Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Bonniedog wrote: »
    That was by far their best game so far and confidence will be high facing, most likely, the Kingdom in the final.

Not unless the ref starts whistling for the keepers of the flame. They're in trouble and he is'nt giving them a dig out. It's outrageous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Good performance. In fairness, Donegal were struggling stamina wise but good tactics from Farrell et al to exploit that. That was by far their best game so far and confidence will be high facing, most likely, the Kingdom in the final.

Not yet! Galway playing well

Impressed by the Dublin side, despite losing O Callaghan played well. Right tactics from Farrell - will be an interesting final!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Kerry having their bottom handed to them so far but they showed the flag a while back and seems to be a serious wind.

Hard to come back from that sort of hiding all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Galway v Dublin u21 final who would have thought that?.

It is like a couple of years ago when Tipp beat Dublin in the semis and Tyrone beat Roscommon.

Many an accumulator ruined I think, but I can't complain.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Good performance. In fairness, Donegal were struggling stamina wise but good tactics from Farrell et al to exploit that. That was by far their best game so far and confidence will be high facing, most likely, the Kingdom in the final.

Defensively excellent from the throw in. Really good.

It is wide open now. Huge upset in the other semi.

I assume final will be in Portlaoise or Tullamore. Was Portlaoise when Galway beat us handy enough in 2002 I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

I assume final will be in Portlaoise or Tullamore. Was Portlaoise when Galway beat us handy enough in 2002 I think?

It was in portlaoise. Great day it was too!

Good crack before and after. Huge crowd too as I recall. Galway were far too good for Dublin that day. Hopefully, we shall exact vengeance :)

PP just posted odds for final. Galway 5/6, Dublin 6/5. I would have priced Galway a bit shorter, maybe 8/11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Ball In Towards

Cracking result for Dublin today. The games clearly caught up on Donegal...

The final's gonna be something else. Surprised by how poor Kerry were...

Yeah it was over in 15 minutes. I remember seen some Dublin supporters who were late take one look at the scoreboard and walk out again!

PP just posted odds for final. Galway 5/6, Dublin 6/5. I would have priced Galway a bit shorter, maybe 8/11.

I don't know about that. Galway did thier best to throw it away at the end when a bit of pressure was put on them.

That redheaded fella in midfield for Galway missed about 4 frees in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Well done to the lads, especially after losing Con so early. Be interesting to see how the game would have gone if Donegal weren't so knackered.

Had to laugh at the Kerry result (the players, I never laugh at them) but the result.....especially after all the hype and propaganda about the Kerry Globetrotter conveyor belt about to re-take over the world. Again. Guess hunger and hard work bate hype and hot air any day of the week, eh? Gosh, where have we heard that before? Ahem....:rolleyes:

We don't have to trash talk Galway for the next two weeks, do we? I'm sorry. I got 'nowt left in the tank, from playing Mayo and Kerry 8795 times in the last 18 months. Connemara is lovely, Eyre Sq has the best Christmas Market in the country and, Galway Girl isn't all that annoying, as long as it's 2am at your favourite cousins wedding and, you ain't feelin' no pain. The Saw Doctors can fcuk right off though !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Missed the games today due to work.
    Did Con O'Callaghan get injured early or black-carded.?
    Should be a cracking final anyway, Portlaoise most likely.
    Kerry will be bitterly disappointed, they had this A.I. in the bag before a ball was kicked in Munster, according to their supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Ball In Towards

washman3 wrote: »
    Missed the games today due to work.
    Did Con O'Callaghan get injured early or black-carded.?.

Black card after around 4 mins. Didn't see it, so not sure if it was harsh. Could've been a big blow tho...

Got a black card in the first 5 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Thanks for that.
    TG4 should be showing it again during next week, or Sunday Game tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Greetings from Cork.

Great to beat the nordies today. Horrible football wins ya nothing. May aswell lose in the first round to the under 12 camogie team if you ask me. They'll never learn.

I heard here the Kerry lads pooped their pants today. Didn't see it and don't care either way, possibly Cork rivalry. But heard Galway could have scored 20 goals in the first half.

Up the Dubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

We achieve,what ye dream.

