Bouncer punches woman who tried to punch him.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

That is not pleasant viewing. And yes I'd feel the same if it was a bloke getting the slap and not a woman. Poor feckin bouncer.

That's pretty patronising.

Men and women being separated in sport? Shakespeare penning "frailty, the name is women". And the countless other examples out there underpinning the perception of women as being simply not as powerful, athletic, or able to dole out a beating.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 109 ✭✭Dublin Pintman

I think society also kinda takes that view. For example, a person who is perceived as much stronger who is beating up a weaker person, even if both are male, may receive opprobrium as a bully. We all know the "pick on someone your own size" phrase.

You're absolutely right, when the weaker guy is the victim of the aggression from the bigger guy. You think the smaller guy will get the 'power imbalance' pass when he's the one starting it? Ha ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

pilly wrote: »
    I can not believe the amount of people on here saying gender should not come into it. Is this actually where we're at now?

I don't know how others are brought up but my 2 sons would never lay a hand a woman whether or not she was beating the crap out of them, for the simple reason that they KNOW RIGHT FROM WRONG.

They know that there's a dangerous power imbalance there.

Gender plays such a small role in determining the risk of serious injury that it’s pretty much irrelevant.

Size, age, fitness, health, and host of other factors are what matter.
    A small person hitting a large person could kill the latter if, for example, he or she was at risk for an aneurism. What should one do? Demand a CT scan before striking?

There are other similarly serious risk factors that likewise have no observable signs (and which have nothing to do with gender).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Men and women being separated in sport? Shakespeare penning "frailty, the name is women". And the countless other examples out there underpinning the perception of women as being simply not as powerful, athletic, or able to dole out a beating.

The fact that women are seen as the weaker sex. Theres a lot of women out there that I'd rather a smack off a man rather than a smack off them.
    Also where does it stop? If some tiny little thing comes swinging at me would I not be able to hit her back incase I was at an advantage over her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I think society also kinda takes that view. For example, a person who is perceived as much stronger who is beating up a weaker person, even if both are male, may receive opprobrium as a bully. We all know the "pick on someone your own size" phrase.

Did the woman here not start on the bouncer??

Dont go looking for trouble,if you can't handle the repercussions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I think he was within his rights to give her a hard slap. Punching her would have been unnecessary and OTT.

Did the woman here not start on the bouncer??

Dont go looking for trouble,if you can't handle the repercussions

I don't really know what happened beforehand. I'm not sure we know how it started. The fact that someone was filming it suggests there was some exchange...but again I don't know the context. Presume the police will get to the cause if it all and that might be relevant in deciding whether one or both are prosecuted.

Still funny......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I don't really know what happened beforehand. I'm not sure we know how it started. The fact that someone was filming it suggests there was some exchange...but again I don't know the context. Presume the police will get to the cause if it all and that might be relevant in deciding whether one or both are prosecuted.

Surly a read of thread title outlines what happened?

Hands up, hadn't heard that "adage". Have you just made it up?

Made it up? Nah, it's as old as parenting itself I'd wager. Loads of parents tell you never hit someone unless they hit you first. You've honestly never heard that? I find that hard to believe.
    She's not "man enough". She's a woman.

That's a bit of word play. Basically if she's comfortable hitting a man, she should be ready to be hit back. There's a dangerous precedent set if you tell girls/women they're allowed to hit men whenever they feel like it.

I don't like the idea of men hitting women.

What do you think of women hitting men? I don't like the idea of women hitting men and trying to hide behind their gender. I don't like the idea of society absolving women of hitting men. I don't like the idea that men should take it. I don't like the idea of men being victims of domestic abuse and being told to ''man up''. I also don't like the idea of anyone hitting anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,420 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Dude.......just how old are you to be quoting Shakespeare as relevant to modern day society?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

The fact that women are seen as the weaker sex. Theres a lot of women out there that I'd rather a smack off a man rather than a smack off them.
    Also where does it stop? If some tiny little thing comes swinging at me would I not be able to hit her back incase I was at an advantage over her?

I think you're missing his point rather spectacularly. And this is me speaking as a woman. I think if I was to have a choice between a punch from a man or a punch from a woman, I'd take the woman punch everytime. And I'm not talking Katie Taylor and the likes. Just average man and woman

I think you missed the point. Point being that you shouldn't be able to start a fight and not expect retaliation because you are a woman and your victim is a man.

