Banning laptops on planes....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Jayop wrote: »
    Because there's not enough room in the cheap seats to avoid inconvenience for others unless it's a tiny notebook but they r aren't used for business.

Simple logistics and manners.

Most business laptops are 13 inch and a hell of a lot are ultrabooks. I have surface pro 3 for personal use and it's the perfect size at 13 inches. It always fits perfectly onto the collapsible tray.

Now I can imagine difficulties with a 17 inch alienware. On the plus side that battery would die in 90 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Samaris wrote: »
    I'll be weirdly impressed if anyone manages to make a bomb out of a kindle.

Kindle? Isn't that what was used to start a fire with yonks ago.

Because there's not enough room in the cheap seats to avoid inconvenience for others unless it's a tiny notebook but they r aren't used for business.

Simple logistics and manners.

As above most are 13 inch and at most 15 inch screen and loads are macbooks or other types of thin and light laptops, I wouldn't want to be lugging around a big heavy laptop anymore than you would want to sit beside someone using one but my 13 inch mac won't get in anyone's way nor do any other laptops I see being used on planes.

Unless using the fold down tray is an inconvenience then I don't see how having laptop sitting on it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Gyalist wrote: »
    So why doesn't the ban apply to US-registered carriers but only to their major competitors (Etihad, Emirates, Qatar, and Turkish Airlines)?

No U.S. carriers have direct flights from those airport to the US. Given that the UK have followed suit and Canada are supposed to be doing it too, they must have intelligence to suggest something is afoot.

I can't see this not being brought in on every flight soon. Just like the liquid thing which never went away after the alleged threat was thwarted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Buffman

They've set device size limits, it's going to ban some of the larger phones also.

_95259013_device_travel_banned_inf624.png

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I see this being applied to all flights soon. But why have this restriction when laptops and tablets and smartphones are supposed to be X-rayed at security at the airport?

If you're on a long haul flight, it could be a major inconvenience. Flying just seems to get harder and harder...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

That big feck off android is screwed!!

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I see this being applied to all flights soon. But why have this restriction when laptops and tablets and smartphones are supposed to be X-rayed at security at the airport?

If you're on a long haul flight, it could be a major inconvenience. Flying just seems to get harder and harder...:(

And if they're dangerous then why put them in the luggage hold?

I'd be more wary sitting beside a stag party from Mayo on a flight to Liverpool than I would a Muslim chap from the middle east on his laptop flying to Abu Dhabi.

Just reading another article.
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/mar/21/electronics-ban-middle-east-flights-safety-hazards-airline-profit
    DHS also ignores its own precautionary measures with the new rule: Abu Dhabi, one of the affected airports, operates what Mann calls “a state-of-the-art US customs and border preclearance facility” so rigorous that passengers inbound to the US from that airport are cleared by US customs and treated as domestic travelers when they land.

“It’s kind of bizarre that this state-of-the-art facility is judged inadequate to screen electronics. That seems like the primary objective of one these facilities,” said Mann.

Apparently US airlines do fly direct to some of these airports but they're not affected.

I'd be more wary sitting beside a stag party from Mayo on a flight to Liverpool than I would a Muslim chap from the middle east on his laptop flying to Abu Dhabi.

I had to sit in the same carriage as a stag party from mayo on the Westport - Dublin train. I switched on my laptop, put on headphones and switched on the noise cancellation. It was a lifesaver.

Grayson wrote: »
    I had to sit in the same carriage as a stag party from mayo on the Westport - Dublin train. I switched on my laptop, put on headphones and switched on the noise cancellation. It was a lifesaver.

Disclaimer - Dickhead stag parties are available from other counties too! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

It is absurd for many reasons. I have already posted in the aviation thread about how easy it is for a terrorist to get around it by buying an extra ticket before boarding these designated flights.

Obviously the security people have found something to raise alert but let's be honest, there are people boarding flights around the world with a kilo of Heroin or Cocaine strapped to themselves. It happens every day and when they are caught, it is usually as they depart the plane through customs. If you can get a kilo of Heroin on a plane, you can get a kilo of Semtex.

I think we just have to accept that there is a terror danger from flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    :eek: Jaysus, remember those days!

And at least air on planes got well recycled - it was the smoking on buses that was properly mind-boggling in hindsight!

