Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I went to school with .....

• 02-04-2017 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭

Pat McGrath, RTEs western correspondent, getting a lot of work recently since the coastguard tragedy.

I remember him in primary school. He used to go around the handball alley at break time, pretending he had a microphone, interviewing players and commentating on the game... and here he is 30 odd years later, real microphone in hand on my tele box

Did you go to school with anyone famous and did they show early signs of stardom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

Did you go to school with anyone famous?

You

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Did you go to school with anyone famous and did they show early signs of their stardom?

No. Did you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Donald Fisher from Home and Away.

Lol, we used to call him "flat head" as a nickname :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Myself. I'm verrrrrrry famous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

Dolores o'Riordan from The Cranberries.
    She was really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Jam sandwiches in my lunchbox, ah the 80's,a simpler time.

Glazers Out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Enda, he was a tool back then and still is now. Do I win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

My metalwork teacher made national front page news and did a few years in the big house for touching up a student

Does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

eh... no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 242 ✭✭PREG1967

the Riyadus-Salikhin Battalion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Keith Barry lived around the corner from me at home. We used to get the school bus together. His sister was in my class in school.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Richard Boyd Barrett was in the same year as me for the first few years of primary school, but in the other class. My class were a bunch of under-achievers by comparison. Thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

PREG1967 wrote: »
    the Riyadus-Salikhin Battalion

A sound bunch of lads.:confused:

Lots of the Captains of Industry here in Ireland because "Killiney". Most of them just followed Daddy into whatever line Daddy was in. See some of them on VB or businessey shows. A couple went into politics.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Does college count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Laura Whitmore in junior and senior infants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Pat McGrath, RTE News, Boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Zaph wrote: »
    Richard Boyd Barrett was in the same year as me for the first few years of primary school, but in the other class. My class were a bunch of under-achievers by comparison. Thankfully.

Is Richard a high achiever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Yer one kelly from Tallafornia, does that count as famous? She was actually nice, little bit weird. Used to lick people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

60% of Westlife and about 15% of Castlerea prisons inmates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 242 ✭✭PREG1967

they were the school bullies :( but i was tall so they left me alone
    Beyondgone wrote: »
    A sound bunch of lads.:confused:

Lots of the Captains of Industry here in Ireland because "Killiney". Most of them just followed Daddy into whatever line Daddy was in. See some of them on VB or businessey shows. A couple went into politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭franglan

Ramón Antonio Gerardo Estévez, better known by his stage name Martin Sheen was in my year in Uni ~for a year... Lab partner for a day, quiet guy wanted to learn was having a lovely time at it! English and Earth and Ocean Science - "sure he'll never get a job with that!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

a lot of arseholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Cutie 3.14

Went to school with a contestant who won the Voice of Ireland...not famous now of course but had a bit of fame at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Ted111 wrote: »
    Pat McGrath, RTE News, Boards.ie.

We've done him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

a lot of arseholes

We must have went to the same school so. Hi Jimmy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

We must have went to the same school so. Hi Jimmy!!!

Its been a while me_right_one

arsehole.......... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Joe O'Reilly (wife killer) and author Roddy Doyle was my geography teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Joe O'Reilly (wife killer) and author Roddy Doyle was my geography teacher.

Did what Joe did surprise you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I went to college with JackSepticEye (youtube gamer with over 15 million subscribers). Minted and very famous and nothing to do with our college course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Our teacher was accused of burning the school down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Got to page 3 and nobody has mentioned Bono yet

Shurely shum mishtake?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

2 lads from my year in school are Munster/Ireland rugby players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Writer Julian Gough . He set one of his books in an orphanage which was loosely based on Nenagh CBS. He name checked myself and a few other lads and the principal in it, complete with our nicknames of the day.

Rugby player Trevor Hogan was a few years behind us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭rpmcmurphy

I went to school with two famous people. One was called trepidation the other utter ****in reluctance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Ed Byrne. He was in the year above me, ironically*

Kept to himself. Bot of a loner. Was mad into Prince.

*Just put there that so Ed might be tempted into signing up to tell me there's nothing irionic about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Did what Joe did surprise you?

Yip, he got "most likely to kill" in the yearbook but they never thought he would get married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,859 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

No one. But I'll be a household name someday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Arghus wrote: »
    No one. But I'll be a household name someday.

You already are. Love the Catalogue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Pat McGrath, RTEs western correspondent, getting a lot of work recently since the coastguard tragedy.

Oldcastle's most famous son at this stage.

I knew Pat in college. I remember him practising for his ORTE interview. That's 19 flipping years ago. He was a daycent lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Repeated my leaving cert with Nicky Byrne. Seemed like a decent bloke back then, bit of a meathead but a nice guy. Was always jabbering on about starting a boy band so fair play to him...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

60% of Westlife and about 15% of Castlerea prisons inmates.

I had 20% of Westlife in my class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I went to horse riding lessons with Tony Ryans children if that counts.

Munster/Ireland prop David Kilcoyne was in my class. Don't remember him playing rugby ever when we were kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Went to school and played football with Brian (no "y" back then) from Westlife, sound fella really, but he had a hard time of it, he was bullied out of a couple of schools. That's what happened to fellas who were in Billy Barry at the time I suppose.

I've met him once or twice since and he's always happy to chat.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Went to school and played football with Brian (no "y" back then) from Westlife, sound fella really, but he had a hard time of it, he was bullied out of a couple of schools. That's what happened to fellas who were in Billy Barry at the time I suppose.

I've met him once or twice since and he's always happy to chat.

So it looks like we were in the same school :)

Being beaten on MegaZone was probably worse than being in the Billy Barrys for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Professor Brian Cox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    So it looks like we were in the same school :)

Well. I knew him in little and big Davids, he also went to DossMini and HardScoil

Ah right, so we didn't go to school together, I'm a Dosser allum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,358 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Did primary school.... so I guess age 4 to 12....... sitting pretty much next to Brian O'Driscoll for the entire 8 years. There was an article once interviewing one of the teachers we shared at the time on his memories of Brian's early days at the school. Said Teacher went on to be the (current?) principle of the school I believe.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Pat Spillane was my geography and P.E. teacher.