Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Well if you opened your eyes and read my original post I asked how much 10.10.20 should I put out per field, not what type of fertiliser to use :)
    To be honest, it will depend on what the fertility of the field is and what the silage is for. As said before, you should be looking at 90-100 units of N/acre for a cut in 7 weeks, assuming the grass uses 2 units of N/day.

To keep putting out potassium (K) on fields which may already be high in K would be a waste of money and leave any ewes/suckler/dairy cows more at risk of grass tetany. The grass will load up on available K and result in less Magnesium being taken in by the cows causing tetany. It's not such a big deal with dry stock.

Phosphorus (P) tends to be low generally in Ireland and will lower growth rates of grass and animals eating that grass which will cost you money. P being too high will cost you money as you could cut back on P fertilisers as well as too high levels will just be washed out of the soil as it won't be able to be taken up by the soil or plant.

If you have been putting out 5 bags of 10:10:20 for a number of years, you may already have enough P&K in the soil and may be able to cut back but that's a story for next year after you get soil samples done, as OrmOnd said, a few months after the last fertiliser application.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kowtow wrote: »
    They were worried that you would advocate prodding, skulling, squeezing, or shooting the defendant.

Which would be a bit unfair considering all the other motorists get off with a slap on the wrist.
    I'd probably vote for the death penalty for all offences and let God sort out the innocent himself:)

Because I would have to leave early to milk anyway:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I got called for jury service today, any hope of getting out of it?

You may not even get through to actually sit on jury.
    I was called few years ago. Having studied a bit of law and attended court cases for lectures while at (short) time in college I didn't mind. About 80 people called for the same case. The clerk of court read out about 25 names of which I was one. Next this list was read out to the defence team. The accused man's solicitor then accepted or rejected each potential juror at his discretion. I was rejected.
    The case involved who was allegedly involved what I will call the importation of goods in the border area without doing all the paperwork presumably because it was at night and hard to see.
    He was proved innocent anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    hi guys. I'm hoping to put out fertiliser this weekend on the two silage fields. This is my first time ever to put it out ourselves and I'm not sure how many bags (10.10.20) to put out per field. The total amount of the fields that we'll bale would roughly be 11ha.

I wouldn't use 10 10 20 for silage ground.
    Mostly use some compound like 27 2.5 5, and put out 3.5 to 4 bags per acre.
    You need to be aiming for 90 to 100 units of nitrogen per acre.
    If the fields have had a good dose of slurry, you could go with four bags of straight CAN.
    We don't put slurry on the Meadows,
    last year we used 3x18.6.12, 1xCan & 1 gran-lime per Acre (have since added 2T lime/Ac)
    Would 3.5x27.2.5.5 be better than using 3x18.6.12 & 1xCan?

Took a Soil sample before liming PH 5.3, P 2 & K 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Diarmuid, lads here are trying to give you best advice. no need for the smartness. OK, the fertiliser is in the yard and you'll use it this year. Optimise next year, and get best results for you money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Just watching Blitz on 3e. Jason Statham playing a maverick cop just after laying out 3 yobs with a hurley. Made some comment about hurling being a cross between hockey and murder.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Called bank manager yesterday to check status on mortgage application. Got a call today to say he had retired and didn't submit our forms to Dublin. Only going up today.

So another week of waiting if nothing is wrong with application.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Just in the door after changing the transfer box in the jeep, a bearing seized in it a few days ago it it exploded inside in it, gears chipped and full of shavings. Was pure lost without it for the few days. Got great money at home for a bundle of weanlings last week I thought but my cut above market value is well gone now...typical, anyone want to buy a good landcruiser with 300k miles :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Just in the door after changing the transfer box in the jeep, a bearing seized in it a few days ago it it exploded inside in it, gears chipped and full of shavings. Was pure lost without it for the few days. Got great money at home for a bundle of weanlings last week I thought but my cut above market value is well gone now...typical, anyone want to buy a good landcruiser with 300k miles :rolleyes:

That's the thing about money... when it comes, it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Look where there's vehicles and machinery, breakdowns are inevitable. Although very annoying, don't let it take the good out of your weanling sales.

Would you consider pulling a cattle trailer behind the ts? I'm not saying get rid of jeep as you probably need a four wheel drive but it might give it an easier life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Have any of ye used that shower of Cowboys at Animalfarmacy.ie.? I never encountered anyone as bad as them. If anyone has stuff ordered off them make sure to check it immediately on delivery. Anyone can make a mistake but pawning people off on the fone and promising to rectify it and doing nothing is unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Have any of ye used that shower of Cowboys at Animalfarmacy.ie.? I never encountered anyone as bad as them. If anyone has stuff ordered off them make sure to check it immediately on delivery. Anyone can make a mistake but pawning people off on the fone and promising to rectify it and doing nothing is unacceptable.
    Have they a fb page ? If so complain about them on there, normally sorts things out quick enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Have never used them. Have used both AgriDirect and Magenta Direct a good few times and always found both of them great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Ya after this experience I wouldn't recommend. Might try a few of those other sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Ya after this experience I wouldn't recommend. Might try a few of those other sites.