Actually air quality has decreased to a degree since they recycle the air even less nowadays in comparison.
    Most business laptops are 13 inch and a hell of a lot are ultrabooks. I have surface pro 3 for personal use and it's the perfect size at 13 inches. It always fits perfectly onto the collapsible tray.

The more you post around here the more we learn about all the nice kit you own. :D

Ok that's it.
    I am reporting these posts as discriminatory.
    Racist even.
    I am demanding a snowflake and a safe space. :o
    That reminds me, does anyone know if i can get White Flake these days ?

Anyway whatever ye youngsters look for these days when someone takes the mickie out of ye and defiles your place of origin, well I want it now.

BTW it is Westport that has to usually put up with muppets from elsewhere on stag weekends so maybe it was payback.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Prime Irish Beef

The flights are long and boring for one thing. I also have kids with me so after they go to bed at night there's nothing better than sitting on the balcony having a glass of wine and reading a book. Relaxation heaven.

I'd rather see someone's head stuck in a book/kindle rather than a mobile phone.

jmayo wrote: »
    Ok that's it.
    I am reporting these posts as discriminatory.
    Racist even.
    I am demanding a snowflake and a safe space. :o
    That reminds me, does anyone know if i can get White Flake these days ?

Anyway whatever ye youngsters look for these days when someone takes the mickie out of ye and defiles your place of origin, well I want it now.

BTW it is Westport that has to usually put up with muppets from elsewhere on stag weekends so maybe it was payback.

How do you think I feel being a hyper sensitive Nordie living down here for years getting abuse for talking like a wee "situation" troll! ;)
    I'd rather see someone's head stuck in a book/kindle rather than a mobile phone.

I'm a divil for both but the kindle for holidays is the way to go.

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Well, the tablet was only invented in 2008. We don't have to imagine that; most of us can remember it.

Didn't Moses have a couple of tablets ?
    How do you think I feel being a hyper sensitive Nordie living down here for years getting abuse for talking like a wee "situation" troll! ;)

Ohh you are the worst kind.
    You are trying to find someone lower than you to take the mickie out of. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

I tried reading books on an ereader app on my phone and it's brutal on the eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭BlinkingLights

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    FedEx and DHL freight goes by plane, and is presumably loaded by baggage-handlers as well. Not sure I'd assume they'd be treating it all with kid gloves either.

They're used to handling fragile packages and are paid to do so and it costs the company money if they don't get there.

Airlines / airports just assume you've a few changes of clothes and toiletries in the bags.

The more you post around here the more we learn about all the nice kit you own. :D

I think that's everything I own. Literally everything. :)

Well, clothes too. And a feck load of books.

They're used to handling fragile packages and are paid to do so and it costs the company money if they don't get there.

Airlines / airports just assume you've a few changes of clothes and toiletries in the bags.

The last trip I made was to the far east. MY baggage arrived 4 days after me. Once coming back from Argentina it took a week to arrive. And when I travelled to Colombia the main part bag was ok but all the side pockets were ripped open and the contents had been nicked. That unfortunately included all the chargers for the electronics in my carry on. Since then I bring chargers into carry on as well.

This post had been deleted.

Columbia ehhh.
    Just be thankful that they took stuff rather than added something.
    Permabear wrote: »

I would have thought you would just get that young girlfriend of yours to read to you. ;)

Columbia ehhh.
    Just be thankful that they took stuff rather than added something.

Actually, I'd recommend the place to anyone. It was beautiful and safe. I went with my sister. She has kids now and wants to bring them there someday.

Venezuela was very dangerous back then and now I wouldn't even consider it.

I really hope this laptop ban doesn't get extended to other flights. I love travelling but hate flying. The only way I manage it is by loading up with media to distract me. Well, that or copious amounts of valium/zanax. That's fine on a long haul flight but I'd like to be able to wake up at the end of a 2 hour flight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

It's interesting that the EU isn't following in the footsteps of the UK/us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

The Arab airlines using Trump's bans for marketing

Rather clever way to handle things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

It's interesting that the EU isn't following in the footsteps of the UK/us.

Some people think its more of a protectionist measure, as opposed to be about security. I think they may have a point, as if it was a genunine threat, then either it would apply to all airports, or that if the airports in question improved security then the restriction would be removed.