Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Mega Mk7 Golf GTI/GTD/R thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭JoeA3

st332 wrote: »
    New Irish price lists are up, dated 2nd May, but they don't contain the GTI Performance nor the new 1.5 L TSI Golf, both of which went on sale in the UK on the 27th April :mad:

https://www.volkswagen.ie/en/price-lists.html

I've seen a few photos / videos of the new "white silver" on other forums and it does look very nice imo. Suits the GTI/R well.

I just think the Golf is too small a car to pull off the estate look - the proportions look wrong, too long a car for the width and wheelbase. Side on, the rear overhang is way too much, it looks like a big box has been grafted onto the back of the hatch.

And 2 of the exhausts are fake on the estate. And no rear LED's. (They may have resolved these issues with the FL, not sure).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,550 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The Octavia vRS estate always seems to sell well especially on the Continent. It's odd that performance Golf estates never have the same appeal. They always seen to look like afterthoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

Insurance due at the end of the month. Any insurance company recommendations? I'm currently with Zurich, renewal at €714 and I'm not even in a hot hatch :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭st332

The new price list is effectively unchanged from the old one.
    The "171 Innovation" Pack has become the "Technology Upgrade" and the option code for the "Discover Media" navigation system has changed from "PND" to "PNC", thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Hebegeebee

The honeycomb seat option has been added too for the GTi only, along with the price - €1205!!!

It's interesting how much the prices have sneaked up in the (less than 2 years) since I bought mine. List price of the standard car (5 door DSG R) is almost 2k more than it was in July 2015. And all the options are up a bit. I'm pretty sure my wage has not gone up by the same percentage in the same timeframe!

That'll be the increase in VRT for them following VWs new found conscience in relation to CO2. Funnily enough that same conscience doesn't spread as far as Audi and their figures for the same engines.

Hebegeebee wrote: »
    That'll be the increase in VRT for them following VWs new found conscience in relation to CO2. Funnily enough that same conscience doesn't spread as far as Audi and their figures for the same engines.

The VRT (in the case of the DSG R) is the same as it was then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭carsfan2

JoeA3 wrote: »
    It's interesting how much the prices have sneaked up in the (less than 2 years) since I bought mine. List price of the standard car (5 door DSG R) is almost 2k more than it was in July 2015. And all the options are up a bit. I'm pretty sure my wage has not gone up by the same percentage in the same timeframe!

I was thinking the same when I saw the price list.
    I thought in 2015 when I bought mine, a gti PP was a relative bargain for the package you got.
    I don't think that's the case now plus used values are not what they were either.
    I think that this price creep is happening across the board in cars but because of the wonders of pcp it is less apparent day one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Joe, what advantage does purchasing a new GTD over a Highline Golf with lots of extras. I know you have extra power but other than that is it worth a few grand extra?

Truckermal wrote: »
    Joe, what advantage does purchasing a new GTD over a Highline Golf with lots of extras. I know you have extra power but other than that is it worth a few grand extra?

I think a Highline Golf loaded up with extras is a spectacular waste of a lot of money. You'll have a car with show and not a lot of go. And you'll lose what you spent on all those options the day you drive it off the forecourt. It won't be worth much more than a standard Highline come trade in time. Better to buy a car that has the kit as standard...

Edit:
    I suppose I should add that it depends on what options you are adding. If you are really keen on having xenons, rear LED's, larger alloys, then I think you have to be looking at the GTD. Adding those bits (standard in a GTD) will be ~€3k on a Highline.

The honeycomb seat option has been added too for the GTi only, along with the price - €1205!!!

That was available in the March price list too. The thing that puts me off the honeycomb (as well as the sizable cost) is the bits of pleather that are part of the trim, such as in the middle of the rear seats. The velour/honeycomb bits do look pretty good, but the pleather makes it look a bit tacky. Not sure how durable it would be either.
    €2k for the "Vienna Leather" is definitely not a runner for me either! I'm not sure if it is real leather or fake leather - perhaps an expert here can illuminate me. Car companies shouldn't really be able to call it leather unless it has come from an animal hide IMHO.

It's the same leather that's in the R. It's ok. I've no complaints re the quality. My seats look as new and they're great with kids. Any marks / spills easily wiped clean.

The 2k premium certainly isn't justifiable. I'm led to believe that any part of the seat that your arse is in contact with is "real" leather whereas the rest (outside of bolsters, backs of seat, armrests, etc) is "man made" cows!

