Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you owned a pub...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

Olishi4 wrote: »
    The Lock Inn

There's a Boozer out where I live called the Lough Inn

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

cdeb wrote: »
    Oliver Reed died in The Pub in Valletta.

Not just a pub, but The Pub.

Nice spot actually.

Nicely soozled after an afternoon spent arm wresting British Navy lads on shore leave. Great way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

There must already be The Craic Inn? Too much of a good one to be missed?

It seems The Craic House has been tried and found wanting http://www.dailyedge.ie/craic-house-pub-changes-name-1449032-May2014/ .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Ush1 wrote: »
    The f*ck?:confused:

You aint seen the likes of this in some pubs?

you usually seem them with currency from around the world too or beer mats etc

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

foggy_lad wrote: »
    THe stuff on the walls etc like registration plates and road signs are often trophies brought back from the travels of the locals/regulars and usually come with some mad story.

Not really. Most traditional pubs I do be in might have photos of local teams or the owners on the wall, along with pictures or paintings.

Road signs sounds like an American "bar" type thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Ush1 wrote: »
    Not really. Most traditional pubs I do be in might have photos of local teams or the owners on the wall, along with pictures or paintings.

Road signs sounds like an American "bar" type thing.

You don't get out much do you :D

my3cents wrote: »
    You don't get out much do you :D

Ha probably not enough!

Just not something I'd associate with a traditional Irish pub.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Some pubs have them here, but not really "traditional" Irish pub stuff. Nor alligators wearing sunglasses or any nonsense like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

mcgiggles wrote: »
    Was in a great music venue/ bar in Toronto called the hideout!
    http://www.thehideouttoronto.com/

That was my semi-local when I lived there. Loved the name and swore if I ever owned my own (I am a bartender).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

Poitín yer place

py2006 wrote: »
    You aint seen the likes of this in some pubs?

you usually seem them with currency from around the world too or beer mats etc

I've seen them in pubs alright but not what I would call a traditional Irish pub.

Google images for traditional Irish pub doesn't seem to show them either.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The Bada Bing!

'A Breather from the Missus'.

1. Dick's Halfway Inn
    2. Brews Brothers
    3. Tequila Mockingbird
    4. Wish you were Beer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

NikoTopps wrote: »
    There's a pub in Athens called "The Local". I think it's such a clever name.

"Where are we going tonight?"
    "The Local"
    "Our or The Local?"
    "Errr, the one with the piss on the walls and mould on the ceiling"
    "Yeah, that."

theres a pub in dungarvan called the local .

Its only ok ..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Stigura wrote: »
    Once upon a time, I knew a night club called " Some Place Else ".

True story.

SPECs, I remember it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Comerman

Dicks last resort is a great spot in Florida and Jamie Ollver called his army truck conversion yoke The Cock In Cider

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I knew a lad years ago in the army that was posted to the Middle East and claimed there was some breeze block type shebeen trying to model itself on an Irish pub and it was called PUB BEER.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Salthill in Galway has a lovely pub called The Office.

"I hope you're not going on the lash again."

"No, honey, I'm going to be in The Office all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

"Cum Innside"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Piggystardust

The Get Stuck Inn

A pint in the right direction

The Lob it Inn

You're doing my head Inn

I worked in a pub in Berlin a couple of years ago simply called The Pub. Oliver Reed never came in(n) though!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

The ould fecking fox

Would it be allowed? Would it result in a man down the street with a monocle writing a sternly worded letter to the council insisting on the removal of the sign?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Just The One

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

theres a pub in a place in the carpatianan mountain called draught pub

they do 5 liter pints

mmmmmmmmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 5,763 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

The Galloping Maggot

(In remembrance of John The Man Frawley of Radio Luimní႒; anyone who lived in or near Limerick in the 70s-80s would know the reference!)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,405 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The hangover factory

• Registered Users Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

The Well Fair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

1/ The fog.
    2/ Spyglass.
    3/ Captains cabin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

The Road.

As in "I'm just going down The Road love".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

PARlance wrote:
    The Well Fair

What would you call it every other day of the week?