Bouncer punches woman who tried to punch him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

pilly wrote: »
    Someone who instinctively takes a swing at a woman is the type of abusive arsehole who would hit his girlfriend/wife anyway. Also the type who wouldn't punch a man the same size as himself for fear he'd get as good back if not worse.

Ignoring the thing about the bouncer, do you reckon that a man should never take a swing at a woman, under any circumstances?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Ignoring the thing about the bouncer, do you reckon that a man should never take a swing at a woman, under any circumstances?

A punch to the face? Absolutely. Unless the woman is a trained assassin then any man worth his salt could restrain her in many different ways without punching her in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

A punch to the face? Absolutely. Unless the woman is a trained assassin then any man worth his salt could restrain her in many different ways without punching her in the face.

Perhaps he wanted her to just go away? And it looked more like a slap than a punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'd hit somebody if I genuinely believed they were a threat to the safety of me or my family, and that fighting represented my best chance of ending the threat.

If I came to that conclusion, I wouldn't make a distinction between a man or woman (or even child, for that matter).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Lots of people in this thread who have clearly never been in a fight.

Anyone who swings at me they can expect full, massive reaction immediately. I don't know if you have a knife or a set of keys in your hand, and I don't want to know, I just want to know that you wont be able to have a pop freely again.

And the bouncers responsibility isn't to restrain the woman, he's not making a citizens arrest, his job is to protect himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Never raise your hand to a woman is what i was taught and is what I will teach my son,

walk away from the situation or restrain

Glenster wrote: »
    Lots of people in this thread who have clearly never been in a fight.

Anyone who swings at me they can expect full, massive reaction immediately. I don't know if you have a knife or a set of keys in your hand, and I don't want to know, I just want to know that you wont be able to have a pop freely again.

And the bouncers responsibility isn't to restrain the woman, he's not making a citizens arrest, his job is to protect himself.

Kind of proves my point Glenster. A massive reaction immediately? Awful attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

I find it interesting that all the people criticising the bouncer semm not to criticise the woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Kind of proves my point Glenster. A massive reaction immediately? Awful attitude.

I'm just being realistic.

Surely before you've had a chance to assess the situation your primary goal is to get your attacker away from you as quickly as possible.

That's what the guy in the video does, lashes out immediately and buys himself a few seconds to figure out what is going on.

At the end of the video it looks as though she might come over to him again, I'd say if he socks her again, that's too much, as he's had a second to see what's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭shamrock55

She stayed on her feet anyway fair play to her,but i dont think he should have hit her,he could have restrained her in other ways

shamrock55 wrote: »
    She stayed on her feet anyway fair play to her,but i dont think he should have hit her,he could have restrained her in other ways

restrain her and then do what with her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭shamrock55

The punch that she threw wouldnt have effected him in the slightest,the way he reacted was not a self defence mechanism or reaction type punch,if your hit hard your brain tells you your in trouble here do something and you will react without thought either strike out or run,if your not hit hard you dont react like that unless your a scumbag,lets be honest if a girl came up to you and hit you like that would you lash out,i bet the answer is no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Cause and Effect.
    Will she throw a punch at a bouncer again? Probably not.
    She's come out swinging again trying to defend herself. She's a "model" from Liverpool who took offence to being put out for dancing on a table and doesn't feel the video paints her in the best light.

Cause and Effect.
    Will she throw a punch at a bouncer again? Probably not.
    She's come out swinging again trying to defend herself. She's a "model" from Liverpool who took offence to being put out for dancing on a table and doesn't feel the video paints her in the best light.

that's an understatement :)
    I'm curious to know on what grounds she is defending herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Bouncer has no case to answer. Woman should be charged with drunk and disorderly.

I have never hit a woman. I have been punched and slapped by a women because she knew I wouldnt return the compliment and she knew that as a woman society dosnt hold her to quite the same standard as a man in this scenario.

I'm older now with more self respect. And if a woman attacked me today, I'd defend myself.

The punch that she threw wouldnt have effected him in the slightest,the way he reacted was not a self defence mechanism or reaction type punch,if your hit hard your brain tells you your in trouble here do something and you will react without thought either strike out or run,if your not hit hard you dont react like that unless your a scumbag,lets be honest if a girl came up to you and hit you like that would you lash out,i bet the answer is no
    It doesn't matter how hard she hit him, it's assault and battery. I've no doubt he could have left her on her ass. He didn't. When you have a split second to react you don't have time to worry if this is going to be reasonable enough force.

that's an understatement :)
    I'm curious to know on what grounds she is defending herself.

Articles online (she spoke to the sun if you want to look for it) she was dancing on tables and bouncer pulled her off the table to put her out. She feels she had the right to throw the punch in defence because he didn't ask her to get off the table first

If its in the sun i think i'll pass. The fact that she is from liverpool and spoke to the sun actually makes her look even worse than that video ever can.