That "art velour" option in the GTI will give you exactly the same seat bolster / armrests material as you'd get with full vienna. For that alone I'd be tempted, as I personally think the cloth in those particular areas is very poor and marks/ages badly.

I think a Highline Golf loaded up with extras is a spectacular waste of a lot of money. You'll have a car with show and not a lot of go. And you'll lose what you spent on all those options the day you drive it off the forecourt. It won't be worth much more than a standard Highline come trade in time. Better to buy a car that has the kit as standard...

Edit:
    I suppose I should add that it depends on what options you are adding. If you are really keen on having xenons, rear LED's, larger alloys, then I think you have to be looking at the GTD. Adding those bits (standard in a GTD) will be ~€3k on a Highline.

Ya including Pano roof etc, pcp won't be up on the Audi until next year anyway.

I think back in late 2015 the VW dieselgate scandal was growing legs so VW had to pack the cars with gadgets without much of a price increase to keep sales as they were. I think the initial outrage of dieselgate has kind of passed now and VW have weathered the storm so prices are creeping up now.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I think back in late 2015 the VW dieselgate scandal was growing legs so VW had to pack the cars with gadgets without much of a price increase to keep sales as they were. I think the initial outrage of dieselgate has kind of passed now and VW have weathered the storm so prices are creeping up now.

I don't think dieselgate had much, if anything, to do with it. The only people I see getting wound up about dieselgate are forum trolls. The supposed scandal has had no perceptible impact on their sales.
    I think it was more a case of keeping up with the Jones - the likes of Hyundai and Kia with their aggressive marketing and specs... VW had to tackle that first and foremost. Whereas you see the likes of Opel, who were once huge sellers here, totally floundering as they have not competed.

Truckermal wrote: »
    Ya including Pano roof etc, pcp won't be up on the Audi until next year anyway.

You're in an A4? Why considering the "down size"?

The A4 is very small inside which suits as we only have one child and my car is a Lexus GS which has plenty of room! Herself don't really care once it looks pretty and the figures look good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

st332 wrote: »
    New Irish price lists are up, dated 2nd May, but they don't contain the GTI Performance nor the new 1.5 L TSI Golf, both of which went on sale in the UK on the 27th April :mad:

https://www.volkswagen.ie/en/price-lists.html

I see that too on the Seat website, Paddy spec new Ibiza FR gets a 1 litre 3 cylinder 115bhp. I mean WTF :eek:

Watching Autogefugel review of the Ibiza FR with ...the 1.5 TSI engine. We are sold pokers in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,648 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Fiskar wrote: »
    I see that too on the Seat website, Paddy spec new Ibiza FR gets a 1 litre 3 cylinder 115bhp. I mean WTF :eek:

Watching Autogefugel review of the Ibiza FR with ...the 1.5 TSI engine. We are sold buy pokers in this country.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Credit to RandomAccess for sharing this one over on the youtube thread but thought it was applicable in here too....if you drive a new Golf, get an Android :)

I heard today from a dealer that the GTi-PP is not coming here, "it's UK only" were his words. Anyone get any further information or perhaps the winning lotto numbers from their dealer??

That'd be disappointing. But not hugely surprising. The GTI - GTI PP - R are so closely priced, maybe a pen pusher in VW has decided it isn't worth bringing it in. They seem to be heavily pushing the R in terms of social media promotions, etc.

You could try sending a message to them via FB / twitter, they can be responsive, depending on the question.

I remember back in 2013 I was being told that the PP wasn't coming here. Eventually they relented but it must have been a good 3-4 months after it appeared in the UK. So what the dealers tell you today isn't necessarily the last word on it.

"UK-only" ...and the rest of Europe. :mad:
    I've send VW Ireland an email, will see what they come back with.
    Twitter is probably the better bet though for hassling a company into replying, but I'm not a Twitterer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Does anybody know when they start selling the Mk7 R here? Nearly all the ones I've seen have been from 2015 onwards, but there's a 2014 for sale currently in Clondalkin. Does this mean it's a UK import? I can't tell from the ad.

From early 2014. But they sold feck all that year (count them on 3 fingers) until they knocked close to 10k off the RRP and bumped up the specs in late 2014.

Put the reg into the free reg check on motorcheck.ie and it will tell you if it's a UK import.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Reg plate not in the ad, no picture of the speedometer either.