The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭coco0981

Hazys wrote: »
    Currently NFL referees are not even allowed enter the city of Las Vegas without advanced permission from the NFL.

Now they are moving the team there.

Hilarious how quickly the NFL will forget its morals for some extra $$$.

From a fan's perspective, it will be a great team to visit for an away game.

The Raiders in Vegas is going to be a road game that even people who don't have a huge interest in NFL will be excited about. I'm still kinda shocked that the owners have approved it, given their anti gambling stance it seems a bit hypocritical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I hate all this relocating ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,769 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

coco0981 wrote: »
    The Raiders in Vegas is going to be a road game that even people who don't have a huge interest in NFL will be excited about. I'm still kinda shocked that the owners have approved it, given their anti gambling stance it seems a bit hypocritical

Well it's amazing what money can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,769 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Knex. wrote: »
    I hate all this relocating ****

I'm the same. I mean three relocations in a year and a half under Roger's watch isn't good. I'd say bar the standard baring old old NFL franchises like the g men and steelers and lions and packers, and bears. Every other one can move for the right price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Rumour that the Giants are in for Nick Mangold. Doesn't make a lot of sense as Richburg is absolutely the starter at center, and Mangold is still probably good enough to get a starting job at C, I would have thought. Does the appeal of staying in NY and joining the other ex Jets mean he'd be happy to play guard or just add line depth?

http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2017/03/27/report-giants-have-some-interest-in-former-jet-nick-mangold/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Disappointed to see that they have banned leaping over the line during kicks. That crazy play in the Devner/Saints game was a highlight from last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Boards mock draft is on again this year lads, kicking off soon and need a few more lads so get your names down if you're interested
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057720098

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭tripperman

Thanks OAOB, going to start Friday morning, I'll do up a draft order tonight and post it up and we can work in anyone else that is interested that missed the thread as there is still places open,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Once again the NFL and Roger are showing themselves to be all about the money. You'd swear the NFL is broke they way they get city to stump up money. I mean Oakland clearly didn't have the money yet the NFL expect the city of Oakland to let the raiders stay and use the name ?

I hope Oakland tell the raiders to take a jump. At least the chargers fecked off and didn't stay around.

They sure did feck off but guess what... they are holding mini camp at Chargers Park in SD!!!. It is a city owned building!!. The city should have told them to GTFO immediately. Training camp will be in a place called Costa Mesa but until then these pricks are using SD as base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

I was listening to a few radio shows & from my understanding the Las Vegas move doesn't make a tonne of sense. It is not a large TV market & it is likely the Raiders will have no fan base as the population is largely transcient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

HigginsJ wrote: »
    I was listening to a few radio shows & from my understanding the Las Vegas move doesn't make a tonne of sense. It is not a large TV market & it is likely the Raiders will have no fan base as the population is largely transcient.

Straight cash, homie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

They'll have a huge amount of fans of the road team at every game. The prospect of combining a trip to Vegas with a trip to see your team play will be a huge appeal to a lot of football fans I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,008 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Yeah but that's one trip for every team's fans. What happens then?

I don't think it will work out long term, there is money there and they'll get plenty of that initially but Vegas is not a town that is known for supporting things.

UNLV has a home attendance average of 29k per game which is pretty poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

eagle eye wrote: »

I don't think it will work out long term, there is money there and they'll get plenty of that initially but Vegas is not a town that is known for supporting things.

The ability to gamble and go see a game live, dont knock it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,008 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The ability to gamble and go see a game live, dont knock it
    Personally I don't like Vegas, I think for a lot of people one time is enough. It's too hot, it's very seedy and I'm not sure it's that attractive second time around.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I wonder will they get a superbowl? Every other team that has built a stadium recently has hosted one soon after.

adrian522 wrote: »
    I wonder will they get a superbowl? Every other team that has built a stadium recently has hosted one soon after.

In Vegas... not even the slightest doubt come to think of it. All of the monies for Roger and co.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,826 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

adrian522 wrote: »

Its got the hotel rooms and amenities to support it probably better than a lot of cities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

eagle eye wrote: »

UNLV's stadium isn't that big though. 35k capacity. But the casual punter that attends an NFL game wouldn't be interested in UNLV so from that perspective I think the Raiders will do well on attendences

Vegas is great but how this works for the Raiders is very unclear. I think they will get a big stadium with massive investment from Nevada.

But the reality is the Casino owners wanted the franchise in Vegas and they got the money together to get it there. Eventually gambling will be legalised within NFL stadiums, starting with the one in Vegas. It's a reality that the NFL will have to face sooner rather than later. They will cream money off the top without a doubt.

UNLV also play in the Mountain West Conference, to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

You can also guarantee that every casino will have loads of tickets to give to guests. Same way they do with all the shows on the strip, they'll be throwing Raiders tickets at guests as loyalty gifts for choosing their casino/hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

A Sin City Super Bowl would be ridiculous/awesome. I can imagine the NFL pushing the #footballisfamily narrative while all their execs spend the week gambling, boozing and getting caught with hookers with their corporate sponsors, thats the real NFL family atmosphere.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,826 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

But the reality is the Casino owners wanted the franchise in Vegas and they got the money together to get it there. Eventually gambling will be legalised within NFL stadiums, starting with the one in Vegas. It's a reality that the NFL will have to face sooner rather than later. They will cream money off the top without a doubt.

Yup, no doubt there'll be an NFL tax on betting, its all about the green

You can also guarantee that every casino will have loads of tickets to give to guests. Same way they do with all the shows on the strip, they'll be throwing Raiders tickets at guests as loyalty gifts for choosing their casino/hotel.

That's actually very true, and possibly other avenues (legit or not) of revenue in exchange for favour. Even without selling out stadiums, I reckon the Raiders/NFL will be one of the very most profitable teams in the league with this move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,310 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Romo set to retire

paulie21 wrote: »
    Romo set to retire

Might be for the best with all his injuries, but it is a bit odd to happen this late into free agency... surely it's not a matter of having no takers? Though it may be more of a price point issue.

Bit of a let down for Denver and Houston fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

paulie21 wrote: »
    Romo set to retire
    Billy86 wrote: »
    Might be for the best with all his injuries, but it is a bit odd to happen this late into free agency... surely it's not a matter of having no takers? Though it may be more of a price point issue.

Wow, i'm not shocked by this announcement but interested to see how the cowboys move forward. For Tony i doubt there was interest in a guy whose played 4 meaningful games in 2 seasons and has a huge price tag attached. But looks like he'll end up on CBS replacing Phil Simms. For the cowboys, free's up 5.1m in cap space and gives them close to $7m to play with. If Doug free retires too they'll have another $5m. The Cowboys will also get another $8m on June two as they can spread the rest of his guaranteed money over two years. With this they can sign their 2017 draft class. Assuming the Doug free money goes to Zach Martin, cowboys should be in the market for a young veteran QB to support Prescott and Kellen Moore. Candidates could include Kaep, Griffin or possibly the guy who'll give Jethro a massive trouser snake. Mr Football himself!!

Anyways thank you for everything Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Billy86 wrote: »

More of a let down for Houston I would imagine, Denver has Siemian and have already invested in Lynch, outside of Savage Houston have nothing really. They will have to target one of the top 4 QB's in the draft as I'm far from convinced that Savage is even close to being the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Christ lads, the undertaker and Romo in the same week, i can't take too much more of this
    Feck off already April 2017.. until draft day at least ;)