Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Some weather for the English grand national compared to mud fests of other years.

Got 3rd happy enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I thought swallows/house martins used mud to build their nests. Pic is an old nest in a shed with new material added today. It wasn't like that yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Base price wrote: »
    I thought swallows/house martins used mud to build their nests. Pic is an old nest in a shed with new material added today. It wasn't like that yesterday

I'd say a wren or robin has commandeered it!

The snipe were very active round here this evening, drumming away over the bog, lovely night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

The guards were asking me about this? No, not in that way.
    Had a guard here one day getting some info off me about a crime i witnessed . Said his mate was investigating this crime. I was telling him about how they could trace the cattle from DNA etc from relatives on The farm. Kind of a casual conversation but still.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/suspended-jail-sentence-and-e3000-fine-handed-down-to-cattle-rustler/

It seems crime does pay.:mad:
    What's wrong with looking for the full value of the stolen cattle back?:confused:
    At least the "Blag guard" was named.
    They should have put up a picture of Padraig O'Brien on Agriland at least.

Nice to see the majority of farmers will help the Guards and offer some advice that they may not know about.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I'd say a wren or robin has commandeered it!

The snipe were very active round here this evening, drumming away over the bog, lovely night.
    I never thought that another species may have moved in. I will keep any eye on it and report back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Base price wrote: »
    I never thought that another species may have moved in. I will keep any eye on it and report back.

I'd hazard a guess at wren & the front will be all blocked off tomorrow except for an entrance :)

Cad atà  ag tarlù leis an gcomòrtas grianghraf Aibreàn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/suspended-jail-sentence-and-e3000-fine-handed-down-to-cattle-rustler/

It seems crime does pay.:mad:
    What's wrong with looking for the full value of the stolen cattle back?:confused:
    At least the "Blag guard" was named.
    They should have put up a picture of Padraig O'Brien on Agriland at least.

Nice to see the majority of farmers will help the Guards and offer some advice that they may not know about.:)

Looking at the earlier report from March 30th, an independent assessor valued the stolen stock at €17,000 & yer man offered to pay the a,out as compensation.

I would have thought that was the least he could do. Whether they actually ever see the money is a different kettle of fish!

Looking at the earlier report from March 30th, an independent assessor valued the stolen stock at €17,000 & yer man offered to pay the a,out as compensation.

I would have thought that was the least he could do. Whether they actually ever see the money is a different kettle of fish!

No mulla paid over. No Freedom. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Looks like my bird boxes will be ghost estates. Spreading fertiliser on that field today and a big hungry buzzard was perched in a tree overlooking them. I presume they would hunt them?

Ray Darcy is giving away vintage tractors in 2 minutes when the break is over on Rte1.

No such luck!:rolleyes:
    A bit of advertising for the Euro Auctions vintage sale next Saturday.
    Nice tractors though.
    I can see how the hobby (obsession) could start. Just need a big shed and loads of money.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Cad atà  ag tarlù leis an gcomòrtas grianghraf Aibreàn?

You must have a good pic lined up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Grueller wrote: »
    Looks like my bird boxes will be ghost estates. Spreading fertiliser on that field today and a big hungry buzzard was perched in a tree overlooking them. I presume they would hunt them?

A Buzzard wouldn't be the niftiest of hunters. She'd sooner stumble upon a handy meal than go chasing one.
    The likes of a sparrowhawk would be good hedge hunter.

MF290 wrote: »
    You must have a good pic lined up :D

I don't but no pressure then.:)

A Buzzard wouldn't be the niftiest of hunters. She'd sooner stumble upon a handy meal than go chasing one.
    The likes of a sparrowhawk would be good hedge hunter.

Google buzzard killing hens.
    I would be neutral on the subject of buzzards here. But there seems to be a lot of them everywhere now.
    Easily spot the pairs calling each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Google buzzard killing hens.
    I would be neutral on the subject of buzzards here. But there seems to be a lot of them everywhere now.
    Easily spot the pairs calling each other.

I've little doubt the kill hens. The hens here would be easy picking yet I often see three buzzards circling overhead and so far they haven't killed any.
    They'll take what they find handy first before they go hunting. Take a spin along any of the motorways and you'll often see the buzzard sitting watching and waiting for a flattened take away meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Grueller wrote: »

Buzzards wouldn't be bothered with small birds like that. The likes of rabbits, rats and young crows are their main diet. Most of the time they are scavangers anyway. As for bird boxes, unless they are placed in good cover in good habitat they are a waste of time. I've seen a couple of examples of ones nailed on to fence posts in the middle of low diversity monoculture ryegrass fields. Birds are not stupid, they are not going to nest in an area that has no cover or food!!

PS: Sorry for the rant about bird boxes but I feel such measures highlight how the likes of GLAS and REPS have been poorly designed and implemented and represent a significant lost opportunity to benefit farmland wildlife etc. and indeed any studies done on this have shown that such schemes have done little to halt the decline in farmland birds, wild flowers, wild bees etc.:( Whats needed are properly tailored and targeted schemes that are designed to suit different farmland types. This is what is done in the UK and such schemes have been far more successful then the broad brush ineffective measures employed on this side of the pond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

I've little doubt the kill hens. The hens here would be easy picking yet I often see three buzzards circling overhead and so far they haven't killed any.
    They'll take what they find handy first before they go hunting. Take a spin along any of the motorways and you'll often see the buzzard sitting watching and waiting for a flattened take away meal.

Yeah they are lazy with roadkill a big part of their diet. That's why they have big wings but a small, hen sized body so they can spend ages soaring looking for carcasses. The likes of a Sparrowhawk wound be a far more active and agile hunter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Meant to go to a baptism today :( I reckon baptisms are a bit like Christmas... They're mainly for children :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Got 3rd happy enough

Mine was 4th, is there any pay out for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Fireside Solicitor

Caught two goats last week that wandered in and put the word out. Two Nigerian doctors from the local hospital want them for grub. Coming today to collect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Caught two goats last week that wandered in and put the word out. Two Nigerian doctors from the local hospital want them for grub. Coming today to collect them.

And?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Fireside Solicitor

Dirty animals. Wouldn't fancy having that on the table. No word on where the boys are doing the butchering maybe the hospital!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Mine was 4th, is there any pay out for that?

I think some bookies payed out 5th and 6th as well . Be worth checking it wherever you placed the bet .
    The wife had the winner just because one of our dogs is called Arthur , he got few treats yesterday evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I'd sooner shoot them than hand them over to be slaughtered by unqualified lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Have to do a quick maintenance job on tipper trailer here. It's twin ram

If I tip it up, prop the tipped body and turn off tractor would that be safe enough ?

What would I prop with? Have a few bits of 6x3 timber ? Also have a few acro props Would they be better ? And proper lower end of cross member ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Dirty animals. Wouldn't fancy having that on the table. No word on where the boys are doing the butchering maybe the hospital!

In my mind the goats aren't yours to give away

And the only place to do it is an abattoir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Have to do a quick maintenance job on tipper trailer here. It's twin ram

If I tip it up, prop the tipped body and turn off tractor would that be safe enough ?

What would I prop with? Have a few bits of 6x3 timber ? Also have a few acro props Would they be better ? And proper lower end of cross member ?
    Don't prop with timber.its very unpredictable and could split easily. Use a bit of a steel and weld a 'u' shaped cup on both ends. That's what the manufacturers use. You'd see these a lot at the ploughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I just came across this site by Tommy Heffernan, whom some of you might follow on Twitter. There's a few interesting tips and videos in there.

http://tommythevet.ie/