Can't ever remember dreaming of getting hockeyed by Galway, now that you mention it. But whatever floats yer boat. :rolleyes:

Here's the black card.

http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/thepateam/con-ocallaghan-black-card/
    washman3 wrote: »
    Thanks for that.
    TG4 should be showing it again during next week, or Sunday Game tomorrow night.

Get out Slats. Get out NOW. While you still can.

Callaghan's was black card within terms of the stupid rule, but so were others that he let go, or rather properly yellow carded.

Callaghan up ended your man. Was that "cynical" or just a foul that deserved a yellow? Is a back getting fouled when nowhere near the ball a black card? Surely not.

Are head high challenges, which there were several today, dirty and deserving of yellows - one would have resulted in a red had Dub stayed down - or "cynical" and black cards?

it is mad rule and sympathy is mostly with refs who have to decide about angels dancing on heads of pins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Callaghan's was black card within terms of the stupid rule, but so were others that he let go, or rather properly yellow carded.

Callaghan up ended your man. Was that "cynical" or just a foul that deserved a yellow? Is a back getting fouled when nowhere near the ball a black card? Surely not.

Are head high challenges, which there were several today, dirty and deserving of yellows - one would have resulted in a red had Dub stayed down - or "cynical" and black cards?

it is mad rule and sympathy is mostly with refs who have to decide about angels dancing on heads of pins.

Ref was shocking with his cards today, the 2nd black didn't look like a cynical haul down either from where I was!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,771 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

ProudDUB wrote: »
    We don't have to trash talk Galway for the next two weeks, do we? I'm sorry. I got 'nowt left in the tank, from playing Mayo and Kerry 8795 times in the last 18 months. Connemara is lovely, Eyre Sq has the best Christmas Market in the country and, Galway Girl isn't all that annoying, as long as it's 2am at your favourite cousins wedding and, you ain't feelin' no pain. The Saw Doctors can fcuk right off though !

Galway Gaa people are pretty sound at all times, at least that's what I've experienced. They're schizophrenic in both codes, All Ireland winners one day, and then they'd struggle to get past New York or London the next, but the supporters know it though, means they could hockey you in a game and be humble about it after.

Should be a great final, delighted for the lads, and really delighted that someone threw a spanner in the Kerry conveyor belt.

I think Con can't have too many complaints about that black card, an off the ball tackle that could only have ended up with the guy on the ground, right in front of the ref too. The only complaint could be that without the stupid black card rule, he'd get a yellow, and stay on the pitch. That's something I'd prefer, right now we have all this discussion about whether it should be a black, yellow or red, it just pure confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Slattsy wrote: »
    Horrible football wins ya nothing.

Did you watch the game?

I actually hope Dublin play the exact same way as they did yesterday and win it.

Seen a few people slagging off the game and way Dublin played. I thought they were very pacy and mostly over ran the defence. Kicking and frees were a bit erratic (as were Donegal's mainly due to weird cross field wind) after Callaghan was sent off but impressive performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Seen a few people slagging off the game and way Dublin played. I thought they were very pacy and mostly over ran the defence. Kicking and frees were a bit erratic (as were Donegal's mainly due to weird cross field wind) after Callaghan was sent off but impressive performance.

There's a massive different between defensive and negative.

Some people can't grasp that.

Anyway, far too many Old Fashioned's last night. Drinking something called Rebel Red today. It's not bad ☺️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Dublin were a mirror image of the Donegal seniors under McGuinness. Fierce work rate in defence and good at working the ball up the field with impressive runners.

Ironic that Donegal (under 21's that is) looked clueless in response. A bit like England with the soccer. Created a game everyone else is better at.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

The 2017 Hurling Championship Pools thread is now up and running. All are welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Aren't the PP renewals up end of this month ?

Anyways getting the last bit of value out of the 2016 one I'll be heading into da'nell Thursday more than likely miss the 1st game, but Ballyboden and OPER should make the journey worthwhile.

Heading up to Garristown Friday night for hopefully a cracker between Skerries and Fingallians, finally Fins get to try themselves out in the top tier after so many heartbreaks in the IFC, nice young team too plenty of scope to improve along the way.

If my luck holds with Mrs D, I'll chance the 2 games in the Naul Saturday in the IFC - might even bring her along and double up as date night :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DoctaDee wrote:
    OPER

Thank you.