Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,701 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

swiwi_ wrote: »
    I'm not au fait with the French law, but 15 vs 39 about 25 years ago must have been in the realms of a charge for statutory rape, child sex offenses etc...in theory. If Macron had been 39 and the teacher of a 15 year old girl, might not have played out the same way...

Yeah, I don't think it started until after he left school.

In plenty of places there are different rules for those in positions of authority such as teachers as well, that go beyond the "normal" stat rape laws. Anyway, I haven't heard any indication that there was ever anything viewed as untoward going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

swiwi_ wrote: »
    errlloyd wrote: »
    Macron's wife is 24 years older than him, they met with he was 15 and she was 39, and she was his teacher. Is anyone else amazed at how cool with this sort of thing the French are?

I'm not au fait with the French law, but 15 vs 39 about 25 years ago must have been in the realms of a charge for statutory rape, child sex offenses etc...in theory. If Macron had been 39 and the teacher of a 15 year old girl, might not have played out the same way...

Yeah. It's definitely different, he has a step son who is two years older than him. But then, it's the same age gap as Trump Melania. So it's just how early they met thats kinda weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Yeah, I don't think it started until after he left school.

In plenty of places there are different rules for those in positions of authority such as teachers as well, that go beyond the "normal" stat rape laws. Anyway, I haven't heard any indication that there was ever anything viewed as untoward going on.

I guess their relationship was sufficiently weird to cause his parents to move him out of the school...
    It was as a pupil at a private Jesuit school in Amiens, aptly named Providence, that Mr Macron met the drama teacher, Brigitte Auzière, fully 24 years his senior, who later became his wife. The bond alarmed his parents, both provincial doctors, who sent him to finish his schooling in Paris instead.

http://www.economist.com/news/europe/21721637-french-presidential-favourite-was-shaped-amiens-place-he-outgrew-what-emmanuel-macrons

That's weird to me. But plenty of weird people make good leaders.

What has given me the most optimism about Macron is that even people across the aisle from him have written positively about him. For example the Guardian's geezer of Greek greed gestated on his genius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

There were strong indications that a relationship had commenced whilst he was still in his formative years. The BBC reported on a biography of Macron which reports that his parents asked her to stay away from him until he was 18 and she responded "I can't promise anything".

Direct from the BBC article:
    Macron "had a relationship of equals with other adults" rather than acting and speaking like a teenager.
    She continued: "I was totally overcome by the intelligence of this boy."

I think it's fair to say that there's a strong chance the relationship was well underway whilst he was still in school.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,701 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Buer wrote: »
    There were strong indications that a relationship had commenced whilst he was still in his formative years. The BBC reported on a biography of Macron which reports that his parents asked her to stay away from him until he was 18 and she responded "I can't promise anything".

Direct from the BBC article:

I think it's fair to say that there's a strong chance the relationship was well underway whilst he was still in school.

Ah, even weirder than I thought then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

The Eurovision is gas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Teferi wrote: »
    The Eurovision is gas.

Giiiiit out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

2 tips.for it today.

Sweden at 10/1 and Moldova at 100/1.

Seriously lads these came from a very good source.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

mfceiling wrote: »
    2 tips.for it today.

Sweden at 10/1 and Moldova at 100/1.

Seriously lads these came from a very good source.

Are these footie matches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Stheno wrote: »
    Are these footie matches?

Eurovision

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

mfceiling wrote: »
    Eurovision

Ah right, sorry, bit slow this evening.

Didn't even know it was on.

Were they correct btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,493 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Stheno wrote: »
    Didn't even know it was on.

Neither did I and normally you hear something about it on Irish radio or tv. Maybe I'm just really tuned out in terms of paying attention.

Interesting and worrying breakdown of the last 24 hours by Rachel Maddow on MSNBC.

http://www.msnbc.com/rachel-maddow/watch/trump-fires-comey-as-investigations-heat-up-940165187535

Interesting and worrying breakdown of the last 24 hours by Rachel Maddow on MSNBC.

http://www.msnbc.com/rachel-maddow/watch/trump-fires-comey-as-investigations-heat-up-940165187535

It's a basketcase. Fantastic entertainment though.

