Can we stop warning people about checkpoints?

• 20-04-2017 05:36AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Ok, I think I am on to a loser already. It's been decreed in every parish that flashing the headlights for an oncoming speeder that he is approaching a speed van or a checkpoint is what's called, doing a solid. It's not though. It is keeping the local driving lunatics on the road and I for one, am sick of it.

I meet them everywhere, and they are getting worse. People are forgetting how to drive and have zero manners when behind the wheel. Come right up behind me again, try to intimidate me to endanger myself to get out of your way. It happens every five minutes on the m50. These people cannot drive. I cannot wait for a future RSA campaign alerting people to the dangers of flashing the high beams. And by cannot, I mean that I can not stand idly by until such a campaign brings about a change in mindset.

I have been doing quite a few shifts in the EDs of Dublin and with every bump and bang that arrives in the door via the latest RTA, I wonder, could the person who caused it have been stopped before they wreaked havoc upon someone else's life. Every accident has its own story, yes that's true, but I would like if the ones caused by irresponsible drivers could at least be quelled for a bit.

Maybe your Tax was out and someone flashed you before and now you think that you have some debt of gratitude to repay. You are not helping anybody by flashing an oncoming driver of any sort of Garda or whatever type of speed van. In fact, your hurting people.

Here, I don't expect people to row in and agree, and if you don't, fine, but think about it and pass it on and let someone else save a life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Flashing lights, lights

She don't believe in shootin' stars
    But she believe in shoes and cars
    Wood floors in the new apartment
    Couture from the store's department
    You more like L'eau de Stardee ****
    I'm more of the, trips to Florida
    Order the h'orderves, views of the Water
    Straight from the page of your favorite author
    And the weather so breezy
    Man why can't life always be this easy
    She in the mirror dancing so sleazy
    I get a call like where are you Yeezy
    Try to hit you with a 'Oeur de Whopee'
    Till I get flashed by the paparazzi

To answer your Q. Nothing wrong with warning someone when a money grab van is located right between a road switch from 80 to 60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

DangerMouse27... People are forgetting how to drive and have zero manners when behind the wheel

People as in everyone ?, well

I remember when, I remember, I remember when I lost my mind
    There was something so pleasant about that place
    Even your emotions have an echo in so much space...

Well I think you're crazy
    I think you're crazy
    Just like them
    ooh ooh ooh ooh oohwoo.

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Sure its great craic letting the lads know you're pure sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Neighsayer

I hardly ever let a journey pass without flashing a couple of oncoming cars in the hope it might encourage them to slow down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭hytrogen

I wonder, could the person who caused it have been stopped before they wreaked havoc upon someone else's life..

I'm driving around in my car
    I'm driving too fast
    I'm driving too far
    I'd like to change my point of view
    I feel so lonely
    I'm waiting for you
    But nothing ever happens and I wonder

I wonder how
    I wonder why
    Yesterday you told me 'bout the blue blue sky
    And all that I can see is just a yellow lemon-tree
    I'm turning my head up and down
    I'm turning turning turning turning turning around
    And all that I can see is just another lemon-tree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

People as in everyone ?, well

I remember when, I remember, I remember when I lost my mind
    There was something so pleasant about that place
    Even your emotions have an echo in so much space...

Well I think you're crazy
    I think you're crazy
    Just like them
    ooh ooh ooh ooh oohwoo.

I never said everyone.

I can't think of a musical reference to highlight my point.

I never said everyone.

I can't think of a musical reference to highlight my point.

Please try, as I am getting the musical feeling for this thread immensely.

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

Please try, as I am getting the musical feeling for this thread immensely.

Hey hey my my
    Rock and roll can never die
    There's more to the picture
    Than meets the eye
    Hey hey my my

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

You got a fast car
    I want a ticket to anywhere
    Maybe we make a deal
    Maybe together we can get somewhere
    Anyplace is better
    Starting from zero got nothing to lose
    Maybe we'll make something
    Me, myself I got nothing to prove

Neighsayer wrote: »
    I hardly ever let a journey pass without flashing a couple of oncoming cars in the hope it might encourage them to slow down.

Well that's a bit different.
    I am on about flashing a car to warn them of a speed trap or Garda checkpoint.

who's gonna flash you when
    it's too late
    who's gonna tell you things
    aren't so great
    you can't go on
    thinking flashing's wrong
    who's gonna drive you home tonight

To answer your Q. Nothing wrong with warning someone when a money grab van is located right between a road switch from 80 to 60

Money, get back
    I'm all right Jack keep your hands off of my stack
    Money, it's a hit
    Don't give me that do goody good bullsh1t

Well that's a bit different.
    I am on about flashing a car to warn them of a speed trap or Garda checkpoint.

