Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

+1, stumbled across it on Netflix a few months back.

Tis good all right...

Just watched Sicaro there, twas all right... watched The Accountant a few weeks ago, was a good flic I thought...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Tis good all right...

Just watched Sicaro there, twas all right... watched The Accountant a few weeks ago, was a good flic I thought...

Great show that accountant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Watching the waltons here. Torture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,389 ✭✭✭orm0nd

daughter home for weekend,

Dad, ... rattle from under my car, slow puncture back right & boot lock not working,

2 grazed knuckles, and most likely a muscle pulled lower back, all fixed, asked anything else.

ah no that's grand sure I'm trading it next week anyhow :eek: :(

orm0nd wrote: »
    daughter home for weekend,

Dad, ... rattle from under my car, slow puncture back right & boot lock not working,

2 grazed knuckles, and most likely a muscle pulled lower back, all fixed, asked anything else.

ah no that's grand sure I'm trading it next week anyhow :eek: :(

Sure ain't ya loved

Oh reading out from his diaries from last 2 years. Interesting stuff. Great to read back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

My father fell yesterday out in the yard and hit his head on a dungfork left off the loader on the ground.
    I was spreading slurry at the time and didn't know nothing about it till I came in for tea at 4.
    He made his own way back in and mam never told me.
    Protestations to get him to the caredoc were met with "Sure I'm alright".
    I didn't know what to do with him.

The sister came home from work and I think he was starting to feel sick now so she called the caredoc and told them what happened.
    Anyway the ambulance came out and he was looked over and they decided to bring down to the hospital to be safe.

So he was discharged from A &E at 2 o clock this morning and I brought him home.
    He's bruised on the side of his face and he was lucky he didn't hit his eye.
    But he's staying inside now for the next few days and any sickness and he has to go straight back to hospital.

The consensus was that he was concused but hopefully it doesn't look like any more. But it's knocked the stuffing out of him and he's not as invincible as he thought he was. But it could have been much much worse and he knows it.

So milking on my own now.
    Farming comes nowhere though when it hits home like that.

Stay safe people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    My father fell yesterday out in the yard and hit his head on a dungfork left off the loader on the ground.
    I was spreading slurry at the time and didn't know nothing about it till I came in for tea at 4.
    He made his own way back in and mam never told me.
    Protestations to get him to the caredoc were met with "Sure I'm alright".
    I didn't know what to do with him.

The sister came home from work and I think he was starting to feel sick now so she called the caredoc and told them what happened.
    Anyway the ambulance came out and he was looked over and they decided to bring down to the hospital to be safe.

So he was discharged from A &E at 2 o clock this morning and I brought him home.
    He's bruised on the side of his face and he was lucky he didn't hit his eye.
    But he's staying inside now for the next few days and any sickness and he has to go straight back to hospital.

The consensus was that he was concused but hopefully it doesn't look like any more. But it's knocked the stuffing out of him and he's not as invincible as he thought he was. But it could have been much much worse and he knows it.

So milking on my own now.
    Farming comes nowhere though when it hits home like that.

Stay safe people.

Jesus, that's some shock to get, P6. I hope it doesn't set him back much.

He has diabetes as well.
    So that may have had something to do with the fall.

Ah hopefully we'll see.
    A day at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

He has diabetes as well.

Ah hopefully we'll see.
    A day at a time.

He's the right side of it now. Every day over him now for the next few days can make a huge difference when your recovering. Best of luck to him.

He has diabetes as well.

Ah hopefully we'll see.
    A day at a time.

Them things happen sometimes.

I've been stopped walking up and down the yard with two empty buckets and no idea what I was doing. I was taken off the silage pit one night and me moving tires from the edge and barely able to stand myself. Herself found me in the tractor one night at 4am going for the cows. I couldn't figure out where the lights were so I was sitting there waiting for dawn, only another two hours and I'd have them in the yard.

You have to laugh because if you didn't you'd cry.

I hope he feel better today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Them things happen sometimes.

I've been stopped walking up and down the yard with two empty buckets and no idea what I was doing. I was taken off the silage pit one night and me moving tires from the edge and barely able to stand myself. Herself found me in the tractor one night at 4am going for the cows. I couldn't figure out where the lights were so I was sitting there waiting for dawn, only another two hours and I'd have them in the yard.

You have to laugh because if you didn't you'd cry.

I hope he feel better today.

Tough going Buford ,stay safe and definitely stay laughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

He has diabetes as well.

Ah hopefully we'll see.
    A day at a time.

