Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

The BIL and his wife are separated and he is staying with a friend while he looks for somewhere to stay so we have the kids for 2 days while herself went off with her friends for a few days.

Anyway, I arrived in late yesterday evening just before the BIL left and the eldest belched every time the father spoke and wouldn't stop despite being told to. Anyway, nothing I could do so I fixed up some supper for myself and herself made something for the kids so we sat down for a bite and a chat before bed time as always.

Anyway, yer man decided to try the same thing with me, belching every time I said anything so I stood up and took his supper and put it in the oven and told him if his stomach was upset, he should head outside for half an hour until his stomach settled and I would reheat it then. I waited till he had left and sat down and finished my supper and he cam in after 10 minutes and behaved himself.

They were just up when I came in this morning and eating breakfast (cocopops because he won't eat anything else:rolleyes:) so I made a cup of tea and toast and sat down and he started the crap again. I said nothing, took his bowl and threw the cocopops out the door to the dogs and told him they didn't seem to be agreeing with his stomach so when he came back after his walk outside, there is porridge and rice crispies there for him, whichever one he wants.

The look of shock on his face is priceless. I hate throwing out food but in this case I don't mind. I'd say he isn't used to hearing no!:)

What age is the young fella and what sort of ****e and scutter he would he have seen and heard during the marriage breakup.Not easy on him I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

The BIL and his wife are separated and he is staying with a friend while he looks for somewhere to stay so we have the kids for 2 days while herself went off with her friends for a few days.

Anyway, I arrived in late yesterday evening just before the BIL left and the eldest belched every time the father spoke and wouldn't stop despite being told to. Anyway, nothing I could do so I fixed up some supper for myself and herself made something for the kids so we sat down for a bite and a chat before bed time as always.

Anyway, yer man decided to try the same thing with me, belching every time I said anything so I stood up and took his supper and put it in the oven and told him if his stomach was upset, he should head outside for half an hour until his stomach settled and I would reheat it then. I waited till he had left and sat down and finished my supper and he cam in after 10 minutes and behaved himself.

They were just up when I came in this morning and eating breakfast (cocopops because he won't eat anything else:rolleyes:) so I made a cup of tea and toast and sat down and he started the crap again. I said nothing, took his bowl and threw the cocopops out the door to the dogs and told him they didn't seem to be agreeing with his stomach so when he came back after his walk outside, there is porridge and rice crispies there for him, whichever one he wants.

The look of shock on his face is priceless. I hate throwing out food but in this case I don't mind. I'd say he isn't used to hearing no!:)

I know he's probably upset but you're the kind of person I like! Hate pandering to kids, my aunt is terrible for it, I babysat her two eldest but was away as the youngest grew up so never minded him. Spoilt isn't the word for him!

Really is a small world here, never had such a coincidence with folk as in the last few days. Had a booking on AirBnB from Estonia so mentioned it to them that my brother lives and works over there. Now the irish contingent over there is really small so the fact that they stayed with us was a coincidence in itself. But the husband is from Leitrim and knows the area almost as well as myself, including learning to swim in the lake beside me! He used to drive for our old contractor as well and seemed happy out watching the cows in the shed :D
    So next time I'm in Estonia I have to go visit them as well and they're going to show me round local style (the wife is Estonian).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I said wrote: »
    What age is the young fella and what sort of ****e and scutter he would he have seen and heard during the marriage breakup.Not easy on him I'd imagine.

He's 10 and his sister is 8. Not a bother out of her, fits in with what is happening but yer man is just out to cause consternation and is using the fact nobody is going to tell him stop to go crazy imo.

Breakups are tough on all involved but this lad is a book in the telling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

Is it ok to spray a field with MCPA and spread fertiliser on it close together, is it better to do either first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

tanko wrote: »
    Is it ok to spray a field with MCPA and spread fertiliser on it close together, is it better to do either first?

I'd go with the fertilizer first. You'll get a better kill the more vigorously plants are growing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

He's 10 and his sister is 8. Not a bother out of her, fits in with what is happening but yer man is just out to cause consternation and is using the fact nobody is going to tell him stop to go crazy imo.

Are you not able to outburp him ?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Buford, doing right, children actually like certainty. Gives them an anchor.

Toe up the hole so that'll cure him

Bullocks wrote: »
    Are you not able to outburp him ?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Fair play to you. Very innovative thinking and exactly what was needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Bulford- fair play to you. A nice calm way to deal with it. Very innovative too. I'm working a fair few years with young lads and that is as good as I've heard.

Digger man is up opening the site today. More relief than excitement to get started. Just have to hear from bank about money before we go any further.

I am definitely going to be in the bad books with the mother.....I decided to mow the lawn just now and was just figuring out the new lawnmower they got a couple of weeks ago. So three sort of handles on it, one main one and two smaller above & below that fitted onto the main one. Grand, one is def for starting it, didn't have a clue about the other but got her started and away I went round the lawn.
    Filled the box and started it again, right in front of the door, decided I'd try this lower handle, maybe it was higher rev or something.

Nope. Self drive.
    I have mowed down half her daffodils. Pray for me. :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Ah sure they're nearly gone to seed tell her:pac:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I am definitely going to be in the bad books with the mother.....I decided to mow the lawn just now and was just figuring out the new lawnmower they got a couple of weeks ago. So three sort of handles on it, one main one and two smaller above & below that fitted onto the main one. Grand, one is def for starting it, didn't have a clue about the other but got her started and away I went round the lawn.
    Filled the box and started it again, right in front of the door, decided I'd try this lower handle, maybe it was higher rev or something.

