Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Would be cool if Ken did a Sunday newspaper review type show maybe even just once a month, just to change things up a bit.

Suggest it to them. Think that's a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭buyer95

Would be cool if Ken did a Sunday newspaper review type show maybe even just once a month, just to change things up a bit.

Great idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,528 ✭✭✭batistuta9

batistuta9 wrote: »
    Back up again, 6175 now.
    Great start for them, retention will be key for this though, but I'd imagine they're pretty confident about it.

Another strong month for them. Up to 6848

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Another decrease just before the monthly payment. It was up above 7K there last week.

Went back to Friday's pod. Definitely more in the mood for it this morning. Found it really enjoyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Ken back to his worst in terms of over analysing Manager's post match comments on today's pod. Its such an easy option. Much harder to do what proper analysts do and analyse and deconstruct how a team plays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Pocket Casts have been loading the last few pods twice. Any idea how to fix it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Interesting... I'm waiting on a new bank card to be sent out, so my patreon charge could not go through. Got an email on Saturday about this, turns out there's no leeway - no new podcasts in my feed today. Should be back up and running tomorrow or Wednesday, be interesting to see what happens (will it back-fill with missing pods?)

Should do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

I changed my payment method from my barclay card to paypal as was getting hitting for a £1.20 overseas transaction fee.

Got an e mail saturday to say no longer a subscriber then half an hour later saying payment received!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Almost tempted to subscribe so I can hear the Mark O'connell interview. Although to be fair his book isn't short of media coverage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Almost tempted to subscribe so I can hear the Mark O'connell interview. Although to be fair his book isn't short of media coverage...

It's a good interview, but I wouldn't say it's worth a subscription just in and of itself! I felt they could have gone into it a bit deeper in places. I didn't learn anything new that I hadn't come across before in discussions about the subject.
    Joe Rogan - pain in the arse that he often is - has a good discussion with this fellow about the subject -

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Ken back to his worst in terms of over analysing Manager's post match comments on today's pod. Its such an easy option. Much harder to do what proper analysts do and analyse and deconstruct how a team plays.

Maybe im suffering from fatigue, as i have listened to each pod thus far, but am sick of Ken talking about Mourinho. We get it; Mou likes controversy/conflict. Talk about anything else!!! Don't give him what he wants (a distraction from how god awful united are playing).

Pter wrote: »
    Maybe im suffering from fatigue, as i have listened to each pod thus far, but am sick of Ken talking about Mourinho. We get it; Mou likes controversy/conflict. Talk about anything else!!! Don't give him what he wants (a distraction from how god awful united are playing).

I still enjoy listening to Ken psychoanalyse managers and players based on their media soundbites, but it does make up an alarmingly large chunk of his daily repertoire. I don't know if Mourinho in particular warrants it, it's always totally blatant what he's at it when he speaks to the media - trying to minutely deconstruct his utter scutter gives him far more credit than he deserves.

In fairness to him Ken was good today talking about the current impasse between the FAI and the International Women's team, but did anyone else find it slightly oddly dismissive that after spending a good fifteen minutes talking about the press conference, they stuck the audio of his interviews with some of people involved right at the end of the podcast, after the fairview and everything, even Eoin's comment of, ah yeah we'll get to that later, sounded like we're not that pushed really. If it had been an interview with a member of the men's side about anything at all, I find it unlikely that it would have been cut to the tail end of the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Wilmoth Houdini

I thought she was pretty poor talking about Messi's ban to be honest. It seemed like she did everything except answer the question the lads wanted, and made herself sound incredibly pretentious in doing so. Thought the lads were audibly disappointed and frustrated with the interview myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Islander13

Arghus wrote: »
    In fairness to him Ken was good today talking about the current impasse between the FAI and the International Women's team, but did anyone else find it slightly oddly dismissive that after spending a good fifteen minutes talking about the press conference, they stuck the audio of his interviews with some of people involved right at the end of the podcast, after the fairview and everything, even Eoin's comment of, ah yeah we'll get to that later, sounded like we're not that pushed really. If it had been an interview with a member of the men's side about anything at all, I find it unlikely that it would have been cut to the tail end of the show.

Yeah your right but people follow the Irish mens team. Lets be honest, I doubt too many subscribers are that interested in the ladies football team. And please don't think I'm being sexist etc. Look at the attendance stats for the two teams as evidence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

The Mourinho stuff is boring at this stage, he doesnt like him we get it.

threein99 wrote: »
    The Mourinho stuff is boring at this stage, he doesnt like him we get it.

Ken can be overly headstrong about his opinions. His comments on the David Luiz vindication are quite funny but he never gets reminded by the lads that he wrote off Ronaldo last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Ken can be overly headstrong about his opinions. His comments on the David Luiz vindication are quite funny but he never gets reminded by the lads that he wrote off Ronaldo last season.

I remember when Berbatov was going to spurs ken thought it was going to be a terrible signing. "He's just a slow Peter Crouch" :pac:

Cienciano wrote: »
    I remember when Berbatov was going to spurs ken thought it was going to be a terrible signing. "He's just a slow Peter Crouch" :pac:

Oh god. The years haven't been kind on that appraisal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

The start of the season Torres signed for Liverpool, I texted to ask OTB if he would be a good bet for Golden Boot and was told I was 'throwing my money away'. Well he didn't win so I suppose technically they were right but he did finish second behind Ronaldo...

Wow, just listening to yesterdays podcast about the ladies team. The FAI must be one of most incompetent organisations in the world. The womens team changing in the airport toilets because they can't be bothered to give them tracksuits! I guarantee the expenses for any 1 official at an away tournament would cover a full set of training gear for the team

not incompetent at all.. that would actually be an excuse.

What they are is a shower of horrible venal b@stards. This has been shown repeatedly.

lawred2 wrote: »
    not incompetent at all.. that would actually be an excuse.

What they are is a shower of horrible venal b@stards. This has been shown repeatedly.

Well, threatening the ladies team is proof of that. Haven't finished the pod, but it would be great if they didn't play the next game. All the FAI are worried about is how they look to people outside Ireland, at least if the ladies team didn't play it would draw attention to how bad they actually are.

BTW, that short Fair View about the gooch and bag of sausages was great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

BTW, that short Fair View about the gooch and bag of sausages was great!

Just listened to that, absolutely brilliant :D

The start of the season Torres signed for Liverpool, I texted to ask OTB if he would be a good bet for Golden Boot and was told I was 'throwing my money away'. Well he didn't win so I suppose technically they were right but he did finish second behind Ronaldo...

To be fair asking people for advice on gambling from lads who have no interest in gambling was your problem there.

It's a feeling I have that the best people to follow on football are people who gamble intelligently, they are the ones who really analyse players, teams and games.