Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

No response from Peter as per usual. How about having a bit of courage in your convictions, it is a discussion forum after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    No response from Peter as per usual. How about having a bit of courage in your convictions, it is a discussion forum after all.

Sorry the job got in the way.. the main contributor who was in the studio was a Democrat who hates Trump. If you were analysing the performance of Enda Kenny, would you bring Michael Martin in to the studio to give his analysis?

And Donnolly really needs to focus on how bad their own candidate was, that people would vote for Trump. I think he's still in denial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Sorry the job got in the way.. the main contributor who was in the studio was a Democrat who hates Trump. If you were analysing the performance of Enda Kenny, would you bring Michael Martin in to the studio to give his analysis?

And Donnolly really needs to focus on how bad their own candidate was, that people would vote for Trump. I think he's still in denial.

The election was a long time ago. It's not about Hilary anymore - it's all about Trump. From what I remember Donnelly was one of few pundits who actually gave Trump a chance of winning the election and reasons he gave for that were pretty spot on. Plus, as serfboard pointed out there was two Democrats and two Republicans on the panel.

What's your analyses of Trump's first 100 days - want has he achieved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

Given that the topic was about Trump presidency its hardly surprising that Larry Donnelly would focus on this. Sure he dislikes the man but I'd hardly call that embittered....and given that Hilary for all her faults did win the popular vote, quite comfortably I fact, its a bit of a stretch to sat that Donnelly is in denial for airing his opinions.
    The Kenny /Martin analogy doesn't hold up at all...Kenny is lambasted,rightly or wrongly, on a daily basis from all sides particularly his main political opponents and the media are more than willing to facilitate this.Also this discussion was moderated by the presence of O'Rourke and other guests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Liam Doran - gimme, gimme, gimme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Can they not see the major flaw with that student payback proposal? The highflyers will feck off to Canada, Australia etc and never pay a cent back while the people left here earning less will be screwed with having to make repayments into their 30s and 40s.

Apparently that's what often happens with Aussie students - get their loans, finish their studies and then emigrate leaving the bills behind.

Why is Ronan Mullen always trotting himself out to represent the Catholic agenda? Is there no one else? Are they in such a tiny minority?

Whatever, he always makes my blood boil. Talks over everyone else, rams his views regardless, arrogant and condescending to his fellow woman panelist this morning.

I find him to be a most objectionable individual. Who on earth votes for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Why is Ronan Mullen always trotting himself out to represent the Catholic agenda? Is there no one else? Are they in such a tiny minority?

Whatever, he always makes my blood boil. Talks over everyone else, rams his views regardless, arrogant and condescending to his fellow woman panelist this morning.

I find him to be a most objectionable individual. Who on earth votes for him?

It is good that he is on as he shows us that there are many who think like him.

He is cleverly changing the conversation about Repeal to one of "down syndrome babies will be aborted".....

I don't agree with what he says but his voice on the radio reminds me that there are a lot of conservative views out there .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I see RTE are advertising Trump hotel in Doolin - will they be able to maintain their "impartial" (ha) stance now that he's putting bread on the table?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I see RTE are advertising Trump hotel in Doolin - will they be able to maintain their "impartial" (ha) stance now that he's putting bread on the table?

Advertising not working too well .... the hotel is in Doonbeg! :P

Callan57 wrote: »
    Advertising not working too well .... the hotel is in Doonbeg! :P
    Touché! :D

zoobizoo wrote: »
    It is good that he is on as he shows us that there are many who think like him.

He is cleverly changing the conversation about Repeal to one of "down syndrome babies will be aborted".....

I don't agree with what he says but his voice on the radio reminds me that there are a lot of conservative views out there .

He did indeed keep changing the topic to abortion, his default seems to be that if he's losing any reasonable argument - then he defaults to abortion.

But give us someone else please. If Ronan is all there is, it's just a flimsy facade.

He did indeed keep changing the topic to abortion, his default seems to be that if he's losing any reasonable argument - then he defaults to abortion.

But give us someone else please. If Ronan is all there is, it's just a flimsy facade.
    Oh there is the Quinn fella as well isn't there? Another fine debater.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭etselbbuns

Was Mary Lou talking on her phone in the background there whilst conducting a public interview?? There were funny noises in the background and when SOR came back to her, she was caught temporarily on the hop. Hope it was important as it came across as downright rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

Did she have her posh voice or her slightly skanger voice on today? It seems to change depending on the show / topic.

zoobizoo wrote: »
    Did she have her posh voice or her slightly skanger voice on today? It seems to change depending on the show / topic.

Her disinterested voice, if I recall correctly, as in I've better things to be doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

That Bernadette lady is getting pretty hysterical over social welfare and won't let anyone else get a word in.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That Bernadette lady is getting pretty hysterical over social welfare and won't let anyone else get a word in.

Very shouty woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Who is Bernadette?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Call me Al wrote: »
    Who is Bernadette?

Used to work in the department somewhere, but she's extremely, extremely irritating. Class warfare, shouldn't be looked at too much because of austerity we went through, she's a header.

I expect her to start courting some of the left political parties at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Call me Al wrote: »
    Who is Bernadette?

I don't know, but I'm absolutely exhausted trying to listen and keep up with her!

She also comes across as possibly fairly naive about the whole area of SW fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

She talks a mile a minute!
    Bernadette Gorman. And I'm still none the wiser as to who she is.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Used to work in the department somewhere

She wasn't spending her money, just some slush fund from the taxpayer that funded her wages, pension and the needs of her clients.

Social welfare fraud is just as bad as business fraud and tax defaulting. No reason at all why it shouldn't be highlighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

She wasn't spending her money, just some slush fund from the taxpayer that funded her wages, pension and the needs of her clients.

Social welfare fraud is just as bad as business fraud and tax defaulting. No reason at all why it shouldn't be highlighted.

Cannot understand that there are so many 'cheerleaders' for people defrauding the taxpayer( you and me).

This country is gone to the dogs in my opinion, yeah huh sure it's ok to defraud the taxpayer, sure it's only me that's at it !!!!!

And of course the usual posh student type standing up for the cheats.

Guess who will be the first to demand more houses, nurses, Gardaì , public services though, paid for by the taxpayer................yeah you guessed it:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

Cannot understand that there are so many 'cheerleaders' for people defrauding the taxpayer( you and me).

This country is gone to the dogs in my opinion, yeah huh sure it's ok to defraud the taxpayer, sure it's only me that's at it !!!!!

And of course the usual posh student type standing up for the cheats.

Guess who will be the first to demand more houses, nurses, Gardaì , public services though, paid for by the taxpayer................yeah you guessed it:mad:

im fed up with it, i pay enough taxes to the govt for feck al.. people giving out about the initiative to report fraud baffles me but at the same time the amount of people claiming some sort of social in this country is unreal so not surprising they get upset that they might be ratted out

Bernadette made plenty of salient points, albeit in a slightly forceful way. Fine Gael man was throwing unsubstantiated figures around to suit Leo's agenda.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I don't know, but I'm absolutely exhausted trying to listen and keep up with her!

She also comes across as possibly fairly naive about the whole area of SW fraud.

She was employed as a social welfare inspector. How could she come across as "naive", considering she's worked at the coalface?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

She was employed as a social welfare inspector. How could she come across as "naive", considering she's worked at the coalface?

She certainly came across to me as someone with a sizeable 'chip' on her shoulder, and quite naive.