no drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

No drink takes the good out of Good Friday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Think twice about going to Thailand at certain times of the year Nederland. They have more booze-free days. Nothing worse than a honky standing at a checkout in Tops/Big C having a meltdown because he can't get a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Go to mass op they have wine there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Take it as a suppository. It'll make it more effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

biko wrote: »

I heard of some lads doing that a few years ago with tampons and vodka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I heard of some lads doing that a few years ago with tampons and vodka.

Classy.

Seriously though the good Friday no alcohol thing is great.

People get together and have parties to "stick it to the man"
    We can't have alcohol you say, well **** you I say, we'll buy alcohol on Thursday and have a party!

I'm too old for this lark now but back in the day it was great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Classy.

Seriously though the good Friday no alcohol thing is great.

People get together and have parties to "stick it to the man"
    We can't have alcohol you say, well **** you I say, we'll buy alcohol on Thursday and have a party!

I'm too old for this lark now but back in the day it was great craic.

Agreed, good friday parties are fairly good craic. Brings me back to the gaff party days. My only gripe is that it's Catholic Church thing, since I'm not Catholic I don't think it should be a nationwide ban on selling booze in pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Some of the best house parties I have been to happened on good friday.

But, as with most people, I dont give a damn about the alcohol ban - whether it is rescinded or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Maybe you should reflect on why you are thinking of drink before 8am, life is about more than drink, it causes nothing but grief.

Could work nights or shift? Not everyone is 9-5 bed at 10pm up at 8am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Could always drive up north to get some booze if your that desperate.
    Take the train to Belfast drink on the train then go to a bar and drink some more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

B0jangles wrote: »
    t4vlTTz.jpg

There you go :)

(Might want to let it settle for a bit, it could be a bit shaken up)

Is the premium imported thing on the can a new thing? I havent drank a dutch gold in years thought it was made in St James's Gate lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

hungover as f*ck. Would murder some recovery beers but have nothing at all. Agh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭ablelocks

biko wrote: »

not the glue. don't use the glue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

hungover as f*ck. Would murder some recovery beers but have nothing at all. Agh.

Any white spirit in the shed? Does the Mrs have any liquors you could rob?

Failing that have you considered making friends with an elderly neighbour? Old people always have booze stashed away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,956 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Go to mass op they have wine there.

Not religious at all so not sure but I'm almost certain there are no masses today. Just stations of the cross. So no wine.

Hopefully this is the last year of this ridiculous, archaic and pointless forced alcohol ban and next year the adult population will be trusted to make their own choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I've a house full of alcohol and no interest in any of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Lucyfur wrote: »
    I've a house full of alcohol and no interest in any of it

You now also have a few hundred thirsty boardsies descending on your home :pac:

I quite like the ban, if only to see people getting so pointlessly annoyed at their civil liberties being so cruelly restricted. Isn't it little we have to be worrying about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Just watching the late late country n' Irish special, i know its good Friday but I'm considering drinking toilet duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

jjbrien wrote: »
    Could always drive up north to get some booze if your that desperate.
    Take the train to Belfast drink on the train then go to a bar and drink some more.

Somebody obviously never travelled by train anywhere on good Friday! I love trains, but you wouldn't catch me on one on good Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Just watching the late late country n' Irish special, i know its good Friday but I'm considering drinking toilet duck.

You'll be seeing the pink elephants if you do....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

This is probably the only day of the year that the Rex Bar on the Shankill Road becomes a serious consideration. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

I make my own beer, and always have a litre bottle of Jameson for my nightly ration.

By the time I've finished, I'll be pissed as a f**king hand cart, as ever.

Smug Cnut
    SmugBastard.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

1 litre of spirits is 40 units. TEN times the old daily recommended limits for a male man to be drinking.

Now the docs have reduced that limit to three per day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

I recall an old war story in which a group of Russians captured and drank a supply of German made Isopropyl alcohol, poisonous to drink. The Russians must have thought all alcohols were drinkable and many got very sick and some died as a result.

The Russians at the time used to severely punish soldiers for any reckless self harm as they figured the soldiers were trying to evade combat and a very likely death by deliberately making themselves sick. The story goes that the hapless survivors were shot for their foolishness.

The yanks used to mix Methyl alcohol with Ethyl alcohol made for non drinking purposes during the Prohibition era. The authorities figured it was better to poison or kill any alcoholic desperate enough to drink cleaning alcohol rather than allow the public to break the total and strictly enforced prohibition on the consumption of alcohol the States, which was in force from 1919 to 1933.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭upinsmoke

You do realize the thread is 2 years old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,895 ✭✭✭✭elperello

upinsmoke wrote: »
    You do realize the thread is 2 years old

Longest hangover in history? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Dubh Linn wrote: »
    I think the Good Friday drink ban should have stayed. Now, you might think that I am just being biased because I'm a Catholic, but surely, the country can do without a drink for just one day, in respect for alcoholics or religion, if for nothing else.

Probably one of the most pathetic things is seeing the queues in the off licence the night before. People panic buying drink. Says a lot really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

What do people google to find these old ****e threads?