Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

radio nova

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Her old "night time" slot used to be until mid-night... I think.

Yeah it was. It was Nova Nights with Dee Woods back then. I think it ran from 7pm to midnight, which included The Classic Album At 11. I wonder where Lisa Gernon will end up, if she remains with the station. No doubt Tim Kelly will keep his Friday evening '80's slot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭JimmyTClarke

....... wrote: »
    Was there an announcement this morning? I missed it - but I caught her saying it was her last day?

Whats going on with that?

Have herself and Marty lost their morning show then?

There sure was. Dee is returning to Nova Nights. As regards Marty, I'm sure he'll be back on Morning Glory soon (I think he's on annual leave to spend some time with the little one). A somewhat 'educated guess' would suggest that Morning Glory is now officially going to be the Miller & Irwin Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

So we're gonna get a double hit of baby each day :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

FanadMan wrote: »

No...he's only on with Conor in the morning's...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Nah, I'm sure with Dee on the new slot, it will be just about the music with her!

That's three nights on the trot that between songs, there was a "sports report" on the Ireland Wales match that was played last Friday! Prob someone thought it was supposed to be a Nova promo and never checked. The nighttime playlist is probably pre programmed and whoever is last leaving the office just hits Play :D

They're still doing this! Just heard it a few mins ago. Must be that nobody on here listens to Nova Through The Night :P

Either that or my meds need to be check as I'm starting to hear things lol

They're still doing this! Just heard it a few mins ago. Must be that nobody on here listens to Nova Through The Night :P

Either that or my meds need to be check as I'm starting to hear things lol

Its hard enough Through the day ffs...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭guile4582

so now the morning show is two middle aged men talking about their children...i'm dusting down my cd collection and filling the car with them

i am done with it..jesus christ like!!

Its hard enough Through the day ffs...:P

Lol - during the night is the only time I get to listen properly. One of the joys of not sleeping well I guess.

Incidentally, after I posted last night that promo/filler was on again. Three times within a couple of hours.

guile4582 wrote: »
    so now the morning show is two middle aged men talking about their children...i'm dusting down my cd collection and filling the car with them

i am done with it..jesus christ like!!

Think Dee might be getting jealous..??..........:pac:

Lol - during the night is the only time I get to listen properly. One of the joys of not sleeping well I guess.

Incidentally, after I posted last night that promo/filler was on again. Three times within a couple of hours.

Careful now there Ted..some people here might think you're obsessing over Nova now.....biggrin.pngrolleyes.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Howard100

furiousox wrote: »
    It was a breath of fresh air when it started.
    Now it's gone very stale, same songs over and over and over again.
    It's also gone more middle of the road, very similar to Today FM now.
    If it had any balls it should model itself on Planet Rock in the UK.

Nova is not preforming. It's what 8th? 9th? in the market?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Broadcastonfm

Howard100 wrote: »
    Nova is not preforming. It's what 8th? 9th? in the market?

HArd to know where it's going. I've stopped listening and I hear they've started or are about to start doing live overnights - if it's true it's some turn around for a station that said there was no overnight audience

No PJ tonight...who's filling in.??..big boots..biiiig boots...:)

Jesus...Pat must be turning in his duvet....Bryan Adams and Snow patrol...:mad:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Broadcastonfm

No PJ tonight...who's filling in.??..big boots..biiiig boots...:)

Jesus...Pat must be turning in his duvet....Bryan Adams and Snow patrol...:mad:.

Thought the guy did ok . TBH Max , you've picked 2 artistes out of what 30, 40, 50 over 4 hours

OK does'nt cut the mustard..he did his best i spose...like for like i would have thought though, but Nova's problem is that dont have another DJ who knows proper rock...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

OK does'nt cut the mustard..he did his best i spose...like for like i would have thought though, but Nova's problem is that dont have another DJ who knows proper rock...;)

Would you happen to have someone in mind perhaps ðŸ˜

John Cadell or Cathal Funge are just two that spring to mind....can't see John Clarke or Greg doing a late shift...perhaps.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

As im a jackeen from down the country i am delighted when i can tune Nova in on the car radio. I have to say i find the lady who does the news/intros with the Australian/South African (??) accent very jarring. Her voice and delivery is like something from an Alan Partridge skit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Radio Nova has gone to the dogs. It used to be great. I can't listen to it anymore.

What's with the goddamn traffic updates every 5 minutes? That's the last thing I want to hear when Im listening to it. Listening to traffic reports is probably worse than watching paint dry. More annoying anyway. That and the constant ads and self advertising.

Pat Courtenay is a pain in the hole now too. He was a decent DJ but now he's like a caricature of himself. 'Over and under'? Fack off!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Has Dee started on the 80s/90s evening show yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Mr Snow

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    Has Dee started on the 80s/90s evening show yet?

Dee has started tonight

I've switched off completely. I was drifting away from it anyway as it was beginning to become a daily chore listening to it. However, the nail in the coffin came following a phone call I made to the station to enquire about a competition they were running in relation to concert tickets. I proceeded to state my business, only to be cut off mid sentence by an extremely abrupt employee with an Australian (?) accent (it was a man, not Siobhan) snapping 'They're gone!' and hanging up without another word. Great way to treat your listeners, lads.

Ah big mistake there JT... you have to start off with a "love the station"..." youre the greatest..." etc etc...and it helps if you have a heavy "howya" Dublin accent, or a foreign one with limited english seems to work too.....:)

Damn! Yes, of course. You're right. They desperately need to replenish their 'some of our satisfied listeners' soundbites. I should have opened my conversation with something along the lines of 'Alright lads, listen, Radio Nova is the dog's liathróidí and I'm really enjoying your meandering away from Classic Rock, good call' then asked about the competition. I daresay Producer Clint would have approved my win then and there :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭guile4582

tuned in to the end of breakfast show today..they did that guess the year

as Marty was intro'ing the segment he said, ok so a clue straight off is "9/11"

good positive light hearted morning bantz right there!

guile4582 wrote: »
    tuned in to the end of breakfast show today..they did that guess the year

as Marty was intro'ing the segment he said, ok so a clue straigh off is "9/11"

good positive light hearted morning bantz right there!

Well their new slogan is 'Putting the mourn, in morning'.

Pity theyre not a Country station............;):D

Do you know Paddy, from the bookies?

No.

Ah you do.

OK.

Well he died.

Do you know Paddy, from the bookies?

No.

Ah you do.

OK.

Well he died.

Ahhh no way....poor Paddy...

Looking forward to the PUNK weekend ......Cant wait to hear the old favorites, Green day,Weezer , Blink 182..etc etc...:rolleyes::D