Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attack outside UK Houses Of Parliament — No speculation — Read 1st post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

bubblypop wrote: »
    I don't feel bad that he was shot. It was the correct action for the police.
    That's a long way from vigilantism.
    Probably off topic

It's not really, and I agree with you in general but in the raw emotion of the moment I wouldn't blame someone for violently killing an attacker if they killed/raped/seriously injured someone related to me. Nobody truly knows how they would feel in that exact moment until they're in that situation. There's been similar cases in places like Texas where people have been beaten to death and there was no repercussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

great video. I implore anyone of any political leaning to watch and listen to the arguments rather than do the standard thing and dismiss it as ''alt right propoganda'' or ''racism''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Winning.

Birth conspiracy winning. Come one now Hank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

biko wrote: »
    polarization [sic]

Remarkably petty part of an otherwise good post.

wes wrote: »
    Except I didn't. I take issue with the moral grand standing. I have seen attacks again and again from the right, against the left etc, when they themselves are guilty of what they say other are.

Go ahead and criticise, but the right has no moral high ground, when it comes to terror.

Along with many others, my political beliefs happen to fall on the right. I have never committed a terrorist attack nor do I have any plans to. Because people happen to fall into the same half of the right-left political spectrum have committed evil acts does not in any way mean they represent me. I absolutely do in fact have moral high ground over terrorists and I have every right to condemn and criticize them. To insist ''the right'' don't have moral high ground or any other whataboutery you want to spout is a complete and utter joke.

Birth conspiracy winning. Come one now Hank.

Thought you put me on ignore? I apologized in the thread I posted already but apparently it's not good enough for you. During the election I would have stopped at nothing to see Trump win, and win he did. After a day on the lash/drugs you want to define me as someone who thinks Obama was born elsewhere. News flash, Obama has droned people 10 times more than idiots like Bush ever did, embraced the NSA surveillance programs and bought into nation building so hard he along with his state department destroyed the middle east with Europe now taking the fallback, like what happened yesterday. I don't hate Obama because he's black, I hate him for what he's gotten away with, so stick it up your arse and fúck your feelings. Trump won the election, and as partisan as you want to come across, you've done nothing but bash him for months on end, and attacked those, like me, who've been supporting him. Obama got voted in twice, big bad racist America and all the goons. Get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Thought you put me on ignore? I apologized already but apparently it's not good enough for you.

Congress man.

Not sure what the hell the rest of that was for.

edit. saw your edit there.

What have I got to get over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

As I understand it the security services are monitoring thousands of people and yesterday's attacker was a ''peripheral figure''. Maybe they need to start looking closer at peripheral figures.

I don't know how many are being monitored in Ireland, but I do remember a number of Irish residents were believed to have gone to fight for Isil in Syria. There were two separate reports of Muslim men threatening their flatmates and coworkers, respectively. One, if I remember correctly, said he'd behead the flatmates, and the other threatened jihad would come to that part of Cork. People like that, if still in Ireland (and I'm cynical enough to suspect they haven't been deported, at least not that quickly), should be under very close surveillance if they are not imprisoned.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/03/23/public-donate-thousands-family-brave-pc-keith-palmer-london/

anyway on a more positive note this is absolutely brilliant to see. Don't have the words to describe how great a man PC Keith Palmer was and its a great pity we're not all like him!

Depp wrote: »
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/03/23/public-donate-thousands-family-brave-pc-keith-palmer-london/

anyway on a more positive note this is absolutely brilliant to see. Don't have the words to describe how great a man PC Keith Palmer was and its a great pity we're not all like him!

Not an uncommon theme, anti Trump supporters set a Muslim drivers limo on fire in Washington during riots, and the "alt right" on reddit and other places raised 30K for him in support.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/local/wp/2017/01/25/thats-not-somebodys-honda-owner-of-limo-torched-on-inauguration-day-unsure-if-insurance-will-cover-damages/?utm_term=.7a69cf03bc03

https://www.gofundme.com/help-nationwide-sedan-service

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,908 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

You are proposing a charter to kill. Is that not the very problem we are debating how to solve?

What have I got to get over?

That I hate Obama not because he's black, but because of the atrocities he and his state department have committed and subsequently have gotten away with. When he started rallying for Rotten it made me hate him even more.

I came home, HAMMERED, seen a fox news subsidiary and seen a link of a press conference citing that he wasn't born here. I didn't give a fúck if he was born there or not, I wanted anything to bring them down and for Trump to get in.

You seem to forget how heated the election was, how Wikileaks dumps kept coming out, how the Russian links kept being thrown at Trumps campaign at that time, and how Obama's administration was constantly attacking him, even if that wasn't the public image he was entertaining. There was recounts, accusations of voter fraud and so on in the news every day.

There wasn't racial undertones to it, it was an instinctive reaction in my state of mind that maybe finally something would bring the democrats down because I was entirely fearful something would be done to Trump to block him getting into office.

