I went to school with .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Got to page 3 and nobody has mentioned Bono yet

Shurely shum mishtake?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

2 lads from my year in school are Munster/Ireland rugby players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Writer Julian Gough . He set one of his books in an orphanage which was loosely based on Nenagh CBS. He name checked myself and a few other lads and the principal in it, complete with our nicknames of the day.

Rugby player Trevor Hogan was a few years behind us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭rpmcmurphy

I went to school with two famous people. One was called trepidation the other utter ****in reluctance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Ed Byrne. He was in the year above me, ironically*

Kept to himself. Bot of a loner. Was mad into Prince.

*Just put there that so Ed might be tempted into signing up to tell me there's nothing irionic about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Did what Joe did surprise you?

Yip, he got "most likely to kill" in the yearbook but they never thought he would get married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,412 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

No one. But I'll be a household name someday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Arghus wrote: »
    No one. But I'll be a household name someday.

You already are. Love the Catalogue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Pat McGrath, RTEs western correspondent, getting a lot of work recently since the coastguard tragedy.

Oldcastle's most famous son at this stage.

I knew Pat in college. I remember him practising for his ORTE interview. That's 19 flipping years ago. He was a daycent lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Repeated my leaving cert with Nicky Byrne. Seemed like a decent bloke back then, bit of a meathead but a nice guy. Was always jabbering on about starting a boy band so fair play to him...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

60% of Westlife and about 15% of Castlerea prisons inmates.

I had 20% of Westlife in my class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I went to horse riding lessons with Tony Ryans children if that counts.

Munster/Ireland prop David Kilcoyne was in my class. Don't remember him playing rugby ever when we were kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Went to school and played football with Brian (no "y" back then) from Westlife, sound fella really, but he had a hard time of it, he was bullied out of a couple of schools. That's what happened to fellas who were in Billy Barry at the time I suppose.

I've met him once or twice since and he's always happy to chat.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Went to school and played football with Brian (no "y" back then) from Westlife, sound fella really, but he had a hard time of it, he was bullied out of a couple of schools. That's what happened to fellas who were in Billy Barry at the time I suppose.

I've met him once or twice since and he's always happy to chat.

So it looks like we were in the same school :)

Being beaten on MegaZone was probably worse than being in the Billy Barrys for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Professor Brian Cox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    So it looks like we were in the same school :)

Well. I knew him in little and big Davids, he also went to DossMini and HardScoil

Ah right, so we didn't go to school together, I'm a Dosser allum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Did primary school.... so I guess age 4 to 12....... sitting pretty much next to Brian O'Driscoll for the entire 8 years. There was an article once interviewing one of the teachers we shared at the time on his memories of Brian's early days at the school. Said Teacher went on to be the (current?) principle of the school I believe.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Pat Spillane was my geography and P.E. teacher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Jodotman

Does Finn Balor count aka fergal something.

Sound lad.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Jodotman wrote: »
    Does Finn Balor count aka fergal something.

Sound lad.

Fergal Devitt? Not very mainstream, but an absolute legend in his industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭99problems

Connor McGregor, He was a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Mario Rosenstock. He was quite flamboyant and a natural for TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Joe O'Reilly (wife killer) and author Roddy Doyle was my geography teacher.

I was in the same year as Joes brother Derek. we probably know each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Pat McGrath, RTEs western correspondent, getting a lot of work recently since the coastguard tragedy.

I remember him in primary school. He used to go around the handball alley at break time, pretending he had a microphone, interviewing players and commentating on the game... and here he is 30 odd years later, real microphone in hand on my tele box

Did you go to school with anyone famous and did they show early signs of stardom?

That's gas... A colleague told me she was at a party in the 90s and Tubridy was there pretending he was a radio host interviewing people etc... I'm not even joking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I first met David Attenborough when we attended the same lectures. He was about 18 years older than me and we were taking evening classes. We got talking one night and have been friends, and in regular contact, ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Patricia who used to be the property surveyor on Room to Improve, one of her sisters was in my class throughout secondary school, she was a bit younger.
    A girl who was on the news some years back for killing her child was in my year, some shock :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

snowflaker wrote: »
    Our teacher was accused of burning the school down

Holy **** this got dark...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,388 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

franglan wrote: »
    Ramón Antonio Gerardo Estévez, better known by his stage name Martin Sheen was in my year in Uni ~for a year... Lab partner for a day, quiet guy wanted to learn was having a lovely time at it! English and Earth and Ocean Science - "sure he'll never get a job with that!"

Wow