Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

no drink

• 14-04-2017 6:42am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17

i have only one can of beer for good friday

help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Go to a cheap hotel and rent a room. You can drink in their bar.
    Go to the airport and book a cheap flight. You can drink in the airport bar.
    Take the ferry to Holyhead. You can drink on the boat.
    Don't drink and feel refreshed tomorrow morning. You can drink then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Maybe you should reflect on why you are thinking of drink before 8am, life is about more than drink, it causes nothing but grief.

it causes nothing but grief.

No it doesn't. Maybe if you're OP and is thinking about drink before 8am it does, or if you're a pussy and can't handle it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

If I had a can of dutch gold for every good friday drinking thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

Not drinking today, no big deal, I can last till tomorrow.

OP have you tried sniffing glue, heard its got a good buzz from it, just don't get stuck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Good job i bought my bottle of hooch yesterday so i can drink myself into oblivion today and wake up on Saturday and buy more...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 netherlands15

so nobodys gonna deliver free drink to my house,

thanks for nothing boards

so nobodys gonna deliver free drink to my house,

thanks for nothing boards

Do you think you deserve free drink being brought to your house?

yes i do,

and if you were stuck i would deliver free drink to you,

so?

yes i do,

and if you were stuck i would deliver free drink to you,

so?

No you wouldn't you lying shit.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

On route to the airport for a weekend in Amsterdam. I'll toast you my first beer at the bar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭Dubh Linn

I think I'll skip the near-daily pint of Guinness today.

ok well thanks for the advice,

i guess i'll try coffee for the day

I think the Good Friday drink ban should have stayed. Now, you might think that I am just being biased because I'm a Catholic, but surely, the country can do without a drink for just one day, in respect for alcoholics or religion, if for nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

ok well thanks for the advice,

i guess i'll try coffee for the day

Don't give in that easy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Dubh Linn wrote: »
    I think the Good Friday drink ban should have stayed. Now, you might think that I am just being biased because I'm a Catholic, but surely, the country can do without a drink for just one day, in respect for alcoholics or religion, if for nothing else.

One day? Got can go without drink every day if you want. Noone putting a gun to your head.

It is still banned on Christmas day.
    How about moving the ban back to St. Patrick's day?

Coffee would definitely be a better choice than getting bladdered, especially on a Good Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

but surely, the country can do without a drink for just one day, in respect for alcoholics.

This is one of the most ridiculous things I have read on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

The beer baron will save you, €12 for one can, 330ml. €16 for a 500ml, you don't like it you should have thought ahead.

I don't see how that post was ridiculous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

i presume they still sell booze on inter city trains today ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I got a load of alcohol in last night but I won't be drinking any of it today. I was doing my online grocery shopping the night before last, and saw a few bargains (and a few 'essentials') but I'm not feeling a 100% so I'm going to give the alcohol a miss (just like I did yesterday, and the day before, and the day before, and the day before...).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Systemsdarken

Jesus is happy you have no Dutch Gold.

Nah, I don't like my actions being dictated by your beliefs. I'd feel the same if all meat was illegal to be sold because of Judaism or if beef was illegal to be sold because of a Hindu holiday.

As it happens I wouldn't have been drinking tonight anyway, but if I wanted to I should be able to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

I'll post you a beer OP, hang on a mo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

I don't see how that post was ridiculous?

You'd need to look a little harder

I still don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

i have only one can of beer for good friday

help

How can someone with Netherlands in their name not have a fridge full of Dutch Gold on Good Friday? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

t4vlTTz.jpg

There you go :)

(Might want to let it settle for a bit, it could be a bit shaken up)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

No drink takes the good out of Good Friday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Think twice about going to Thailand at certain times of the year Nederland. They have more booze-free days. Nothing worse than a honky standing at a checkout in Tops/Big C having a meltdown because he can't get a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Go to mass op they have wine there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Take it as a suppository. It'll make it more effective.

biko wrote: »

I heard of some lads doing that a few years ago with tampons and vodka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I heard of some lads doing that a few years ago with tampons and vodka.

Classy.

Seriously though the good Friday no alcohol thing is great.

People get together and have parties to "stick it to the man"
    We can't have alcohol you say, well **** you I say, we'll buy alcohol on Thursday and have a party!

I'm too old for this lark now but back in the day it was great craic.

Classy.

Seriously though the good Friday no alcohol thing is great.

People get together and have parties to "stick it to the man"
    We can't have alcohol you say, well **** you I say, we'll buy alcohol on Thursday and have a party!

I'm too old for this lark now but back in the day it was great craic.

Agreed, good friday parties are fairly good craic. Brings me back to the gaff party days. My only gripe is that it's Catholic Church thing, since I'm not Catholic I don't think it should be a nationwide ban on selling booze in pubs.

Some of the best house parties I have been to happened on good friday.

But, as with most people, I dont give a damn about the alcohol ban - whether it is rescinded or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Maybe you should reflect on why you are thinking of drink before 8am, life is about more than drink, it causes nothing but grief.

Could work nights or shift? Not everyone is 9-5 bed at 10pm up at 8am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Could always drive up north to get some booze if your that desperate.
    Take the train to Belfast drink on the train then go to a bar and drink some more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

B0jangles wrote: »
    t4vlTTz.jpg

There you go :)

(Might want to let it settle for a bit, it could be a bit shaken up)

Is the premium imported thing on the can a new thing? I havent drank a dutch gold in years thought it was made in St James's Gate lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

hungover as f*ck. Would murder some recovery beers but have nothing at all. Agh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭ablelocks

biko wrote: »

not the glue. don't use the glue

hungover as f*ck. Would murder some recovery beers but have nothing at all. Agh.

Any white spirit in the shed? Does the Mrs have any liquors you could rob?

Failing that have you considered making friends with an elderly neighbour? Old people always have booze stashed away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Go to mass op they have wine there.

Not religious at all so not sure but I'm almost certain there are no masses today. Just stations of the cross. So no wine.

Hopefully this is the last year of this ridiculous, archaic and pointless forced alcohol ban and next year the adult population will be trusted to make their own choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I've a house full of alcohol and no interest in any of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Lucyfur wrote: »
    I've a house full of alcohol and no interest in any of it

You now also have a few hundred thirsty boardsies descending on your home :pac:

I quite like the ban, if only to see people getting so pointlessly annoyed at their civil liberties being so cruelly restricted. Isn't it little we have to be worrying about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Just watching the late late country n' Irish special, i know its good Friday but I'm considering drinking toilet duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

jjbrien wrote: »
    Could always drive up north to get some booze if your that desperate.
    Take the train to Belfast drink on the train then go to a bar and drink some more.

Somebody obviously never travelled by train anywhere on good Friday! I love trains, but you wouldn't catch me on one on good Friday.