Nope. Self drive.

Could you mow another few of um to kinda even it of abit and she might not notice.

I said wrote: »
    Toe up the hole so that'll cure him
    Easy enough with your own, whole different ball game with someone elses child though. But I agree it's needed.

Thanks for the messages folks, I wasn't sure if I had gone too far with it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

Easy enough with your own, whole different ball game with someone elses child though. But I agree it's needed.

Thanks for the messages folks, I wasn't sure if I had gone too far with it:)

You couldn't let him away with that. But just stay cool and he will respect you for it in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Dig up a few bunches from somewhere else, and transplant them in..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Looked at the Siege of Jadotville last night. Its a brilliant film. They were tough men. Myself and the auld lad were watching it. Then he told me one of the fellas who worked here on the farm was part of that unit when the attack took place but very rarely talked about it.

Nope. Self drive.

You're fcuked so mowed a hape of them here years ago only thing that grows back is the leaves where the flowers used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Looked at the Siege of Jadotville last night. Its a brilliant film. They were tough men. Myself and the auld lad were watching it. Then he told me one of the fellas who worked here on the farm was part of that unit when the attack took place but very rarely talked about it.

That's because they were classed as cowards back then which was a disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I like your style buford. Your cut from the same cloth as me.

I know where to go the next time we are short instructors for recruits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

That have me a good laugh. A separation can't be easy on young kids though. Cousin started acting out like that too, I'd say he was about the same age. Must be near leaving cert age now and is as nice a young lad as you'll meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Kids don't have the skills to express their emotions the same way we adults do. Acting up is sometimes their only way to get attention. Still doesn't mean it has or should be tolerated. But it only stands to reason that that young lad would be finding his family situation hard to deal with. And he had no hand act or part in it. A victim of circumstance (oh sh*te I've turned into David Coleman!!:D)

Muckit wrote: »
    Kids don't have the skills to express their emotions the same way we adults do. Acting up is sometimes their only way to get attention. Still doesn't mean it has or should be tolerated. But it only stands to reason that that young lad would be finding his family situation hard to deal with. And he had no hand act or part in it. A victim of circumstance (oh sh*te I've turned into David Icke!!:D)
    Fixed that for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

See a local enough A.I.man has changed his van. Don't know if he going to get any sign writing on it. The writing, on the last van, before he got it changed said
    Joe Blogger, A.I.Cattle Breathing Service.
    Was driving around for a few months before he got it changed

See a local enough A.I.man has changed his van. Don't know if he going to get any sign writing on it. The writing, on the last van, before he got it changed said
    Joe Blogger, A.I.Cattle Breathing Service.
    Was driving around for a few months before he got it changed

He could have put the knackeries out of business if he stayed in that line of work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

You're gone too far now Buford.:pac:
    This Boards.ie Moderator business is starting to go to your head and affect you in real life now.

The poor fecker never stood a chance when he walked in the door.:p
    He'll be getting a yellow flag on his jumper for that now and anymore I suppose he'll be getting a red flag and then the poor chap will have to go to the resolution room or be banned from the house.:eek:
    Then he will have to change his name and postal address to get back into the house.

Just Buford though if you could warn him that if it does come to this, not to name himself after that county where you're house is or else he'll be talking about Donegal farmers over the breakfast table.
    (Which would be worse):o

All of which I think you did right. That he will respect you and you'll be some form of stability to him. But then as well maybe be not too serious the whole time too either. I know when I was in school I hated the teachers who would pile on the work but looking back I know they were the ones that cared about how you did. But there is a little difference between being a teacher and uncle too.
    Anyway you'll give the parents a stick to beat him over the head with if they need to reprimand him in the future.:p
    "If you do it again you're back to Buford's house".:D

Edit:Mods Please Please don't ban me for this.:o

I got away with it :D
    Told her they were reverting back into the lawn each year so I'd mowed them down to try afresh!
    And I made her a rasher sandwich:pac:

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    You're gone too far now Buford.:pac:
    This Boards.ie Moderator business is starting to go to your head and affect you in real life now.

The poor fecker never stood a chance when he walked in the door.:p
    He'll be getting a yellow flag on his jumper for that now and anymore I suppose he'll be getting a red flag and then the poor chap will have to go to the resolution room or be banned from the house.:eek:
    Then he will have to change his name and postal address to get back into the house.

Just Buford though if you could warn him that if it does come to this, not to name himself after that county where you're house is or else he'll be talking about Donegal farmers over the breakfast table.
    (Which would be worse):o

All of which I think you did right. That he will respect you and you'll be some form of stability to him. But then as well maybe be not too serious the whole time too either. I know when I was in school I hated the teachers who would pile on the work but looking back I know they were the ones that cared about how you did. But there is a little difference between being a teacher and uncle too.
    Anyway you'll give the parents a stick to beat him over the head with if they need to reprimand him in the future.:p
    "If you do it again you're back to Buford's house".:D

Edit:Mods Please Please don't ban me for this.:o

Thanks for reminding me that I have a pack of unopened cards around here someplace..... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Thanks for reminding me that I have a pack of unopened cards around here someplace..... :pac:

Cards you say hmmm.

screenshot_1.png

:D:D