Found Animalfarmacy a bit poor on customer service alright. Though connacht agri was far worse as i waited weeks for delivery!
    Best so far (and have stuck with them) is AgriDirect.

Was at a funeral of a grandfather/granddaughter this morning, very sad. Heartbreaking for the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,303 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/agri-business/cattle-rustler-traced-by-a-trail-of-hooves-that-led-to-his-farm-35584296.html?utm_source=outbrain_top_drawer&utm_medium=outbrain&utm_campaign=Outbrain%2520On%2520Site

Was that guy just a bit tapped in the head or is it possible to "launder" stolen cattle in Ireland these days with all the tags and paperwork etc? I grew up on a farm in South Galway and I dont think Ive ever heard of a single case of a stolen animal.

Muckit wrote: »
    Look where there's vehicles and machinery, breakdowns are inevitable. Although very annoying, don't let it take the good out of your weanling sales.

Would you consider pulling a cattle trailer behind the ts? I'm not saying get rid of jeep as you probably need a four wheel drive but it might give it an easier life?

I did and thought about trading up the jeep a bit aswell but they are too dear and it's the same wrecking a new one will get as the old one. Might as well drive it into the ground now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Thargor wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/agri-business/cattle-rustler-traced-by-a-trail-of-hooves-that-led-to-his-farm-35584296.html?utm_source=outbrain_top_drawer&utm_medium=outbrain&utm_campaign=Outbrain%2520On%2520Site

Was that guy just a bit tapped in the head or is it possible to "launder" stolen cattle in Ireland these days with all the tags and paperwork etc? I grew up on a farm in South Galway and I dont think Ive ever heard of a single case of a stolen animal.

Animals could be butchered illegally, meat sold on the black market and then replacement tags stuck into similar cattle. If you want to do it, it's definitely doable but you'd want to ready your arse for a shot of pellets if you're caught!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Thargor wrote: »

The guards were asking me about this? No, not in that way.
    Had a guard here one day getting some info off me about a crime i witnessed . Said his mate was investigating this crime. I was telling him about how they could trace the cattle from DNA etc from relatives on The farm. Kind of a casual conversation but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I did and thought about trading up the jeep a bit aswell but they are too dear and it's the same wrecking a new one will get as the old one. Might as well drive it into the ground now.

Same as that . I had the side step welded back on my Jeep and the lad doing it reckoned he was welding as many newer jeep's as older ones and they just aren't built to last anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

ganmo wrote: »
    Is it me or are there a lot of elderly dying on farm this year

The average age of farmers is going up the whole time, bound to be a corresponding increase in fatalities.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

ganmo wrote: »
    Is it me or are there a lot of elderly dying on farm this year
    Had a very close one here today, it's very easy accidents happen . I was walking behind the digger which my dad was driving with a bale on it, for some reason he put it in reverse and I was daydreaming walking behind it , inches in it :eek: dont think he he knew I was behind him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

blue5000 wrote: »
    The average age of farmers is going up the whole time, bound to be a corresponding increase in fatalities.

A lot of farmhouses are in the farmyard as well.
    So the farmer or the family could just step out the door and get run over by the milk tanker and it is classed as a farming death.

Someone else gets killed or suffers a heart attack or blackout outside their front door and it is classed as a private non work related death.

(Although I do accept that the number of farming deaths is too high and the more publicity like what is happening in recent years about the subject may force some people to question the safety and to take note of what they are doing).

Bullocks wrote: »
    Same as that . I had the side step welded back on my Jeep and the lad doing it reckoned he was welding as many newer jeep's as older ones and they just aren't built to last anymore

Had to get the chassis plated and new cab mounts in the last year aswell. I'd rather a caddy van or something if the place wasn't so scattered and I hadn't so many bad tracks/right of ways to access them. Takes the most of the day to go around with the tractor to them.

If you were to upgrade , what would you go for ? I wonder would the 2012 _2015 discovery take much abuse ? It's about the only new jeep's I like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

If you were to upgrade , what would you go for ? I wonder would the 2012 _2015 discovery take much abuse ? It's about the only new jeep's I like

I would love a Discovery, dirty dogs decrees we have to use a crewcab.......retirement might change that though

rangler1 wrote: »
    I would love a Discovery, dirty dogs decrees we have to use a crewcab.......retirement might change that though

I'm sure you could close off the boot . They would be a lot easier on the dogs jumping in and for reaching into for stuff than a crew cab .
    My father is up for retirement next month and we are joking about the bus pass don't mind a jeep haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I'm sure you could close off the boot . They would be a lot easier on the dogs jumping in and for reaching into for stuff than a crew cab .
    My father is up for retirement next month and we are joking about the bus pass don't mind a jeep haha

There's always a sheep crook in the jeep....great for pulling stuff out of the crew cab, as well as catching sheep of course.
    Tell th'ould fella to buy a discovery.....there's no drawbars on hearses.
    You can make sure his discovery doesn't seize from lack of use.