Instead of quoting Shakespeare, how about getting a grip and stop excusing scumbags (yes there are female scumbags!) from punching people willy nilly and then hiding behind their size disadvantage as a defence? ''Hey, I'm smaller/weaker than you so I can do what I want to you, ok?.'' Nah, not gonna fly. If you have a size disadvantage, it's probably smart not to pick a fight on someone bigger isn't it? It's so simplistically logical that you'd wanna be obtuse not to get the concept.

I think you missed the point. Point being that you shouldn't be able to start a fight and not expect retaliation because you are a woman and your victim is a man.

No. I got that point. In fact my post earlier on in the thread said it made for grim viewing irrespective of the gender of the person the bouncer punched. I even proceeded to sympathise with the bouncer who was put in that situation.

Fair enough. I thought you were trying to give the attacker a free pass on account of her gender.

Nope, I wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I'm telling you now, woman or no woman, if Cris Cyborg punched me, or even if she just took a swing at me and missed.. I'd fcuking leg it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I don't know if I would. I've seen men and women fights. Men tend to smack and it's done. I don't want to be swung around the street by my hair, have my earrings torn out of my ears, my face scratched,or being split open with a bottle. Fights I've witnessed, women fight dirty

Really? I've never seen a man on man fight and 'it's done with one smack. In fact, my own brother's head was kicked in until he was unconscious and then you have that lad that was kicked to death outside Annabels in Dublin. I don't think scumbag knows a gender or class.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Instead of quoting Shakespeare, how about getting a grip and stop excusing scumbags (yes there are female scumbags!) from punching people willy nilly and then hiding behind their size disadvantage as a defence? ''Hey, I'm smaller/weaker than you so I can do what I want to you, ok?.'' Nah, not gonna fly. If you have a size disadvantage, it's probably smart not to pick a fight on someone bigger isn't it? It's so simplistically logical that you'd wanna be obtuse not to get the concept.

You seem annoyed.

Maybe just accept that people will have different opinions.

You wanna punch women where they swing at you, go right ahead and send teeth flying. Don't get so cross if someone says it's not for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

You wanna punch women where they swing at you, go right ahead and send teeth flying. Don't get so cross if someone says it's not for me.

What is annoying Conor74 is you keep saying the same thing over and over again. We got your point from your first post but you keep coming back repeating it!

You seem annoyed.

Strange that you feel you don't have the right to defend yourself when your attacker is a woman. Glad I'm not you!

Winterlong wrote: »
    What is annoying Conor74 is you keep saying the same thing over and over again. We got your point from your first post but you keep coming back repeating it!

Speaking of repetition, 3 different posters have called me a white night. I can't say I've seen them raise a novel point in every post either, come to think of it. In fact, some just seem to be getting angrier...that's not really developing a position, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Strange that you feel you don't have the right to defend yourself when your attacker is a woman. Glad I'm not you!

You don't have to attack anyone to defend yourself. You hardly need anyone to tell you whether it's "ok" or it isn't either. You're an adult, you don't need another adults permission to do what you're going to do anyway.

Speaking of repetition, 3 different posters have called me a white night. I can't say I've seen them raise a novel point in every post either, come to think of it. In fact, some just seem to be getting angrier...that's not really developing a position, is it?

You kinda are a white knight though...

You seem annoyed.

If you actually read my posts, I said I never have hit a woman and I probably never would unless she had a blade or something. What I did say though was that I have zero sympathy for any scumbag that lashes out and gets a dose back in return.

And I'm not annoyed or cross, where are you picking that up from within that quoted post may I ask? I'm just perplexed that some posters think bigger people should be allowed to be hit because they're bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

So you raised your sons to be too ashamed to defend themselves? Great job on that one. Presumably you also tell them not to defend themselves if they are attacked by a smaller, weaker man?

I suggest you take a job in a pub or a nightclub and see how vicious some women can be.

Defend themselves against what? A drunken woman taking a swing? No defence needed.

Neither of my sons are ashamed of anything thank you very much. Very happy, well adjusted men with the utmost of respect for women.

Both have seen the video and think that he's a scumbag and a joke of a bouncer. They think it's a joke actually that someone who's supposed to be a trained "bouncer" needs to punch anyone.

Someone who instinctively takes a swing at a woman is the type of abusive arsehole who would hit his girlfriend/wife anyway. Also the type who wouldn't punch a man the same size as himself for fear he'd get as good back if not worse.

Both of my lads tell me that all of their friends think the same so Boards is obviously not representative on this issue. Doesn't surprise me though given the amount on here that are purely keyboard warriors.

Thanks be to ****.