Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Gbear wrote: »
    It includes a rather accurate drawing of Devin Toner, albeit with a sort of elongated llama neck.

Just be happy you didn't get 'Michelangelo's' David Luiz :o

Was very strange to hear them talking about the dortmund bus bombing at great length without asking the question 'why'? Why on earth would a football team be targeted by a bomb attack in their own prosperous city? The glossing over of the alleged perpetrator having arrived with the surge of migrants in 2015/6 was a quick one.

Are we that jaded by Islamic terrorism already that we, like UEFA, respond to it as if it were a beer can being thrown?

And then the next day Ken talks incredulously about why people would vote for Marine Le Pen. I honestly feel like that John Goodman big lebowski meme, like has the whole world lost the plot or what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Was very strange to hear them talking about the dortmund bus bombing at great length without asking the question 'why'? Why on earth would a football team be targeted by a bomb attack in their own prosperous city? The glossing over of the alleged perpetrator having arrived with the surge of migrants in 2015/6 was a quick one.

Are we that jaded by Islamic terrorism already that we, like UEFA, respond to it as if it were a beer can being thrown?

And then the next day Ken talks incredulously about why people would vote for Marine Le Pen. I honestly feel like that John Goodman big lebowski meme, like has the whole world lost the plot or what.

Just as well they didn't really, since the investigation has since headed in a totally different direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    Just as well they didn't really, since the investigation has since headed in a totally different direction.

Let me guess, economically anxious 'lone wolf' whose concerns we must, simply must, understand and empathise with?

corwill wrote: »
    Let me guess, economically anxious 'lone wolf' whose concerns we must, simply must, understand and empathise with?

It's still not clear, there is speculation that a far-right group was responsible. It's best to leave the "whys?" till what actually happened is known.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    It's still not clear, there is speculation that a far-right group was responsible. It's best to leave the "whys?" till what actually happened is known.

Agreed, would be great if we all did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

corwill wrote: »
    Agreed, would be great if we all did that.

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

lawred2 wrote: »
    They just played that fiercely grating Barcelona PSG sound clip again.. That one has to go..

I really hate that one. The fact that Barcelona won it by absolutely woeful refereeing decisions completely takes any gloss off that game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

More anti Mourinho stuff from Ken again this week, change the record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

God is michael duigan going to be the hurling expert on this!!

Bullsh1ts on about davy and then says he did the same thing at a minor final (great example to kids) and it worked for them as they won by a point..

He is a tool!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

God is michael duigan going to be the hurling expert on this!!

Bullsh1ts on about davy and then says he did the same thing at a minor final (great example to kids) and it worked for them as they won by a point..

He is a tool!!

Double standards are rife in GAA when it benefits your teams its all grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

threein99 wrote: »
    More anti Mourinho stuff from Ken again this week, change the record.

Annoying alright, using anything to get at him even when he wins.

Worst was their reaction to the Conor McNamara interview. McNamara makes a daft point that Mou treated with disdain and the lads think it was a perfectly reasonable question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Jaysus Dots you like an oul moan about the podcast

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    Jaysus Dots you like an oul moan about the podcast

Yeah, beginning to wonder why I listen, beyond the levity which is usually extremely good, the actual hard analysis is just not good enough. I thought the subscription service would lead to better quality but it seems the same quality with more content is their aim.

Their GAA coverage compared to what Wooly is doing with Joe.ie is night and day.

I probably just need to stop listening for a month and see if I miss it.

But yeah currently the only reason I listen to it is the funny parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,782 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

seiphil wrote: »
    Lads mentioned the Les Bleus documentary on Netflix today. It's on the past 20 years of French football.

Couldn't recommend it more. Excellent documentary. Goes into everything from 9/11(as bizarre as it sounds it makes sense) to Evra and co's revolt at the South Africa World Cup.

Just finished that. Great show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Dots1982 wrote: »

Worst was their reaction to the Conor McNamara interview. McNamara makes a daft point that Mou treated with disdain and the lads think it was a perfectly reasonable question.

It wasn't an unreasonable question at all to ask..

A bland question maybe but fairly routine for post match stuff.

And no matter anyway even if it was 'daft'.. the lad was hardly deserving of anyone's 'disdain'.

lawred2 wrote: »

It wasn't an unreasonable question at all to ask..

A bland question maybe but fairly routine for post match stuff.

And no matter anyway even if it was 'daft'.. the lad was hardly deserving of anyone's 'disdain'.

Ah yeah mou was impolite no question but it was a stupid question IMO. The shot count was 18-3. That's not two teams cancelling each other out. It's a dominant team with a wasteful strike force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Ken Escobar :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭JuanJose

Yeah, beginning to wonder why I listen, beyond the levity which is usually extremely good, the actual hard analysis is just not good enough. I thought the subscription service would lead to better quality but it seems the same quality with more content is their aim.

Their GAA coverage compared to what Wooly is doing with Joe.ie is night and day.

I probably just need to stop listening for a month and see if I miss it.