Can you please accompany your post with a relevant song lyric, it just makes the rest of us look weird if you don't.

hytrogen wrote: »
    I'm driving around in my car
    I'm driving too fast
    I'm driving too far
    I'd like to change my point of view
    I feel so lonely
    I'm waiting for you
    But nothing ever happens and I wonder

I wonder how
    I wonder why
    Yesterday you told me 'bout the blue blue sky
    And all that I can see is just a yellow lemon-tree
    I'm turning my head up and down
    I'm turning turning turning turning turning around
    And all that I can see is just another lemon-tree

Well now I can't get that out of my head. I will say thank you but I wasn't being in any way musical.

Neighsayer wrote:

Slow down, lie down
    Remember it's just you and me
    Don't sell out, bow out
    Remember how this used to be

I just want you closer
    Is that alright?
    Baby let's get closer tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Guy Sajer

If you think about it OP, the Gardai presence is slowing cars down and that's the aim is it not? As well as revenue of course.
    But Gardai can be seen in only one stretch of road that they park. by flashing ahead your are extending the distance that cars will stop speeding. Every little helps.

Well now I can't get that out of my head. I will say thank you but I wasn't being in any way musical.

But even the planets are musical, everything is musical throughout the universe... but you aren't ?. Why is this ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,567 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

You're dangerous 'cause you're honest
    You're dangerous, you don't know what you want
    Well you left my heart empty as a vacant lot
    For any spirit to haunt

Hey hey sha la la
    Hey hey

You're an accident waiting to happen
    You're a piece of glass left in a beach
    Well, you tell me things I know you're not supposed to
    Then you leave me just out of reach

Hey hey sha la la

Who's gonna ride your wild horses?
    Who's gonna drown in your blue sea?
    Who's gonna fall at the foot of thee?

Well you stole it 'cause I needed the cash
    And you killed it 'cause I wanted revenge
    Well you lied to me 'cause I asked you to
    Baby, can we still be friends?

Hey hey sha la la

Who's gonna fall at the foot of thee?

Oh, the deeper I spin
    Oh, the hunter will sin for your ivory skin
    Took a drive in the dirty rain
    To a place where the wind calls your name
    Under the trees the river laughing at you and me
    Hallelujah, heavens white rose
    The doors you open
    I just can't close

Don't turn around, don't turn around again
    Don't turn around, your gypsy heart
    Don't turn around, don't turn around again
    Don't turn around, and don't look back
    Come on now love, don't you look back!

Who's gonna taste your salt water kisses?
    Who's gonna take the place of me?

Who's gonna tame the heart of thee?

But even the planets are musical, everything is musical throughout the universe... but you aren't ?. Why is this ?.

I don't think what I said or was referencing had in any way, shape or form anything to do with music.

I could be Mr. Music the music teacher but I was talking about road safety.

I don't think what I said or was referencing had in any way, shape or form anything to do with music.

'Cuz teacher there are things that I don't want to learn
    And the last one I had made me cry
    So I don't wanna learn to hold you, touch you
    I think that you are mine
    Because there ain't no joy for an uptown boy
    Whose teacher has told him goodbye, goodbye, goodbye

Sorry, but the way the world is at the moment, I thought I was in an alternate reality.

I'm still waiting on a road traffic song in lyrics though, no getting out of it that easy.

But I do agree with flashing oncoming vehicles, and I don't even drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Neighsayer wrote: »

It would help if you had nicer tits

I don't know what you're looking for
    You haven't found it baby, that's for sure
    You rip me up, you spread me all around
    In the dust of the deed of time
    We don't need no education 
    We don't need no thought control
    No dark sarcasm in the classroom
    Teachers leave them kids alone
    Hey! Teachers! Leave them kids alone
    All in all it's just another brick in the wall
    All in all you're just another brick in the wall

I'm still waiting on a road traffic song in lyrics though, no getting out of it that easy.

Crosstown Traffic?

I go driving in my car,
    Beep beep beep beep beep beep beep

Look at what I've become.
    I hope posters are taking something from the original post and not just adding lyrics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Drive the M50 every day and it always had a lot of cnuts but the increased volumes make it worse.

Actually find myself often sticking in the inside lane just because there's more muppetry going on in the middle and overtaking lanes.

Not so much speeding as terrible lane discipline, cutting in, veering suddenly across lanes for exits, tailgating etc.

No way would I flash anybody to warn them of a speed trap either. Up to them to accept the consequences of their driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Drive the M50 every day and it always had a lot of cnuts but the increased volumes make it worse.

Actually find myself often sticking in the inside lane

That's where you should be driving unless you are overtaking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭dbagman

Can we start warning people about tv licence inspectors......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

No way would I flash anybody to warn them of a speed trap either. Up to them to accept the consequences of their driving.

Expect tedious responses about it not being your place to police the roads. Boards.ie was the first place I ever saw people utter such absolute ****.