I watched Sally Yates being questioned at the senate hearing the other night. It was cartoon stuff. The entire hearing was supposed to be about the Russian links but almost every Republican senator questioned her about her stance on the immigrant executive order. It was a bad joke. No f*cks given about completely deviating from the order of business. In fact, one or two purely asked about the EO stance and completely ignored the reason they were gathered.

In relation to the firing of Comey (who is heading up the Russian investigation), this comes on the back of a recommendation via the Attorney General. The same AG who recused himself from the Russian investigation....how is this possible?

It's a basketcase. Fantastic entertainment though.

I watched Sally Yates being questioned at the senate hearing the other night. It was cartoon stuff. The entire hearing was supposed to be about the Russian links but almost every Republican senator questioned her about her stance on the immigrant executive order. It was a bad joke. No f*cks given about completely deviating from the order of business. In fact, one or two purely asked about the EO stance and completely ignored the reason they were gathered.

In relation to the firing of Comey (who is heading up the Russian investigation), this comes on the back of a recommendation via the Attorney General. The same AG who recused himself from the Russian investigation....how is this possible?

Actually the deputy attorney general wrote a memo highlighting Comey's failures, some of which are fair. The timing of this memo is questionable given there is already an oversight committee that are reviewing FBI conduct during the election. This firing coming in advance of that is an executive overreach that pretty obviously has alternative motives.

It's a situation that is only entertaining if there is some accountability and consequence at the end of it. If this doesn't transpire then it's a pretty worrying precedent. Basically Watergate where the government of the day decide it's ok and get on with things whilst dismissing and removing anyone who says otherwise.

Not quite at Erdogan levels but it's starting down that road.

Actually the deputy attorney general wrote a memo highlighting Comey's failures, some of which are fair..

Yup, but it came via Sessions. The AAG submitted this to Sessions who then brought this to Trump. It stinks of a conflict of interest, to me.

Totally.

i thought of thomond when I saw this story:
    THE TICKET RESALE website Seatwave has hit back against proposed legislation that would make it illegal to resell tickets for a profit of more than 10%.
    It will ensure that those looking to sell tickets for exorbitant prices will have the profits from those sales eradicated by fines. Breaches of the 10% resale limit will result in fines of up to €5,000.

i thought of thomond when I saw this story:

It's been done in other countries and badly needs to happen.

People need to remember though that the venues and the acts are fully on board with what Ticketmaster and Seatwave are doing as it increases their own profits whilst insulating them from some of the blame.

I suspect if this legislation comes in there will be a steeper increase on ticket prices to compensate the loss of revenue resulting in the ban.

It's been done in other countries and badly needs to happen.

People need to remember though that the venues and the acts are fully on board with what Ticketmaster and Seatwave are doing as it increases their own profits whilst insulating them from some of the blame.

I suspect if this legislation comes in there will be a steeper increase on ticket prices to compensate the loss of revenue resulting in the ban.

The acts and venues won't be prevented from making any profit at all by this move. They don't resell tickets, they sell tickets that don't ever get sold originally. It's a murky part of the business but I suppose its their tickets to sell however they want.

However ticketmaster and their ilk will be prevented from their vulture-esque tactics and profiting off the second-hand market. Which is great.

And the biggest benefit actually has nothing to do with ticketmaster/seatwave, but will battle against the brokers who infiltrate the commercial/media lists and get their hands on swathes of tickets before they ever go on public sale, up to 80% of tickets get sold this way for the biggest events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭swiwi_

RIP Robert Miles

Survived by his children.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Bob Kilometres as he was known in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Have a look in dispute resolution....I think one of ye broke poor bigbok

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Erik Shin wrote: »

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Hmm, that went well...

Date of Ban|Banned|Date of Ban Lift|Reason|Righteous Admin
    11-05-2017, 7:36|Bigbok|NEVER|Discussed Forbidden Topic|dudara

I will send a solicitor letter(family memeber a solicitor)

I always thought he was tongue in cheek but it appears he's genuinely this immature.

It's a shame with the South African test season just around the corner. Would have been some entertainment there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

I always thought he was tongue in cheek but it appears he's genuinely this immature.

It's a shame with the South African test season just around the corner. Would have been some entertainment there.
    Tbh, I always thought he was this

g8GfH3i5F0hby.gif

And ye thought certain Munster posters were hard to deal with :D;)