But yeah currently the only reason I listen to it is the funny parts.
    Each to their own but Wooly is a pain in the ass. Can't imagine that's changed since I last heard his podcast last August.
    Moving along swiftly, anyone noticed that the podcasts are rarely making the hour mark lately? I know it's about quality and not quantity but if you lose 10 mins off an hour podcast for, say, 3 of the pods in a week then that's a fair fall-off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Moving along swiftly, anyone noticed that the podcasts are rarely making the hour mark lately? I know it's about quality and not quantity but if you lose 10 mins off an hour podcast for, say, 3 of the pods in a week then that's a fair fall-off.[/quote]

Yup its something i mentioned 4/5 pages back.
    Add this in to the fact that three is 3/4 minutes of those bloody music/commentary clips that some shows are only 40 mins of actual content.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

Yeah, beginning to wonder why I listen, beyond the levity which is usually extremely good, the actual hard analysis is just not good enough.

I'm not being smart but what do you expect? The lads style hasn't really changed since the Off the Ball days has it?

And what would you like? Discussion of the tactics, formations, substitutions? I think they do this.

I also think they have great interviews with people. Like the Jesse Izenberg interview, Paul Kimmage, Dunphy, Parkinson, the female boxer from Monaghan or somewhere, the lad that sailed around the world, Richie's two

The should do a few more like the Parkinson and Kimmage ones from a few years ago.
    Moving along swiftly, anyone noticed that the podcasts are rarely making the hour mark lately? I know it's about quality and not quantity but if you lose 10 mins off an hour podcast for, say, 3 of the pods in a week then that's a fair fall-off

Hasn't this always been the way with their shows? I'm sure they've had plenty of 40 minute-odd shows.

I don't think they've any obligation for their shows to be 60 minutes long.

. I'm not being smart but what do you expect? The lads style hasn't really changed since the Off the Ball days has it?

Therein possibly lies the problem. The lads style hasn't changed in their entire media career and their format and contributors haven't changed much since the start of the SC days.

In the meantime over on OTB they have changed contributors often over the years and now have hit a sweet spot with Kilbane who gives them prominent access to major football and football media figures in Ireland and the UK. The show feels fresh and focused IMO.

On SC the only ex pro they have access to is Richie Sadlier who is a nice bloke but is wearing a bit thin in what he brings to the party.

Ken is still too focused on what manager's say to the press as an explanation for team performance. He is an excellent columnist and humorist but as a judge of football or footballer I'd be in the John Giles line of thinking that I wouldn't necessarily agree with much Ken says about football.

Therein possibly lies the problem. The lads style hasn't changed in their entire media career and their format and contributors haven't changed much since the start of the SC days.

In the meantime over on OTB they have changed contributors often over the years and now have hit a sweet spot with Kilbane who gives them prominent access to major football and football media figures in Ireland and the UK. The show feels fresh and focused IMO.

On SC the only ex pro they have access to is Richie Sadlier who is a nice bloke but is wearing a bit thin in what he brings to the party.

Ken is still too focused on what manager's say to the press as an explanation for team performance. He is an excellent columnist and humorist but as a judge of football or footballer I'd be in the John Giles line of thinking that I wouldn't necessarily agree with much Ken says about football.

I don't know about this OTB "sweet spot", it's a just matter of opinion. I preferred the show when Parkinson and Daniel McDonnell were on it myself. The thing is, nobody knows how popular OTB is these days because their JNLR's haven't been made public in over 3 years...which is never a good sign. We do know that the SC had over 200,000 streams per week, or roughly 50,000 per episode, which was incredible for an Irish podcast. So they must be doing something right.

I've no problem with the content of Ken's newsround. What actually happened during the big matches is usually discussed in the interviews - particularly when Jonathan Wilson is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

What's this about JNLRs?

I was led to believe (somewhere) that the show never dipped in popularity after the lads left. I always found that very difficult to believe. Do we know at all how it's gone?

I literally just listened back to the crappy quiz and Off The Ballbag. There can be no question both of those segments would be gold with Ken, Eoin & Murph.

The current OTB seems to be about 12 guys who all sound the same.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

OTB in it's current guise isn't a bad show, but the spectre of the SC lads still hangs over it for me and I don't really listen because of that.

The World Service is brilliant, I like that they've time to dedicate to more obscure pieces like Ben Cousins or the Kerry team of the 1920s, I like their coverage of modern GAA/Soccer/Rugby but the content had gotten a bit too predictable over the last while, one of my favourite parts of them on OTB was the less obvious pieces they would frequently throw in there, they seemed to disappear once they moved to podcasts, so it's great they've started doing them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

This post just shows how different tastes can be, I find kilbane and the current off the ball lineup to be absolutely woeful in comparison to SC. I can't listen to kenny Cunningham or Graham Hunter, they're awful pundits and as for Giles, his Thursday night football slot has long slipped into self parody.

I don't disagree with ken focusing a bit on managers comments but find it entertaining anyway, I don't listen to a podcast for deep tactical analysis, that kind of stuff is better in written form in any case and there are excellent people writing about it elsewhere.

The one good thing is less US murph recently.
    Ok in small doses but he grate on you after awhile with constantly saying "great knowledge of us sports" to murph and eoin..

Its called research!

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    What's this about JNLRs?

A poster, ilevels, posts all the JNLR results in the radio forum every time they come out. But he stopped giving the 7pm to 10pm figures a couple of years ago and Newstalk haven't given OTB figures in it's JNLR press releases either. So OTB's listener figures are currently unknown.

As you said, their initial figures were good and they may well still be, but when they are good radio stations tend to crow about it.