Bouncer has no case to answer. Woman should be charged with drunk and disorderly.

I have never hit a woman. I have been punched and slapped by a women because she knew I wouldnt return the compliment and she knew that as a woman society dosnt hold her to quite the same standard as a man in this scenario.

I'm older now with more self respect. And if a woman attacked me today, I'd defend myself.

By punching her in the face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

By punching her in the face?

Depends on the situation. As a feminist I wouldn't rule it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭rustynutz

I've never hit a woman but if I was put in the same situation as that bouncer, would I? Probably, yeah. She tried to assault him and he defended himself, it looks to be largely a reflex action either way so I doubt he put much thought into it. What were his options? Restrain her? And then what? She would probably swing for him again once realised, or worse, claim sexual assault.

Id be willing to bet that most here saying that he shouldn't have hit her have never been assaulted and had to defend themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

As an ex-bouncer I am torn on this, If someone tries to hit you, you have every right to protect yourself but at the same time if a bouncer is worth his salt, he should be able to diffuse the situation without it leading to him punching a woman.

I always found that I was able to diffuse most situations by being respectful and not talking down to someone and explaining what they are doing, why there is an issue and asking them to come outside for a chat. The most important part is giving them an opportunity to rectify the situation. As soon as you are seen to be fair, most people comply and it leads to far less altercations.

Normally I would say that he should have restrained her but if he tried to restrain her he could end up with being charged with groping or sexual assault so it's a tough situation to be in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

If she had a ring or two on their fingers? The pointy ones, that could cause damage when used with a closed fist? That if they hit you without seeing it coming could cause permanent eye damage? The kind of bling a glammed up, soused scouser would in all probability be wearing?

You don't throw punches to hurt someones feelings. You throw a punch with the intention to hurt someone. She threw a punch with the intention to hurt. She missed.

Now in this particular situation, if she was in his face throwing insults, winding him up about whatever it was she was riled up about and he reacted like he did, then there's a problem. But it didn't happen like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Biggest lickspittle on boardz

BattleCorp wrote: »
    http://theliberal.ie/video-a-bouncer-is-being-interview-by-police-after-punching-a-woman-in-the-face-after-she-swung-at-him/

The bouncer is currently under police investigation for punching a woman after she threw a punch at him. Would he be under investigation if he had hit back at a man who tried to deck him?

What do you reckon folks, did the bouncer do right?

I'm kind of conflicted on this one. I absolutely believe that it's a scummy thing for a man to hit a woman but equally you can't allow half the population free reign to lash out at men either.

I think I'm going to go with equal rights here and say that he did right. She tried to assault him and the argument could be made that he acted in self defence.

Am I in the minority in thinking this?

It's disgraceful, shocking, and sickening. A bouncer punching a woman like that.

A roundhouse kick to the jaw would have been much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

I call BS on that! Everyone knows scousers never buy The Sun newspaper. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

It's a real tough one for the bouncer, he probably could have restrained her but that runs the risk of getting scratched, bitten etc (FWIW, women fighting is ALWAYS worse than men for viciousness) you'd also be likely to have a white knight or two come running to her defence.
    He probably could have used the punch as a last resort, but then again maybe it was. That bouncer in the Dublin video from a few months back had the right approach (even though it was lads he faced) where he threw punches as the last resort and it was the last resort!

Glenster wrote: »
    I'm just being realistic.

Surely before you've had a chance to assess the situation your primary goal is to get your attacker away from you as quickly as possible.

That's what the guy in the video does, lashes out immediately and buys himself a few seconds to figure out what is going on.

At the end of the video it looks as though she might come over to him again, I'd say if he socks her again, that's too much, as he's had a second to see what's going on.

It doesn't take a punch in the face to get your attacker away from you when they're twice your size, get a grip.

The amount of snowflakes on here going on about "assault" is unreal. If you consider a swing from a drunken woman an assault then you shouldn't be really be working as a bouncer should you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

It doesn't take a punch in the face to get your attacker away from you when they're twice your size, get a grip.

The amount of snowflakes on here going on about "assault" is unreal. If you consider a swing from a drunken woman an assault then you shouldn't be really be working as a bouncer should you?
    Ahaha seriously?! So he's expected to take a job as bouncer to pay the bills with the understanding drunk women can hit him and he can't defend himself because it's not really assault?
    Maybe the expectation he should have to being assaulted comes from attitudes like yours, that it's fine for women to hit men without repercussions because it would be "wrong" for a man to defend himself?

I'd suggest if she wants to be treated as a small defenceless woman, she act like one. Swinging your fists at people is not how women behave. If you are going to act like a scumbag you're going to get treated like one.

If you were in Tesco doing your shopping and some middle aged aul one took a swing at you because she wanted the last baguette, would you feel like you weren't assaulted because she was smaller than you?

Can't have any sympathy for the lady in the video, she threw the first punch. Would imagine this could have been handled a little better by the bouncer too though.