, that was a rough one. I cycle that road regularly in and out of town.

Van driver was completely in the wrong - seriously how could anyone think any different?? Indicates as he swings left, has he ever heard of using his mirrors? You know: Mirror - Signal - Mirror - Manoeuvre...

You should send it onto Sticky Bottle and Stayin Alive at 1.5 on Facebook, try raise some awareness of how worse that could have been for you - drivers need to be more aware and considerate..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

No way, you were in the same bike shop as me dropping your bike off this afternoon. I overheard someone saying their wheel went under a van, yikes. Glad to hear you're okay. I am always very cautious and was knocked down by a driver who started moving off after stopping in traffic and plowed into me in the cycle lane so no matter how careful you are sometimes there's no avoiding it. And she screamed at me too, that she was turning and had her indicators on :rolleyes:

It sounds like you escaped that without injury and got enough cash off him for the repairs on the most part? Then its probably for the best you didn't have to deal with insurance companies treating you like you were in the wrong, thats the experience I had (of course they don't want to pay up) and endless back and forth of letters. Its a frustrating experience, the driver is the one in the wrong but there's no justice. They'd get in more trouble for picking up their phone in their car than for knocking someone over.

I don't think I know anyone who cycles a lot who hasn't had these kinds of experiences, scary isn't it!

I've been cycling that route for 12 years and that's the second accident I've ever been in. Not sure if it's a good thing that my initial reaction is that that's not bad? Plenty of near misses and stupidity out there but, you're right, you can't avoid it forever.

Yeah the cash covers all the damage perfectly and I've been putting getting off a needed headset anyway so that's being done at the same time. Just need to pick it up tomorrow and get out for a spin asap before the fear sets in :)

To be honest, I've had a really ****ty 18 months, with lots of insurance/hospital crap, and things are finally looking up recently, so the last thing I wanted was more claims/letters etc, and just to get reimbursed for the damage and go home.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,427 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

As someone else mentioned earlier in the thread, go the insurance company/PIAB route. You've a clear case to make that just having been knocked off your bike you were not in a position to think about things in a perfectly clear manner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

He hit his indicator as he turned the steering wheel.

Indicators should be taken OFF the wheel stem and onto the dash to stop this sh?te. Retrospective legislation that is required to pass an NCT after 2020. Never gonna happen though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Exactly what happened to me yesterday only we just managed not to collide. He came into the cycle lane, began to turn and then indicated. Not how indicators are meant to be used. Driver was completely in the wrong - there is no way you could have known he was going to turn left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭shootermacg

I suppose because cash was taken, that's an end to it. I wasn't impressed with the guard's response. They are the definition of lazy. It looks like the guards have a points system in place and traffic accidents (incidents) are pretty low on that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

I suppose because cash was taken, that's an end to it. I wasn't impressed with the guard's response. They are the definition of lazy. It looks like the guards have a points system in place and traffic accidents (incidents) are pretty low on that list.

Not sure about the cash point? I'm sure a Solicitor could advise you but unless you agreed full and final payment terms?

I don't think you can generalise about the Guards either. I found in my incident they couldn't have been more helpful after the event. None turned up at the time though, or perhaps I didn't hang around long enough. I did have an ambulance call at the scene which was useful as it has to go through the books so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Not sure about the cash point? I'm sure a Solicitor could advise you but unless you agreed full and final payment terms?

I don't think you can generalise about the Guards either. I found in my incident they couldn't have been more helpful after the event. None turned up at the time though, or perhaps I didn't hang around long enough. I did have an ambulance call at the scene which was useful as it has to go through the books so to speak.

I think I can generalize about the force, considering how bad they've been in general. Consider the non stop list of incidents finding their way into the public eye,
    the leader who won't fall on her sword, the breathalyzer scandal, their treatment of whistle blowers...and actually I'll throw Irish politics in with that too.

But back on topic, yeah those guards were very disinterested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

I think I can generalize about the force, considering how bad they've been in general. Consider the non stop list of incidents finding their way into the public eye,
    the leader who won't fall on her sword, the breathalyzer scandal, their treatment of whistle blowers...and actually I'll throw Irish politics in with that too.

But back on topic, yeah those guards were very disinterested.

Sadly, Guards calling into old people, doing shopping for them and stuff, doesn't really sell papers or make great headline news/click bait.

But yeah, back on topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,762 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I've been cycling that route for 12 years and that's the second accident I've ever been in. Not sure if it's a good thing that my initial reaction is that that's not bad? Plenty of near misses and stupidity out there but, you're right, you can't avoid it forever.

Yeah the cash covers all the damage perfectly and I've been putting getting off a needed headset anyway so that's being done at the same time. Just need to pick it up tomorrow and get out for a spin asap before the fear sets in :)

To be honest, I've had a really ****ty 18 months, with lots of insurance/hospital crap, and things are finally looking up recently, so the last thing I wanted was more claims/letters etc, and just to get reimbursed for the damage and go home.

Glad it wasn't too serious for you, but let's stop calling them 'accidents'

http://www.crashnotaccident.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Got a picture please?

I'd love to get a jacket or hi-vis vest with an A3 plastic wallet on the back, so I could swap in / out A3 size sheets with appropriate messages, like 'Put The Fu****g Phone Down' or similar

Come on, Renko, update your thinking! What you need is an LED display on your back, with a handlebar-mounted device that you could use to change the message or image!

Chuchote wrote: »
    Come on, Renko, update your thinking! What you need is an LED display on your back, with a handlebar-mounted device that you could use to change the message or image!

My thinking exactly. I think about such a device regularly. Must check Aliexpress. It's great for all kinds of cycling related kit that you thought you didn't need until you see it there for a few $ and then realise, it's essential kit ..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Crazy that an incident like that gets no kind of attention from the guards, would the same be said if he knocked down a pedestrian? I don't get the attitude towards cyclists, that really was clean cut case of not driving with due care , he couldn't have checked his mirrors, or did and wanted to put you against the side of his van..:confused:

Glad to hear you're ok, What is the correct procedure if you're taken out like this? For future reference

Call Guards, Get insurance details ,Get repair estimate, Go doctor , make claim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭cython

Not a near miss by any stretch unfortunately, but for me this one (saw it shared on Facebook by Stayin' alive at 1.5) warrants a custodial sentence: https://www.facebook.com/leroy.kulczynski/posts/10154541519951546

Unfortunately it's almost certain not to play out that way.

That Facebook report is shocking. In this case it's not merely a RT incident. It's assault / GBH and criminal damage.