Minister to crack down on 'wild west' illegal raffles and lotteries at sports clubs

• 08-05-2017 10:31AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭

A government minister believes many sporting club lottos and locally run raffles are operating illegally.
    Junior Justice Minister David Stanton said he feared certain lotteries, including some raising funds for GAA clubs, were operating without approval or in breach of restrictions on the size of prizes.
    The comments came as he prepares to introduce legislation by the end of the year paving the way for an independent regulatory authority for the gambling industry.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/minister-to-crack-down-on-wild-west-illegal-raffles-and-lotteries-at-sports-clubs-35690035.html

It's about bloody time too. And I hope he'll add those rigged 'best-dressed-ladies-who-just-happen-to-be-great-pals-with-the-judges-or-have-a-trendy-boutique' at the horse racing too. It's comical to see the corruption that goes on there at times. It's the same people winning over and over again.

And I've seen with my own eyes local organisers openly boasting about how they rigged the competitions too, and it wasn't just one club or sport either.

I also know of a publican who won his own Christmas draw of a few thousand euros :eek:

Have you any shady stories about dodgy draws or competitions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

You're clearly not wearing the nicest summer dress and don't know how to cheat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

pay €4.50 for a raffle ticket, first prize a pint of Guinness. Every ticket wins.

Who needs a bar licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Have you any shady stories about dodgy draws or competitions?

Spot the ball panels - few of the lads on my football teams had seamstress levels of skill at unsewing them to see the winner, claiming that slot with an illegible squiggle and then perfectly sewing it back. Punters were drawing dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

pay €4.50 for a raffle ticket, first prize a pint of Guinness. Every ticket wins.

Who needs a bar licence?

you wouldnt need a bar licence. but you would need a lottery licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Junior Justice Minister David Stanton is obviously bored out of his skull and trying to make a name for himself during his idle time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jrop

Junior Minister David Stanton has clearly nothing else to do, What about actually doing something useful like trying to sort out the problems at Oberstown ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

prayers and raffles

priorities

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

I can think of a lot of things more important than 5 grand in the local lotto or a lovely girls competition he could be getting on with

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

prayers and raffles

priorities
    Very True Well Said. Shower of gob****tes in dail eireann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

11! I was reading it upside down Ted.

There goes the obligatory Ted reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭wordofwarning

It is terrible that local sports clubs are using funds for the local community with these raffles. Everyone should be buying national lottery tickets supporting the Ontario Teachers pension fund instead. Isn't that a worthy cause...

I know some of the national lottery funds go the community, but the emphasis is on some. If local communities want to raise money, there should not be a monopoly on it ie the national lottery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭Stars and Stripes

These are the same people FG/FF/LP etc who see nothing wrong with taking 'donations' by the thousands from builders, corporations, crony's, cute hoors etc. He mentions the GAA etc but I wouldn't put it past him that the smaller party's, left Independents, anti water charges groups and so on are having successful fund raising campaigns with local lottery's and hence want to block their funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

I also know of a publican who won his own Christmas draw of a few thousand euros :eek:

It's not unusual for that to happen from time to time...

000c03f8-870.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

If there's evidence of corruption in the legal charities industry, it's a bit much to suggest that all these 'mom and pop' run lotteries are above board.

stimpson wrote: »
    It's not unusual for that to happen from time to time...

Now I'll have Ghost Town by The Specials stuck in my head for the rest of the day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

We need a Revolution in Ireland like the French Revolution 1789 and overthrown them dictators school teachers from Dail Eireann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭bladespin

We need a Revolution in Ireland like the French Revolution 1789 and overthrown them dictators school teachers from Dail Eireann.

Problem is, we had a revolution and replaced the dictators whit the Dail.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Just to be seen to be doing things me thinks. How about dealing with the gazillions of other higher priority issues first minister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭bladespin

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Just to be seen to be doing things me thinks. How about dealing with the gazillions of other higher priority issues first minister.

Lottery operators probably had a moan.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Anything that diminishes the constant stink of sports and sports news (football rugby and gaa specially) in the public arena I'd be all for it.

learn_more wrote: »
    Anything that diminishes the constant stink of sports and sports news (football rugby and gaa specially) in the public arena I'd be all for it.

and how precisely do you think a crackdown on club lotteries will do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This is ridiculous, these lottos are part of how local sports clubs fund raise. I know my local ones (which I've collected for) are counted in a pub, in front of people. I trust my local lotto more than I trust the corporate national lottery.

I'll buy local lottos not because I'll win money but to support my local community, at least I know that it's not going up the nose of some city slicker cock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

ScumLord wrote: »
    This is ridiculous, these lottos are part of how local sports clubs fund raise. I know my local ones (which I've collected for) are counted in a pub, in front of people. I trust my local lotto more than I trust the corporate national lottery.

I'll buy local lottos not because I'll win money but to support my local community, at least I know that it's not going up the nose of some city slicker cock.
    Same, you don't enter it to win, you enter because you want to support the cause.

Saying that, I had my eye on a heifer as the first prize in the last raffle I entered and the ref won her. I was highly suspicious :mad:

Vojera wrote: »
    Same, you don't enter it to win, you enter because you want to support the cause.

Saying that, I had my eye on a heifer as the first prize in the last raffle I entered and the ref won her. I was highly suspicious :mad:
    I always wanted to win the prizes that are farm animals. I think someone told me that if you're not actually a farmer they'll work something else out like the price of the heifer. But I'd be all for having a pet cow and bringing it for walks and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

Excellent work minister!

Now.. I hear rumours of massive numbers of 8yr old earning undeclared revenue around this time of year and feel that this frequent and blatant tax evasion must be tackled as a top government priority!

Regards,

Senior Killjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Big government getting bigger. More tax, more regulation.

Admittedly there is a big problem with dodgy draws. You just have to pick and choose organisations that you trust.

There are murmers in my area about a "fundraising" night held for a person that had cancer.

They organised a pub night to send the person and the children on a family holiday. They raised thousands from locals. Since then the person has been give the all clear from cancer and has been healthy for over a year or so and is back at work. They still haven't went on this holiday.

The person in question does have a very nice new car though.

Big government getting bigger. More tax, more regulation.

Admittedly there is a big problem with dodgy draws. You just have to pick and choose organisations that you trust.

There are murmers in my area about a "fundraising" night held for a person that had cancer.

They organised a pub night to send the person and the children on a family holiday. They raised thousands from locals. Since then the person has been give the all clear from cancer and has been healthy for over a year or so and is back at work. They still haven't went on this holiday.

The person in question does have a very nice new car though.

so you complain about more regulation while at the same time showing exactly why regulation is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Hmmm does that mean the annual FG Superdraw will have to go then. I was approached years ago to buy a ticket for this ticket was 100 euro. Wonder will they stop the junior minister over this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

ScumLord wrote: »

As long as your club have a valid lottery licence they have nothing to worry about.

I'd say they do, banks and insurance companies are another one for dictating what you can and can't do. They really do get all up in your business when you try to organise something. They can pretty much dictate what you can do or they won't give you insurance, which has a knock on effect where you can't get a license or a company won't deal with you without the bank signing off on it.. Most clubs will have had some situation where something has happened which would involved insurance or the law so they won't take chances anymore.