That was good going with having a trip to A&e on a sat night as well.
    Hope he is feeling better today.
    Any sign of him getting sick staring in the car and in no questions asked

He has diabetes as well.

Ah hopefully we'll see.
    A day at a time.

You only realise how much they actually dp around the place when they are not there. Hope he recovers soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Just to balance that, you could also realise (like l did) how much they didn't do and that for the vast major of the time they were more of a hindrance than a help! I still love him though!

whelan2 wrote: »
    You only realise how much they actually dp around the place when they are not there. Hope he recovers soon

You're right there , I pull out of my father saying he only feeds out a bit of silage and nuts but when he isnt around it makes my day a hell of a lot longer .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

My dad would have different pinion of how to get things done.
    Yesterday he wanted to move some gates around. So we decide what we want to do, so we wouldn't end up disagree half way through which usually ends up in a roaring match and a cup of tea to clear the It afterwards!
    So half way we had two gates tied to the towbar of the Jeep with a loop of rope. He said go up the hill and across the top as she might roll. I didn't think she would roll , but went up at a bit if an angle anyway. Just short of the top and she started to spin, slide, everything but up! I put on the Handbrake and thought I was safer staying in the Jeep the way it was slipping backwards. Looked I the mirror and here was himself going for the towbar...... He is clued in but doesn't see a risk the way I would. Anyway all ended well. Thank God.

Bullocks wrote: »
    Tough going Buford ,stay safe and definitely stay laughing
    Tbh, I'm probably healthier now than I would be if I hadn't been diagnosed so I try to look at it positively.

I also have a lot more sympathy for ewes with twin lamb disease and the liquid lectade is in the yard if I get a hypo:pac:

Thanks for all the well wishes folks.
    I'll pass them on.

He definitely looks to be on the mend today.
    Talking about the wexford tipp match.
    So not much wrong with him them.:pac:

He's going out for a walk today too.

It's my bleedin legs are feelin it now from the parlour.
    I wonder is there such a thing as sneaker wellies. Either that or a mat for the pit.
    It's only when you're on your own that you realise what changes you have to make to make things easier, gates, ropes, pulleys, etc.

Mind yourself too Buford.
    If i ever meet a zombie in Kerry I'll know how to address them as.;)

Thanks again folks.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Watching Galway v limerick on tg4. What a crap match. A lot of basic errors on both sides. Bunching like an U8's game. Was going to go but decided to go the u21 match last night instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Watson Hire have a 60lt quad sprayer for €199 down from €249 if anyones looking.

So did ye eat many Easter eggs? I bought none apart from mini eggs for the kids from the Easter bunny. Kids got scratch cards instead of eggs from my family. Daughter won €38

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I didn't eat any but bought one each for the two bucks and OH.
    I sent eldest a pic (via whatsapp) of his one yesterday wishing him a happy Easter. He got the text while traveling in a taxi in Sydney to a nightclub with some Irish friends - he is on a weeks holiday from Melbourne. Apparently the reaction in the taxi was epic :D
    He phoned me (via whatsapp) and the signal was super but he as fairly inebriated and difficult to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I bought a lot of them but gave majority of them away. I bought Easter eggs for all the kids at bingo there Wednesday night and the spares came home with me so I've four to eat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

For anyone who vaccinates cows (sucklers) pre Calving, how far pre do you administer & what's covered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Farrell wrote: »
    For anyone who vaccinates cows (sucklers) pre Calving, how far pre do you administer & what's covered

Apologies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Found a wasp building a nest on the end of a lightshade in a spare room this am(window was open), would it have been just 1 or could there be others by now?
    (Caught it in a towel wrapped it up did a little dance on it)

Found a wasp building a nest on the end of a lightshade in a spare room this am(window was open), would it have been just 1 or could there be others by now?
    (Caught it in a towel wrapped it up did a little dance on it)
    Poor wasp

I didnt anyhow but just because I'm too tired to drink for the last few weeks .
    Watched a bit of the late late show , it wasnt bad

I broke the spell last night , went for 2 pints with the wife but the music was good so stayed out for 12/13 and a kebab . We rounded it off there with a full irish and belgian waffles for the kids . I'm wedged :D
    No harm to blow off the cobwebs every now and then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I broke the spell last night , went for 2 pints with the wife but the music was good so stayed out for 12/13 and a kebab . We rounded it off there with a full irish and belgian waffles for the kids . I'm wedged :D
    No harm to blow off the cobwebs every now and then

Sounds like you blew um off in style. If I drink anything over 6 pints now I suffer fierce the next day. So if I have 7 pints it might aswell be 17, at least that's my excuse anyway.