Obama's own brother posts that crap on his twitter, have you seen me post it? I made a mistake, but it wasn't with the intentions you believe.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/barack-obama-half-brother-malik-kenya-birth-certificate-tweet-donald-trump-supporter-a7622346.html

You can choose to believe my explanation, or not, that's up to you. But that's the truth, and I'm sick and tired of you constantly labeling me a racist because of it. Something which I apologized for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,652 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

To insist ''the right'' don't have moral high ground or any other whataboutery you want to spout is a complete and utter joke.

Perhaps what he means is if people condemn terrorism selectively depending on who the perpetrator is, because they are wedded to a particular political spectrum, they then lose the moral high ground?

Personally i agree with a lot of the points you have made in this thread. You seem even-handed in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

I have already posted that I would have no problem killing the evil murderer from yesterday. Thankfully he is dead. Able to rot in hell now. Maybe read what he did. Who he took it upon himself to kill. Read about the dead people. Read about the people he injured who are still in hospital including children. Read about the grieving relations. Read about the grieving children. Read about the worrying relations hanging around hospital wards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,908 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I have already posted that I would have no problem killing the evil murderer from yesterday. Thankfully he is dead. Able to rot in hell now. Maybe read what he did. Who he took it upon himself to kill. Read about the dead people. Read about the people he injured who are still in hospital including children. Read about the grieving relations. Read about the grieving children. Read about the worrying relations hanging around hospital wards.

I did and I have no use for a right to violently kill him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Khalid Masood was born in Britain. But he looks foreign. And he converted to Islam. But his birth name was Adrian Elms.

Gosh. This assuming lark isn't as easy as you'd think.

Khalid Masood was born in Britain. But he looks foreign. And he converted to Islam. But his birth name was Adrian Elms.

Do you know what part of Kent he was from. ?

It's ok. It's rye. In East Sussex.

I did and I have no use for a right to violently kill him.
    Good job he's dead than !

Is it key to understanding why he did it and why Islam is so dangerous?

Actually, I don't know what part of Kent he came from and I don't give a crap.

Is it key to understanding why he did it and why Islam is so dangerous?

Actually, I don't know what part of Kent he came from and I don't give a crap.
    It's fine. The murderer is from East Sussex.

Ah. Explains everything.

Calm down. Maybe go to bed now. I am. Night .

Perhaps what he means is if people condemn terrorism selectively depending on who the perpetrator is, because they are wedded to a particular political spectrum, they then lose the moral high ground?

Personally i agree with a lot of the points you have made in this thread. You seem even-handed in this thread.

Thanks for that its nice to be told something other than I'm racist and I hate all muslims! :D:D:D

Just want people to realise that just because someone is ''right-wing'' and wants to talk about islam they're not automatically part of the foaming at the mouth ban all muslims brigade, and while I admit these factions exist they dont represent the views of 99% of conservatives/right-wingers. We just want an open and frank conversation about the undeniable flaws of Islam and the quran and for the left to stop with the constant accuse and avoid tactics and face up to the problem so we can figure out as a society how to move forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Grayson wrote: »
    There;'s at least 3 people active right now on the thread who have called me names in the past or said outright that I like seeing the death of others.

You and I are actually pretty close in opinion. It's just our views on islam. Even then I think we have more in common that differences.

I think the two core differences are

1) what percentage of Muslims are terrorist?
    2) is it possible for a moderate Muslim to integrate/live in a western country.
    Is that about it?

That's funny, cause previously you accused others of this exact thing.
    Grayson wrote: »
    It was when a Dublin bus crashed through a load of people standing at the 66 bus stop a few years ago. That driver had a heart attack.
    And last year a truck rammed through a load of people in the UK when a guy who didn't know what he was doing was behind the wheel.

No-one is saying it wasn't a terrorist attack. People are saying that it might not be and it's sensible to wait and see. Just wait a few hours. If it turns out to be a terrorist attack then there will be plenty of time for gloating and rejoicing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

one thing that gets me in these situations is the amount of desperate scrambling to find what caused the attack, from racism to trump to brexit to the right wing to, most heinously of all, mental illness. Its always someones fault but the second you say there might be a problem with the quran and the way its taught by some, you're a racist whos attacking all muslims.

Yes. Same as anyone who started against all Irish because of the IRA.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

one thing that gets me in these situations is the amount of desperate scrambling to find what caused the attack, from racism to trump to brexit to the right wing to, most heinously of all, mental illness. Its always someones fault but the second you say there might be a problem with the quran and the way its taught by some, you're a racist whos attacking all muslims.

Yes. Same as anyone who started ranting against all Irish because of the IRA.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

So Masood, or Elms as he was christened, is British born and is the son of a white mother and black father. So he isn't foreign, he wasn't raised a Muslim and he's not of Asian or North African descent.

Just for fun, I'd love to read back through this thread and quote some posts. But that would be unkind.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Myself and the missus were on the bridge last weekend doing a bit of sightseeing. Very strong Police presence, particularly around the parliament building. It is an extremely crowded place, with very little room to move on the bridge. The poor people that were hit didn't stand a chance.

We really have to find a solution to this issue that we are having with Islamic extremism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

cournioni wrote: »

We really have to find a solution to this issue that we are having with Islamic extremism.

Really?